《CoinGeek对话》节日特辑:再见2020!

CoinGeek的Natalie Mason,Charles Miller,Kurt Wuckert Jr和比特币协会的Patrick Prinz在《CoinGeek对话》的一集特别节目中结束了这一年的工作,同时分享了他们在视频中捕捉到的有趣的比特币SV时刻。比起听独一无二的Craig Wright博士讲述拥有数字身份的重要性,还有什么更好的方式来开启对话呢?

“2020年是与众不同的一年。” Charles一边承认这一点,一边抛出了一个他称之为“年度道具”的外科口罩。但是,尽管COVID-19大流行及其产生的限制使得今年十分艰巨,但每个人都认为这是对比特币SV来说关键的一年。 

10月,BSV社区成功举办了首届虚拟CoinGeek会议,纽约和伦敦的演播室同时进行了直播。正如Charles所说,“无论如何,这是对BSV发展的背后力量的真正献礼。

对于Kurt而言,2020年是比特币具有里程碑意义的一年。随着恢复了比特币原始设计的更新“创世纪”的完成,这一年开始了迅猛的发展。随后是2月份的CoinGeek伦敦会议——这感觉像是上辈子的事,因为3月份像是持续了5年之久。正如Kurt所指出的,在更大程度上,人们已不仅仅是在讨论协议,而是在争论代币协议。“我们一致认为,开放协议并允许其扩容,无论其结果如何,它已经改变了比特币系统中讨论发生的方式,使之变得更好,我甚至无法形容看到这一点时我有多高兴。”

比特币SV2020年亮点 

Kurt选择分享一段在里斯本举行的CambrianSV活动中拍摄的鼓舞人心的视频。在视频中,RelayX的Paul Martin发表了关于葡萄牙探险家的激情演讲,将探险家与BSV开发人员和企业家进行了比较。Paul指出,为了成为历史的重要组成部分,双方都承担了巨大的风险。“比特币最激励我的事情之一,不仅仅在于它激励了这种冒险行为,让我们的子孙后代有更美好的未来,而且在于我们现在有了真理之锚。”

受到Paul演讲的启发,Kurt将比特币视为一个再度成为探险家的机会。但不仅如此,他还说,“目标是崇高的,我们有机会从根本上改变世界。” 

在视频片段中,Paul Martin强调了许多BSV早期追随者所面临的风险,“遭人唾弃,您承担了很大的风险。职业风险。财务风险。名誉风险。” 今年BSV生态系统的发展令人震惊。Natalie和Patrick都敏锐地指出,随着这么多企业选择在BSV区块链上进行构建,现在选择BSV是一个合法且明智的商业选择。

接下来,Charles分享了他对经济学家兼作家George Gilder的部分采访。在一段非凡的话语中,George将加密货币运动与互联网运动进行了比较,并指出:“与之前的互联网运动相比,加密货币运动在计算机科学方面更为智能和成熟。” 

Patrick对此表示赞同,他承认这是他加入比特币SV社区的部分原因。正如他所解释的那样,他看到了众多人才和多元化的群体,他们的专业水平是他在其他阵营看不到的。由于当天与George一同在现场,Kurt在当天以打动人心的个人见解描述了George是多么的专注。这证明了Gilder的热情和奉献精神,他说出了自己的信仰。

Natalie接下来要分享她最喜欢的年度片段——令人瞠目结舌的瞬间。这是一场Unbound Capital创始人Jackson Laskey和Twetch首席财务官Aaron Burns之间的激烈辩论,涉及了比特币是否具有风险投资空间的话题。“如果您已经在这个领域呆了超过三年,您就会知道有些人现在口袋里有一百万美元,并且可以给你十万美元,马上就可以。对吧?你不必找这个人,为他和他的朋友得到同样的12万美元来拿走你公司35%的股份了。“ 关于为什么天使投资人要比风险资本家更重要,Aaron阐述了自己的观点。 

值得庆幸的是,大多数小组成员都认为风险投资不会像Charles说的那样很快消失,我们见证了“两个思想深邃、精力充沛、观点却截然相反的人。”这场辩论无疑是一段值得完整回顾的时刻——在发生在BSV领域的两股强大力量之间。

最后,Patrick分享了Natalie最近的一次《CoinGeek对话》采访,采访对象是Kompany的Peter Bainbridge-Clayton。在短片中,Peter解释了其他区块链是如何出现不足的——带我们回顾了他的经历,这段经历中他最终找到了可行的模型:比特币SV。 

Patrick在这项技术的商业应用的前线工作,看到许多企业遇到了相同的情况。“他们通常从Ethereum开始,然后转移到Hyperledger,然后意识到这些都不能满足他们对业务的需求。”Patrick坚信,一旦公司发现了BSV,他们就不会回头了。 

Kurt认为拥有“退出计划”(短期项目)的公司会选择Ethereum和类似的区块链,他同时为想要扩大规模并拥有长期计划的企业指出了一个非常不同的区块链:BSV是他们唯一的选择。

