聚焦CoinGeek苏黎世大会2021赞助商:ONTIER,数字货币公司与投资者的法律捍卫者

数字货币和区块链是当今金融科技行业中真正的交易。这样的理解并不常见:数字货币应该被视为合法财产,尽管它们可能很有名。ONTIER英国高级律师Simon Cohen分享了他对于知识产权、诉讼和即将在苏黎世举行的CoinGeek大会的见解。

您能向我们简要介绍一下您的公司是做什么的,以及它打算解决的问题或者它希望提供的服务吗?

Simon Cohen:ONTIER专门为我们的客户提供实现其目标所需的商业驱动的法律建议。我们为客户的公司和商业事务提供服务,包括民事纠纷——诉讼和仲裁。我们最大的发展领域和关注点之一是法律和监管领域,因为它影响到了区块链、相关数字资产与产品。

ONTIER合作的客户是什么类型的?

Simon Cohen:我们为各种类型的客户提供服务:跨国公司、私募股权与风险投资公司、软件开发商、媒体公司以及高净值和超高净值个人。我们为客户的公司和商业需求提供服务,并就几乎所有的民事与商业纠纷为他们提供建议,从违反合同到违反信托及受托责任、股东权利、版权和其他知识产权侵权、诽谤和声誉管理。最近,我们一直处于不断发展的法律与监管框架的前沿,该框架管理着投资者与线上交易所之间的关系。

比特币和区块链是相对较新的事物,那么ONTIER是什么时候开始看到与数字货币相关的案件落入视线的?

Simon Cohen:最初的几个案例是于2018年底开始的,此后我们看到,无论是纠纷还是公司与商业事务,咨询的速度和数量都是在稳步增加的。我们注意到了一个反复出现的主题,即投资者失去了对其数字资产的访问权(无论是由于黑客攻击还是成为诈骗的受害者),以及线上交易所将比特币SV等数字资产下架的情况,并且未能向客户偿还至少这些资产的法币价值。

比特币白皮书于2008年诞生时,没有第三方中介受到信任,包括像币安这样的在线交易所以及其他机构。现在的情况已经不是这样了。每个月都有新的在线交易所和交易平台成立。对我来说,这很显然,他们像银行一样,作为受到客户信赖的第三方中介机构运作,并持有其客户的资产,以赢得所有客户的信任。他们应该与更为传统的同行一样,遵守同样的法律标准,承担同样的法律与监管义务。如果交易所和平台不适当地冻结或以其他方式拒绝将这些资产返还给他们的客户,应该承担相应的法律后果,我强烈鼓励人们在受到这种影响时寻求法律咨询。

您能谈谈版权法以及Craig Wright博士的案件所开创的先例吗?

Simon Cohen:我无法对Wright博士的案件进行详细介绍。我可以说的是,他声称自己是《比特币白皮书》的作者,也是其版权的拥有者,不同的个人与实体在未经他同意的情况下发布《白皮书》的这一行为侵犯了版权。

就法律先例而言,这并不是什么新鲜事。然而,我认为引起公众注意的一点是,相关各方都是知名企业,由各种极其知名的有影响力的个人控制着。他们都在问一个关于比特币的终极问题:那份白皮书的作者是谁?谁是“中本聪”这一化名背后的人?一些人称他们知道这样或那样的情况,而另一些人说他们想看到证据。在ONTIER的我们相信Wright博士将被证明是正确的。

现在比特币系统有什么让您感到兴奋的地方吗?

Simon Cohen:区块链仍然是一项新兴技术,应用程序也在逐日增加。法律总是跟不上技术或社会进步。近年来,英国、加拿大、新西兰、美国、澳大利亚和新加坡等普通法司法管辖区已经认识到,与区块链相关的数字资产是一种财产形式。这些司法管辖区的政府和律师现在需要重点回答的问题是,这些资产会产生和附加哪些具体权利。ONTIER是该领域的领先律师事务所,我们正在努力发展和澄清这些资产的法律和监管框架,并在这方面建立全球行业共识。

美国国家税务局在2014年宣布数字货币应被视为财产。您能详细说明一下吗?

Simon Cohen:每个国家都有其对合法财产的定义。很难一概而论,但从语言的角度来看,如果区块链连接的数字资产被认可为完全是法律意义上的财产,那么许多补救措施和权利就会由此产生。我们认为大多数人都会关注继承法,因为对于数字货币/资产所有者去世后会发生什么以及他们的继承人是否可以继承或以其他方式取回这些资产,没有明确的指导。如果BSV和其他数字资产是财产(我们说它们是),它们应该受益于与其他形式的财产相同的法律权利(并且,是的,受到相同的法律责任),包括找回丢失/被盗资产或继承它们的能力;这也意味着它们必须能够被执法部门扣押,并且应该受到适当的税收制度(包括继承和资本收益税)的约束。

一个正在进行的争论是,如果目前的监管框架不能从法律角度把握区块链和数字资产的能力,当局是否应该引入新的立法。在英国,处理区块链和数字资产的交易所和交易行不受银行和交易商的监管要求约束,这使得投资者(其中大多数是普通人)在出现问题时面临着风险。我们希望看到这方面可以取得一些进展。

对于本届在瑞士召开的大会,您最期待的事情是什么?

