Kleiman诉Wright案的陪审团称,比特币系统创造者Craig Wright100%是中本聪

Kleiman诉Wright案的陪审团称,比特币系统创造者Craig Wright100%是中本聪

Kleiman诉Wright案的判决结果出来了:Craig Wright博士是中本聪案的合作伙伴关系背后的唯一力量。Dave Kleiman不是合伙人,其遗产无权包含数十亿美元的中本聪财富。

Kleiman诉Wright案的陪审团今天在对Craig Wright博士提出的七项指控中,除非法占有这一项指控外,对于其他全部指控,都支持Craig Wright。陪审团在非法占有这一点上做出了有利于原告的裁决,但这只适用于W&K Info Defense Research LLC,即Ira声称用来起诉Wright博士的公司。这意味着,尽管陪审团认为Dave Kleiman在中本聪这一项目中没有发挥任何作用,但Wright博士不当地对W&K公司的财产进行了控制。为此,他们将1亿美元判给W&K,并且这1亿美元不是Dave Kleiman的遗产。

然而,我们甚至不完全清楚谁拥有W&K,或者Ira Kleiman是否有权代表它来起诉Wright博士。这对Ira Kleiman来说可能是一个很大的问题,毫无疑问,他希望从中本聪那里得到一笔钱。相反地,他将必须向另一个法院解释他是如何意图代表W&K来起诉Wright博士的,因为该公司似乎是由与Wright分居的前妻Lynn Wright拥有和控制的。

Andrés Rivero在判决后发表的一份声明中说道:

“陪审团今天作出的决定证实了我们已经知道的事实:Craig Wright博士就是中本聪,他是比特币系统与区块链技术的唯一创造者,Craig Wright没有与David Kleiman达成合伙关系来进行比特币挖矿。

“值得庆幸的是,陪审团认可了压倒性的证据——Wright博士拥有3208项和比特币系统与区块链技术有关的专利,他撰写了大量关于比特币系统及其底层代码的文章,并在比特币中本聪愿景(BSV)中恢复了原始比特币协议。

“现在,此案证实了比特币产生的起源,Wright博士计划兑现他的承诺,通过现代最伟大的金融均衡器,赋予边缘化群体权力:比特币中本聪愿景将使人们稳步成为全球资本主义世界的一部分——开始自己进行销售、交易、建设自身,不是因为他们必须接受政府的施舍,而是因为他们可以有尊严地为自己工作。Wright博士计划使比特币中本聪愿景持续下去并且经久不衰。“

该判决是在经过艰苦的审议后作出的,起初,陪审团回到法官Beth Bloom面前,说他们无法就他们所被要求决定的任何问题达成一致。Bloom发出了一项艾伦指示,敦促他们再试着达成一致。

该诉讼是由已故网络安全从业者Dave Kleiman的弟弟Ira Kleiman提起的,本案涉及了比特币系统的发明。据Ira称,Wright博士不但以中本聪的化名发明了比特币,而且他是与Dave合伙发明比特币的。因此,根据Ira的说法,他的兄弟有权分享这个合伙业务的资产:即110万个比特币和一系列定义宽泛的知识产权,其总价值达数百甚至数千亿美元。

Wright博士从未否认过Dave Kleiman在比特币的发明中发挥了作用。他在证人席上情绪激动地告诉陪审团,他认为Dave对该项目至关重要,但除了精神支持和整理中本聪的一些例如白皮书的早期著作之外,他没有对比特币的创造做出过贡献。

另一方面,Ira表示这两个人是商业伙伴,Dave Kleiman可能有资格获得中本聪财富的一半。

几个星期以来,陪审团面对的是数千页的证据和数小时的证词。大量的证据表明,Wright博士是2008年比特币系统创建工作中的核心人物——澳大利亚皇家空军(RAAF)中校Don Lynam的证词表明,Wright在比特币白皮书发布前给了他一份草案,他在Wright的指示下运行了比特币系统最早的一个节点,在比特币系统发布前几年,Wright博士在BDO工作时开发了这个项目的早期形式,电子邮件显示Wright博士在2009年后的时间里交易了大量的比特币。

