再遭51%攻击,以太坊经典双花交易已超百万美元

在8月5日发生的51%攻击中,以太坊经典共有238,306个ETC遭双花(截止发稿时价值约为1,686,871美元)。攻击导致4,236个区块重组,黑客在区块奖励中净赚14,234.20个ETC。

除此之外,以太坊经典背后的核心开发团队ETC Labs联合了Kobre & Kim律师事务所和区块链分析公司CipherTrace,共同追踪攻击来源,起诉攻击者。

“通过与在美国和其他地方的利益相关者及机构合作,我们 [ETC Labs、Kobre & Kim和Ciphertrace] 将携手开展调查,分析交易,抓出有能力又有动机发起这些攻击的黑客。我们要将操纵公链进行盗窃者绳之以法。势必保障整个生态系统的健全性。”ETC Labs首席执行官特里·卡尔弗(Terry Culver)表示。

事件起因

Bitquery认为,攻击者在8月5日获得超51%的ETC网络控制权所用方式,与他们在8月1日所用手段如出一辙,都是从Nicehash提供商daggerhashimoto那里购买足够的算力,借此获得超过51%的ETC网络控制权。

Bitquery报告,攻击者试图双花465,444个ETC(截止发稿时价值约为3,286,181美元),但只成功双花了328,306个ETC。正如在推特上实施大规模数字货币骗局的少年一样,攻击者很可能在将ETC非法变现时遇到了困难,甚至根本做不到。特别是现在,几乎每个数字货币市场都和区块链分析公司合作,一旦非法资金发送到其平台上,市场就会收到警报。

CipherTrace首席执行官戴夫·杰文斯(Dave Jevans)表示,“我们很自豪能够协助解决这个关键案件,这不仅仅是一次重大盗窃,更是对主要区块链健全性的攻击。通过将被盗资金追溯到虚拟资产服务提供商,防止黑客将非法获得的加密货币变现,这样一来我们不但能保障金融的健全性,还能追究犯罪分子的责任,有利于预防未来的攻击。此案凸显了区块链分析在维护虚拟资产经济稳定性中所扮演的重要角色。”

202024日的“创世”协议升级是比特币历史上的一大里程碑,将见证BSV最大程度地回归到中本聪原先设想的协议。请访问“创世”硬分叉页面以了解更多信息。

要直接在您的收件箱接获CoinGeek.com最新消息,CoinGeek会议特别优惠以及其他内部信息,请加入我们的邮件列表

Over $1M double-spent in latest Ethereum Classic 51% attack

A total of 238,306 ETC, worth roughly $1,686,871 at press time, was double-spent in the August 5th Ethereum Classic 51% attack. During the attack, 4,236 blocks were re-orged which allowed the hacker to net a total of 14,234.20 ETC in block rewards.

Beyond that, the core development team behind Ethereum Classic—ETC Labs—has joined forces with the law firm Kobre & Kim as well as the blockchain analytics firm CipherTrace to trace the origin of the attack and subsequently press charges against the attacker.

“Together [ETC Labs, Kobre & Kim, and Ciphertrace] will cooperate with stakeholders and agencies in the United States and wherever else the investigation leads to analyze the transactions and to identify the responsible parties with the knowledge and motive to carry out these attacks. We want to ensure that there are severe consequences for manipulating a public blockchain to steal. We are determined to protect the integrity of the ecosystem,” said Terry Culver, CEO of ETC Labs.

How it happened

Bitquery believed that the August 5 attacker gained control of more than 51% of the ETC network the same way that they did on August 1, by purchasing enough hash power from Nicehash provider daggerhashimoto to give them control of more than 51% of the ETC network. 

According to the Bitquery report, the attacker attempted to double-spend 465,444 ETC (worth roughly $3,286,181 at press time), but was only able to successfully double spend 328,306 ETC. Like the individual that executed a mass digital currency scam on Twitter, the attacker is likely to have a hard—if not impossible—time cashing out their illicit ETC. Especially now that nearly every digital currency market place works with a blockchain analytics firm, and gets alerted when illicitly earned funds get sent to their platform.

“We are proud to help solve this pivotal case which represents more than a major theft because it is an attack on the integrity of a major blockchain,” said Dave Jevans, CEO of CipherTrace. “By tracing these stolen funds to virtual asset service providers, preventing these hackers from converting ill-gotten crypto to cash, we can not only preserve financial integrity but also hold these criminals accountable and help prevent future attacks. This case highlights the critical role blockchain analytics plays in maintaining the stability of the virtual asset economy.”

New to Bitcoin? Check out CoinGeek’s Bitcoin for Beginners section, the ultimate resource guide to learn more about Bitcoin—as originally envisioned by Satoshi Nakamoto—and blockchain.