Simon Cohen:CoinGeek大会是一个极佳的机会,它使我们所有人与其他志同道合的人和公司聚在了一起,了解彼此的产品与我们的创新点,还有它们改变我们生活和工作方式以及我们做生意的方式的潜力。这里汇聚了各种各样的人与行业。

CoinGeek大会是全球性的,与会者是跨时代的。这里会有在科技和金融领域工作了几十年的人,同时也会有刚刚起步的人。我想今年的苏黎世大会中会有很多很棒的产品,很多很棒的想法,在未来的会议中也会有这些内容。

为什么ONTIER决定赞助CoinGeek苏黎世大会?

Simon Cohen:ONTIER是一家领先的律师事务所,在为与区块链及其相关技术相关的法律和监管问题提供咨询方面具有专业性。我们在发展与区块链和区块链相关产品和资产有关的法律方面处于领先地位,我们希望继续成为市场领导者,我们希望继续成为投资以及参与到这一领域中的公司与个人的首选公司。而要做到这一点,我们需要找到这样的地方。而现在这个的位置的公司就是CoinGeek。

对于企业与个人而言,大会的核心价值是什么?

Simon Cohen:大会是企业家与投资者交流想法的机会,也是进行合作与创造新想法的机会。他们聚集起来,通过使用相同的BSV区块链技术来构建不同的产品。该活动让与会者了解到什么是可能的,而作为参与者之一的ONTIER也向他们保证了这一点。

在本届大会上,您有什么期待的演讲或期待哪些演讲嘉宾登台演讲?

Simon Cohen:我们一直期待着与Craig Wright博士以及Jimmy Nguyen的炉边谈话。我们也对与Marcin Zarakowski一同进行的“区块链法律与政策”这一讨论感兴趣。就个人而言,考虑到全世界在过去一年中所经历的事情,以及各种药品在冠状病毒疫苗方面取得的胜利,我也对Phillip Runyan的关于BSV区块链如何改善药品研发与供应链的演讲非常感兴趣。

在观众看了您与您的团队在CoinGeek苏黎世大会的演讲之后,如果有一项要点是您想要观众知道的,那么这项要点是什么?

Simon Cohen:(在活动中)这些企业对于他们正在开发的想法以及他们现在和将来正在制造的产品充满热情。我们想帮助他们在好的时机建立并实现他们的想法,如果出现意外,我们想让他们知道,ONTER公司的我们在这里帮助他们。我们与客户携手合作,为他们提供所需的优质商业法律建议,以实现他们的目标。我们为此感到自豪。

请您观看CoinGeek苏黎世大会上的“区块链法律与政策”小组讨论。该小组讨论由比特币协会的Marcin Zarakowski主持,本场讨论将有律师和法律专家参加,包括Tina Balzli——律师,法学硕士(纽约大学),法学硕士(新加坡国立大学);Thomas Dünser博士——列支敦士登政府金融中心创新办公室主任;Pēteris Zilgalvis——法学博士,欧盟委员会数字创新和区块链DG CONNECT部门负责人;以及Nino Landerer,资本市场与基础设施Staatssekretariat für internationale Finanzfragen主管。

请您今天免费注册参加大会,您可以看到CoinGeek大会的所有演讲嘉宾谈论区块链如何点燃数据的力量。

202024日的“创世”协议升级是比特币历史上的一大里程碑,将见证BSV最大程度地回归到中本聪原先设想的协议。请访问“创世”硬分叉页面以了解更多信息。

要直接在您的收件箱接获CoinGeek.com最新消息,CoinGeek会议特别优惠以及其他内部信息,请加入我们的邮件列表

[10]
[10]
[id^="_form"]
[id^="_form"]
[id$="_submit"]
[id$="_submit"]
[^;]
[^;]
['on' + event]
['on' + event]
[?&]
[?&]
[^&#]
[^&#]
[(d+)]
[(d+)]
[i]
[i]
[results[1]]
[results[1]]
[elem.name]
[elem.name]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-']
[+_a-z0-9-']
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z]
[a-z]
[el.name]
[el.name]
[10]
[10]
[id^="_form"]
[id^="_form"]
[id$="_submit"]
[id$="_submit"]
[^;]
[^;]
['on' + event]
['on' + event]
[?&]
[?&]
[^&#]
[^&#]
[(d+)]
[(d+)]
[i]
[i]
[results[1]]
[results[1]]
[elem.name]
[elem.name]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-']
[+_a-z0-9-']
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z]
[a-z]
[el.name]
[el.name]

CoinGeek Zurich 2021 sponsor spotlight: ONTIER, a legal champion for digital currency firms and investors

Digital currencies and blockchain are the real deal in the Fintech industry today. It is not common to understand that digital currencies should be looked at as legal possessions, as famous as they may be. ONTIER U.K. Senior Associate Simon Cohen shares his insights on intellectual property rights, litigations, and the upcoming CoinGeek Conference in Zurich.

