Kleiman诉Wright案庭审开始进入审议:四周的庭审中他们都说了什么

Kleiman诉Wright案庭审开始进入审议:四周的庭审中他们都说了什么

在具有里程碑意义中的 Kleiman和诉Wright案中,原告方和被告方已经结束了他们的诉讼,预计陪审团将在周二开展他们的审议。

摆在他们面前的是一个棘手的问题:他们要决定中本聪究竟是不是Craig Wright博士一个人的作品,还是与已故的Dave Kleiman合作完成的。如果是后者,他们也必须决定通过Dave的遗产Ira是否有权利在超过700亿美元市值的比特币财富中分一杯羹。

在过去的三周内,关于比特币的发明和在之后几年内发生的事件,陪审团听到了两个相互矛盾的叙述。

这两个叙述是什么呢?

原告:Craig Wright博士和我哥哥Dave一起发明了比特币,然后在他死后偷走了收益。

Ira Kleiman反对Wright博士的说辞是这样的。

Dave Kleiman(Ira的哥哥)与Craig Wright博士因均对电脑感兴趣而成为密友。

对于Dave,原告说他是一个自学成才的电脑程序员,前警察和越南战争退伍军人。在1995年,他因一场摩托车事故造成腰部以下瘫痪,并且在余生的大多数时间内,他的情况都在每况愈下,也在医院待了很长一段时间。直到2013年,他因类似感染之类的病去世了。

尽管Wright博士和Dave Kleiman从不是正式的同事,他们在很多内容上有过合作,包括一篇被广泛引用的关于清除硬盘内容的论文。

2008年,在原告方所诉的案件中,他们俩开始合作创造了一种最终改变世界的全新电子现金形式——比特币。从2008年到Dave实际死亡的2013年,除了一起写白皮书和构建比特币软件以外,他们还据称共同挖出了超过“超过110万比特币,如今它的估值不止600亿美元”。这次合作的另一个成果是在比特币和区块链相关知识产权上的财富。

原告方没有说合作是基于书面协议而成的关系——他们只是声称合伙关系是口头形成的。原告方唯一一条证言以外的证据是基于Dave的生活里的一封电子邮件,据推测是在白皮书产生的前六个月发出的。这封信里,Wright博士告诉Dave他需要Dave帮他编辑一篇论文,Wright博士计划在今年晚些时候发表这篇论文。Wright博士告诉他,他正在研究一种新型的电子货币,他想要他朋友一起帮他编辑文件,这可能是未来白皮书的雏形。

我们只能说“可能”,因为没有记录显示Dave Kleiman接受了这份工作——事实上,他们俩之间和中本聪根本没有任何合作的沟通。

除了据说在2009年的感恩节晚餐聚会上Dave与原告(弟弟Ira)提过一嘴之外,他根本没有告诉别人这个项目的事。根据Ira Kleiman在庭审上的证词,当时只有他俩兄弟离开了桌子,其他宾客都不在场的时候,Dave告诉他弟弟他在和一个有钱的外国男人做一件“比脸书更大”的事情,并在名片背后画上了某种形式的比特币符号。

这对原告方的案子至关重要的原因是这是他们唯一能指出的证明之一,这个列子能说明Dave Kleiman曾讨论过他与Wright博士改变世界的合作。这点十分重要,Ira Kleiman甚至作证说他曾从Dave的两个朋友——Patrick Paige和Kimon Andreou那里听说当Dave活着的时候也与他们有过相同的对话。

不管真假与否,这次的感恩节谈话是兄弟俩最后一次谈话,Ira说他们之后再也没见过面,甚至在Dave去世前几年住医院的那段时间里也没有。

在2013年,Dave Kleiman从他住了几乎两年的医院里出院,他在同年四月被发现死于家中。根据Ira Kleiman的诉讼中的说法,Dave死时是个亿万富翁。

Ira Kleiman的律师Kyle Roche在审判开始的开庭陈述时说,“这个消息让Craig面临着一个重要的决定”。

“他会联系Dave的家人并告知他们合作创造的秘密财富,还是会保守秘密独自保留这些财富呢?”

