Kurt个人博客上的一则公告

一些想法

由于我考虑到比特币经济的朋友们,首先,我将在这篇文章中写下我的心声。不带有任何的修饰。这只是一些自由开放的想法。

简而言之,带着15个月大的儿子和即将在春天出生的宝宝,我在10月底做出了离开白帽网络安全专家的职业的决定。这是一份很棒的工作,我和了不起的人一起工作,但我越来越感受到帮助纠正比特币错误的呼声,所以我就是这么做的! 但是要达成这个目标是一段历时8年的漫长旅程。

kurts-personal-blog-an-announcement

一些历史

在我的空闲时间里,我一直以发布播客或在Twitter上(后来是在Twetch上)发布发人深省的内容而为人所知,只是因为我在乎这些。一直以来,我都以为自己“懂了”,并且有能力向人们解释比特币,所以我在空闲时间里就这样做了。从互联网宣传,到在芝加哥各地举办Meetup,再到飞去参加会议来主动谈论比特币的力量,一切都应运而生。

kurts-personal-blog-an-announcement-1

回想起来很有趣,因为从2012年或2013年以来,大多数人都告诉我,我对比特币的看法是错误的。起初,他们说“这是不真实的!”或“没有人会用这个!”。然后,我建议人们避开Mt.Gox,人们告诉我,我疯了。随着比特币内战的开始,人们告诉我,我对于比特币链上扩容的能力的看法是错误的。即便是现在,人们也告诉我,大区块不起作用,比特币是给“hodl”(持币)用的,连接到分布式超级计算机的全球账本没有任何商业机会……这简直令人发狂——但这也是一种挑战——我喜欢挑战。尤其是因为我的预测在大体上基本正确。

kurts-personal-blog-an-announcement-2

从一开始,我就一直推崇大家像使用其他种类的货币一样使用比特币:存一些,花一些,用它来创造一些需求,再赚一些!也许我之所以有这种感觉,是因为我就是这样接触到它的,也可能是因为我阅读了白皮书

我的第一个比特币支付给了我为一个激进主义者印制的海报,他在某种形式的“占领芝加哥”或“结束美联储”的集会上挥舞着它。作为自由职业者和思想开放的人,我偶尔也会接受一些创意性的交易。由于这是一项小工作,我同意用比特币支付工资——在当时我还不了解比特币。后来在我的名下有了一些比特币,我就上Google看看它们是否值钱,或者我能用它们做什么,这就是我旅程的起点。到了2013年,我不得不向人们解释,比特币*是一种货币。

kurts-personal-blog-an-announcement-3

我记得曾对新手说:“它们就像电子游戏币,只是存在于现实生活中。”这的确足以让人们了解一些关于比特币是货币的知识,而不需要用计算机游戏理论或健全货币的政治来轰炸他们。

今天,看到比特币在国际商业的最高层和各国政府中被讨论,这是一个巨大的胜利,但这也让我很伤心,因为比特币被讨论时的背景被人们深深误解了。比特币作为一种电子现金系统,本意是为了解决互联网商业中的小额支付问题,但社会上的说法却把它拖入了两个不利的方向,阻碍了它的应用:黑产和非对称投资/交易。这两件事极大地转移了人们的注意力,使其不再关注在比特币在商业方面的实际优势,以及作为极其高效的数据载体网络。

从2014-2015年开始,我沉浸在大规模扩容的辩论中——支持Hearn和Andresen——再后来是Roger Ver等人,最后是Craig right。当比特币现金从BTC中分离出来后,我就开始主持芝加哥的BCH Meetup,以对抗当地的小区块支持者。我还协助创办了一个名为 “Crypto Traders”的Facebook社区,以此来吸引那些认为自己想进行日内交易的人,但实际上是向他们解释了投资的基本面,并就比特币进行了有价值的对话。

