回应Antonopoulos关于BTC双花的分析

就在近期,BitMex Research的ForkMonitor检测到BTC链中出现了分裂,暂时领先的链被重组,由此产生了1个孤块。仅此而已,这里并没有什么重要的内容或值得注意的地方……区块重组一直在发生,它们是比特币设计中的一个基本部分,并且它为在网络上工作最多的矿工提供奖励。

该起事件之所以尤其独特,最终导致“crypto-twitter”(俗称,加密货币相关内容的推文)陷入危机,是因为其中一笔交易出现了冲突。它不符合通常的RBF类型的交易。

什么是RBF?
Replace-By-Fee是在BTC链上的一种交易的方式,Core开发人员实施了这种方法,以帮助加快其加密网络上的交易速度。由于BTC的交易吞吐量有限,一次只能处理一定数量的交易。这将速度限制在大约每秒3笔交易……对于一个支付网络来说,这是一个可怕的速度。矿工(处理交易的人)从队列中提取交易,不是采用先进先出的服务,而是采用最高费用优先的方式。因此,每一笔BTC交易都附有一笔可观的手续费……每个人都想排到队列的最前面。在流量极大的时候,即使附加了合理的费用,用户也不得不等待几天甚至更久才能看到自己的交易继续进行。

这就是BTC Core开发者在此引入RBF的一种策略,该策略允许交易的发送者重新进行交易,并附加更高的费用。因此,假设我自己的交易已经等待了2天,并且我已经支付了2美元的费用,那么我可以重播同一笔交易,并增加其费用。基本上,我是在用更高的费用创建一笔新的交易,以吸引矿工先将其提取。

因此,当人们试图通过RBF的调用来推动这笔交易时,我们很容易指出几点……首先,是这两笔数值不同的交易都被记录在不同的区块中;并且重要的是,低得惊人的1sat/字节的低费用交易居然最终胜出了。

《掌握比特币》的作者Andreas Antonopoulos在损害控制方面做出了回应。

在一次Twitter讨论中,他解释说,区块重组是BTC日常运行和业务的一部分。然后,他解释了重组的概率,以及从统计学上看,超过1个或2个区块深度重组的概率有多大。这些解释都很好,大家都很认同。

Andreas解释说:“在重组的过程中,有人可能会尝试‘双花’。从整个区块链的角度来看,这并不是双花。只有1笔支出能够存在,因此不会发生双花的情况。”是的,只有1条链可以存活下来,只有1笔交易可以存活下来,但正如他后面指出的那样,存活下来的完全可以是错误的交易。而这正是问题的关键所在!每当我们谈论双花,或者51%攻击时,指的总是对区块链进行重写,而很少是关于币在同一条链上花了两次。不久前,以太经典网络上发生了超过500万美元的双花。这最终也是仅以1个交易历史和1笔交易结束。失败的交易被孤立了。对于ETC来说,这固然是一次意义非凡的重组。

随后,他提到了白皮书的第8页,其中显示了关于双花概率的计算。除此以外,他提到的那一页是专门讨论发生过的攻击的。有大量的证据表明,双花是一个精心设计的、有时间限制的交易,为的就是实现其目的。创建交易的人非常清楚自己在做什么。有趣的是,Andreas提出了一个观点,即等待更高价值的确认。对于所有的POW区块链来说,这的确是个好建议。但是,如果直接采纳他的建议,并将其应用于眼前发生的重组问题中,问题的要点就会显现出来。这仅仅是一次金额为21美元的双花。21美元是那种大多数人都会接受单次确认的金额。

Andreas得出结论:“细想一下,这个问题已经被揭穿了”。我认为这个问题现在已经很明显了,BTC社区现在应该考虑设置一个合适的确认金额,用较小金额的确认,而不仅仅是较大金额的确认。但除此之外,闪电网络的开发者如何解决这个问题?

