YouTube Screenshot

迈阿密:一个错失的良机

没有人问我关于如何完善美国法律制度的建议。

但是,所有这些围绕Kleiman诉Wright案的金钱、时间、工作、酒店账单、镜头以及焦虑,到底实现了什么事情呢?

我一直尽我所能密切关注它,如果你让我总结Craig Wright和比特币系统的起因故事,我不确定相比于Beth Bloom法官在11月1日将陪审团请入她的法庭以前我所确信的故事版本,我现在对真相更了解多少。

当被问及美国的法律制度,是的,我已经吸收了不少知识:我知道在民事和刑事案件中,陪审团被要求做出各种不同的决定,我知道艾伦指示是什么了,而且我还知道您可以把交叉询问简称为“交叉”,这样听起来就好像你很懂你在谈论的事物一样。

我也知道Kurt Wuckert Jr.酒店房间的样子,事实上,我几乎感觉我都和他一起住在里面了——直到他不得不在车后部广播,因为迈阿密即将开展的艺术博览会使得他的房间不能再续住了。在车里的信号连接被证明比旅馆里更糟糕(见上图)。为他担心的粉丝在聊天公屏上打出:“这是行为艺术吗?”以及“Kurt住在他的车里”。

回到法律方面上来。这是一起民事案件。没有人会被判有罪或被送进监狱。这是一个有人向没有兑现承诺的交易人索要退款事件的超大规模的版本。任何人都可以对其他人提起诉讼,而法院是通过审查事实与应用法律来调停纷争的——在本案中这是由陪审团来裁决的。

复杂的和有争议的事实不胜枚举。陪审团不仅要决定在多年前的一段时期内以及特别是在澳大利亚发生了什么事情,他们还得解释是怎么得出与复杂案件可能或不可能相关的事实到底发没发生过的结论。

他们被要求通过听取一系列被一连串技术干扰所打断的断断续续的询问内容来做出这些决定:

Vel Freedman(为原告方):“这些信贷的金额超过了1000万美元?”

Amanda McGovern(为被告方):“反对。根据……你能不能重复一下,我听不清这个问题。”

Bloom法官:“Freedman先生,把你的麦克风往上挪一点。反对意见被否决了。我同意了。”

证人:“没有那么多的金额。这是用来抵消其他税的。”

在这种情况下,如果你能够过滤掉干扰,你或许就有机会跟上谈话的节奏。但至少在纸上分析这些谈话时,感觉就像在听着邻居们在隔壁打架的同时,试图集中精力进行高水平的讨论。

大多数像我一样关注这个案件的人,与它没有直接的经济利益关系。我们不像Ira Kleiman那样试图索要钱财,也不像Wright博士那样否认我们欠了钱。但我至少希望,解决争端的过程能揭示比特币系统非常有趣的历史

在某种程度上,所有的证据已经通过法庭递交上去了。但是,如果双方都制做出了这幅线索拼图来试图支持他们自己的论点,那么就没有人有兴趣把它们拼在一起,从而构建出一幅易于理解的画面。相反,一旦一方律师开始把一些碎片拼在一起,另一方就会尽力把它们拆开,甚至把它们从桌子上扫到地板上。

为了公众的启蒙,我们需要的更像是一次公开调查,其中有一个独立的主席,也许还有来自一个专家委员会的支持,他们唯一的工作就是把事实汇集成一份冗长的、权威的报告,这份报告代表他们经过深思熟虑后的真实故事的版本。

过去几周,在迈阿密的情况令人沮丧,因为很有可能每一块重要的拼图都已被归档作为证据,但人们还没有办法创造出一张美丽且完整的图片。

我同情可怜的陪审团。不仅是因为他们很多天都不得不在法庭上度过漫长的几个小时,还因为他们在最后被提出了一系列噩梦般的问题。他们被要求坐在一个房间里讨论,直到对答案达成一致意见时才能结束。如果我是他们中的一员,我就会回想起我曾面对的最糟糕试卷。试试这个:

你是否发现以下由W&K Info Research Defense, LLC提出的任何索赔超过了诉讼时效?(原文如此)

非法侵占
不当得利
欺诈
推定欺诈
违反受托责任(分别给出它是否被禁止的回答)

也许在顶尖的法学院待了几年之后,这些问题在考试中会是个好问题。但对于一群从迈阿密的清白的人群中随机挑选出来的人们来说呢?我不这么想。

请您于Kleiman诉Wright案的YouTube播放列表中查看所有的CoinGeek特别报道。

202024日的“创世”协议升级是比特币历史上的一大里程碑,将见证BSV最大程度地回归到中本聪原先设想的协议。请访问“创世”硬分叉页面以了解更多信息。

要直接在您的收件箱接获CoinGeek.com最新消息,CoinGeek会议特别优惠以及其他内部信息,请加入我们的邮件列表

[id^="_form"]
[id^="_form"]
[id$="_submit"]
[id$="_submit"]
[^;]
[^;]
[?&]
[?&]
[^&#]
[^&#]
[(d+)]
[(d+)]
[elem.name]
[elem.name]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-']
[+_a-z0-9-']
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z]
[a-z]
[el.name]
[el.name]
[id^="_form"]
[id^="_form"]
[id$="_submit"]
[id$="_submit"]
[^;]
[^;]
[?&]
[?&]
[^&#]
[^&#]
[(d+)]
[(d+)]
[elem.name]
[elem.name]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-']
[+_a-z0-9-']
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z]
[a-z]
[el.name]
[el.name]

Miami: A missed opportunity

Miami: A missed opportunity

Nobody has asked for my suggestions about how to improve the American legal system.

