Solana:仅仅是重启而已

Solana:仅仅是重启而已

本季度由Andreesen Horowitz提供资金的区块链Solana在本周举办了一场大型活动,但Solana并不是您所期望的在其首席执行官Anatoly Yakovanko的指导下被管理妥当的热门区块链。Solana发生了一次交易泛洪事故,由于验证节点在可能存在的拒绝服务攻击(denial of service)下彼此之间失去了同步,导致了网络分裂。他们是如何解决这件事的呢?仅仅是重新启动它而已。当身处中心地位的规划者决定如何进行处理之际,Solana已经中止运转半天了。

Solana: Just reboot it
这并不是玩笑

在说“坏话”之前,需要指出的是,Solana已经构建了一些功能性的事物,并且创建了某些人的温床——这些人明白以太坊无法扩容,但区块链革命需要为世界工作的能力。他们相信在1层的扩容。在这个概念上,大区块支持者之间有着合作关系,我们应该承认,如果Solana的盟友决定将他们的想法移植到BSV区块链上,我们可能有机会与他们共进晚餐。

那么Solana是什么?

它本质上是以太坊2.0的竞争者,它具备一些特殊的调整以及被称为“历史证明”的权益证明共识算法的变体版本,其区块时间也非常短(400毫秒)。他们的网络结构允许水平扩容(类似Teranode)、并行计算,也有以极其高效的Rust语言进行编程的智能合约。Solana将这些因素结合以提供快速的用户体验,并且可以通过在网络中添加验证节点来实现似乎无限的扩容潜力。但Solana的生态系统并非完美无缺。

我还记得EOS和TRX宣称将改变世界的时候,我还记得在它们之前出现了许多其他公司。事实上,在Solana变得离线的前一天,我发了一条相当有预言性质的推文,说Solana能够风光的日子和其前辈一样屈指可数了。

对于Solana来说,不幸的是,在9月14日,该区块链在9个月内第二次失去了同步状态,原因是历史证明中的部分共识结构仍然需要全网同步。这是为了在像以太坊这样的图灵完备系统中轻松复制“状态”的一种权衡方式。虽然Solana在交易层面上用其独特的方法缓解了一些问题,但共识方法从根本上说不如比特币系统中的并行的竞争共识。

他们的其他问题源于权益证明的一个固有问题:不公平的分配导致了中心化的治理。Solana是在ICO时启动的,种子合作伙伴、创始人、基金会和社区基金都获得了预挖的代币。这不仅几乎可以肯定会让SOL代币成为一种证券,而且它还在所有验证节点依靠内部人员提供帮助的状况下启动了网络。这在治理层面上天生就是中心化的,我们可以从这样一个事实得出该结论:每当这个网络失去同步的时候,它必须能够被重新启动才行。这首先引出了关于去中心化的意义的问题。

那么现在情况是什么样的?

比特币系统解决了这个问题!工作量证明不仅仅是一种公平的分配模式。这是唯一公平的治理模式,也是真正实现扩容的唯一途径。在共识具有竞争性的UTXO系统中,只要诚实的节点统治网络,有着未经确认交易的长链就可以被信任。这就是比特币系统不会失去同步的原因。虽然人们可以从Solana那里学到一些实践经验,但该协议远比比特币脆弱,它并没有真正提供任何最高端的东西。

比特币SV有能力实现图灵完备智能合约、全球性的扩容、在这个账本中存储艺术品的链上NFT等等功能。在深入研究了Solana白皮书和他们的一些公开文献之后,他们甚至似乎已经对中本聪进行了一些详细的研究,但出于安全、可扩容性和长期可用性这些至关重要的原因,比特币最初的设计是这个特殊的平衡下被制定出来的。

总有一天,我们会很高兴地看到他们的开发者和企业家明白这一点并加入我们!

202024日的“创世”协议升级是比特币历史上的一大里程碑,将见证BSV最大程度地回归到中本聪原先设想的协议。请访问“创世”硬分叉页面以了解更多信息。

要直接在您的收件箱接获CoinGeek.com最新消息,CoinGeek会议特别优惠以及其他内部信息,请加入我们的邮件列表

[id^="_form"]
[id^="_form"]
[id$="_submit"]
[id$="_submit"]
[^;]
[^;]
[?&]
[?&]
[^&#]
[^&#]
[(d+)]
[(d+)]
[elem.name]
[elem.name]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-']
[+_a-z0-9-']
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z]
[a-z]
[el.name]
[el.name]
[id^="_form"]
[id^="_form"]
[id$="_submit"]
[id$="_submit"]
[^;]
[^;]
[?&]
[?&]
[^&#]
[^&#]
[(d+)]
[(d+)]
[elem.name]
[elem.name]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-']
[+_a-z0-9-']
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z]
[a-z]
[el.name]
[el.name]