我的目标是利用我的经验,帮助2017年涌入的新手了解为什么ICO是危险的,以及为什么大多数“加密”经济是个幌子,以及关注商业机会。我当时每天在Facebook上做一场时长约10分钟的直播,在那里我采取问答的方式,回答了人们关于比特币的问题,然后它变得相当受欢迎,这总是让我纠结,是应该将工作的重点放在”真正”的工作还是比特币的事情上。

kurts-personal-blog-an-announcement-4

逐渐地,我在自己的日常工作和其他一堆事情中兼顾着我对于比特币的热爱和宣传。虽然我意识到自己在比特币方面的经验是有价值的,但我始终不确定如何将这些事情变成看起来像是事业的东西。在过去的一年中,我越来越感觉到自己被召唤去冒险,在比特币方面更用心地开展工作。因此,在与我美好的妻子进行了一些讨论,并花了一些时间祈祷之后,我做出了这个决定:

决定

我曾在CoinGeek担任面向公众的内容创作方面的领导角色。我角色的工作头衔是“首席历史学家”,因为我们试图将比特币内战的性质记录下来。但我也不希望被认为是停留在过去,因为还有一个宏伟的愿景需要投入大量的工作。所以,在讲述历史的同时,我也会帮助CoinGeek重新聚焦媒体叙事,并推动BSV在最顶级区块链方面的持续发展。

例如,CoinGeek已经转变为在链上发布更多的内容。随着我们领导着比特币作为商业工具的使用,这种情况将继续发展。我们将尽最大努力与开发者社区取得联系,从而在“加密”的故事中更有针对性地竞争。例如,以太坊可能只能每秒向其过时的区块链推送15笔交易,但他们确实因为其“世界计算机”的说法而吸引了一大批有才华的开发者。比特币才是世界计算机,BSV以这样的方式部署了它,它能够每秒进行数千笔交易、一层和二层代币化、复杂的智能合约和令人难以置信的强大虚拟机——但人们甚至不知道它!我将带领大家找到最优秀、最沮丧的以太坊开发者,他们有以太坊无法实现的商业理念,我将引导他们获得必要的知识和工具,转而使用唯一可扩容的商业区块链。

对所有过时的、被骗的区块链社区的不满或“愤怒”的成员也一样。那里有很多骗子,但也有很多好人,他们渴望建立美好的事物,只是信任了错误的人,并且不得不应付后果。我想找到这些好人,并帮助他们在比特币SV经济中走向成功。

最后,但也许是最重要的,将向企业级IT、信息安全和大数据客户进行宣传,他们从未认真研究过比特币作为数据载体网络。已经有十多年的错误信息和不专业的解决方案主导了市场。是时候向他们展示比特币是世界唯一需要的协议了,BSV将比任何现有的解决方案都能使他们的数据更私密、更安全、部署的成本更低,更易传输和再利用!

这将是什么样子的呢?

好吧,我们正在研究一个新的播客,更好地利用媒体资源进行宣传和解释内容,对区块链领域的失意开发者进行更多的宣传,更加关注那些有一段时间没有关注区块链的企业开发者(因为他们直到最近才能够扩容!),在会议上进行更多的宣传,以及为CoinGeek提供一个令人耳目一新的基调:发布过的内容、CoinGeek大会和社交媒体上的内容!希望您喜欢看到我的面孔,听到我的声音,因为音量会越来越大,同时我改变BSV在整个数字货币对话以及商业/企业级数据服务过程中的决心也会越来越大。

kurts-personal-blog-an-announcement-5

我将在CoinGeek的幕后努力工作,与比特币协会团队合作,并在公众面前为比特币发声。

我们拥有世界上最棒的工具,可以减少支付中的摩擦,提高全球数据的完整性,现在,多亏了CoinGeek,否则我无法向整个世界解释这一点!

比特币SV是世界计算机。比特币SV是世界上最好的大数据管理工具。比特币SV是不可改变的、健全的货币。比特币SV是可以无限扩容的。比特币SV是中本聪比特币愿景的唯一实现。

请抓紧时间,因为世界将再次改变!