另一方面,很少有证据表明Dave Kleiman参与了比特币系统的创建。事实上,几乎没有证据表明Dave曾经持有过任何比特币。例如,医学证词显示,Dave病得太重以至于不可能为比特币系统做贡献,尽管他在贫穷中去世,但没有证据表明Dave在去世前几个月试图使用他所谓的大量比特币财富。他的朋友们都作证说,他们从未在Dave活着的时候听到他谈论过比特币。

对于迈阿密的陪审团来说,证据只指向了一个方向:其中没有合伙关系。

从本质上讲,该判决相当于认定中本聪是一个人的产物:Craig Wright博士。

陪审团显然不相信原告的论点,即Wright选择在Dave去世后窃取他在合伙企业中的份额,并伪造倒签合同,使转让行为看起来是双方自愿发生的。这些文件据说来自澳大利亚税务局(ATO)对Wright的几家公司的调查,然而它们的来源很可疑,而且都没有直接涉及Dave Kleiman声称参与比特币发明的相关工作的内容。

在所有松散关联着的文件与事例中,Ira的律师说要证明Wright博士是个骗子,原告的策略似乎是将这场审判变成对Wright的可信度的全民公投。

在审判的最后几天,伪造问题对原告产生了适得其反的影响,据披露,原告案件中的一个关键证据——一封Wright在2008年初邀请Dave Kleiman为他处理比特币相关的电子邮件——很可能是由Wright以外的人伪造的。这封电子邮件是Dave Kleiman在比特币系统于2009年通过白皮书被发布之前人们所听说过的唯一证据。

他们显然认为Wright博士不当地控制了W&K的资产,但他没有控制Dave Kleiman的资产——如果陪审团认为Wright博士对不起他已故的挚友,他们可以对Wright博士进行多项指控,其中包括违反合伙关系以及对Dave Kleiman遗产的个人非法占有。

这对Wright博士来说是一个悬而未决的问题。毫无疑问,W&K的所有权将会需要被解决,谁也不知道Ira Kleiman是否有体力或财力在法庭上来辩称W&K实际上属于他。

除此之外,Kleiman诉Wright案的诉讼只是这位显而易见的比特币系统创造者所涉及的一系列法律行动之一。事实上,打赢与Kleiman的官司是Wright博士最新的一场胜利,这正在形成势如破竹的连胜。在过去的12个月中,Wright赢得了对HodlonautPeter McCormack的判决,在那篇诽谤性帖子中他们声称Wright是个骗子;并且Wright成功地对BTC开发者Cøbra强制执行了他在比特币白皮书中的版权。对于悬而未决即将发生的诉讼来说,不言自明。

请于此处观看Kleiman诉Wright案审理的最新特别报道:

请您于Kleiman诉Wright案的YouTube播放列表中查看所有的CoinGeek特别报道。

该故事是爆炸性的,并且将会被更新。

202024日的“创世”协议升级是比特币历史上的一大里程碑,将见证BSV最大程度地回归到中本聪原先设想的协议。请访问“创世”硬分叉页面以了解更多信息。

要直接在您的收件箱接获CoinGeek.com最新消息,CoinGeek会议特别优惠以及其他内部信息,请加入我们的邮件列表

[id^="_form"]
[id^="_form"]
[id$="_submit"]
[id$="_submit"]
[^;]
[^;]
[?&]
[?&]
[^&#]
[^&#]
[(d+)]
[(d+)]
[elem.name]
[elem.name]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-']
[+_a-z0-9-']
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z]
[a-z]
[el.name]
[el.name]
[id^="_form"]
[id^="_form"]
[id$="_submit"]
[id$="_submit"]
[^;]
[^;]
[?&]
[?&]
[^&#]
[^&#]
[(d+)]
[(d+)]
[elem.name]
[elem.name]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-']
[+_a-z0-9-']
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z]
[a-z]
[el.name]
[el.name]

Bitcoin creator Craig Wright 100% Satoshi Nakamoto, says Kleiman v Wright jury

Bitcoin creator Craig Wright 100% Satoshi Nakamoto, says Kleiman v Wright jury

The verdict is in: Dr. Craig Wright was the sole force behind the Satoshi Nakamoto partnership. Dave Kleiman was not a partner, and his estate is entitled to none of the multi-billion-dollar Satoshi fortune.

