将工作量证明(PoW)用作信息价值信号的谬误

在过去的几个月里,有很多关于如何使用 工作量证明(Proof of Work 来体现文章、电子邮件及其他通讯内容重要程度的讨论。他们的观点是,如果有人肯为工作量证明付费,那么他们一定认为一条信息是重要的,因此你也应当相信。

这整个想法源于这样一种信念,即工作量证明是矿工所支付的一种“代价高昂的信号” ,目的是证明他们优于其他矿工。既然这些矿工可以在算力上投入这么多钱,这一定意味着他们的节点比其他节点更强大更高效,对吧?

然而,我认为实际上却恰恰相反。在本文中,我将会论述原因。

大多数人对算力的误解是:任何人都可以拥有算力,无论他们是否控制着一个节点,而且这些算力所有者能够与他们认为最能代表自身利益的任何节点连接或断开。在市场上,这些算力运营商是市场上的自由代理人,哪些节点带来的收入最多,他们就为哪些节点工作。

换句话说,算力并非昂贵的信号,而是奖励。节点运营商之所以会创建和展示一系列昂贵的信号,是为了鼓励大多数自由代理人尽可能使用它们的挖矿区块模板。

为了深入研究,让我们从运营算力的自由代理人的角度来思考问题。我们具有价格公道的能源和存储机器的物理位置,因此我们建立了一个小型系统。假设有5000台ASIC矿机。由于我们并不想运行节点,所以当下的最好选择是连接到其他人的节点。

于是问题来了:哪个节点是最佳节点?

为了最大化我们投资的潜在回报,我们必须选择那些能将我们在挖矿中的工作量最大化的节点。各式各样的节点都希望能够引起我们的关注,但是我们需要了解关注节点的哪些性能特征可以指导我们找到最佳的节点。

让我们来看看几个可能的答案……

找到最多区块的节点

涌入脑海的第一想法通常是“找到最多区块的节点”。不过,很容易我们就会证明事实并非如此。找到最多区块的节点可能是最佳节点,但它也有可能是一个糟糕的节点:其运营商通过在直接控制的算力上花费大量资金,来掩盖其糟糕的性能。在这种情况下,可能毫无效率或策略地对节点进行操作,就像斗智斗勇中的钝器一样应用算力。在这样的节点下,我们的工作量是在让其发挥弱点,这可能会让我们遭受损失,因为这些节点不能适当地传播自身的区块。

所以如果最佳节点不是找到最多区块的节点,那么最佳节点可能是:

能够获得最富产的区块的节点

很多关于哈希算法应用中波状模式的讨论,预计区块奖励将出现转变,从区块补贴转向以交易费作为主要收入来源。那么,说“赢得最富有区块的节点”也是最明智地应用其算力的节点,难道不对吗?我认为并非如此。但是,请首先让我来定义一下“最富产的区块”。

随着费用市场成为主要的收入来源,节点必须寻找盈利性好的区块。记住要达到平均10分钟一个区块链,对于每个需要1分钟所产生的区块,就必然存在另外一个需要19分钟才能产生的区块。接下来我们思考在发现第一个区块之后的1分钟内该节点的区块模板的状态。既然交易验证的速度应保持合理不变的在10分钟的时间框架内(尽管它将在24小时甚至每周或季节性的基础上波动),那么如果区块模板里现在只有1分钟内产生的交易,那么这个本应19分钟生成的区块里只包含了1/19的交易费。此处的重点是,找到1分钟区块和19分钟区块实际上所需要的工作量证明是同样多的。

对于使用算力作为钝器的节点运营商而言,这是它们一直所忽略的。它们整天运行算力却不考虑费用,因为其唯一的目标就是赢得最多的区块。这一策略在今天仍然奏效,因为区块补贴是区块奖励的绝大部分。但随着时间的推移,运营商必须进化,否则这种使用钝器策略的节点将会发现自己毫无用武之地,白白耗费能源,输给那些给更快、更轻、更有策略的对手。

未来,节点将把它们每次迭代的区块模板发布到池中。算力运营商将从这个池中挑选区块头,核查区块难度对应的奖励,评估该区块是否对他们具备足够的挖矿盈利性。这里的关键在于每台矿机都在不同的情况下运行,购置和安装成本均不同;它们进行哈希运算所消耗的单位能源量也不同,而能源成本也有差异,有的能源价格甚至会在很短的时间(小于5分钟)内出现波动。

还有更多内容值得探讨,但这里仅需要考虑这个简单例子。通过这种方法,每一个算力运营商需要自己评估最新的区块模板对他们来说是否具有盈利性,从而决定是否进行挖矿。方程式很简单:每个区块已包含了奖励和难度值,这意味着每个哈希值(hash)的奖励是对于难度的回报;如果这个奖励大于每个哈希值的瞬时成本,那么这个区块模板就具有盈利性。这时就打开机器!很简单对吧?