根据Ira Kleiman所说,Wright博士选择第二种:他将合伙人的资产都转移到了自己名下,伪造并回溯转移协议,使它们看起来像Dave在世时做的。为了使得协议生效,他在澳大利亚对两家公司中的一家W&K Info Defense Research, LLC提起了诉讼。

原告方所依赖的证词应该来源于澳大利亚税务局,该税务局曾给Ira了Wright博士在澳所有公司审计中搜集的一大批文件。他们包括W&K和Wright博士的多家公司所签署的文件——这些协议中提到了在这些公司之间传递的不同数量的比特币,这似乎是与Dave相关的一项贷款中的一部分。

与此同时,原告表示Wright博士联系了Dave的父亲,他父亲让Wright联系上了Ira。Wright通过邮件告诉Ira了Dave在帮助创建比特币中功不可没,他希望告知Dave的家人这一点。

Ira Kleiman会起诉Wright博士并索要数百亿美元。

被告方:Wright博士独自发明了比特币,没有证据表明Dave Kleiman努力成为(或有能力成为)他的合作伙伴。

辩护很简单:Wright博士独自创建和挖出了比特币。他们表示原告方无法拿出一丝证据来证明Dave Kleiman和Wright博士有合作关系,而现存的证据与Dave可能是中本聪合作伙伴的说法大相径庭。

尽管他和Dave曾是挚友,Dave Kleiman在比特币创造中扮演的唯一角色只是作为Wright的精神支柱。

Wright博士的律师Amanda McGovern在被告方的开庭陈述中说到, “女士们,先生们,这个故事表明了朋友与合作伙伴的区别”。

在被告方看来,这些证据描绘了一个纯粹基于Ira Kleiman和其律师想象的案件,目的是在Dave Kleiman去世很久之后抓住机会获得足以改变一生的数字资产。

最终,陪审团得知Ira还用与起诉Wright博士一样的理由起诉了Dave的其他两位好友:他们偷了他哥哥的比特币。这些诉讼在对Wright博士起诉前不久被撤销。

更奇怪的是,这场案件中被认定属于Dave Kleiman的14台设备中,Ira对每一台设备都进行了编辑、覆盖甚至格式化,尽管Wright博士已经警告说这些设备中可能有重要信息。

在庭审中出席的法医学专家Nicholas Chambers陈述道,这些硬盘的内容无法恢复,不过他可能找到与比特币相关的信息。然而Ira Kleiman对继续这个线索的话题不感兴趣,而选择搜索他认为他哥哥通过佛罗里达法院开采的比特币。

被告方还指出没有任何证据能表明两者之间的伙伴关系,格外需要注意的是,被告方提供的邮件展示了他们俩可以被证明参与过项目讨论的长度。

比如说,他们合作的上述数据擦拭纸在其写作过程时伴随着来回的通信产生,当其结束时他们也有相互的祝贺。在两人通过W&K提交的一些与国土安全部签订的合同提案中,双方也有过类似的沟通。

但没有通信表明二人曾在比特币上有过合作。

被告方也指出没有任何证据表明Dave Kleiman在一生中告诉过别人他在比特币中扮演的角色,被告方在庭审中用Dave最好朋友的证词来佐证这一观点。他们也否认了曾经有过类似Ira在2009年感恩节上发生的可疑对话。

被告方还表明Dave Kleiman在2008年到去世的2013年内不具备技术或物理能力去发明和研究比特币。

谈及Dave的技术能力,他的挚友和前同事Kimon Andreou出庭作证了Dave Kleiman不是一个程序员,也不会编写代码。网络安全专家Kevin Madura的证词进一步证明了这一点,他曾对Dave Kleiman的简历(他的书面简历和基于职业生涯证据的实际简历)做出评价,并发现没有证据表明Dave会编写代码。