The Kleiman v Wright jury today returned in favor of Dr. Craig Wright on all but one of the seven counts against him—conversion. The jury found for the plaintiff on that count, but only to the extent that it applies to W&K Info Defense Research LLC, the company which Ira was purporting to use to sue Dr. Wright. This means that though the jury found that Dave Kleiman played no role in the Satoshi Nakamoto project, Dr. Wright had wrongfully exercised control over the property of W&K. For this, they awarded $100 million to W&K—and not the estate of Dave Kleiman.

However, it’s not even entirely clear who owns W&K or if Ira Kleiman was even entitled to sue Dr. Wright on behalf of it. This is likely to be highly problematic for Ira Kleiman, who no doubt was hoping for a payday from Satoshi Nakamoto. Instead, he’ll have to explain to another court how he purported to sue Dr. Wright on behalf of W&K in the first place, considering it appears to be owned and controlled by none other than Lynn Wright, Wright’s estranged ex-wife.

Andrés Rivero said in a statement following the verdict:

“The decision reached by the jury today reinforces what we already knew to be the truth: Dr. Craig Wright is Satoshi Nakamoto, the sole creator of Bitcoin and block chain technology,  and  Craig Wright did not form a partnership with David Kleiman to mine Bitcoin.

“Thankfully, the jury recognized the overwhelming evidence—that Dr. Wright holds 3,208 patents related to Bitcoin and blockchain technology, he has written extensively about Bitcoin and its underlying code, and has restored the original bitcoin protocol in Bitcoin Satoshi’s Vision (BSV).

“Now that this case confirmed the origins of Bitcoin’s creation, Dr. Wright plans to make good on his promise to empower marginalized groups through the greatest financial equalizer of the modern era: Bitcoin Satoshi’s Vision will allow people to steadily become part of the global capitalist world–start selling, trading, building themselves, not because they have to take handouts from the government, but because they can work with dignity for themselves. Dr. Wright plans to make Bitcoin Satoshi’s Vision something that’s sustaining and sustainable that lasts.”

The verdict comes after an arduous deliberation which initially saw the jury come back to Judge Beth Bloom and say they were unable to agree on any of the questions they had been asked to decide. Bloom issued an Allen charge, urging them to take another run at coming to an agreement.

The suit had been brought by Ira Kleiman, brother of late cybersecurity practitioner Dave Kleiman, and concerned the invention of Bitcoin. According to Ira, not only did Dr. Wright invent Bitcoin under the Satoshi Nakamoto pseudonym, he did so in partnership with Dave. Therefore, according to Ira, his brother was entitled to a share of the assets of the partnership: namely 1.1 million Bitcoin and a loosely defined bundle of intellectual property together worth tens if not hundreds of billions of dollars.

Dr. Wright had never denied that Dave Kleiman played a role in the invention of Bitcoin. He told the jury during his emotional time on the stand that he considered Dave vital to the project, but that he hadn’t contributed to its creation beyond moral support and cleaning up some of Satoshi’s early writings, such as the white paper.

Ira, on the other hand, says the two were business partners, with Dave Kleiman being entitled to potentially half of the Satoshi Nakamoto fortune.