然而,这还不是全部答案。

虽然赢得了最富产的区块的节点可能使其算力伙伴盈利,但这不是节点自身决定了其区块的收益性,而是在任何时点下算力运营商都选择了该节点提供的使单位算力最具盈利性的区块模板。因此我预计在未来,算力运营商会从许多竞争节点处接收区块模板,并将基于一系列要素评估每一个节点,这些要素包括区块可盈利性、每股支付、节点连通性等,并基于瞬时评估结果将矿机切换至最佳节点上。

此时有人可能驳斥说,赢得最富产区块的节点也有可能是一个网络连接性不佳的节点,但仅仅因其所有者专注于低成本运营,并且聚合了他人不想打包的交易,才获得了富产区块。此外,当这个节点成功地收集了大量的低费率交易时,节点会提供让人难以忽视的高区块奖励,这可能会聚集大量算力,即使这个连接性不佳的节点会具有很高的孤块率。较高的孤块率会使节点偏向于生产更大、更具盈利性的区块,但也会让精明的算力运营商意识到,挖中等收益的区块具有潜在的风险。

由于算力运营商创建了能够反映出他们在网络中动态行为动机的一系列工具,他们才是真正决定哪些区块模板具有盈利性从而在该模版上进行哈希计算的一方,这意味着能否生产出最富产的区块,或许并不是衡量网络中最佳节点的一个合理标准。

以上讨论将引出我认为什么才能真正代表“最佳节点”,并为想要在该领域长期竞争的节点运营商提供发展建议。

最佳节点——具有的最少孤块

孤块比特币网络中区块产生过程中的一种自然结果,当两个或多个节点在同一时间或几乎同一时间发现相互竞争的区块解决方案时,孤块就会出现。

当这种情况发生时,就会出现所谓的“孤块竞赛”,即竞争节点之间的竞争,让节点中的区块在网络上传播,并让自己的区块优先被更多的其他节点验证。如果网络的大多数节点判定该区块是它们“首先看到”区块,该区块将有最大机会让链上的下一个区块建立在它之上(即该区块被接受,加入主链),这是成为工作量证明的最长链不可篡改的一部分的首要条件。

尽可能避免输掉孤块竞赛的最佳办法是尽可能避免参与孤块竞赛。这需要通过双重战略实现:

  1. 与自己竞争——尽可能少发现新区块所耗费的能源
  2. 在与其他人的区块竞争时尽可能少地耗费能源

为了确保在寻找与自己已发现的区块相竞争的区块时能够尽可能少地耗费能源,节点必须让自己的区块能够被更多可能的节点看到并验证。为此,节点运营商必须与网络中其他节点具备极佳的连接性。这并不仅仅意味着需要具有高速和低延迟的肥管道,尽管它们确实是部分解决方案。

节点必须确保其它更多节点知道自己区块中的所有交易。对于其它节点尚不知道的交易,这些节点在请求交易、获取响应和执行验证时将出现延迟。

如果该节点有着其它节点所没有的数百甚至数千个交易,那么这将对该节点赢区块的能力造成灾难性的影响。因为每当该节点发现新区块时,其它节点处理这些区块都会出现长时间的延迟。这意味着节点应该选择其他节点将验证的交易,并拒绝其他节点未验证的交易,以及拒绝会给已被网络中大多数节点接受的区块增加延迟的交易。

关于这种情况的真实案例,请看Mempool对WeatherSV的交易试验。最初,Mempool挖出0.2聪/字节的天气交易,并在网络上传播这些交易,但是其他所有节点都忽略这些交易,这导致每次Mempool发现一个区块时,新区块在网络中的验证都出现了很大延迟。

