Kleiman诉Wright案仍然悬而未决,陪审团将会做出什么决定以及如何进行裁决?

Kleiman诉Wright案仍然悬而未决,陪审团将会做出什么决定以及如何进行裁决?

创造历史的Kleiman诉Wright案中的陪审团仍在进行审议裁决,他们的决定可能会改变比特币的未来以及人们对其过去的看法。此案所涉及的金额可能达到数千亿美元,这创造了个人诉讼的新纪录。为什么要花这么长时间来做决定,陪审员们的脑海里会有什么想法?

此案牵扯了太多复杂的问题,很容易让遭遇这种情况的陪审团感到难以处理。即使对于经验丰富的比特币老手来说,它有时看起来也像是一张错综复杂的网络——此外还涉及一些意外情况:文件和电子欺诈指控、计算机取证以及商业法律的概念(如信托、合作伙伴关系、合同以及公司角色/责任)。

危如累卵的是Craig Wright博士是否与他的朋友,即已故的Dave Kleiman之间具备受法律约束的合作伙伴关系。如果陪审团裁决Wright与Dave具备合作伙伴关系这件事情是真的,他们需要选择一个适当的赔偿金额,还要加上任何惩罚性赔偿。

“你认识的律师”解释了这种情况

在CoinGeek最新的Kleiman诉Wright案特别报道中,律师事务所Tragos、Sartes&Tragos的律师Peter Tragos向Kurt Wuckert Jr.解释说,选择一个对于所涉主题有深入了解的陪审团这种做法并不总是有利于原告的最佳利益。

他说,“十个人”所做出的决定会影响到多年来投入到实际审判中的工作(这对参与者的生活与职业的影响更大),这件事情的预期甚至对律师来说也“有点可怕”。他们所给出的唯一专家建议是法官与证人证词的基本法律方面的指导。之后会发生什么事情完全取决于陪审团成员。

Tragos表示,本案中原告似乎在博取同情。他们把重点放在Wright博士的个性和行为上,而被告方则试图把事情引回法律原则上来。

Wright博士在公众面前的粗暴个性使他在社交媒体和法庭上都成为目标,甚至他的着装品味也会改变普通人对他的看法。这些因素再加上本案的复杂细节,这意味着原告可能更希望陪审团不了解这些问题——或者甚至不愿意了解这些问题。

如果案件的事实很复杂,但并不站在你这一方,最好是发挥同情心以及对双方的“喜欢”的情感。陪审员可能不会完全理解所有的问题,那么他们喜欢/不喜欢或更加信任谁?这可能是决定因素,而不是证明事实的能力。

另一方面,Tragos表示,Ira Kleiman也没有表现得特别讨人喜欢。他名义上的哥哥死于痛苦而可怕的死亡,这很可能是孤独且漫长的。在这之前的几年里,Ira和Dave甚至没有说过话,更不用说见面了。从法律上讲,陪审团正在决定这些钱和知识产权是否属于Dave,而不是Ira。然而,他们可能会根据哪个活着的人“应该得到”这些钱和知识产权,而不是谁拥有这些钱和知识产权的合法权利来判决案件。双方都试图在这里利用自己的优势。

“深不可测”的资金数额

然后是钱的问题。Tragos表示,陪审团需要很长的时间来审议,这对Wright博士来说可能是个坏消息。他指出,这里涉及的金额是数百万甚至数十亿美元——而收入可能是在30,000到100,000美元的普通公民将很难理解什么是适当的赔偿。

因此,他补充道,全面做出有利于Wright博士的裁决将会是一个相对快速的决定。

“这只是一个深不可测的数字。”Wuckert说。在审判过程中,原告的法律团队透露,他们一直在监控Wright博士在仅限会员观看的MetanetICU Slack频道的帖子。Wright对可能影响结果的某些人和涉及的金额发表了评论,并将原告要求的赔偿金额提高到数千亿美元。

Tragos指出,还有一个补偿性(针对损失)赔偿与惩罚性(旨在惩罚)赔偿的问题。后者在民事案件中数额通常要高得多,但这是他所见过的第一个要求补偿性赔偿的案件,其赔偿金额高达数千亿美元,而惩罚性赔偿只有170亿美元。

代表原告的律师肯定会从任何赔偿金中分得一杯羹,但这并不意味着律师们会迫不及待地接这样的案子。正如Tragos所指出的,有可能会付出多年的实践时间和努力而得不到任何东西。另一方面,取得胜利并获得50亿美元的赔偿就能保证自己在今后很长一段时间里的金钱和声望。

如果陪审团裁定原告胜诉会怎样?即使是不利于Wright博士的裁决,也可以证明他是中本聪的这一说法——他曾表示,移动中本聪的币需要法院的指令。败诉的被告通常会有30天的时间来进行支付,虽然考虑到这里涉及的数十亿美元,但是谁知道呢?对原告来说,取得有利的判决是一件事,而实际收到任何钱都可能涉及未知的额外挑战。