从医学上看,Wright博士的律师们请了传染病学家Stewart MacIntyre博士来为Dave Kleiman直至死前几年的健康状况作证。据称,在这段时间里他从事比特币最早的迭代工作,并挖出了数十万枚的比特币。MacIntyre强有力地作证说Dave早在2010年就几乎经常住院,在此期间他时常完成复杂程序,最终他在2013年不顾医生的命令自行出院。在看了Dave Kleiman上千页的医疗记录,包括他主治医生的笔记后,MacIntyre坚信最可能的解释是Dave Kleiman已经病入膏肓而无法参与中本聪的角色。

此外,被告方还出示了Dave死前几个月的证据来表明他非常贫困并且急需用钱。在不同时期他卖掉了自己轮椅和空调设备,并申请了一笔相对有惩罚性质的发薪日贷款(且后来被拒绝),之后他家在他死后丧失了抵押赎回权。尽管如此,没有证据表明他曾试图使用他本应积累的比特币财富,也没有对偷窃他比特币的前商业伙伴发起声讨。

在庭审中原告方的部分中,对于最终在陪审团面前讨论过的ATO文档,被告方慎重地表明没有证据证明这份被伪造的证据指出了一个创造比特币或比特币挖矿的合作关系。然而,他们也指出了这些证据都未经Wright博士本人证实,在他自己的证词中说道当他告诉他们自己的发明后,就不断收到来自ATO对他及其公司的骚扰。他在澳大利亚时已经成功地解决了很多原告方提供的ATO文件。

被告方还反驳了Wright博士曾告诉他人Dave在中本聪项目中功不可没的例子,比如给Dave家人写的那封电子邮件。当被推上证人席时,Wright博士情绪激动地讲述了Dave Kleiman在他生命里扮演的重要角色。

更重要的是,他说是Dave说服他去追求自己对比特币的远景梦想——虽然这最终导致Wright博士在那时失去了自己的婚姻。

“我婚姻失败的原因是因为我很想发明这个东西,Dave能懂我。所以,是的,他对我而言至关重要,我不知道还要怎么去表达。”

“事实是我夸张了,因为没人记得Dave,他在我生命中多年以来都是最重要的人。”

陪审团

在历经四周,数以千计的证物和几十小时的证词之下,这场世纪审判以及其中包含数十亿美元利害关系的审判现取决于陪审团于周二在迈阿密开始的审议。判决有可能在11月25日的感恩节假期之前宣布,这场假期将会放到接下来的周一。

CoinGeek的Kurt Wuckert Jr.将会在每天的回顾报道中出镜,该回顾报道将于美国东部时间下午6:30在我们的YouTube频道进行现场直播。

请于此处观看Kleiman诉Wright案庭审特别报道第十四天:

请您于Kleiman诉Wright案的YouTube播放列表中查看所有的CoinGeek特别报道。

202024日的“创世”协议升级是比特币历史上的一大里程碑,将见证BSV最大程度地回归到中本聪原先设想的协议。请访问“创世”硬分叉页面以了解更多信息。

要直接在您的收件箱接获CoinGeek.com最新消息,CoinGeek会议特别优惠以及其他内部信息,请加入我们的邮件列表

[id^="_form"]
[id^="_form"]
[id$="_submit"]
[id$="_submit"]
[^;]
[^;]
[?&]
[?&]
[^&#]
[^&#]
[(d+)]
[(d+)]
[elem.name]
[elem.name]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-']
[+_a-z0-9-']
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z]
[a-z]
[el.name]
[el.name]
[id^="_form"]
[id^="_form"]
[id$="_submit"]
[id$="_submit"]
[^;]
[^;]
[?&]
[?&]
[^&#]
[^&#]
[(d+)]
[(d+)]
[elem.name]
[elem.name]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-']
[+_a-z0-9-']
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z]
[a-z]
[el.name]
[el.name]

Kleiman vs Wright jury to begin deliberations today: What they’ve heard across 4 weeks of trial

Kleiman vs Wright jury to begin deliberations today: What they’ve heard across 4 weeks of trial

The plaintiff and the defense have rested their cases in the landmark Kleiman v Wright litigation, and the jury are expected to begin their deliberations on Tuesday.

