Fine Print text magnified.

具有里程碑意义的关于数字货币收回的和解协议将引领数字资产的新时代

郁金香贸易有限公司(TTL)和比特币协会(BA)在Craig Wright博士里程碑式的诉讼中达成一致的意见(和解),认为区块链开发者对其用户负有信托和侵权责任,这就促使开发者在货币丢失或被盗的情况下采取相应行动。

然而,该和解最引人注目的原因与Wright博士的诉讼无关:比特币协会一直在开发一款软件,一旦确定已经发出有效的法院指令(或其他有同等法律效力的文件),矿工则可以通过该软件冻结货币。实际上,例如在数字资产被盗或钱包钥匙丢失的情况下,它为数字资产的持有者(以及其他区块链用户)提供了一条清晰的途径来执行他们的合法产权。

尽管其后果可能会波及整个数字资产行业,但这起诉讼源于Wright博士的家庭网络在2020年所遭受的一次黑客攻击,那次攻击导致他所拥有的涉及巨额比特币的密钥被盗。Wright博士对许多区块链及其开发者提起诉讼,其中包括那些与BTC以及BCH区块链相关的开发者。Wright博士认为,负责相关区块链的软件工程师有义务阻止黑客交易被盗财产,并将它们归还给他。

今年3月,除了比特币协会和另一名被告外,所有被告都成功地使郁金香贸易公司的诉讼因缺乏管辖权而被驳回。而该决定预计将成为郁金香贸易公司向上诉法院提起上诉的核心,但这一裁决并不适用于比特币协会,该协会不属于提出管辖权异议的一方。

幸运的是,这一和解首次表明了合法的货币收回在实践中是如何运作的。比特币协会同意开发并发布一款软件,该软件可在BSV网络上用于将法庭命令(或同等效力的文件——可能是在其他司法管辖区使用的行动方案)转换成一种能够在他们的网络上向矿工广播的格式。BA也有责任尝试找到一个合适的法律实体来操作该软件,并开发和发布软件,矿工可以使用该软件通过冻结或解冻特定资产来实现订单的数字化版本。

除此之外,BA不参与软件的实施(BA在其网站上发表的一份声明中明确表示):这将由矿工决定。声明还澄清说,为应对近年来数字资产黑客事件的大量增加,以及比特币企业潜在用户不可避免地面临的问题,实现和解所需的技术已经开发了一段时间。

值得注意的是,这一和解并不是一项移动任何特定货币的协议,其中包括Wright博士诉讼的核心部分。然而,这将意味着,执行今后任何有关丢失货币(包括因盗窃而丢失的货币)的潜在法院命令所需的基础设施现已到位。换句话说,这相当于为所有数字资产的持有者开辟了一条重要的途径,使他们能够享受适用于任何其他类型的财产和消费者利益的法律保护。

对许多人来说,和解协议看起来就像一个法治社会应有的样子。如果任何数字资产都是可靠的,特别是企业和政府,那么将丢失或被盗的资产归还给其合法所有者的机制就是不可避免且是不可协商的。多年来,这一点一直显而易见,随着数字资产盗窃案受害者的数量呈指数级攀升,这一问题变得更加明显和紧迫。这是一个非常基本的要点,以至于这项功能被包含在最早版本的比特币系统(Alert Key)中,直到中本聪从公众视野中消失一段时间之后才被移除。

快进到2022年,剩下要确定的就是严格的法律体系将如何与比特币之类的事物互操作——在这一举措被实际实施之前,和解协议正是这么做的。

ONTIER合伙人兼TTL顾问Oliver Cain表示:

“这一和解协议应该受到任何丢失了BSV的人的欢迎。Wright博士一直坚持认为,在私钥丢失或被盗的情况下,恢复对数字资产的控制所需的技术既必要又可用。今天的和解是确保TTL追回被盗资产的最新举措。”

假设该命令被按计划实施,该和解协议有可能标志着数字资产进入一个新时代,在该时代中,无论是通过黑客攻击还是其他方式造成的无法获得货币的威胁不再被视为不可避免的。随着情况的改变,另一波大规模采用的浪潮似乎从未如此接近——而想要充当小偷避难所的区块链将不得不与新时代的趋势保持一致,或者它将完全消失。

202024日的“创世”协议升级是比特币历史上的一大里程碑,将见证BSV最大程度地回归到中本聪原先设想的协议。请访问“创世”硬分叉页面以了解更多信息。

要直接在您的收件箱接获CoinGeek.com最新消息,CoinGeek会议特别优惠以及其他内部信息,请加入我们的邮件列表

[id^="_form"]
[id^="_form"]
[id$="_submit"]
[id$="_submit"]
[^;]
[^;]
[?&]
[?&]
[^&#]
[^&#]
[(d+)]
[(d+)]
[elem.name]
[elem.name]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-']
[+_a-z0-9-']
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z]
[a-z]
[el.name]
[el.name]
[id^="_form"]
[id^="_form"]
[id$="_submit"]
[id$="_submit"]
[^;]
[^;]
[?&]
[?&]
[^&#]
[^&#]
[(d+)]
[(d+)]
[elem.name]
[elem.name]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-']
[+_a-z0-9-']
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z]
[a-z]
[el.name]
[el.name]

Fine Print text magnified.