202024日的“创世”协议升级是比特币历史上的一大里程碑,将见证BSV最大程度地回归到中本聪原先设想的协议。请访问“创世”硬分叉页面以了解更多信息。

要直接在您的收件箱接获CoinGeek.com最新消息,CoinGeek会议特别优惠以及其他内部信息,请加入我们的邮件列表

Kurt’s personal blog. An announcement

Some thoughts

As I consider the people of the Bitcoin economy friends, first and foremost, I’ll be writing from the heart on this one. No polish. Just a few free and open thoughts. 

In short, with a 15-month-old son and new baby on the way in the spring, I made the decision to walk away from my career as a white-hat cybersecurity professional at the end of October. It was a great job, and I worked with amazing people, but increasingly, I have felt the call to help right the wrongs of Bitcoin, so I am doing just that! But to get to this place has been a journey spanning almost eight years.

kurts-personal-blog-an-announcement

Some history 

In my free time, I have been known to hop on podcasts or post thought-provoking things on Twitter—and then Twetch—just because I care. There has always been a part of me that felt like I “get it” and have the skills to explain it to people, so I have done exactly that with my free time. Everything from internet advocacy to hosting Meetups around Chicago, and traveling to conferences to speak on my own accord about the power of Bitcoin.

kurts-personal-blog-an-announcement-1

It’s funny looking back, because since 2012 or maybe 2013, most people have told me that I was wrong about Bitcoin. At first, it was “that isn’t real!” or “nobody is ever going to use that!” Then I advised people to avoid Mt. Gox, and people told me I was crazy. As the Bitcoin Civil War started to happen, people told me I was wrong about Bitcoin’s ability to scale on chain. Even now, people tell me that big blocks don’t work, Bitcoin is for “hodl,” and there are no business opportunities for a global ledger connected to a distributed supercomputer… It is just maddening—but it is also a challenge—and I love a challenge. Especially, since my predictions have largely been correct in the grand scheme of things.

kurts-personal-blog-an-announcement-2

From the beginning, I always pushed people to use Bitcoin like any other kind of money: save some, spend some, use it to create some demand and earn some more! Maybe I feel this way because it was how it was introduced to me, or maybe it was because I read the white paper

My first Bitcoin was payment for a poster that I printed for an activist who brandished it at some kind of “Occupy Chicago” or “End the Fed” rally. Being self-employed and open-minded, I would entertain the occasional creative barter. Since it was a small job, I agreed to be paid in Bitcoin—something that I didn’t grasp at the time. Then having some bitcoins to my name, I took to google to see if they were worth anything or what I could do with them, and that is where my journey began. By 2013, I was having to explain to people that bitcoin *is* a currency.

kurts-personal-blog-an-announcement-3

I remember telling newcomers “they’re like video game coins, but in real life,” which was true enough for people to understand something about Bitcoin being money without bombarding them with computer game theory or the politics of sound money. 

Today, seeing Bitcoin discussed at the highest levels of international business and in the halls of state is a massive victory, but it also breaks my heart because the context with which it is discussed is so deeply misunderstood. Bitcoin was intended to solve the problems of micropayments in internet commerce, as an electronic cash system, but the social narrative dragged it into two unsavory directions that have hindered adoption: criminal business and asymmetric investment/trading. Those two things heavily shifted the focus away from bitcoin’s actual strengths in commerce and as an extremely efficient data carrier network.

Starting in 2014-2015, I was immersed in the scaling debate—siding with Hearn and Andresen—and then later guys like Roger Ver and then eventually Craig Wright. As soon as Bitcoin Cash split from BTC, I started hosting the Chicago BCH Meetup to take a stand against local small blockers. I also helped start a Facebook community called “Crypto Traders” as a way to attract people who think they want to day trade, but then actually explain fundamentals to them and have valuable conversations about Bitcoin.