The question in front of them is a formidable one: they are set to decide whether Satoshi Nakamoto was the product of Dr. Craig Wright alone, or if it was done in partnership with the late Dave Kleiman. If the latter, they must also decide whether Dave’s estate is entitled to a portion of a Bitcoin fortune worth more than US$70 billion.

Over the last three weeks, the jury has heard two competing stories about the invention of Bitcoin and the events that took place in the years after.

What were those two stories?

The plaintiff: Dr. Craig Wright invented Bitcoin with my brother Dave, then stole the proceeds after he died

Ira Kleiman’s story against Dr. Wright goes something like this.

Dave Kleiman (brother to Ira) and Dr. Craig Wright were close friends with a shared interest in computers.

For Dave’s part, the plaintiff says that he was a self-taught computer programmer, an ex-cop and an Army veteran. He was left paralyzed from the waist-down in a motorcycle accident in 1995, and he’d spend much of the rest of his life in steadily worsening condition, including extended stays in the hospital, before dying in 2013 by likely infection.

Though Dr. Wright and Dave Kleiman were never formal colleagues, they had collaborated in a variety of contexts, including on a widely cited paper on wiping hard drives.

In 2008, or so the plaintiff’s case goes, the two entered a partnership to create a new form of electronic cash which would eventually change the world: Bitcoin. In addition to writing the white paper and building the Bitcoin software together, they allegedly jointly mined “over 1.1 million Bitcoin—a trove that is worth more than 60 billion dollars today” between 2008 and Dave’s eventual death in 2013. Also a product of the partnership was a fortune in Bitcoin and blockchain-related intellectual property.

The plaintiffs don’t say that the partnership was created via written agreement – they only allege that it was formed orally. The only piece of non-testimonial evidence which the plaintiffs rely on from during Dave’s life is an email supposedly sent six months before the creation of the white paper, where Dr. Wright tells Dave that he needs help editing a paper which he plans to release later in the year. Dr. Wright tells him he’s working on a new form of electronic money, and he wants to include his friend by having him edit a document which presumably goes on to become the white paper.

We can only say ‘presumably’ because there is no record of Dave Kleiman accepting the offer—in fact, there is no communication between the two which references the Satoshi Nakamoto partnership at all.

Dave didn’t tell another living soul about the project—except for one conversation alleged to have taken place between him and the plaintiff (brother Ira) at Thanksgiving dinner in 2009. According to testimony given by Ira Kleiman at trial, when it was just the two of them left out of the table, with the other dinner guests out of earshot, Dave told his brother he was working on something “bigger than Facebook,” was working with a wealthy foreign man, and then drew some form of the Bitcoin symbol on the back of a business card.

It’s vitally important to the plaintiff’s case because it’s one of the only instances they can point to where Dave Kleiman has supposedly talked about his world-changing partnership with Dr. Wright. It’s so important that Ira Kleiman even testified that he subsequently heard from two of Dave’s friends—Patrick Paige and Kimon Andreou—that they had the same conversation with Dave while he was alive.

True or not, as it happened the Thanksgiving conversation was the last the brothers would ever have. Ira says they didn’t meet again, not even when Dave was in the hospital in the years before his death.

In 2013, Dave Kleiman discharged himself from the hospital he’d been at for almost two full years. He was found dead at his home in April of that year. According to Ira Kleiman’s lawsuit, Dave died a Bitcoin billionaire.

“This news confronts Craig with a very important decision,” says Kyle Roche, attorney for Ira Kleiman in his opening statement at the beginning of trial.