一开始情况非常糟糕,Mempool 之前是占全网10%份额的矿工,通常每天能产生12至17个块,然而在试验的最初24小时内却没能产生任何区块。几次尝试后,Mempool改变了策略,限制每区块最多包含4 MB的WeatherSV交易。终于网络中其它节点开始接受和传播0.25 聪/字节的交易,WeatherSV 只是支付了额外费用来消除低费用交易给Mempool带来的问题。

在节点自己发现新区块后,若想减少竞争区块出现的可能性,那么节点需要确保自己能够尽快让尽可能多的节点了解自己所构建区块的内容和结构,使这些节点的区块验证速度越快更好。虽然这不是很多(或任何)节点都做的事情,但流式区块模板是即将上线的Teranode系统里在规划中的一个功能,我认为这个功能将可以向网络产生出一些显著的代价高昂信号。

节点不仅可以直接告知其它节点它们的区块中含有哪些交易,还可以告知交易在Merkle tree中的顺序。这意味着,当找到解决难题的随机数时,其他节点已经知道了99.9%验证区块时所需的信息,这时只需要处理剩下0.1%的信息即可。相较于不使用该机制的节点,以及除了区块头外还必须传播区块里所有交易排列顺序(还要传播所有其他矿工没有的交易)、然后等待其它节点构建出区块以确认区块有效性的节点,使用流式区块模板互相连接节点将会更具优势。

试想一下,某个节点挖出了一个包含10亿个交易的区块,而其他节点由于没有模板,需要大约20秒来验证该区块。在这30秒期间,一旦接收者已经知道了另一个节点的区块模板,这时来自另一个节点的区块就可以介入并先声夺人,抢先被验证。这意味着每当这个节点发现一个新区块时,都有5%的机会成为孤块。假设这个节点掌握着10%的网络算力,那么相当于它每天都要损失一个区块给那些能够明确告知其它节点挖矿模版的节点。

最终,为了尽可能快地知道其它已被发现的区块,节点还必须尽量获知其他节点的区块模板。当节点把自己的区块模板推送给其它有效节点时,保留同伴节点最多模版信息的节点就能够在短时间内完成对任何区块的验证,同时也让它们及时更新不包含任何刚生成的有效区块内交易的区块模版,确保算力代理人的算力尽量不会浪费在已失效的区块模板上。

所以,你会发现:在节点依赖交易费收益而且区块非常大的情况下,工作量证明实际上并不是节点所展现的“代价高昂的信号”。事实上,节点获得奖励是因为连接性好且对网络中其他节点的信息掌握得最好。生产出最多区块的节点有可能只是因为它们投资了足够多的算力,但是它们却可能在与连接性更好的节点进行孤块竞赛时多次失败。

同样的道理,生产区块数量较少但获取了丰厚交易费的节点,也可能是网络连接性不佳的节点,而且它还无法通过增加对自身算力的投入来掩盖这一事实。但这些节点仍能赢得区块,因为他们的策略是尽可能扩大费用池,赢得大量交易的打包权。

我认为只有基础设施和连接性最佳的节点,以及在任何时刻都了解其竞争对手正在做什么的节点才可以被称为“最佳节点”——失去的区块最少,因此它们的算力供应商在损失最小的情况下获取了最大收益。由于算力供应商是决定哪些区块有利可图的一方,甚至早于那些寻求巨大回报的节点。将出于低风险的考量,他们将自然地更少参与那些奖励巨大的区块,更多地参与回报合理、但只有很小概率会在孤块竞赛中失利的区块。

因此,节点的连通性和实时计算其它节点活动的能力成为了它们展示出的“代价昂贵的信号”。一个健康节点能够收获的奖励是算力,而选择能够持续发出“代价高昂的信号”的节点的算力运营商,他们会获得最小化的工作量证明损耗。

流式区块模板将是非常密集且昂贵的,运行起来价格不菲。举例来说,如果一个节点与其它10个节点共享信息,而每个区块中平均有10亿个交易,那么该节点需要对其索引每个节点都建立一个64GB大小的Merkle tree,并进行持续地更新和管理。

流式区块模板可能是比特币中需要解决的最有趣的和具有挑战性的计算问题之一,但能够掌握这个技术的节点运营商将会因更少的工作量损耗而获得回报,并由于其所展示出的代价昂贵信号,将吸引更多的算力。

是的,但是这和其它工作量证明的应用有什么关系?

