克雷格·怀特遭窃, 比特币所有权一案可能终得结案

2020年2月克雷格·怀特博士(Dr. Craig Wright)的计算机网络遭黑客攻击,继而引发了关于比特币财产权构成的法律大战。上周,怀特博士的法律团队向BTC核心的三名开发人员分别致信,描述了怀特博士的计算机网络遭黑客攻击且BTC私钥信息被盗的情况,并解释了协议开发者在此情况下必须面对的责任。

这份声明可能会让比特币所有权问题终于得以在法院由法官解决,而这正如怀特博士之前的承诺。此案不及在佛罗里达受理的克莱曼与怀特诉讼案复杂,但却更有可能合法界定比特币所有权、“比特币(Bitcoin)”这一名称和比特币数据库的相关权利以及创建者中本聪的身份。

虽然争论的焦点应围绕怀特博士的行为是否正当合法,但当有人借题发挥,指责怀特的律师在声明中提到的地址与2010年早期Mt. Gox受黑客攻击遭窃一案有关,讨论的焦点便偏离了轨道。怀特博士的法律团队驳斥了这一说法。

关于此案的黑客攻击

2020年6月12日,怀特博士的律师事务所SCA Ontier向BTC核心的开发人员弗拉基米尔·范德拉恩(Wladimir van der Laan)、乔纳斯·施奈利(Jonas Schnelli)和皮特·伍耶(Pieter Wuille)发送了“关于BTC所有权的通知书”。信中称怀特的网络“于2020年2月5日左右”遭到黑客攻击,导致两个地址有近111,000个BTC(目前价值超过10亿美元)被盗。这两个比特币地址当时处于“未分叉(unsplit)”状态,这意味着地址包含的BTC与比特币SV(BSV)和BCH价值相同。

虽然此次攻击的具体实施方式目前尚未公开,但从信中得知被盗财产为存储在加密文件中的两个BTC地址的私钥,通知书中还描述了打开文件所需的部分信息。此外,加密文件和相关信息也都从怀特博士的网络中删除了。

这几封通知信并未指控这三名开发人员实施了此次黑客攻击。而是陈述了这样一个论点:被盗BTC仍然是怀特博士的公司Tulip Trading Ltd.的合法财产,此三人作为协议开发人员,具有避免任何非法交易在BTC网络上发生的法律责任。

Tulip和怀特博士认为,“比特币”核心区块链(BTC)的负责人在注意到所涉及利益方的情况下,对该区块链上的交易负有相关的责任,包括在相同情况下,尤其应避免区块链上发生非法交易。

通知书中还重申了怀特博士对“中本聪”这一化名的所有权,并声称Tulip Trading Ltd.拥有“比特币(Bitcoin)”这一名称和比特币数据库的相关权利。此通知正式声明了怀特博士过去提出的另一项所有权主张:作为比特币的原创者,他是该名称和数据库的合法所有者,使用这些概念的其他任何软件如果不支付许可费就必须停止使用。

目前使用“比特币”这一名称及其数据库的两个最主要的协议就是比特币核心(BTC)和BCH。

这封通知信随后受到了BTC核心开发主管弗拉基米尔·范德拉恩(推特号@orionwl)及其圈内支持者的嘲笑

WladimirVDLTweet1

Blockstream的亚当·巴克(Adam Back)甚至发推文暗示其他人知道中本聪到底是谁:

与Mt. Gox并无关联

怀特博士的法律团队特别提到了两个BTC/比特币地址,也就是被盗的比特币加密公钥:

1FeexV6bAHb8ybZjqQMjJrcCrHGW9sb6uF(简称“1Feex地址”)

12ib7dApVFvg82TXKycWBNpN8kFyiAN1dr(简称“12ib7地址”)

第一个地址(1Feex)在社交媒体上引起了人们的关注,新闻网站CoinTelegraph上也发文称,有部分人认为该地址与最终导致Mt. Gox在2014年2月倒闭的一系列黑客攻击存在联系。

SCA Ontier律所已澄清这种说法是错误的:

“谣言称,有证据表明该地址是Mount Gox遭黑客攻击后资金流向的其中一个地址,还专门引用了在美国诉讼程序中提交的一份文件,也就是一份貌似2010年12月Mount Gox前首席执行官马克·卡普勒斯(Mark Karpeles)的Skype聊天记录。但这项证据如此微不足道,不值一提。我注意到,CoinTelegraph的文章根本没有详细说明证据是什么。据我们所知,Mount Gox的清算人也从未像谣言那样断言“1Feex地址”所含资金就是Mount Gox被盗款项,如果他们的记录确如谣言所述,他们自然会有所反应。”

Mt. Gox是最早能支持BTC兑换法定货币的交易所之一,人气一时无二。该交易所于2014年突然停止服务,而后宣布破产,许多早期就大量持有比特币的人未能及时取出放在该交易所的大部分比特币。后来,有关黑客攻击和850,000个BTC被盗的详细信息浮出水面,尽管此案尚未正式结案,目前也没有确认涉案人员身份的最终证据。

Mt. Gox总部位于东京并在日本注册,虽然法院任命的受托人小林信明(Nobuaki Kobayashi)主持了漫长的破产程序,但是Mt. Gox账户持有人并未拿回任何BTC账户余额。

虽与本案无关,但就在上周,日本的法院驳回了Mount Gox前首席执行官马克·卡普勒斯对于因操纵数据而被判处两年监禁的上诉。卡普勒斯在日本入狱近一年,未受到任何指控,于2016年被保释出狱,随后因挪用公款和操纵数据而受审。他洗脱了挪用公款的罪名,但被判犯有通过操纵数据对雇员和账户持有人隐瞒被盗一事的罪行。两项刑事指控均与850,000个BTC被盗无关。

Mt. Gox遭窃的相关情况和后续发展犹如一潭浑水,争议源源不断。交易所Kraken一度是官方指定的账户持有人赔偿处理机构,其受任和离任备受争议;接班的处理机构BitPoint也引发了进一步的争议。小林声称,债权人资金迟迟未能退还是因为Mt. Gox与其在美国的前合作伙伴CoinLab之间的诉讼仍在进行中。

怀特博士表示,早期的比特币企业“水更浑”。

“丝路(Silk Road)”黑市经营者罗斯·威廉·乌尔布里希特(Ross William Ulbricht)已被定罪,在庭审中为其经营“丝路”黑市一案辩护的律师于2015年声称,化名为“Dread Pirate Roberts”的“丝路”背后之手不是乌尔布里希特,而是卡普勒斯。

美国国土安全局(The Department of Homeland Security)在2012年至2013年间也产生过此类怀疑。卡普勒斯在推特上公开否认了这一说法,而且未被正式起诉。乌尔布里希特最终被判有罪,并被判处终身监禁。

法律就是法律,问题亟待解决

Mt. Gox的溃败尽管与怀特博士目前的黑客攻击及盗窃谣言无关,但却在很大程度上揭示了早期困扰比特币的犯罪活动和幕后操纵。这些问题损害了比特币的声誉,也妨碍了它被人们接受和发展壮大。

这正是怀特博士和比特币BSV设法从数字资产领域解决并消的消极感观。解决比特币单位和比特币名称和数据库的所有权问题可能有助于恢复比特币的声誉,并帮助其在全球数字经济中树立合法地位。

众所周知,克雷格·怀特博士在BTC圈内并不讨喜。他对比特币遵纪守法的要求,加上有许多人私下认为他上就是中本聪的事实,出现针对他的人格和声誉的抨击也是情理之中。通过可追踪的比特币揭露过去的违法犯罪活动,是许多人最不希望看到的事情。

不过,怀特博士是否能够在法庭上证实自己,这些谣言可能影响并不大。

比特币问世十一年来,区块链和数字资产行业的许多从业者反复说到“代码就是法律”(英语中表示“代码”的“code”一词也可表示“法规”)和“得密钥者,得比特币”(英语中表示“密钥”的“key”一词也可表示“钥匙”)这两个双关语。这种看法源于这样一个观念:数学是唯一的绝对法则,它必然凌驾于一切合法权利之上——即便在可能会给坏人带来好处并伤害合法所有者的情况下也不例外。怀特博士反驳了这种观点,坚持认为才是至高无上。他经常承诺会在司法系统中论战,以此证明他的观点。

怀特博士曾说过:

“加密朋克(cypherpunks)想要证明“代码”就是法律,这还真有意思。在某种程度上,他们自认为可以将我逼入困境。觉得可以让我公开签署一些东西来支持他们的主张。同样的,他们对于密钥及如何为其所用有一套完整的计划。但是他们却不明白,法律是主张正义的。”