“Does he reach out to Dave’s family and tell them about the secret fortune they jointly created together, or does he keep the secret and try to keep that fortune all for himself?”

According to Ira Kleiman, Dr. Wright chose option two: he transferred all of the partnership’s assets to his own name, forging and backdating agreements to the transfers and making them look like they were made in Dave’s lifetime. He filed lawsuits in Australia against one of the companies the two ran together, W&K Info Defense Research, LLC to give effect to the agreements.

The plaintiff is relying on evidence which is supposed to have come from the Australian Taxation Office, which had shared with Ira a trove of documents collected from audits into Dr. Wright’s many companies in Australia. They include agreements signed between W&K and various of Dr. Wright’s companies—they reference varying amounts of Bitcoin being passed between companies which appear to have been part of a loan agreement involving Dave.

Meanwhile, the plaintiff says that Dr. Wright got in touch with Dave’s father, who put Wright on to Ira. Wright told Ira over email that Dave played a big role in helping create Bitcoin and wanted his family to know.

Ira Kleiman would go on to sue Dr. Wright for tens of billions of dollars.

The defense: Dr. Wright invented Bitcoin alone, and there is no evidence that Dave Kleiman was (or was capable of being) his partner in that endeavor

The defense is simple: Dr. Wright created and mined Bitcoin alone. They say that the plaintiffs are unable to produce a scintilla of evidence to show there was ever a partnership between Dave Kleiman and Dr. Wright, and that what evidence does exist runs entirely contrary to the idea that Dave might have been one half of a Satoshi Nakamoto partnership.

Though he and Dave were close friends, the only role Dave Kleiman can be said to have played in the creation of Bitcoin was via his status as a pillar of support for Wright.

“This story, ladies and gentleman, represents the difference between friendship and partnership,” said Amanda McGovern, attorney for Dr. Wright in the opening statement for the defense.

To the defense, the evidence portrays a case purely built from the imagination of Ira Kleiman and his attorneys to grab the chance at a life-changing sum of digital assets long after the death of Dave Kleiman.

To that end, the jury heard that Ira had sued two other of Dave’s best friends over the same allegations he would end up suing Dr. Wright for: that they had stolen his brother’s Bitcoin. Those suits were dropped shortly before launching the action against Dr. Wright.

More strange is that of the 14 devices identified by parties in this case as having belonged to Dave Kleiman, Ira had edited, overwritten or even formatted every one of them even after being warned by Dr. Wright that they could contain valuable information.

Forensics expert Nicholas Chambers, introduced at trial, said that the contents of the drives are unrecoverable, though he could find some potential references to Bitcoin. Yet, Ira Kleiman is uninterested in picking up this thread, instead choosing to search for the bitcoins he is supposed to believe his brother mined via the Florida courts.

The defense also points to the absence of evidence which speaks to a partnership between the two, an absence which is made especially conspicuous by emails introduced by the defense which show the lengths at which the two would talk about the projects they can be proven to have worked on. 

For example, the aforementioned data wiping paper they collaborated on was accompanied by back-and-forth correspondence during its writing and the exchange of congratulations when it was complete. There is similar communication over a series of proposals the two had submitted (via W&K) to secure contracts with Department of Homeland Security.

No such communication exists which reference the two collaborating on Bitcoin.

The defense also points to the absence of any evidence that Dave Kleiman told anyone about his role in Bitcoin during his life, something they back up with testimony from Dave’s best friends at trial. Throughout trial, they confirmed—to a person—that they never spoke with Dave Kleiman about Bitcoin. Contrary to sworn testimony from Ira, they also deny ever having a conversation similar to Ira’s dubious 2009 Thanksgiving story.

The defense also showed that Dave Kleiman possessed neither the technical nor physical capabilities to have invented and worked on Bitcoin from 2008 to his death in 2013.