我想说,这与其他工作量证明的应用有很大关系,因为看起来这些应用在设计之时,并没有完全理解比特币区块竞争中代价昂贵的信号是什么。

这些应用全部基于这样的误解:即工作量证明是一种昂贵的信号,而不是展示昂贵信号所得到的奖励。并且还把这种误解进一步带到其他工作量证明的应用中。

工作量证明在构建区块的过程中起作用,因为它是累进的。每一个添加到最长有效链的区块都表明,构建它的节点认为前一个区块是它在前一个解决方案中看到的首个有效扩展。这意味着节点认同前一个区块在数学意义上是正确、合法的,并且自身的工作量证明也符合当时的网络要求。

虽然当区块补贴占主导时,网络还是由算力竞争来定义。但随着网络竞争向大区块过渡,激励措施将转变为建设更快的网络和建设存储和计算系统,以实现网络所需的实时系统。这些就是“代价高昂的信号”。

工作量证明是节点从外部获取的奖励,但其运用模式是动态且残酷的。如果节点由于连接性不佳而使自己的区块成为孤块,那么它将很快失去算力。如果节点的区块由于错误编译或非法交易而被拒绝,那么它也将会更快失去算力。这些不良后果促使节点应该对自己的算力供应商以诚相待,并努力向他们证明自己是网络中最有价值的节点。

对随机信息应用工作量证明一点也不复杂。但在信息战中,它是一种钝器,因为了解用户偏好和稳固关系才是当务之急。我为什么要在意一条排名很高的信息,难道就因为有人花了1万美元打造了一个很大的数值?这个数值能给我带来什么呢?能向我保证什么呢?

工作量证明的积累保障了比特币区块链的安全,使得攻击该链非常困难。它之所以有效,是因为它用于验证单一数据结构——区块链本身。如果我把它应用到一张图片或其它网络内容上,我到底在传递什么信号?如果你向我展示一个已经应用了工作量证明的网络内容,我为什么要关心它?工作量证明既不建立在其他工作的基础上,也无法让其它事项在它的基础上建立,那么此处工作量证明的目的到底是什么?对此我可能是一名逆向思维者,但据我所知,工作量证明只是让矿工们赚了一大笔钱,这些矿工让人们相信它很重要,同时又给外界一个迷惑的指向,让人们觉得有人愿意花最多的钱来获得关注。

我不在意有人在这上面浪费钱,但这一切对我的回报在哪里?当我看到信息时,我希望它能根据我的喜好进行排名,基于我想看到什么和我的关注点。我不关心那些神奇的数字,我也不知道它们能给我的生活带来什么价值。如果你想引起我的注意,请给我一些有用的信息,不要给我你花钱买来的神奇数字。

202024日的“创世”协议升级是比特币历史上的一大里程碑,将见证BSV最大程度地回归到中本聪原先设想的协议。请访问“创世”硬分叉页面以了解更多信息。

要直接在您的收件箱接获CoinGeek.com最新消息,CoinGeek会议特别优惠以及其他内部信息,请加入我们的邮件列表

The fallacy of proof of work as an information value signal

There has been much discussion over the last few months about the use of proof of work to indicate levels of importance of articles, emails and more. The argument is that if someone pays for proof of work then they must believe that a piece of information is important, and therefore you should too.

The whole idea springs from the belief that proof of work is a costly signal paid for by miners in order to prove that they are better at what they do than other miners. The fact that they could invest that much money into hash machinery must mean that their node is bigger and faster than the rest… right?

Well… no. I believe it’s actually quite the opposite, and in this article I will outline why.

What most people fail to understand where hash power is concerned is that it can be owned by anyone regardless of whether or not they control a node and that those owners have the ability to connect or disconnect it to any node they feel best represents their interests. These hash operators are free agents in a market for their labour and will work for the nodes who are make them the most money.

In other words, the hash power is not the costly signal, but the reward. Incentivising the most free agents to work their block templates as possible is the reason that node operators will create and display a whole array of costly signals.

To delve deeper, let’s consider things from the perspective of a hash operating free agent. We have access to reasonably cheap energy and a physical location to store the machines so we set up a small system. Say 5,000 ASIC miners. We don’t want to run a node, so our next best option is to connect to someone else’s.