Can you give us a brief overview of what your firm does as well as the problem it aims to solve or the service it looks to provide?

Simon Cohen: ONTIER specializes in providing our clients with the commercially-driven legal advice they require to attain their goals. We act for clients on their corporate and commercial affairs, including civil disputes—both litigation and arbitration. One of our biggest growth areas and focuses is the legal and regulatory sphere as it impacts on blockchain, associated digital assets and products.

What type of clients does ONTIER work with?

Simon Cohen: We represent clients of every kind: multi-national corporations, private equity and venture capital firms, software developers, media corporations and High and Ultra High Net Worth Individuals. We service our client’s’ corporate and commercial needs and advise them on practically the full range of civil and commercial disputes, from breaches of contract to breaches of trust and fiduciary duties, shareholders’ rights, copyright and other intellectual property rights infringements, defamation and reputation management. Recently we have been at the forefront of the constantly developing legal and regulatory framework that governs the relationship between investors and online exchanges.

Bitcoin and blockchain are relatively new, so when did ONTIER start seeing digital currency-related cases fall on your radar?

Simon Cohen: The first few cases started coming in late 2018, and we have since seen a steady pace and increase in the number of inquiries for advice for both disputes and corporate and commercial matters. We’ve noticed a recurring theme of investors losing access to their digital assets (whether as a result of hacking or being the victim of scams) and instances where online exchanges have delisted digital assets like Bitcoin SV and have failed to reimburse their customers for at least the fiat value of those assets.

When the Bitcoin White Paper came out in 2008, there were no trusted third party intermediaries, including online exchanges such as Binance and others. That’s no longer the case. There are new online exchanges and trading platforms being set up every month. It’s clear to me that they operate, like banks, as trusted third party intermediaries for the clients and hold their customers’ assets to the credit of all their customers. They should be held to the same legal standards and be subject to the same legal and regulatory obligations as their more traditional counterparts. There should be legal consequences if exchanges and platforms improperly freeze or otherwise refuse to return these assets to their customers upon request and I would strongly encourage people to seek legal advice if they are affected in this way.

Can you speak about the copyright law and the precedent that Dr. Craig Wright’s case is setting?

Simon Cohen: I’m not able to go into much detail about Dr. Wright’s cases. What I can say is that he claims to be the author of, and owner of the copyright in, the Bitcoin White Paper and that various individuals and entities are infringing copyright by publishing the White Paper without his consent.

In terms of legal precedent, there is nothing novel about that. However, I think the bit that has caught the public’s attention is that parties involved are high profile corporations, controlled by various extremely well-known influential individuals, all of whom are asking the ultimate Bitcoin question: who is the author of that white paper? Who is the person behind the pseudonym ‘Satoshi Nakamoto’? Some say they know one way or another, while others say they want to see the proof. We, at ONTIER, are confident that Dr. Wright will be vindicated.

Is there anything you’re excited about Bitcoin right now?

Simon Cohen: Blockchain is still an emerging technology, and apps are increasing day by day. The law is always a bit slow to catch up with technical or social advancement. In recent years, common law jurisdictions such as England, Canada, New Zealand, the U.S., Australia, and Singapore have recognized that blockchain-linked digital assets are a form of property. The question that government and lawyers in those jurisdictions now need to focus on answering is what specific rights flow from and attach to these assets. ONTIER is a leading law firm in this sector and we are working to develop and clarify the legal and regulatory framework for these assets and to build global industry consensus in this regard.

The Internal Revenue Service of the U.S. announced in 2014 that digital currencies should be considered property. Can you elaborate on that?

Simon Cohen: Every country has its definition of legal property. It is hard to make sweeping statements, but from a language perspective, if blockchain-linked digital assets are recognized as property in the full legal sense of the word, many remedies and rights flow from that. We think most people will be concerned about inheritance laws because there is no clear guidance on what happens when digital currency / assets owners pass away and whether their heirs can inherit or otherwise retrieve those assets. If BSV and other digital assets are property (and we say they are), they should benefit from the same legal rights (and, yes, be subject to the same legal burdens) as other forms of property, including the ability to recover lost/stolen assets or to inherit them; it also means that they must be capable of being seized by law enforcement and should be subject to the appropriate tax regimes (including inheritance and capital gains tax).