对未来一年的期望 

Charles希望能够亲自参加聚会,看到大家一起喝酒,他说这是“商业润滑剂的额外奖励,这正好会让事情更上一层楼。”

从比特币协会的角度来看,Patrick 用两个词来概括它:企业采用

作为一名比特币历史学家,Kurt希望让人们了解比特币SV在过去经历了什么,才有了今天的成就。他期待“写下比特币之旅中那些夸张的错误。” 

最后,Natalie把最后一句话留给了Ayre Group和CoinGeek的创始人Calvin Ayre,Calvin提出了对2021年及以后的期望:“我们看到了独特的面向消费者的应用和独特的企业解决方案,这些方案利用了这项技术的超级能力,即它的纳米交易功能和它在公共区块链上不可更改的数据存储功能。将这两种能力结合在一起,这项技术就拥有了全球垄断地位,并且会受到专利保护。” 

CGC团队全体成员,祝大家节日快乐!我们已经迫不及待地想要看到BSV明年的发展了!

欲了解更多信息,请回顾该集节目,并观看对话中显示和引用的完整视频,链接如下。

按出场顺序: 

在讨论中引用:

EHR Data

品牌聚焦

拓展后的小组讨论

Kronoverse

CoinGeek对话节目中的首席架构师David Case:区块链上的开拓性电子竞技 

CoinGeek会议

CoinGeek纽约大会2020年10月

比特币协会

CoinGeek

明年再见! 

您也可以在YouTube观看播客视频 

请订阅CoinGeek对话——这是第四季的一部分。如果您是新用户,那么有很多先前的剧集可以看。

找到它们的方法如下:

随时随地搜索“ CoinGeek对话

iTunes订阅 

Spotify收听

访问 CoinGeek对话网站

CoinGeek对话YouTube播放列表上观看 

202024日的“创世”协议升级是比特币历史上的一大里程碑,将见证BSV最大程度地回归到中本聪原先设想的协议。请访问“创世”硬分叉页面以了解更多信息。

要直接在您的收件箱接获CoinGeek.com最新消息,CoinGeek会议特别优惠以及其他内部信息,请加入我们的邮件列表

[10]
[10]
[id^="_form"]
[id^="_form"]
[id$="_submit"]
[id$="_submit"]
[^;]
[^;]
['on' + event]
['on' + event]
[?&]
[?&]
[^&#]
[^&#]
[(d+)]
[(d+)]
[i]
[i]
[results[1]]
[results[1]]
[elem.name]
[elem.name]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-']
[+_a-z0-9-']
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z]
[a-z]
[el.name]
[el.name]
[10]
[10]
[id^="_form"]
[id^="_form"]
[id$="_submit"]
[id$="_submit"]
[^;]
[^;]
['on' + event]
['on' + event]
[?&]
[?&]
[^&#]
[^&#]
[(d+)]
[(d+)]
[i]
[i]
[results[1]]
[results[1]]
[elem.name]
[elem.name]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-']
[+_a-z0-9-']
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z]
[a-z]
[el.name]
[el.name]

CoinGeek Conversations Holiday Special: Goodbye 2020!

Sharing their picks of interesting Bitcoin SV moments captured on video, CoinGeek’s Natalie Mason, Charles Miller, Kurt Wuckert Jr and Bitcoin Association’s Patrick Prinz close out the year in a special CoinGeek Conversations episode. And what better way to start the conversation, than hearing from the one and only Dr. Craig Wright on the importance of owning your digital identity.   

“2020 is a year like no other,” Charles admits while tossing out a surgical face mask he calls his “prop of the year.” But despite a very challenging year caused by the COVID-19 pandemic and its accompanying restrictions, everyone agrees it was a pivotal year for Bitcoin SV. 

In October, the BSV community successfully carried out its first virtual CoinGeek Conference with studios broadcasting live simultaneously from New York and London. As Charles puts it, “despite everything, it was real tribute to the strength behind the growth of BSV.”

For Kurt, 2020 was a landmark year for Bitcoin. The year started out strong with the completion of “Genesis,” an update bringing back Bitcoin’s original design. This was followed by the CoinGeek London conference in February—which feels like a lifetime ago, given that March lasted 5 years. As Kurt points out, to a greater degree people have surpassed talking protocols and instead are debating token protocols. “We agreed that opening up the protocol and allowing it to scale, however it may, has changed the way discussions occur in Bitcoin so much for the better that I can’t even describe how happy I am to see that.”

Bitcoin SV’s 2020 highlights 

Kurt chose to share an inspiring video clip filmed during a CambrianSV event in Lisbon. In the video, Paul Martin of RelayX gives a passionate speech about Portuguese explorers, comparing the adventure seekers to BSV developers and entrepreneurs. Paul notes both have taken immense risks to be a great part of history. “One of the things that motivates me the most about Bitcoin is not just the fact that it incentivizes, this sort of risk taking to make the future a better place for our descendants, but the fact that now we have this anchor of truth.” 

