风险投资在比特币经济中扮演什么角色?CambrianSV之讨论

在过去的几十年里,风险资本融资在高增长业务的成功中扮演了重要的角色。Instagram、优步和Snapchat是三个相对较近期的风险投资(VC)赢家,早期的例子亚马逊、Facebook和谷歌可谓如数家珍。

但是风险投资与比特币经济的关系是否会像其与硅谷巨头一样息息相关?

在CambrianSV系列讨论会的第二期讨论会中,CoinGeek的查尔斯·米勒(Charles Miller)让出席里斯本比特币训练营的两位精英就他们的案子进行讨论,并分享他们对课题的看法。社交媒体平台Twetch的首席财务官阿隆·伯恩斯(Aaron Burns)和Unbounded Capital的风险资本家杰克逊·拉斯基(Jackson Laskey)在激烈的讨论环节中争锋相对。

比起风险投资,阿隆更倾向于天使投资者,他从一开始就认为风险投资在比特币世界中“作用不大”。他指出,硅谷许多初创企业对自己努力付出感到不是滋味,因为“贪婪的豺狼说了一堆甜言蜜语让你签下合同,毫不费劲就拥有了公司的35%股份”。然后,如果公司倒闭,该企业还得背负返还资金的负担。

杰克逊在开场白中指出,与会者当然可以批评一些风险资本家的运作方式,特别是截至目前的硅谷。然而,他坚持认为,将风险投资排除在公式外将是一个错误,“类似于‘全节点’的谬误,以为每个人必须运行自己的节点,或某种程度上摧毁了以太坊的‘将一切去中心化’谬误。”

当杰克逊试图彻底推翻阿隆的论点时,讨论进一步白热化,他指出天使投资者和风险资本家没什么不同。阿隆迅速回击,称VC行业是披着羊皮的狼;或者正如他所言,VC是“把赌注押在一百万匹马身上,他们操纵整场比赛,使自己成为有利的一方”。

查尔斯引导两位讨论者回到了核心问题,即比特币经济是否允许初创企业从需要风险投资中解放出来。阿隆指出比特币世界中就有许多百万富翁,因此不乏那些把金钱放下,对期货有实际兴趣的投资者。与此同时,虽然杰克逊承认链上构建企业相关的开发成本较低,可以让人们更快地获得收入,但这与其成为真正的盈利实体相去甚远。

杰克逊解释说,风险投资的工作是辨识实际风险较低(比起市场以为)的企业。杰克逊向在场选择在BSV上构建的人们说道:“你不觉得世界上每个人都会说,这太疯狂了。这是非常高风险的。你在一个未成型的行业构建。你不是在主要链上构建。但我就在这里,我知道在BSV上构建没有风险…我可以以一个他人无法提供的优惠利率给你们资金。”

显然风险是属于旁观者的。

此处查看宣传视频。

您还可以在 YouTube上观看播客视频

• 观看CoinGeek对话YouTube播放列表

• 在iTunes上订阅

• 收听Spotify

• 访问CoinGeek对话网站

• 在博客上搜索“CoinGeek对话”

202024日的“创世”协议升级是比特币历史上的一大里程碑,将见证BSV最大程度地回归到中本聪原先设想的协议。请访问“创世”硬分叉页面以了解更多信息。

要直接在您的收件箱接获CoinGeek.com最新消息,CoinGeek会议特别优惠以及其他内部信息,请加入我们的邮件列表

What role will venture capital play in the Bitcoin economy? CambrianSV Debate

Venture capital funding has played a huge role in the success of high growth businesses over the past decades. Instagram, Uber and Snapchat are just three relatively recent venture capital (VC) winners, with earlier examples Amazon, Facebook and Google rolling off the tongue as easy as ABC.

But will venture capital be as relevant to the Bitcoin economy as it has been to the giants of Silicon Valley?

In the second installment of the CambrianSV debate series, CoinGeek’s Charles Miller pitted two brains from the Bitcoin bootcamp in Lisbon against each other to argue their cases and share their views on the topic. Aaron Burns, CFO of social media platform Twetch and Jackson Laskey, a venture capitalist for Unbounded Capital, went head to head in a heated session.

Favouring a return to angel investors over VCs, Aaron was adamant from the start that venture capital would be of “very little importance” in the Bitcoin world. He pointed to the sour taste felt by many in Silicon Valley when start-ups put in the hard work, only to have “three fat cats come in with some smooth talk and get you to sign a contract and give away 35% of your company for peanuts”. Then if the company fails, it’s burdened with returning the cash.

Jackson prefaced his opening argument by noting that the room was rightfully critical of the way some venture capitalists have operated, particularly in Silicon Valley, up to this point. Nevertheless, he was adamant that leaving VCs out of the equation would be a mistake, “akin to the ‘full node’ fallacy of everyone needs to run their own node, or the ‘decentralised everything’ fallacy that has sort of destroyed Ethereum.”     

The heat turned up when Jackson attempted to squash Aaron’s argument outright, by stating that angel investors are the same as venture capitalists. Aaron was quick to fire back at this, calling out the VC industry as wolves in sheep clothing; or as he put it, VC’s “place bets on a million horses and they’ve rigged the entire game in favour of themselves”.

Charles brought the debaters back to the central issue of whether the Bitcoin economy will allow start-ups to liberate themselves from needing VCs. Aaron pointed to the number of millionaires in the Bitcoin world and thus the option of finding investors with an actual interest in the futures of those that they put their money behind. And whilst Jackson acknowledged that the lower development costs associated with building businesses on chain may allow people to make revenue quicker, this was a far cry from the realities of turning into profit-making entities.

Jackson explained that the job of VCs is to identify ventures that are less risky than the market perceives. Speaking to a room of people who have chosen to build on BSV, Jackson said: “don’t you think everyone in the world is going to say, that’s crazy. That’s incredibly risky. You’re building on an industry that’s not established. You’re not building on the major chain. But I’m here and I know there’s no risk on building on BSV… I can give you guys money at a more favourable rate than almost anyone else can.”

It appears risk is in the eye of the beholder.

Check out the Promo video here

You can also watch the podcast video on YouTube

– Watch on the CoinGeek Conversations YouTube playlist  

– Subscribe on iTunes

– Listen on Spotify

– Visit the CoinGeek Conversations website

– Search for “CoinGeek Conversations” wherever you get your podcasts

New to Bitcoin? Check out CoinGeek’s Bitcoin for Beginners section, the ultimate resource guide to learn more about Bitcoin—as originally envisioned by Satoshi Nakamoto—and blockchain.

[10]
[10]