An ongoing argument is whether the authorities should introduce new legislation if the current regulatory framework cannot capture blockchain and digital assets capabilities from a legal standpoint. In the U.K., exchanges and trading houses dealing with blockchain and digital assets are not subject to the regulatory requirements that banks and traders are, which leaves investors (the majority of whom are people of ordinary means) exposed when things go wrong. We would like to see some progress there.

What are you looking forward to the most about the conference being in Switzerland?

Simon Cohen: CoinGeek conferences are an incredible opportunity for all of us to get together with other like-minded people and companies and to learn about each other’s products and our innovations, and their potential for changing the way that we live and work and the way that we do business. There is a fantastically broad range of people and industries that converge and meet here.

CoinGeek conferences are a global, they are multi-generational. There will be people here who are speaking who have worked in technology and finance for decades, and at the same time, people who are just starting out. I think there’s going to be a lot of great products, a lot of great ideas coming out of Zurich this year, and also in future conferences as well.

Why did ONTIER decide to sponsor CoinGeek Zurich?

Simon Cohen: ONTIER is one of the leading law firms with expertise in advising on the legal and the regulatory issues which are connected with and arise from blockchain and its associated technology. We are at the forefront of developing the law as it relates to blockchain and blockchain-related products and assets, and we want to continue to be a market leader, we want to continue be the go-to firm for companies and individuals who are invested and who are otherwise involved in this sector. And to do that, we need to be where it’s at. And where it’s at is CoinGeek.

What is the core value of conferences for businesses and individuals?

Simon Cohen: A conference is an opportunity for entrepreneurs and investors to exchange ideas and to collaborate and create new ones. They come together to build different products by using the same BSV blockchain technology. The event gives attendees an insight into what is possible, and ONTIER, as one of the participants, reassures them of the same.

Do you have any presentations or speakers that you are looking forward to attending at the conference?

Simon Cohen: We always look forward to the fireside chats with Dr. Craig Wright and Jimmy Nguyen. We are also interested in the Blockchain Law & Policy discussion with Marcin Zarakowski. On a personal note, and given what the whole world has experienced this past year, and the triumph of the coronavirus vaccines by various pharmaceuticals, I’m also very interested in Phillip Runyan’s speech on how BSV blockchain can improve pharmaceutical research and development and supply chains.

If there was one takeaway that you want the audience to know after seeing you and your team at CoinGeek Zurich, what would it be?

Simon Cohen: The businesses (at the event) are passionate about the ideas they are developing and the products they are building now and in the future. We want to help them in the good times to build and realise their ideas, and should things ever go awry, we want them to know that we at ONTIER, are here to help them. We work hand in hand with our clients and pride ourselves on giving them the quality commercial legal advice that they need in order to meet their goals.

Check out the Blockchain Law & Policy panel session at the CoinGeek Conference in Zurich. The panel, moderated by Marcin Zarakowski of Bitcoin Association, will feature lawyers and legal experts including Tina Balzli, Attorney-at-Law, LL.M. (NYU), LL.M. (NUS); Dr. Thomas Dünser, Director of the Office for Financial Centre Innovation, Government of Liechtenstein; Pēteris Zilgalvis, J.D., Head of Unit, Digital Innovation and Blockchain DG CONNECT, European Commission; and Nino Landerer, Head of Capital Markets & Infrastructure Staatssekretariat für internationale Finanzfragen.

Register for free today to watch all the CoinGeek Conference speakers discuss how blockchain can ignite the power of data.

New to Bitcoin? Check out CoinGeek’s Bitcoin for Beginners section, the ultimate resource guide to learn more about Bitcoin—as originally envisioned by Satoshi Nakamoto—and blockchain.

[10]
[10]
[id^="_form"]
[id^="_form"]
[id$="_submit"]
[id$="_submit"]
[^;]
[^;]
['on' + event]
['on' + event]
[?&]
[?&]
[^&#]
[^&#]
[(d+)]
[(d+)]
[i]
[i]
[results[1]]
[results[1]]
[elem.name]
[elem.name]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-']
[+_a-z0-9-']
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z]
[a-z]
[el.name]
[el.name]
[10]
[10]
[id^="_form"]
[id^="_form"]
[id$="_submit"]
[id$="_submit"]
[^;]
[^;]
['on' + event]
['on' + event]
[?&]
[?&]
[^&#]
[^&#]
[(d+)]
[(d+)]
[i]
[i]
[results[1]]
[results[1]]
[elem.name]
[elem.name]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-']
[+_a-z0-9-']
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z]
[a-z]
[el.name]
[el.name]