Cryptocurrency on a computer

诚实地运行一个比特币节点

在基本的IT术语中,什么是网络“节点”?Techopedia将其描述为“数据通信网络中的交叉点/连接点”。在所有设备都可以通过网络访问的环境中,这些设备都被视为节点。每个节点的单独定义取决于它所指的网络类型。”

有趣的是,这个定义包含了一个警告,即“节点”可以由网络的创建者根据它所运行的网络的“类型”来定义。奇怪的是,中本聪比特币白皮书中16次使用了“诚实”这个词来描述关于安全与攻击载体的情况。然而,他使用这个词的大多数时候,都将其直接用在了“节点”这个词的前面;“节点”在白皮书中共出现了38次。那么节点的作用是什么呢?

steps to run a network

好吧,那“诚实的节点”是什么呢?

比特币系统是一个共识网络,其目的是用工作量证明解决拜占庭将军问题。如果这听起来很疯狂,那么很抱歉。幸运的是,这并不像听起来那样疯狂。想象一下,在古代的拜占庭时代,五位将军围绕着一座被围困的城市。他们不能直接地进行交谈,所以他们只好遣派骑手或通过其他一些技术含量低的通信手段相互交流。当消息被送达时,他们不知道它是否被篡改了,所以他们的通信存在着基本的信任问题。

解决这个问题(以及比特币系统通过公共网络所能够解决的其他一些问题)的方法是工作量证明,这本质上是在骑手身上添加一个支线任务。如果骑手能够解开一个只有拜占庭人才知道的复杂谜题,那么他更有可能是一个诚实的骑手。或者,至少,如果他不诚实,他将努力表现得像其他将军麾下那些其他诚实的骑手一样。这就像一个不良行为者的过滤器,在实际应用中,它运行得近乎完美。

但这则寓言的问题在于:针对一个纯粹的技术官僚(就像一个BTC小区块支持者)来说,他们的运作是基于这样的假设:将军们是不诚实的,或者随着时间的推移,他们获得了产生更多工作量证明的能力,于是他们变得不那么诚实。这导致他们想要网络上更加新的“将军”或节点,这些节点不能产生工作量证明,因为,出于某种原因,他们已经决定:沟通渠道中大量的利他主义使他们更强大。这简直不可理喻。

几年前我意识到拜占庭的将军们是互相认识的。为了成为拜占庭军队的一名将军,他们必须联合起来。他们本可以在战斗中互相保护,并且可能在整个职业生涯中直接或间接地拯救对方的生命。将军们不太可能不诚实。他们可以互相信任。他们赢得了对方的信任。他们绝大多数的信任问题都与沟通渠道本身有关。如果他们有直接的点对点连接与千兆以太网,他们就不会出现任何问题。为什么?因为它们是“诚实的节点”

在攻击、压力或战斗中,对真相达成共识是“诚实节点”的工作。比特币系统的其余功能可以简单地由“节点”管理。

在意识到拜占庭将军是人的同时,我也意识到“节点”是计算机,而“诚实的节点”实际上是人。一个节点会做任何它被编程来做的事情。它不能选择诚实或不诚实,就像汽车本身不能导致事故的发生,枪本身不能射人一样。奇怪的是,人们似乎都认为恶意的或攻击者的节点肯定是由人类运行的,但为什么不去认为诚实的节点也是由人运行的呢?

只有人类具有行动能力。

中本聪不相信那些用IP地址而不是工作量证明来投票支持真理的人,并且描述了比特币系统中的sybil攻击问题,同时假设只要“诚实的节点”掌管着大部分的CPU,网络即使受到攻击也会持续存在下去的。

the proof of work

但是,如果比特币系统使用IP地址来进行投票,并且大多数CPU不是由诚实的节点控制的呢?UASF就是这样的一个例子。这是一种破坏共识的sybil攻击,大多数节点都遵循一个不诚实的信号,即一个IP地址在没有任何工作量证明的情况下在某一特定的日子进行投票。因此出现了比特币内战与作为具有诚实节点的链(BSV)的出现。

所以行动起来吧,人类们!