The question for us is then: Which node is the best node?

For us to maximise the potential return of our investment, we must choose the node which we think will make the most of the work we can apply to its block template. There are a wide variety of nodes who will pay us for our attention and it’s our job to understand what the performance characteristics are that will guide us to the best node.

Let’s go through a few possible answers…

The node that finds the most blocks

The first thought that springs to mind is often ‘The node that finds the most blocks.’ However, it’s fairly easy to argue that this is not necessarily the case. The node that finds the most blocks might be the best node, but it might also be a poor node whose operator is covering for its bad performance by expending huge sums of money on directly controlled hash power. In this context, the node may be operated without efficiency or strategy and the hash power is applied like a blunt force weapon in a battle of wits. Sending our work their way just plays into their weakness, possibly costing us lost energy due to their inability to propagate their blocks properly.

So if it’s not the node that finds the most blocks, maybe it’s:

The node that wins the richest blocks

There has been a lot of discussion around the wavelike patterns in hash application that are expected to emerge as the block reward transitions away from the subsidy and onto fees as the primary source of revenue. Would it not be true then to say that ‘the node that wins the richest blocks’ is also the one that is wisest at applying its hash power? I would argue no, this is not the case. But first let me define ‘the richest blocks’…

As the fee market emerges as the main generator of income, nodes must seek the means to find blocks which are profitable. Remember, to achieve a 10-minute running average, for every block that takes 1 minute to discover there must be another block which took 19 minutes to find. Consider then, the state of a node’s block template one minute immediately after a block has been found. The rate at which transactions arrive for validation should remain reasonably constant within a 10 minute timeframe (although it will fluctuate on a 24 hour and even weekly or seasonal basis) and so a block template that only has 1 minute’s worth of transactions in it would contain only 1/19th of the transaction fees as a block that was 19 minutes old. Importantly, just as much proof of work is necessary to find the 1-minute block as the 19-minute block.

For the node operator who uses hash as a blunt weapon, this may be something they ignore, running their hash power all day regardless of the fee content as their only goal is to win the most blocks. This strategy works today, while the block subsidy is the vast majority of the block reward, but over time the operator must evolve or the blunt force weapon will find itself swinging against nothing, losing energy to enemies who are faster, lighter and who have a strategy.

In future, nodes will publish each iteration of their own block template to a pool. From that pool, hash operators will pick up the header and check the reward against the difficulty and determine whether that block is profitable for them to mine. The key thing here is that every hash machine operates in different circumstances. They cost different amounts to purchase and install. They use different amounts of energy to process hashes and the energy itself costs a different amount, and may even fluctuate at very short (< 5 minute) intervals.

There is more to this, but that’s just a small example of the considerations. In this way it becomes up to every individual hash machine operator to evaluate for themselves whether or not the latest block template would be profitable for them to mine. The equation is quite simple. The block contains a reward and a difficulty. This means that the reward per hash is reward over difficulty and if this amount is greater than their instantaneous cost per hash, the template is profitable. Turn the machine on and go! Easy right? Not so fast.

While the node that wins the richest blocks is probably making profit for its hash partners, it is not really the node itself which is determining the richness of the blocks it competes for, but the hash operators who have determined that this node’s template represented at that time their best most profitable option per unit of hash power applied. To this end, I foresee that a hash power operator might receive templates from a multitude of competing nodes and will be able to evaluate each one on a series of criteria from the block profitability, payment per share, node connectivity and more, and will choose where to point their workers on an instantaneous basis.

At this point it could then be argued that the node that wins the richest blocks is simply a poorly connected node whose owner has a focus on low cost operation and which aggregates the transactions nobody else wants to touch. This node probably gets increased amounts of hash power when they have managed to collect huge numbers of low-cost transactions and their block reward is too much of a prize to ignore even if there is a very high chance of blocks being orphaned. These higher orphan rates would skew the node’s results towards the blocks that are larger and more profitable to hash against but show the astute hash operator that their mid-priced blocks are potentially a risky proposition.

As hash operators build tools that reflect their incentives to dynamically route their effort across the network, they will be the ones who determine which block templates are rich enough to mine, meaning the node with the richest blocks is possibly not a good yard stick for us to measure the best node on the network.