Speaking to Dave’s technical ability, his close friend and former colleague Kimon Andreou testified that Dave Kleiman wasn’t a programmer, nor could he code.  This was further evidenced by expert testimony from cybersecurity expert Kevin Madura, who opined on Dave Kleiman’s CV (both his written CV and his actual CV based on evidence from his career) and found that there was no evidence Dave was able to code.

Medically, lawyers for Dr. Wright produced an infectious disease expert, Dr. Stewart MacIntyre, to testify about Dave Kleiman’s health in the years leading up to his death, during which time he was supposedly working on the earliest iterations of Bitcoin and mining hundreds of thousands of coins. MacIntyre testified quite forcefully that Dave was in hospital almost constantly from as early as 2010, and during this time he had often complicated procedures leading up to his discharge in 2013—against doctor’s orders. After reviewing thousands of pages of Dave Kleiman’s medical records, including pages of notes from his attending physicians, he was of the belief that Dave Kleiman was most likely far too sick to have played a role in Satoshi Nakamoto.

Additionally, the defense produced evidence from the months before Dave died which showed that he was destitute and in desperate need of money. At various times he had sold his wheelchair and air conditioner unit, and had applied (and was subsequently declined) for a relatively punitive payday loan. Further, his home was in foreclosure at the time of his death. Despite these circumstances, there is no evidence he ever attempted to access the trove of Bitcoin he is supposed to have accumulated, nor did he make any noise about having his Bitcoin stolen from him by an ex-business partner.

As for the ATO documents that were discussed in front of the jury at length during the plaintiff’s portion of the case, the defense has been careful to point out that none of this evidence—which they say is forged—speaks to the existence of a partnership to create and/or mine Bitcoin. However, they also point out that none of the evidence has been authenticated. Dr. Wright himself, during his own testimony, said that the ATO had embarked on a campaign of harassment against him and his companies after he told them of his invention, and that many of the ATO documents being relied on by the plaintiffs were successfully challenged by him in Australia.

The defense also rebutted the examples of Dr. Wright telling other people of Dave’s apparent role in the Satoshi Nakamoto project, such as in emails to Dave’s family. When put on the stand, an emotional Dr. Wright told of the important role that Dave Kleiman played in his life.

Most importantly, he said it was Dave who talked him into pursuing his vision for Bitcoin—something which ended up costing Wright his marriage at the time.

“I failed my marriage because I wanted to invent this thing, and Dave understood. So, yes, he was critical to me. I don’t know how else to put it.

“What is true is I exaggerated because Dave had no one remember him, and he was the most important person in my life for many years.”

The jury

After four weeks, thousands of exhibits and dozens of hours of testimony, the trial of the century and the billions of dollars at stake therein now depend on the jury beginning their deliberations in Miami on Tuesday. There’s some chance the verdict is handed down before the court breaks for Thanksgiving on November 25, a break which lasts until the following Monday.

CoinGeek features Kurt Wuckert Jr. in recap coverage which will be livestreamed daily at 6:30 p.m. EST on our YouTube Channel.

Watch our Day 14 Special Report from the Kleiman v Wright trial here:

Check out all of the CoinGeek special reports on the Kleiman v Wright YouTube playlist.

New to Bitcoin? Check out CoinGeek’s Bitcoin for Beginners section, the ultimate resource guide to learn more about Bitcoin—as originally envisioned by Satoshi Nakamoto—and blockchain.

[id^="_form"]
[id^="_form"]
[id$="_submit"]
[id$="_submit"]
[^;]
[^;]
[?&]
[?&]
[^&#]
[^&#]
[(d+)]
[(d+)]
[elem.name]
[elem.name]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-']
[+_a-z0-9-']
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z]
[a-z]
[el.name]
[el.name]
[id^="_form"]
[id^="_form"]
[id$="_submit"]
[id$="_submit"]
[^;]
[^;]
[?&]
[?&]
[^&#]
[^&#]
[(d+)]
[(d+)]
[elem.name]
[elem.name]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-']
[+_a-z0-9-']
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z]
[a-z]
[el.name]
[el.name]