然而,更复杂的是,正如nChain的首席科学家Craig S Wright博士所指出的那样,这可能会对闪电网络的通道和结算产生影响。比特币的发明者Wright博士指出,“如果对闪电网络的结算进行双花,那么实际上就破坏了整个BTC系统。观察塔(watch towers,闪电网络中的程序)与假定的花费(spend)相关,其中没有输入(input),也没有惩罚(publishment)……根据定义,在BTC这里发生的事情正是双花。”

Andreas对试图消除这种恐惧所做的努力是可以理解的。人们投入了真金白银,而恐慌会对市场造成恶劣的影响。然而,这凸显了一种表里不一的现象,过去,仅仅是BSV上的重组(根本没有双花)就被媒体到处抹黑。我敢说,如果这件事发生在BSV上,全世界都会知道。

Antonopoulos还批评了出版物引用BSV相关人员发言的情况,他认为他们不是“真正的比特币开发者或专家”。

responding-to-antonopoulos-on-the-btc-double-spend-analysis-1

这是一种刻薄的评论,所以这里有一位BTC Core开发者,他从很久之前就说了我们说过的话(双花确实发生了):

responding-to-antonopoulos-on-the-btc-double-spend-analysis-2

另一方面,BSV可以非常容易和安全地接受这种如此小额的0确认支付。首先,矿工是按照处理优先发现的交易的规则工作(而不是最高的支付费用的规则)。其次,像HandCash这样的生态系统钱包有内置的双花检测系统。

身为HandCash软件工程师的Ivan Mlinarić有以下说法:

“Handcash had to do a little more than find a couple of reputable miners and make sure to broadcast or rebroadcast every transaction involved HC users. It’s mostly about being well connected, but avoiding comms with sybil nodes, especially for the wrong reasons. In essence, it’s not much of a technical challenge, but rather, business related as we needed to establish relationships with miners and work on direct, efficient communication. There are other things we can do also, but those things are private at this stage. At any point if there’s an issue, an internal alarm is triggered. So far this happened a couple of times and it was due to our own bug. Understanding network topology is the key.

When it comes to double spending in BTC or BSV we need to understand there are two distinct approaches. BSV works with zero conf out of the box because miners respect first seen rule. That also reduces complexity and scalability of the node itself. It’s boiled down to simple ordering of transactions without doing too much mumbo-jumbo. BSV can have reorgs and they have no effect on individual transactions because they are all based on first seen rule and they get included in all competing chains if there is a chain split situation.

HandCash running on BTC would be extremely boring wallet and I would rather use traditional banking service then as it’s much faster.”

Handcash是几个具有竞争性的BSV钱包之一,但他们也通过比特币协会组织的各种研讨会,共同努力开发,使得产品的用户体验更好。

Eli Afram
@justicemate

202024日的“创世”协议升级是比特币历史上的一大里程碑,将见证BSV最大程度地回归到中本聪原先设想的协议。请访问“创世”硬分叉页面以了解更多信息。

要直接在您的收件箱接获CoinGeek.com最新消息,CoinGeek会议特别优惠以及其他内部信息,请加入我们的邮件列表

Responding to Antonopoulos on the BTC double-spend analysis

Just recently, BitMex Research’s ForkMonitor detected a split in the BTC chain, where the temporarily leading chain was re-org’d, and therefore 1 block was orphaned. Nothing substantially important or notable with that alone… Reorgs happen all the time, and they are a fundamental part of the design in which Bitcoin works and awards miners for the most work done on the network.

What made this particularly unique, which ended up sending “crypto-twitter” (as it is colloquially termed) into a meltdown was the fact that one of the transactions showed a conflict. It did not fit the usual RBF type transaction.

What is RBF?
Replace-By-Fee is a method of transacting on the BTC chain that Core devs implemented to help speed up transactions on their plodding network. Because of BTC’s limited transactional through-put, only a certain number of transactions can be processed at a time. This puts the speed limit at approximately 3 transactions per second… a terrible speed for a payment network. Miners (who process transactions) pick up the transactions from the queue not in a first in first out service, but in a highest fee come first method. It is for this reason, every BTC transaction has a sizeable fee attached to it… everyone is trying to get to the head of the queue. At times of extreme traffic, users have been forced to wait several days and over to see their transactions proceed, even with reasonable fees attached.

This is where BTC Core developers introduced RBF, a policy that allows a sender of a transaction, to redo the transaction and attach a bigger fee to it. So suppose my transaction has been waiting 2 days, and I had paid a 2 dollar fee, I can then rebroadcast the same transaction and increase the fee. I am basically creating a new transaction with a higher fee, to lure miners into picking it up first.

So when people tried to hush it down the transaction with calls of RBF, it’s very easy to point out a few things… Firstly the values were different, both transactions were recorded on different blocks, and importantly, the lower fee transaction, a surprisingly low 1 sat/byte actually won out in the end.

Author of Mastering Bitcoin, Andreas Antonopoulos, responded in damage control.