This brings us to what I believe represents the true ‘best node’ and lays out the development agenda for node operators who want to compete in the space long term.

The node that has the fewest blocks orphaned

Orphan blocks are a natural outcome of block discovery on the Bitcoin network and occur when two or more nodes find competing block solutions at or around the same time.

When this happens, we get what is called an ‘Orphan Race’ which is the competition between the competing nodes to push their block across the network and have it validated first by the largest percentage of the other nodes. If the majority of the network judges it to be their ‘first seen’ block it will have the best chance of having the next block in the chain built upon it which is the first requirement in becoming an immutable part of the longest chain of proof of work.

The best way to lose the fewest orphan races is to be involved in the fewest possible orphan races. This is achieved through a two-fold strategy:

  1. Have the least possible energy spent finding solutions to blocks that compete with your own
  2. Spend the least possible energy finding solutions that compete with blocks found by others

To make sure the least possible energy is spent finding a competing block to one they have discovered, a node has to ensure they their block is seen and validated by the largest number of possible nodes. For this the node operator must have excellent connectivity to the other nodes in the network. This doesn’t just mean fat pipes with high speed and low latency, although they are part of the solution.

The node must work to ensure that as many of the other nodes as possible are aware of all of the transactions in their block. For every transaction another node doesn’t know about, there is a delay while that node requests the transaction, gets a response and performs a validation.

If the node has hundreds or even thousands of transactions that other nodes do not, this can have a disastrous impact on the node’s ability to win blocks due to the long delays involved in processing their blocks whenever they are found. This means choosing transactions that other nodes will validate and rejecting ones they don’t and which add delays to the block being accepted by the majority of the network.

For a real-world example of this, look no further than Mempool’s experiments with WeatherSV transactions. Initially, Mempool was mining the weather transactions for 0.2 satoshis per byte and propagating those transactions across the network, however every other node was ignoring them causing huge delays in validation every time Mempool found a block.

The situation was so bad initially that Mempool went from being a reliable 10% miner, finding between 12 and 17 blocks per day to finding zero blocks in the first 24 hours of the trial. After several attempts to finesse the situation, mempool landed on the strategy of limiting the WeatherSV transactions to 4MB per block, and eventually when the rest of the network began accepting and propagating transactions at 0.25 satoshis per byte, WeatherSV simply paid the premium to remove the friction their low fee deal was causing Mempool.

The second part of having the fewest competing blocks discovered after your own block is found is making sure that the most possible nodes are aware of the contents and structure of your block as you build it such that their validation process is as fast as possible. While it isn’t something many (or maybe any) nodes do yet, streaming block templates are a planned feature of the upcoming Teranode system, and one which I think will generate some of the most visible costly signalling on the network.

Nodes will have the ability to directly inform other nodes of not just which transactions are in their block, but the order in which they have been placed into the Merkle tree as well. This means that when a nonce is found that solves the difficulty problem, other nodes which already know 99.9% of the information needed to validate the block only need to process the remaining 0.1%. Against a node who does not use this system and who must propagate not just their solution, but the complete order of all the transactions in their block (and any whole transactions that other miners don’t have) and then wait while those nodes build their block to make sure it is valid, the connected node which is using the streaming block templates will almost always prevail.

Imagine a node which finds a solution to a 1 billion transaction block that takes other nodes around 20 seconds to validate because they don’t have the template. At any moment during that 30 seconds another node whose template the receiver was already aware of could step in and steal its thunder. That’s a 5% chance of being orphaned every single time a block is found. If that node controls 10% of the network hash, that represents one lost block almost every days vs a node who is telling everyone exactly what they are doing.

Finally, in order to have the fastest possible awareness of other blocks being found, the node must also have the most knowledge of what the other nodes’ block templates are. Like the node who pushes their block template out to the most possible peers, the node who retains the most knowledge of its peers has the ability to validate almost any solution they are presented with in a very short period of time, giving them the ability to update their block template to one that excludes any of the transactions in the block that was just found, ensuring that the free agents providing them hash power have the lowest possible chance of hashing against a block template that has been superseded.