But what has all the money, the time, the work, the hotel bills, the footage, the angst around the Kleiman v Wright trial really achieved?

I’ve been following it as closely as I can from afar and if you asked me to summarise the story of Craig Wright and the beginnings of Bitcoin, I’m not sure how much more I know now for sure than I did before Judge Beth Bloom welcomed the jury into her courtroom way back on November 1.

Ask me about the American legal system, and, yes, I’ve absorbed a fair bit: I know about the different kinds of decisions juries are asked to make in civil and criminal cases; I know what an Allen charge is; and I know how you can sound like you know what you’re talking about by calling it “the cross” instead of cross-examination.

I also know what Kurt Wuckert Jr’s hotel room looks like—in fact, I practically feel I’ve lived in it with him—until he had to broadcast from the back of a car because the room could not be extended any further thanks to an art fair coming to Miami. Connectivity in the car proved even worse than at the hotel (see above): “Is this performance art?” and “KURT LIVING OUT OF HIS CAR” appeared in the chat from his worried fans.

But back to the law. This was a civil case. Nobody was going to be found guilty or sent to prison. It was a super-large scale version of somebody claiming a refund from a trader who hadn’t delivered on their promise. Anyone can bring a case against anyone else, and the court is there to settle disputes by examining the facts—in front of a jury in this case—and applying the law.

The facts were voluminous, complicated and disputed. Not only did the jury have to try to decide what happened, sometimes many years ago—and in Australia!—but how what they worked out had or hadn’t happened might or might not be relevant to the complicated charges.

And they were asked to make those decisions by listening to a long series of stuttering examinations punctuated by a stream of technical interruptions:

Vel Freedman (for the plaintiffs): “And the amount of those credits was in excess of $10 millions?”

Amanda McGovern (for the defence): “Objection. Foundation. Could you – I’m having a tough time hearing the question.”

Judge Bloom: “Move your mic up a little bit Mr Freedman. The object is over-ruled. I’ll allow it.”

The Witness: “The value is not that amount. It is an offset against other tax.”

Hours and hours of that kind of thing where, if you’d been able to filter out the interruptions, you might have had a chance of following the conversation, but—on paper at least—it feels like trying to concentrate on a high-level discussion while hearing the neighbours fighting next door.

Most people following the case, like me, don’t have a direct financial interest in it. We’re not, like Ira Kleiman, trying to claim money or, like Dr. Wright, denying that we owe money. But I, at least, was hoping that the process of settling the dispute would shed light on the very interesting history of Bitcoin.

And it has, in a way, through all the evidence that’s been presented to the court. But if the pieces of the jigsaw have been produced—by both sides, to try to support their own lines of argument—there hasn’t been anyone interested in fitting them together and building up an easy-to-understand picture. Instead, as soon as one set of lawyers starts putting some pieces together, the other side does its best to unpick them and maybe sweep them off the table and onto the floor.

What’s needed, for the purposes of public enlightenment, is something more like a public enquiry, with an independent chairperson and maybe an expert committee in support, whose only job is to assemble the facts into a fat, authoritative report representing their considered version of the true story.

The past few weeks in Miami have been frustrating because in all probability every important piece of the jigsaw has been filed in evidence, but there’s been no way of creating a beautiful, finished picture from them.

I feel for the poor jury. Not just for the long hours and the many days they have had to spend in court, but for having been presented with a nightmarish set of questions at the end and told to sit in a room until they agree on the answers. If I was one of them, I’d be having horrible flashbacks to the worst exam papers I ever faced. Try this:

Do you find that any of the following claims by W&K Info Defense Research, LLC are barred the statute of limitations? (sic)

Conversion
Unjust Enrichment
Fraud
Constructive Fraud
Breach of Fiduciary Duty (answer Barred or Not Barred to each one)

Maybe that would make a good question in an exam after a few years at a top law school. But for a group of people plucked at random from the blameless population of Miami? I don’t think so. 

Check out all of the CoinGeek special reports on the Kleiman v Wright YouTube playlist.

New to Bitcoin? Check out CoinGeek’s Bitcoin for Beginners section, the ultimate resource guide to learn more about Bitcoin—as originally envisioned by Satoshi Nakamoto—and blockchain.

[id^="_form"]
[id^="_form"]
[id$="_submit"]
[id$="_submit"]
[^;]
[^;]
[?&]
[?&]
[^&#]
[^&#]
[(d+)]
[(d+)]
[elem.name]
[elem.name]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-']
[+_a-z0-9-']
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z]
[a-z]
[el.name]
[el.name]
[id^="_form"]
[id^="_form"]
[id$="_submit"]
[id$="_submit"]
[^;]
[^;]
[?&]
[?&]
[^&#]
[^&#]
[(d+)]
[(d+)]
[elem.name]
[elem.name]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-']
[+_a-z0-9-']
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z]
[a-z]
[el.name]
[el.name]