公众对该案的误解

普通关注者之中的两项常见误解是:(a)这是一起刑事案件,可能导致“有罪”判决和刑事制裁;以及(b)其判决会证明或否定中本聪的身份。

这是民事审判,案件中有一个原告,而不是公诉人。证人证词中指控的任何罪行都需要在完全不同的指控中被追查和证明,并在刑事法院起诉,而刑事法院要求的举证责任要高得多。

无论是Wright博士还是任何证人都不会被认定为“有罪”,也不会进监狱——至少在这个特定的判决之后不会。即使陪审团认为任何一方有人犯了欺诈或其他非法行为,他们是否会(或可以)因此被起诉也是一个未知的问题。

Wright博士也没有面临来自澳大利亚税务局(ATO)的任何持续指控。自2015年以来,那一方面他没有遇到任何问题,而且Wright博士从那时起就不是澳大利亚居民了,所以没有任何新的问题。

读者最好不要听信社交媒体权威的其他说法。

该结果可以强烈地暗示中本聪的身份,但这不会证明它,至少不会直接证明它。具有讽刺意味的是,与胜利相比,败诉可能迫使Wright博士揭示确凿的证据(通过“移动比特币”)——这不会迫使他执行任何行动。而如果他输了,预计事情会变得更加复杂和冗长。

再次指出,围绕本案的事实是复杂的,是难以被理解和证明的。无论外面的人如何声称自己“有证据”证明事情是这样或那样的,都是毫无价值的。只有陪审团的决定才是最重要的。

CoinGeek的Kurt Wuckert Jr.将会在每天的回顾报道中出镜,该回顾报道将于美国东部时间下午6:30在我们的YouTube频道进行现场直播。

请于此处观看Kleiman诉Wright案庭审特别报道第十六天:

请您于Kleiman诉Wright案的YouTube播放列表中查看所有的CoinGeek特别报道

202024日的“创世”协议升级是比特币历史上的一大里程碑,将见证BSV最大程度地回归到中本聪原先设想的协议。请访问“创世”硬分叉页面以了解更多信息。

要直接在您的收件箱接获CoinGeek.com最新消息,CoinGeek会议特别优惠以及其他内部信息,请加入我们的邮件列表

[id^="_form"]
[id^="_form"]
[id$="_submit"]
[id$="_submit"]
[^;]
[^;]
[?&]
[?&]
[^&#]
[^&#]
[(d+)]
[(d+)]
[elem.name]
[elem.name]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-']
[+_a-z0-9-']
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z]
[a-z]
[el.name]
[el.name]
[id^="_form"]
[id^="_form"]
[id$="_submit"]
[id$="_submit"]
[^;]
[^;]
[?&]
[?&]
[^&#]
[^&#]
[(d+)]
[(d+)]
[elem.name]
[elem.name]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-']
[+_a-z0-9-']
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z]
[a-z]
[el.name]
[el.name]

Kleiman v Wright jury still out, what will they decide and how?

Kleiman v Wright jury still out, what will they decide and how?

The jury in the history-making Kleiman v Wright trial is still deliberating on a verdict, and their decision could change both Bitcoin’s future and perceptions of its past. The amounts of money in question could reach hundreds of billions of dollars, setting a new record for personal litigation. Why is it taking so long to decide, and what could be going through the jurors’ minds?

This case has involved so many complex issues, and one could easily feel sorry for the jury members who’ve had this situation thrust upon them. Even for seasoned Bitcoin veterans, it’s looked like a tangled web at times—plus there’s the bonus of document and electronic fraud accusations, computer forensics, and business-legal concepts like trusts, partnerships, contracts, and corporate roles/responsibilities.

At stake is whether or not Dr. Craig Wright had a legally binding partnership with his friend, the late Dave Kleiman. If the jury decides this is true, they need to choose an appropriate amount of compensation, plus any punitive damages.

‘Lawyer You Know’ explains the situation.

Speaking to Kurt Wuckert Jr. in CoinGeek’s latest Kleiman vs. Wright Special Report, Lawyer Peter Tragos of law firm Tragos, Sartes & Tragos explains that it’s not always in a plaintiff’s best interest to select a jury with advanced knowledge of the topic in question. 

The prospect of “ten anybodies” making a decision that affects years of work put into the actual trial (and far more in its impact on participants’ lives and careers) “is kinda scary” even for lawyers, he says. The only expert advice they give is basic legal guidance from the judge and witnesses’ testimony. Figuring out what happens after that is entirely up to the jury members.

The plaintiffs, in this case, appeared to play for sympathy, Tragos said. They focused on Dr. Wright’s personality and behavior, while the defendant’s side tried to steer things back to legal principles. 

Dr. Wright’s abrasive public personality has made him a target both on social media and in the courtroom, and even his dress sense could alter the average person’s perception of him. These factors, plus the complex details of the case, mean the plaintiffs might prefer a jury that doesn’t understand the issues—or even want to. 