Landmark coin recovery settlement set to usher in a new era for digital assets

Tulip Trading Limited (TTL) and Bitcoin Association have reached a settlement in Dr. Craig Wright’s landmark suit arguing that blockchain developers owe fiduciary and tortious duties toward their users which compel the developers to act in cases of lost or stolen coins.

However, the settlement is most notable for reasons unrelated to Dr. Wright’s suit: Bitcoin Association has been in the process of developing software that would allow miners to freeze coins once it has been established that a valid court order (or another document of equivalent legal weight) has been issued to that effect. In practical terms, it provides a clear path for holders of digital assets (and other blockchain users) to enforce their legal property rights, such as in cases where digital assets have been stolen or wallet keys lost.

Though its consequences are likely to reach far across the digital asset industry, this suit arises from a hack on Dr. Wright’s home network in 2020 which saw the keys to a colossal amount of Bitcoin stolen from him. Dr. Wright filed suit against a number of blockchains and their developers including those associated with the BTC and BCH blockchains. Dr. Wright argued that the software engineers in charge of the relevant blockchains owed him a duty to prevent the hackers from dealing in the stolen property and return them to him.

In March, all but Bitcoin Association and one other defendant succeeded in getting Tulip Trading’s suit thrown for want of jurisdiction. That decision is expected to be the subject of an appeal to the Court of Appeal by Tulip Trading, but it didn’t apply to Bitcoin Association, which was not party to the jurisdictional challenge. 

Fortunately, the settlement shows for the first time how legal coin recovery can work in practice. Bitcoin Association agrees to develop and publish software that can be used on the BSV network to translate court orders (‘or documents of comparable force’ – likely a blueprint for use in other jurisdictions) into a format capable of being broadcast to miners on their network. It is also incumbent on BA to attempt to find a suitable legal entity to operate the software, as well as develop and publish software that the miners can use to implement the digitized version of the order by freezing or unfreezing specific assets.

Beyond that, BA does not play a role in the implementation of the software (as made clear in a statement published to the BA website): this will be left up to the miners. The statement also clarifies that the technology required to effect the settlement had already been in development for some time in response to the massive increase of digital asset hacks in recent years and the problem that inevitably poses for would-be enterprise adopters of Bitcoin.

It is important to note that this settlement is not an agreement to move any specific coins, including those at the core of Dr. Wright’s lawsuit. However, it will mean that the infrastructure required to implement any potential future court order relating to coins which have been lost, including those lost as a result of theft, will now be in place. In other words, it amounts to the opening of a vital avenue for all holders of digital assets to enjoy the kind of legal protections that apply to any other kind of property and consumer interest.

To many, the settlement agreement will look exactly as it should in a society based on the rule of law. If any digital asset is to be relied upon—particularly by enterprise and government—then a mechanism by which lost or stolen assets can be returned to their rightful owner is inevitably non-negotiable. This has been obvious for years, and becomes more apparent and more pressing of an issue as the number of victims of digital asset theft climb exponentially. It’s a point so elementary that this functionality was included in the earliest versions of Bitcoin (Alert Key) until it was removed some time after Satoshi Nakamoto disappeared from public view.

Fast-forward to 2022, all that remained to be established is precisely how the rigors of the legal system would interoperate with something like Bitcoin—and pending the actual implementation, the settlement does exactly that.

Oliver Cain, ONTIER Partner and advisor to TTL said:

“This settlement should be welcomed by anyone who has lost access to their BSV. Dr Wright has always maintained that the technology required to restore control over digital assets were both necessary and available, in circumstances where private keys have been lost or stolen. Today’s settlement is the latest step in securing TTL’s recovery of its stolen assets.”

Assuming the order is implemented as planned, the settlement has the potential to mark a new era for digital assets where the threat of losing access to coins—either via a hack or otherwise—is no longer treated as an inevitability. With that no longer needing to be the case, another wave of mass adoption has never seemed so close—while blockchains that are designed to act as a refuge for thieves will have to fall in line with the new era or disappear entirely.

New to Bitcoin? Check out CoinGeek’s Bitcoin for Beginners section, the ultimate resource guide to learn more about Bitcoin—as originally envisioned by Satoshi Nakamoto—and blockchain.

[id^="_form"]
[id^="_form"]
[id$="_submit"]
[id$="_submit"]
[^;]
[^;]
[?&]
[?&]
[^&#]
[^&#]
[(d+)]
[(d+)]
[elem.name]
[elem.name]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-']
[+_a-z0-9-']
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z]
[a-z]
[el.name]
[el.name]
[id^="_form"]
[id^="_form"]
[id$="_submit"]
[id$="_submit"]
[^;]
[^;]
[?&]
[?&]
[^&#]
[^&#]
[(d+)]
[(d+)]
[elem.name]
[elem.name]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-']
[+_a-z0-9-']
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z]
[a-z]
[el.name]
[el.name]