For weeks, the jury was confronted with thousands of pages of exhibits and hours of testimony. There was a swell of evidence which placed Dr. Wright squarely at the heart of Bitcoin’s creation back in 2008—testimony from RAAF Wing Commander Don Lynam that Wright gave him a draft copy of the Bitcoin whitepaper before it was released and that he ran one of Bitcoin’s earliest nodes at Wright’s instruction, early forms of the project he had developed in his employment at BDO years before Bitcoin was released and emails showing Dr. Wright dealing in vast amounts of Bitcoin in the time since 2009.

On the other hand, there was very little evidence that Dave Kleiman was involved in Bitcoin’s creation. In fact, there’s scant evidence that Dave ever held any Bitcoin at all. For example, medical testimony showed that Dave was too ill to have contributed to Bitcoin, and despite dying in poverty, there is no evidence that Dave tried to use his allegedly vast Bitcoin wealth in the months before his death. His friends all testified that they never heard Dave speak about Bitcoin while he was alive.

For the jury in Miami, the evidence pointed only one way: no partnership.

In essence, the verdict amounts to a finding that Satoshi Nakamoto was the product of one man: Dr. Craig Wright.

The jury was apparently unconvinced by the plaintiff’s argument that Wright had chosen to steal Dave’s share of the partnership after his death and forged backdated contracts to make the transfers appear consensual. The documents supposedly came from the Australian Taxation Office’s (ATO) investigation into several of Wright’s companies, though their origin is dubious and none are concerned directly with Dave Kleiman’s alleged involvement in Bitcoin.

Among all of the loosely relevant documents and instances which the Ira’s lawyers said prove Dr. Wright is a liar, the strategy for the plaintiffs seemed to be to turn the trial into a referendum on Wright’s credibility.

The forgery issue backfired on the plaintiffs spectacularly in the closing days of trial, where it was revealed that a key piece of evidence in the plaintiff’s case—an email where Wright apparently invites Dave Kleiman to work on him with Bitcoin back in early 2008—was likely forged by someone other than Wright. The email was the only evidence Dave Kleiman had ever heard of Bitcoin before it was released via the white paper in 2009.

They apparently bought that Dr. Wright had wrongfully taken control of the assets of W&K but not Dave Kleiman—had the jury felt that Dr. Wright had wronged his dead best friend, there were multiple counts on which they could have found against Dr. Wright, including breach of partnership and conversion against the Dave Kleiman estate personally.

Where this leaves Dr. Wright is an open question. No doubt, the ownership of W&K will need to be resolved, and who knows whether Ira Kleiman has the physical or financial stamina to argue in court that W&K actually belongs to him.

Beyond that, the Kleiman v Wright suit is just one of a number of legal actions the apparent Bitcoin creator is involved in. Indeed, the victory over Kleiman is the latest in what is becoming a formidable win streak for Dr. Wright. In the last 12 months, Wright has secured judgments against Hodlonaut and Peter McCormack over defamatory posts they had made calling Wright a fraud, and successfully enforced his copyright in the Bitcoin whitepaper against BTC developer Cøbra. This is to say nothing of the pending and impending litigation waiting in the wings.

Watch our latest Special Report from the Kleiman v Wright trial here:

Check out all of the CoinGeek special reports on the Kleiman v Wright YouTube playlist.

This story is breaking and will be updated.

New to Bitcoin? Check out CoinGeek’s Bitcoin for Beginners section, the ultimate resource guide to learn more about Bitcoin—as originally envisioned by Satoshi Nakamoto—and blockchain.

[id^="_form"]
[id^="_form"]
[id$="_submit"]
[id$="_submit"]
[^;]
[^;]
[?&]
[?&]
[^&#]
[^&#]
[(d+)]
[(d+)]
[elem.name]
[elem.name]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-']
[+_a-z0-9-']
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z]
[a-z]
[el.name]
[el.name]
[id^="_form"]
[id^="_form"]
[id$="_submit"]
[id$="_submit"]
[^;]
[^;]
[?&]
[?&]
[^&#]
[^&#]
[(d+)]
[(d+)]
[elem.name]
[elem.name]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-']
[+_a-z0-9-']
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z]
[a-z]
[el.name]
[el.name]