So, one can see that in a world where the nodes are relying on fees and blocks are very large that proof of work is not in fact the costly signal that nodes display but is in fact the reward a node is given for being the most well connected and having the best knowledge of other nodes on the network. A node that wins a lot of blocks might only win them because they pay for the hash themselves, and might lose a lot of orphan races with better connected nodes.

Similarly, a node that wins fewer blocks but which are very rich in fees might not only be badly connected but also unable to pay for its own hash to mask the fact. They still win blocks because their strategy is to generate the largest possible fee pools and win hash for the big payouts.

It is the node whose infrastructure is best connected and who has the best knowledge of what their competitors are doing at any instantaneous moment who will receive my vote for being the node who loses the fewest blocks for it is in the lack of losses that their hash providers find the most gains. As their hash providers will determine that their block is profitable to mine earlier than the node who seeks the outsized rewards because of the lower risk they will naturally find less of the blocks carrying huge rewards and more blocks that carry reasonable rewards but a very low chance of being lost to an orphan race.

So it is the node’s connectivity and ability to compute the activity of others in real-time which become the costly signals to display. Hash power is the reward a node gets for having the best fitness, and the least wasted proof of work is the prize the hash operators get for choosing the node with the best array of costly signals.

Streaming block templates will be very intensive, costly and expensive to run. For example, if a node shares information with 10 other nodes, and each block has an average of 1,000,000,000 transactions in it, that node would need a Merkle tree 64GB large for each node they are indexing, which they would need to be updating and managing constantly.

Streaming block templates may prove one of the most interesting and challenging computing problems to be solved in Bitcoin, but the node operators who master it will be rewarded with less wasted work and the gravitation of a larger proportion of the free agent hash rate thanks to the costly signals they are demonstrating.

Yeah but what does this have to do with other applications of Proof of Work?

Well I would say this has everything to do with other applications of proof of work, as it shows that they have been designed with an incomplete understanding of what costly signals are in the block competition as it operates in Bitcoin.

The whole basis of their application is a misunderstanding of the proof of work as a costly signal rather than as the reward received for displaying the costly signals, and as such carry forward this misunderstanding into these other applications of proof of work.

Proof of work works in the process of building blocks because it is cumulative. Every single block added to the longest valid chain is a demonstration that the node which built it deemed the previous block to have been the first valid extension it saw on the previous solution. It implies that the node agrees that the previous block was mathematically correct, legally just and had its own proof of work in-line with the requirements of the network at the time.

While the block subsidy is in play, the network will continue to be defined by the race to gather the most hash power. As the race transitions to larger blocks, the incentives will transition to the construction of faster networks, storage and computing systems to enable the real-time systems needed. These are the costly signals on display.

Proof of work comes as a reward from outside the node and its application is dynamic and cut throat. A node whose blocks are orphaned too often due to poor connectivity will lose hash power quickly. A node whose blocks are rejected due to bad assembly or illegal transactions will lose hash power even faster. These outcomes incentivise nodes to treat their hash providers with respect and to work hard to prove that they are the most worthy node in the network.

The application of proof of work to random information has none of this intricacy. It is a blunt weapon being used in an information war where knowledge of user preferences and strong relationships are the order of the day. Why would I care about a piece of information that ranked highly because someone had spent $10,000 building a big number against it? What can I build upon that big number? What does this big number secure me against?

The Bitcoin block chain is secured through the accumulation of proof of work which makes it very hard to attack the chain. It works because it is used to validate a singular data structure—the chain of blocks itself. If I apply it to a picture or a meme, what exactly am I signalling? If you show me a meme that has had proof of work applied to it why should I care? Not only does this proof of work not build on other work, but there is no way to build upon it. So what purpose does it serve? I may be a contrarian in this space, but as far as I can tell, all it does is lines the pockets of the miners who convince people it’s important while giving everyone else a confusing indication of who was willing to burn the most money for attention.

I, for one, don’t care to watch a money fire. Where in all of this is the reward for me? When I see information, I want it to be ranked based on MY preferences. Based on what I want to see and where I want to put my attention. I don’t care about magic numbers and I don’t see where they add value to my life. If you want my attention, deliver information I can use, not magic numbers you paid for.

New to Bitcoin? Check out CoinGeek’s Bitcoin for Beginners section, the ultimate resource guide to learn more about Bitcoin—as originally envisioned by Satoshi Nakamoto—and blockchain.