My goal was to leverage my experience to help the 2017 flood of newcomers understand why ICOs are dangerous, and why most of the “crypto” economy was a facade, and to focus on business opportunities. I was doing a daily Facebook livecast about ten minutes long where I would take Q&A and answer people’s questions about bitcoin, and it became quite popular, which always put me in competition between schedules for “real” work and Bitcoin stuff.

kurts-personal-blog-an-announcement-4

Increasingly, I was juggling my love and advocacy for Bitcoin with my day job and a bunch of other things. And while I realized that my experiences in Bitcoin had value, I was never sure how to turn those things into something that looked like a career. Over the last year, I have felt increasingly called to take the plunge and work more deliberately on Bitcoin. So after some discussion with my wonderful wife, and some time to pray, I made the decision: 

The decision

I accepted a leadership role with CoinGeek on public-facing content creation. The working title for my role is “Chief Historian,” as we attempt to set the record straight on the nature of the Bitcoin Civil War. But I also don’t want to be perceived as being stuck in the past, because there is also a grand vision that needs a lot of work put in. So, as the history is told, I will also be helping refocus CoinGeek’s media narrative and pushing forward with BSV’s continued growth in superlatives. 

For example, CoinGeek has made a shift to publishing more content on chain. That will continue to grow, as we lead the charge on bitcoin’s use as a business tool. We will be competing more deliberately in the “crypto” narrative by putting our best foot forward in outreach to developer communities. For example, Ethereum may only be able to push 15 transactions per second to their obsolete blockchain, but they do garner a massive community of talented developers because of their “World Computer” narrative. Bitcoin is the world computer, and BSV has deployed it in such a way that it is capable of thousands of transactions per second, layer 1 and 2 tokenization, complex smart contracts and incredibly powerful virtual machines—but people don’t even know about it! I will be leading the charge to find the best and most frustrated Ethereum developers who have business ideas that Ethereum cannot fulfill, and I will guide them to the knowledge and tools necessary to switch to the only scalable blockchain for business. 

Same with disaffected or “burned” members of all the old, scammed blockchain communities. There are a lot of crooks out there, but there are also a lot of good people who desired to build good things, trusted the wrong people and have had to deal with the fallout. I want to find those good people and help them work toward success in the Bitcoin SV economy. 

Last, but maybe most important, will be outreach to enterprise level IT, infosec and big data clientele who have never taken a serious look at bitcoin as a data carrier network. There has been more than a decade of misinformation, and unprofessional solutions dominating the market. It’s time to show them that bitcoin was the only protocol that the world ever needed, and that BSV will make their data more private, more secure, cheaper to deploy and easier to transmit and repurpose than any existing solution!

What will that look like? 

Well, we are working on a new podcast, a better use of media resources for outreach and explainer content, more outreach to disaffected developers in the blockchain space, more focus on enterprise developers who haven’t looked at blockchains in a while (because they couldn’t scale until recently!), more outreach at conferences, and a refreshing tone for CoinGeek: published content, CoinGeek conference and on social media! Hopefully, you enjoy seeing my face and hearing my voice, because the volume will be going up and so will my resolve for changing the course of BSV across digital currency conversations as well as business/enterprise class data services.

kurts-personal-blog-an-announcement-5

I will be working hard behind the scenes at CoinGeek, working with the Bitcoin Association team, and in front of the public as a voice for Bitcoin. 

We have THE BEST tool for decreasing friction in payments and increasing the integrity of data globally, and now, thanks to CoinGeek, I have nothing in my way to explaining that to the entire world! 

Bitcoin SV is the world computer. Bitcoin SV is the best big data management tool the world has ever seen. Bitcoin SV is unchangeable, sound money. Bitcoin SV is infinitely scalable. Bitcoin SV is the only implementation of Satoshi’s Vision for bitcoin. 

Hold onto your butts, because the world is about to change—again!

New to Bitcoin? Check out CoinGeek’s Bitcoin for Beginners section, the ultimate resource guide to learn more about Bitcoin—as originally envisioned by Satoshi Nakamoto—and blockchain.