Solana: Just reboot it

Solana: Just reboot it

Solana, the Andreesen Horowitz-funded blockchain of the season, had a major event this week, and not the kind that you would expect from the hotshot blockchain managed under the guidance of CEO Anatoly Yakovanko. Solana had a transaction flood incident which split the network as validators came out of sync with one another under a possible denial of service attack. Their solution? Just reboot it. Solana was down for half a day as central planners decided how to proceed.

Solana: Just reboot it
This is not a joke

Before twisting the knife, it’s important to point out that Solana has built something functional, and created a hotbed of people who understand that Ethereum can’t scale, but that the blockchain revolution needs to be able to work for the world. They believe in Layer 1 scaling. On that notion, big blockers share a kinship, and we should acknowledge that there could be opportunities to break bread with Solana alumni should they decide to port their ideas to the BSV blockchain. 

So what is Solana? 

Well, it’s essentially an Ethereum 2.0 competitor with some special trimmings, a variation on the proof of stake consensus algorithm called “proof of history,” and a very fast block time (400 milliseconds). Their network structure allows for horizontal scaling (like Teranode), parallelization in computation and also has smart contracts programmable in the extremely efficient Rust language. Those things combined make for a fast user experience and a seemingly limitless potential to scale by adding validators to the network. But all is not well in the Solana ecosystem. 

I remember when EOS and TRX were going to change the world, and I remember a bunch of others that came before them. In fact, I made a pretty fateful tweet about it one day before Solana went offline about how Solana’s days are numbered just like their predecessors. 

Unfortunately for Solana, on September 14, the blockchain lost synchronization for the second time in nine months due to the fact that part of the consensus structure in proof of history still requires network-wide synchronization. This is a trade off in order to easily replicate “state” in a Turing complete system like Ethereum, and while Solana mitigates some of the issues with their unique approach at the transaction level, the consensus method is fundamentally inferior to parallelizing competitive consensus in Bitcoin. 

Their other problems arise from an inherent problem with proof of stake: unfair distribution leading to centralized governance. Solana was launched in an ICO where seed partners, founders, a foundation and community fund were all given pre-mined tokens. Not only does this almost certainly make the SOL token a security, but it also kicks off the network from a position of all validators being tied to stake which was provided by insiders. This is innately centralizing in governance, which is illustrated by the fact that the network was able to essentially be rebooted every time it has come out of sync. This begs the question about the point of decentralization in the first place. 

So what now?

Well, Bitcoin fixes this! Proof of work is not just a fair distribution model. It is the only fair governance model, and it is truly the only way to scale. In a UTXO system where consensus is competitive, long chains of unconfirmed transactions can be trusted as long as honest nodes rule the network. This is why Bitcoin does not fall out of sync. While there are some implementation lessons that could be learned from Solana, the protocol is far more fragile than Bitcoin and does not really offer anything superlative. 

Bitcoin SV is capable of Turing complete smart contracts, global scale, on chain NFTs with all art stored in the ledger, and so much more. After digging into the Solana white paper and some of their public literature, it even seems like they have studied Satoshi in some detail, but the original design was made in a specific balance for reasons which are crucial to security, scalability, and usability over a very long time horizon.

Someday, it would be nice to see their developers and entrepreneurs understand this and join us!

New to Bitcoin? Check out CoinGeek’s Bitcoin for Beginners section, the ultimate resource guide to learn more about Bitcoin—as originally envisioned by Satoshi Nakamoto—and blockchain.

[id^="_form"]
[id^="_form"]
[id$="_submit"]
[id$="_submit"]
[^;]
[^;]
[?&]
[?&]
[^&#]
[^&#]
[(d+)]
[(d+)]
[elem.name]
[elem.name]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-']
[+_a-z0-9-']
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z]
[a-z]
[el.name]
[el.name]
[id^="_form"]
[id^="_form"]
[id$="_submit"]
[id$="_submit"]
[^;]
[^;]
[?&]
[?&]
[^&#]
[^&#]
[(d+)]
[(d+)]
[elem.name]
[elem.name]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-']
[+_a-z0-9-']
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z]
[a-z]
[el.name]
[el.name]