In a tweet storm he explains that reorgs are part and parcel of BTC operations and business as usual. He then explains the probabilities of reorgs, and how tremendously infrequent they become statistically beyond 1 or 2 block deep reorgs. All this is fine and all are in agreeance.

Andreas explains that “During a re-organization, there is a chance for someone to attempt a ‘double spend.’ This is not a double spend from the perspective of the blockchain as a whole. Only one spend survives, therefore no double spends happen.” Yes, there is only 1 chain that survives, only 1 transaction that survives, but as he points out later, it can by all means be the wrong transaction that survives. And that’s the whole point! Whenever we talk about double spends, or a 51% attack it is always a re-write of the blockchain, and rarely in the context of a coin spent twice within the same chain. Not too long ago over US$5 million was double spent on the Ethereum Classic network. This too only ended up with 1 history of events and 1 transaction. The transaction that lost out was orphaned. Granted this was a major re-org that was exceptionally deep for ETC.

He then mentions page 8 of the whitepaper, where calculations are shown on probabilities of double spends. Except, the very page he refers to is specifically speaking about the attack that occurred. There is substantial evidence to show that the double spend was a carefully crafted and timed transaction designed to do what it did. The person that created the transaction knew very well what they were doing. Interestingly, Andreas makes a point about waiting for confirmations on bigger values. This is good advice indeed for all POW blockchains. But to take his advice directly and apply it to what happened in the reorged issue at hand presents the point of the problem. This was a mere US$21 double spend. The kind of amount where most people would accept a single confirmation.

Antonopoulos concludes “Consider it debunked.” I think the issue is rather now flagged, and BTC community should now make considerations on a suitable number of confirms even for smaller amounts, and not just bigger amounts. But beyond this, how do Lightning Network developers resolve this issue with settlements that this presents?

Compounding matters however, are the implications that this could have for Lightning Network channels and settlements, as noted by nChain’s chief scientist Dr. Craig S Wright. Dr. Wright, the inventor Bitcoin, states that “if you double spend a Lightning Network settlement, you effectively break the entire system. Watch towers are all about putative spends, no inputs, no punishment… By definition what happened was a double spend.”

The effort in which Andreas went in to try to quash fears was understandable. People have real money invested, and panic can do ugly things to a market. It highlights a duplicity however, where in the past, mere reorgs on BSV (that had no double spends at all) were smeared all over media outlets. Dare I say if this incident was on BSV, the world would’ve known about it.

Antonopoulos also criticized the fact that publications quoted BSV people, instead of an “actual Bitcoin developer or expert”:

responding-to-antonopoulos-on-the-btc-double-spend-analysis-1

That’s a cheap shot, so here is a BTC Core developer from way back saying what we said:

responding-to-antonopoulos-on-the-btc-double-spend-analysis-2

On the other hand, BSV accepts 0-confirmation payments for such small amounts quite easily and securely. Firstly, miners work on a first seen rule (as opposed to highest paid fee rule). Secondly, ecosystem wallets such as HandCash have built-in double-spend detection systems.

Ivan Mlinarić, who is a software engineer at HandCash, had the following to say:

“Handcash had to do a little more than find a couple of reputable miners and make sure to broadcast or rebroadcast every transaction involved HC users. It’s mostly about being well connected, but avoiding comms with sybil nodes, especially for the wrong reasons. In essence, it’s not much of a technical challenge, but rather, business related as we needed to establish relationships with miners and work on direct, efficient communication. There are other things we can do also, but those things are private at this stage. At any point if there’s an issue, an internal alarm is triggered. So far this happened a couple of times and it was due to our own bug. Understanding network topology is the key.

When it comes to double spending in BTC or BSV we need to understand there are two distinct approaches. BSV works with zero conf out of the box because miners respect first seen rule. That also reduces complexity and scalability of the node itself. It’s boiled down to simple ordering of transactions without doing too much mumbo-jumbo. BSV can have reorgs and they have no effect on individual transactions because they are all based on first seen rule and they get included in all competing chains if there is a chain split situation.

HandCash running on BTC would be extremely boring wallet and I would rather use traditional banking service then as it’s much faster.”

Handcash is one of several competing BSV wallets that are competing, but also working together to develop a more robust experience through various workshops organised by Bitcoin Association.

Eli Afram
@justicemate

New to Bitcoin? Check out CoinGeek’s Bitcoin for Beginners section, the ultimate resource guide to learn more about Bitcoin—as originally envisioned by Satoshi Nakamoto—and blockchain.