“法律就是法律,理解这一点很重要。”

202024日的“创世”协议升级是比特币历史上的一大里程碑,将见证BSV最大程度地回归到中本聪原先设想的协议。请访问“创世”硬分叉页面以了解更多信息。

要直接在您的收件箱接获CoinGeek.com最新消息,CoinGeek会议特别优惠以及其他内部信息,请加入我们的邮件列表

Craig Wright hack could see Bitcoin rights settled in court

A hack on Dr. Craig Wright’s computer network in February 2020 has sparked a legal battle over what constitutes property rights in Bitcoin. Last week, his legal team sent three letters to three BTC Core developers describing a hack on Dr. Wright’s computer network and theft of BTC private key information, and the responsibility protocol developers must face in such a situation.

The notice could lead to the issue of Bitcoin ownership finally being settled by a judge in a court of law, something Dr. Wright has promised in the past. It is this case, more so than the more complex Kleiman vs. Wright lawsuit in Florida, which could legally define Bitcoin ownership rights, rights to the name “Bitcoin” and the Bitcoin database, and the identity of creator Satoshi Nakamoto.

Although the argument centered on whether Dr. Wright has a legitimate case, discussion also veered off on a tangent claiming one of the addresses Wright’s lawyers mentioned is connected to the Mt. Gox hack/theft in the early 2010s. Dr. Wright’s legal team has refuted this claim.

The hack behind the case

On June 12, 2020, Dr. Wright’s law firm SCA Ontier sent a “Notice Regarding Ownership of BTC” to BTC Core Developers Wladimir van der Laan, Jonas Schnelli and Pieter Wuille. The letters described a hack on Wright’s network “on or around 5 February 2020” and subsequent theft of almost 111,000 BTC (currently worth over US$1 billion) from two addresses. The Bitcoin addresses were “unsplit,” meaning they would also contain equivalent value in Bitcoin SV (BSV) and BCH.

No details of how the hack was executed are available publicly, though the letters described the stolen property as private keys to two BTC addresses stored in an encrypted file, as well as part of the information required to open the file. Both the encrypted file and related information were also deleted from Dr. Wright’s network.

The letters did not accuse the three developers of performing the hack itself. However it makes the argument that the stolen BTC remains the legal property of Dr. Wright’s company Tulip Trading Ltd.—and that as protocol developers, the three have legal responsibility to avoid any illegitimate transactions from taking place on the BTC network.

Tulip and Dr. Wright believe that, as those responsible for the ‘Bitcoin’ Core blockchain (BTC) you have duties in relation to transactions on that blockchain in circumstances where you have notice of the interests involved, including in particular avoiding illegitimate transactions being entered on the blockchain where you have notice of the same.

The letters also restated Dr. Wright’s claim to the “Satoshi Nakamoto” pseudonym and asserted that Tulip Trading Ltd. owns the right to the name “Bitcoin” and the Bitcoin database. This formally states another claim Dr. Wright has made in the past: that as the original creator of Bitcoin he is the rightful owner of the name and database, and any other software utilizing these concepts must cease doing so, or pay a licensing fee.

Currently, the two most significant protocols using the name “Bitcoin” and its database are Bitcoin Core/BTC and BCH.

The letters were subsequently mocked by BTC Core lead developer Wladimir van der Laan (aka @orionwl) and their supporters within the community:

WladimirVDLTweet1

A tweet from Blockstream’s Adam Back even appeared to tacitly admit that others know who Satoshi Nakamoto really is:

An erroneous Mt. Gox connection

Dr. Wright’s legal team referred specifically to two BTC/Bitcoin addresses, the encrypted public keys to which they claimed were stolen:

1FeexV6bAHb8ybZjqQMjJrcCrHGW9sb6uF (the “1Feex address”)

12ib7dApVFvg82TXKycWBNpN8kFyiAN1dr (the “12ib7 address”)

The first address (1Feex) sparked interest on social media and an article in the news site Cointelegraph, with several claiming it was linked to a series of hacks that eventually led to the demise of Mt. Gox in February 2014.