在攻击下,节点的运行者成为共识的重要组成部分。正是在这些时刻,网络才见证为什么节点运营商要花大把的钱来确保网络的巡航控制安全,因为他们关心的是网络数据的完整性与自己业务/节点的声誉。但在日常生活中,节点根据协议定义的一组规则来保护自己的网络。

这就是诚实的节点会分割网络以保留IP/sybil攻击中的UTXO集的原因,并且这正是BSV问世以中本聪所描述的方式解决拜占庭将军问题的原因。

以下是大区块支持者与小区块支持者在世界观上的分歧:

  • 一个小区块支持者相信用代码表达出来的技术官僚的完美,因此网络是完美无暇的,而不需要人工干预,他们假设所有的人类都是腐败的,在所有情况下都需要机器来进行治理。代码即法律,机器完美地执行着正义。

     

    terminator meme

  • 大区块支持者认为,比特币系统被设计成一种灵活的、可扩大范围的商业工具,它需要人类的互动才能实现真正有价值的事物。因此,只要人类在管理机器时保持警惕,那么由机器进行治理是很好的,但当事情变得疯狂时,人类就会采取行动以保护系统并且执行规则。

     

    scene from The Matrix

最后总结一下,一个比特币节点是一台提供工作量证明并通过构建区块来验证区块的计算机。但是一个诚实的节点与一个攻击者的节点都是由人的行为控制的,比特币白皮书在协议中假设了这种人的行为!所以我们应该欣然接受节点的存在,我们也许还应该诚实地运行一个比特币节点。

这只是需要您进行思索的一些事物。

202024日的“创世”协议升级是比特币历史上的一大里程碑,将见证BSV最大程度地回归到中本聪原先设想的协议。请访问“创世”硬分叉页面以了解更多信息。

要直接在您的收件箱接获CoinGeek.com最新消息,CoinGeek会议特别优惠以及其他内部信息,请加入我们的邮件列表

[id^="_form"]
[id^="_form"]
[id$="_submit"]
[id$="_submit"]
[^;]
[^;]
[?&]
[?&]
[^&#]
[^&#]
[(d+)]
[(d+)]
[elem.name]
[elem.name]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-']
[+_a-z0-9-']
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z]
[a-z]
[el.name]
[el.name]
[id^="_form"]
[id^="_form"]
[id$="_submit"]
[id$="_submit"]
[^;]
[^;]
[?&]
[?&]
[^&#]
[^&#]
[(d+)]
[(d+)]
[elem.name]
[elem.name]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-']
[+_a-z0-9-']
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z]
[a-z]
[el.name]
[el.name]

Cryptocurrency on a computer

Run a Bitcoin node, honestly

What is a network “node” in basic IT terms? Techopedia describes it as, “a point of intersection/connection within a data communication network. In an environment where all devices are accessible through the network, these devices are all considered nodes. The individual definition of each node depends on the type of network it refers to.”

Interesting that the definition includes the caveat that the “node” can be defined by the creator of the network based on the “type” of network on which it operates. Curiously, Satoshi Nakamoto uses the word “honest” 16 times in the Bitcoin white paper to describe security and attack vectors. However, most of the times he uses the word, it’s directly before the word “node;” which occurs 38 times in the white paper. So what does a node do?

steps to run a network

Ok, but what about “Honest Nodes?”

Bitcoin is a consensus network designed to solve the Byzantine Generals Problem with proof of work. If that sounds insane, sorry. Fortunately, it’s not as crazy as it sounds. Picture five generals surrounding a city under siege in the era of ancient Byzantium. They can’t talk directly, so they have to send riders or some other low-tech means of communication between each other. When the message arrives, they can’t know if it was tampered with, so they have a fundamental trust problem with their communications.

The solution to solving this is proof of work (and a few other things that Bitcoin solves with a public network) which is essentially to add a side-quest to the rider. If the rider can solve a complicated puzzle that only a Byzantine would know, it is more likely that he is an honest rider. Or, at the very least, if he is dishonest, he will struggle to perform as well as the other honest riders among the other generals. This acts as a filter for bad actors, and works probabilistically often enough that it functions near perfection in practical application. 