Inspired by Paul’s speech, Kurt views Bitcoin as an opportunity to be an explorer again. But it’s more than that, he says “the goal is noble, there’s that opportunity to fundamentally change the world.” 

In the clip, Paul Martin highlights the risk that many early BSV followers faced, being “looked at like pariahs, you’ve taken much risk. Career risk. Financial risk. Reputational risk.” It’s amazing how much the BSV ecosystem has grown this year. Both Natalie and Patrick were keen to point out that with so many enterprises choosing to build on the BSV blockchain, choosing BSV is now a legitimate and wise business choice.

Next, Charles shared a part of his interview with economist and writer George Gilder. In a remarkable quote, George compares the cryptocurrency movement to the internet movement stating, “The cryptocurrency movement is smarter and more sophisticated about computer science than the internet movement that preceded it.” 

Patrick agrees, admitting it’s part of the reason why he joined the Bitcoin SV community. As he explains, he saw a multitude of talent and a diverse group of people with a level of professionalism which he failed to see in other camps. As Kurt was there with George on the day, he gives a moving personal insight into just how dedicated George was on the day. A testament to Gilder’s passion and dedication to speak out on what he believes in.

Natalie is next to share her favorite clip of the year—a jaw dropping moment. It was a heated debate between Unbound Capital founder, Jackson Laskey and Twetch CFO, Aaron Burns about whether or not there is space for venture capital in Bitcoin. “If you’ve been in this space for more than 3 years, you know somebody who has a million bucks in their pocket right now and can give you $100,000, right now. Right? You don’t have to go to this guy, to go get that same 120,000 dollars for him and his friends to take 35 percent of your companies” says Aaron, laying out his argument for why it’s about angel investors over venture capitalists. 

With most of the panel agreeing that venture capital, thankfully, isn’t going anywhere soon as Charles puts it, to witness “two extremely thoughtful and energetic people with opposing views.” The debate is certainly a moment worth checking out in full—between two great forces in the BSV space.

Lastly, Patrick shares one of Natalie’s recent CoinGeek Conversation interviews, with Peter Bainbridge-Clayton of Kompany. In the clip, Peter explains how other blockchains fell short—taking us through his experiences that led to finally finding a workable model: Bitcoin SV. 

Working on the frontlines of business adoption of this technology, Patrick has seen many enterprises experience the same situation. “They typically start out with Ethereum then moving over to Hyperledger and realizing that neither of them satisfies the demands of the requirements they have for their business.” Patrick firmly believes that once companies find BSV, they don’t look back. 

Kurt perceives companies with an “exit plan” go with Ethereum and the likes, pointing out a big distinction for businesses who want to scale and have a long term plan: BSV is the only way to go.

Expectations for the year ahead 

Charles hopes to have get-togethers in person and see people having drinks together which he says is that “extra bonus of business lubricant that will just power things up to the next level.”

From a Bitcoin Association perspective, Patrick sums it up in two words—enterprise adoption.

As a Bitcoin historian, Kurt hopes to make people understand what Bitcoin SV has been through in the past to get to where it is today. He looks forward to “writing those rhetorical wrongs of the Bitcoin journey.” 

In closing, Natalie leaves the last word to founder of Ayre Group and CoinGeek, Calvin Ayre, who sets his expectations for 2021 and beyond: “We see unique consumer facing applications and unique enterprise solutions that take advantage of the superpowers of this technology, which is its nano transaction capability and its immutable data storage on a public blockchain. With those two things combined together, this technology has a global monopoly- which is patent protected.” 

From the whole CGC team, happy holidays! We can’t wait to see what next year brings for BSV!

For more insight, check out the episode and watch the full videos shown and referenced in the conversation, linked below.

In order of appearance: 

Referenced in the discussion:

EHR Data 

Brand in Focus

Extended Panel Discussion

Kronoverse

Chief architect David Case on CoinGeek Conversations: Pioneering eSports on Blockchain 

CoinGeek Conference

CoinGeek Conference New York Oct 2020

Bitcoin Association

CoinGeek

See you next year! 

You can also watch the podcast video on YouTube.

Please subscribe to CoinGeek Conversations – this is part of the podcast’s fourth season. If you’re new to it, there are plenty of previous episodes to catch up with.

Here’s how to find them:

– Search for “CoinGeek Conversations” wherever you get your podcasts

– Subscribe on iTunes

– Listen on Spotify

– Visit the CoinGeek Conversations website

– Watch on the CoinGeek Conversations YouTube playlist

New to Bitcoin? Check out CoinGeek’s Bitcoin for Beginners section, the ultimate resource guide to learn more about Bitcoin—as originally envisioned by Satoshi Nakamoto—and blockchain.