SCA Ontier have stated that this claim is erroneous, saying:

“They will say that there is evidence suggesting that that address was part of the Mount Gox hack, and specifically a document filed in U.S. proceedings that appears on its face to be a record of a Skype chat from December 2010 involving Mark Karpeles of Mount Gox. That evidence is so unsubstantial that even commenting upon it gives it more credence than it deserves. I note that CoinTelegraph’s article does not elaborate at all on what the evidence is. As far as we know the Mount Gox liquidators have never asserted that 1Feex was stolen from Mount Gox, which you would imagine they would, if their records supported that assertion.”

Mt. Gox was one of the first exchanges that traded BTC for fiat currencies, and for a period was by far the most popular. It shut down the service suddenly in 2014 and later declared bankruptcy, leaving many large and early Bitcoin holders, who had left large portions of their holdings on the exchange, out of pocket. Details of the hack and theft of 850,000 BTC emerged over time, though there has been no official settlement or final proof of who was involved.

Mt. Gox was based in Tokyo and registered in Japan, and despite lengthy bankruptcy proceedings led by court-appointed trustee Nobuaki Kobayashi, Mt. Gox account holders have seen none of their BTC account balances returned.

In an unrelated event last week, Mt. Gox CEO Mark Karpeles saw a Japanese court reject his appeal against a two-year prison sentence for data manipulation. Karpeles, who spent almost a year in Japanese prison without charge, was released on bail in 2016 and subsequently tried for embezzlement and data manipulation. He was cleared of the embezzlement charges but found guilty of manipulating data to hide the theft from employees and account holders. Neither criminal charge concerned the theft of 850,000 BTC.

The circumstances surrounding the Mt. Gox theft and its aftermath are murky and have been controversial. They include the appointment and departure of exchange Kraken as official handlers of account holders’ redress, and further controversy involving the subsequent handler, BitPoint. Kobayashi has stated that delays in returning creditors’ funds are the result of an ongoing lawsuit between Mt. Gox and former U.S. partner CoinLab.

Dr. Wright has said the waters surrounding early Bitcoin businesses might be even murkier.

Lawyers representing convicted Silk Road Marketplace operator Ross William Ulbricht, defending him at his trial for operating the undercover Silk Road marketplace, claimed in 2015 that the pseudonymous “Dread Pirate Roberts” behind Silk Road was not him but Karpeles.

The Department of Homeland Security had also suspected as such in 2012-2013. Karpelès publicly denied the claim on Twitter, and no formal moves were ever made to prosecute. Ulbricht was eventually found guilty and sentenced to life in prison.

Law is law and it’s time to settle that

Though unrelated to Dr. Wright’s current hacking and theft claims, the Mt. Gox debacle revealed to many the extent of criminal activity and behind-the-scenes manipulation that has plagued Bitcoin from its earlier days. This has damaged Bitcoin’s reputation and stunted its acceptance and growth.

It is this kind of reputation that Dr. Wright and Bitcoin BSV seek to combat and remove from the digital asset space. Settling ownership rights over Bitcoin units and the Bitcoin name/database could go some way to restoring Bitcoin’s reputation and helping it find a legitimate place in the global digital economy.

It’s no secret that Dr. Craig Wright is unloved by those in the BTC community. His law-abiding approach to Bitcoin, coupled with the likelihood that many privately believe he is actually Satoshi Nakamoto, could explain many of the attacks on his character and reputation. A traceable Bitcoin that uncovers past crimes and other illegitimate actions is the last thing many people want.

Their words may not matter if Dr. Wright is able to settle his claims in court, though.

Many in the blockchain and digital asset industry have repeated the twin mantras “code is law” and “your keys, your Bitcoin” over its eleven-year history. The belief stems from the notion that math is the only absolute law and it necessarily trumps any legal rights—even where it may benefit a bad actor to the detriment of a rightful owner. Dr. Wright has led the counter-charge to that view, maintaining that human law remains paramount. He has often promised to take that battle to the justice system to prove his point.

As Dr. Wright has said in the past:

“It’s funny, the cypherpunks want to demonstrate that code is law. In part, they think they can back me into a corner. They think that they can support their assertion by making me sign something publicly. As such, they have a whole plan about keys and how it suits their purpose. Little do they understand, law works differently.”

“The important thing to understand is: law is law.”

New to Bitcoin? Check out CoinGeek’s Bitcoin for Beginners section, the ultimate resource guide to learn more about Bitcoin—as originally envisioned by Satoshi Nakamoto—and blockchain.