If the facts of the case are complex but not on your side, it’s better to play for sympathy and emotions about the sides’ “likeability.” A juror probably won’t comprehend all the issues in full, so who do they like/dislike or trust more? That could be the decider, rather than the ability to prove facts.

On the other hand, Tragos says, Ira Kleiman doesn’t come off as particularly likable either. His adopted brother died a painful and gruesome death, most likely alone and over a long time. Ira and Dave had not even spoken in the years preceding this, let alone met in person. Legally, the jury is deciding whether the money and IP belong to Dave, not Ira. However, they may decide the case based on which living person “deserves” the money and IP more than who has a legal right to them. Both sides have attempted to leverage their advantages here.

‘Unfathomable’ amounts of money

Then there’s the issue of money. The jury taking a long time to deliberate could be bad news for Dr. Wright, Tragos says. He pointed out that the dollar amounts in play here are in the millions or even billions—and the average citizen, whose income is likely U.S. $30-$100,000, would struggle to comprehend what award is appropriate. 

Therefore, ruling in favor of Dr. Wright across the board would be a relatively quick decision, he adds.

“It’s just an unfathomable number,” Wuckert says. During the trial, the plaintiff’s legal team revealed they’d been monitoring posts by Dr. Wright in the members-only MetanetICU Slack channel. Wright had made comments about certain people and amounts of money involved that could have affected the outcome and raising compensation amounts the plaintiffs sought into the hundreds of billions of dollars.

Tragos notes there’s also the issue of compensatory (for losses) vs. punitive (designed to punish) damages. The latter is usually much higher in civil cases, but this is the first case he’s ever seen where the compensatory damages sought are in the hundreds of billions, and punitive only $17 billion. 

Lawyers representing the plaintiff would certainly get their cut of any award, but that doesn’t mean lawyers are champing at the bit to take a case like this. As Tragos points out, there’s the risk of not getting anything at the expense of devoting your practice’s time and effort to it for years. On the other hand, achieving a victory and award of only $5 billion would guarantee money and prestige well into the future.

What happens if the jury finds in the plaintiff’s favor? Even a finding against Dr. Wright could prove his claim to be Satoshi Nakamoto—he has stated that moving Satoshi’s coins would require a court order. A losing defendant typically has 30 days to pay up, though given the billions involved here, who knows? Achieving a favorable verdict could be one thing for the plaintiffs, while actually receiving any of the money will likely involve additional challenges of unknown duration.

Public misconceptions about the case

Two common misconceptions among casual followers are: (a) that this is a criminal case that could result in a “guilty” verdict and criminal sanctions; and (b) that its verdict proves or disproves the identity of Satoshi Nakamoto. 

It’s a civil trial, and there’s a plaintiff, not a prosecutor. Any crimes alleged in witness testimony would need to be pursued and proven in entirely separate charges and prosecuted in criminal court, where the burden of proof required is much higher.

Neither Dr. Wright nor any of the witnesses will be found “guilty” or will go to jail—at least not after this particular verdict. Even if the jury believes someone on either side committed fraud or some other illegal action, whether they would (or could) be prosecuted for it is an unknown issue. 

Dr. Wright is also not facing any ongoing charges from the Australian Taxation Office (ATO). There hasn’t been any issue there since 2015, and Dr. Wright has not been an Australian resident since then, so there aren’t any new ones.

Readers would be wise not to listen to social media pundits claiming otherwise. 

The result could strongly imply Satoshi’s identity, but it won’t prove it, at least not directly. Ironically, losing the case could force Dr. Wright’s hand to reveal conclusive proof (by “moving Bitcoins”) more than a victory—which wouldn’t obligate him to perform any action. And should he lose, expect things to get even more complex and lengthy. 

Once again, all this is to point out that the facts surrounding this case are complex to understand and difficult to prove. No matter how much someone out there claims to “have proof” of something one way or the other, it’s worthless. It’s only the jury’s decision that matters.

CoinGeek features Kurt Wuckert Jr. in recap coverage which will be livestreamed daily at 6:30 p.m. EST on our YouTube Channel.

Watch our Day 16 Special Report from the Kleiman v Wright trial here:

Check out all of the CoinGeek special reports on the Kleiman v Wright YouTube playlist.

New to Bitcoin? Check out CoinGeek’s Bitcoin for Beginners section, the ultimate resource guide to learn more about Bitcoin—as originally envisioned by Satoshi Nakamoto—and blockchain.

[id^="_form"]
[id^="_form"]
[id$="_submit"]
[id$="_submit"]
[^;]
[^;]
[?&]
[?&]
[^&#]
[^&#]
[(d+)]
[(d+)]
[elem.name]
[elem.name]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-']
[+_a-z0-9-']
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z]
[a-z]
[el.name]
[el.name]
[id^="_form"]
[id^="_form"]
[id$="_submit"]
[id$="_submit"]
[^;]
[^;]
[?&]
[?&]
[^&#]
[^&#]
[(d+)]
[(d+)]
[elem.name]
[elem.name]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-']
[+_a-z0-9-']
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z]
[a-z]
[el.name]
[el.name]