But here’s the issue with the allegory: to a pure technocrat (like a BTC small blocker), they operate under the assumption that the generals are dishonest or that they become less honest as they gain the ability to generate more proof of work over time. This leads them to want newer “generals” or nodes on the network which don’t generate proof of work because, for some reason, they have decided that lots and lots of altruism across communication channels makes them more robust. That’s actually insane. 

Something I realized a few years ago is that Byzantine Generals know each other. In order to be a general in the Byzantine military, they would have come up together. They would have protected each others’ backs in battle, and likely saved each others’ lives both directly and indirectly for their entire careers. The generals are very unlikely to be dishonest. They can trust each other. They have earned that trust. The overwhelming majority of their trust problem is with the communication channel itself. If they had direct peer connections and gigabit ethernet, they wouldn’t have a problem at all. Why? Because they are “honest nodes.” 

Under attack, or under pressure, or amid a battle, consensus about the truth is the job of an “honest node.” The rest of bitcoin’s functions can be managed simply by “nodes.” 

In realizing that Byzantine Generals are people, I realized too that while “nodes” are computers, “honest nodes” are actually people. A node will do whatever it is programmed to do. It cannot choose to be honest or dishonest any more than a car can cause an accident, or a gun can shoot a person. Curiously enough, people seem to agree that a malicious or an attacker node is definitely run by a human, but why not an honest node?!

Only. Humans. Act. 

Satoshi did not trust humans that vote for the truth with their IP address rather than with their proof of work, and described the problem of a sybil attack in Bitcoin while assuming that the network would persist even under attack as long as “honest nodes” control a majority of CPU. 

the proof of work

But what if Bitcoin used IP addresses to vote, and the majority of CPU was not controlled by honest nodes? Well, UASF is exactly that. It’s a sybil attack subverting consensus, and a majority of nodes follow the dishonest signal of an IP address voting in a flag day with no proof of work. Hence the Bitcoin Civil War and emergence of BSV as the chain with honest nodes. 

So act, human! 

Under attack, the operator of a node becomes a crucial part of consensus. It’s these moments when the network sees why the node operator has been spending incredible money to secure the network on cruise control because they care about the integrity of the network’s data and the reputation of their own business/node. But on a day to day basis, nodes secure their network according to a set of rules defined by the protocol. 

This is why honest nodes split the network to retain the UTXO set from the IP/sybil attack, and it’s why BSV exists to solve the Byzantine Generals problem in the way described by Satoshi Nakamoto. 

Here’s where big blockers and small blockers diverge in their worldview: 

  • A small blocker believes in a technocratic perfection expressed in code so that the network is flawless and requires no human intervention under the assumption that all humans are corrupt and that governance by machines is desirable in all circumstances. Code is law, and machines enforce justice perfectly.

    terminator meme

  • Big blockers believe that Bitcoin was designed as a flexible, extensible business tool that requires human interaction in order to achieve something truly valuable. Therefore, governance by machines is great as long as humans remain vigilant in managing them, but when things get crazy, humans act to secure the system and enforce rules.

    scene from The Matrix

In closing summary, a Bitcoin node is a computer that contributes proof of work and validates block by building blocks. But an honest node and an attacker node are both steered by human action, and the Bitcoin white paper assumes this human action in the protocol! So we should embrace it, and perhaps run a Bitcoin node, honestly. 

Just something to think about. 

New to Bitcoin? Check out CoinGeek’s Bitcoin for Beginners section, the ultimate resource guide to learn more about Bitcoin—as originally envisioned by Satoshi Nakamoto—and blockchain.

[id^="_form"]
[id^="_form"]
[id$="_submit"]
[id$="_submit"]
[^;]
[^;]
[?&]
[?&]
[^&#]
[^&#]
[(d+)]
[(d+)]
[elem.name]
[elem.name]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-']
[+_a-z0-9-']
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z]
[a-z]
[el.name]
[el.name]
[id^="_form"]
[id^="_form"]
[id$="_submit"]
[id$="_submit"]
[^;]
[^;]
[?&]
[?&]
[^&#]
[^&#]
[(d+)]
[(d+)]
[elem.name]
[elem.name]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-']
[+_a-z0-9-']
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z]
[a-z]
[el.name]
[el.name]