比特币论:去中心化与分布式

比特币论:去中心化与分布式

去中心化与分布式

很多人认为“去中心化”和“分布式”是同义词——但它们并不是,但不管迄今为止关于比特币的言论如何引导你相信这一点,它们都不是。去中心化意味着不受单一的实体控制。而分布式则意味着分散。

虽然比特币白皮书没有使用“去中心化”一词,当它提到了去中心化的理念,其中表示:“互联网上的商业已经几乎完全依赖金融机构作为可信的第三方来处理电子支付,我们现在需要的是一个基于密码学证明而非基于信任的电子支付系统”。

一个无需信任的系统,或是一个通过数学而不是通过一个既定的实体来建立信任的系统,就是一个去中心化系统。这不是一个可以控制可能或不可能发生的事情的单一实体负责的系统。一个无需信任的系统可以,也确实存在于比特币系统中,但是若想要成功,网络参与者需要同台竞技,并遵循相同的固定规则进行游戏——这就是分布式网络的作用所在。

比特币白皮书中两次使用了分布式这个词,都是指“点对点的分布式时间戳服务器,以生成交易时间顺序的计算证明”。

但是对于点对点的分布式节点网络来说,要合法地创建上面提到的时间戳,每个人都必须遵守同一套规则,尤其是在没有中央权威机构的情况下。网络验证者需要一组固定的规则,因为他们需要知道他们不断努力验证的系统,不会转变成他们没有进行配置来验证的或者不知道他们正在验证的新系统,这就是协议必须保持一成不变的原因。

为什么矿工和创造者需要一个不变的协议

矿工(节点)是规则执行者的互联网络,他们应该能够达成共识而不会出现分歧。当涉及到遵循最长链并接受它的有效性时,矿工有适当的机制来分辨什么是对什么是错。但当谈到在去中分化的环境中遵守相同的规则时,没有任何程序化的规则来强制规则集的连续性,这就是各种比特币空投(分叉)平台上的矿工迷失方向的原因。

多年来,软件开发人员开始在BTC和BCH的网络上创建并实施新规则。这无意或有意地改变了游戏规则,打破了矿工们遵循的一套规则。尽管矿工做着与之前相同的工作来验证交易,将它们广播给其他节点,并达成共识,他们最终会为一条已经改变的链做这些工作,这条链已经同他们最初为之做同样工作的链不同,也许在某种程度上,矿工为之工作的链,已经不是他们当初签约的那条链了。2017年8月,BTC的空投破坏了中本聪为矿工单方面提供合约,2018年11月,BCH再次破坏了合约。

请记住,正如白皮书中所描述的那样,比特币应该是去信任的,在一个去中心化中的系统中有很多方法可以达成共识。然而,这些办法并不是依靠协议开发人员的核心小组为每个网络工作者做出决策。然而,就BTC网络而言,BTC核心开发人员是幕后操纵者,他们构建了一个去中心化的网络,一个有领导者的网络,以及一个可以并且确实可以做出改变的可信任的第三方网络。

当您试图建立一个不断变化的基础时,规则集不断变化所带来的更大的问题就会变得显而易见;这样一来,就会导致您创造的事物延续到未来的可能性就为零。这使得在不断升级的链上构建企业业务解决方案(无论是软分叉还是硬分叉)这件事实际上是不可能的。您对协议所做的更改会使您之前在链上所做的工作全部失效,这就是为什么您看不到任何正规的企业在BTC、BCH或ETH上构建解决方案的原因。

为了使诸如区块链之类的工具能够经历发展过程,尤其是需要通过新的工具、资源以及在建立区块链上的企业来实现发展的话,那么区块链就需要保持稳定和不变。以互联网为例,互联网之所以成功,是因为它经历了大量的增长,而这些增长离不开个人和企业的不断创新和使用。也就是说个人和企业能够做到这一点是因为自1981年以来,TCPIC(互联网协议)一直没有改变。这会让个人和企业对于未来的建设满怀信心,因为他们知道自己的工作会经得起时间的考验,或者至少来说,会随着时间的推移仍然能够屹立不倒。

比特币SV(BSV)是唯一不变的、去信任的并且与白皮书中描述的比特币最相似的区块链协议。在BSV上,规则都是一成不变的,比特币SV矿工执行稳定的工作集;也多亏了《创世纪》协议的升级,您可以放心地在BSV区块链上进行构建,因为您知道随着时间的推移,您的应用程序、平台、服务和解决方案都将保持不变,就像那些在TCPIP上构建的内容一样。

比特币应该既是去中心化的,又是分布式的

当我们缩小视野,我们看到大多数的区块链网络都是分布式的;大部分的节点运营商遍布在世界各地。然而缩小范围这件事也让我们看到很多区块链网络并不是去中心化的,很多都不是无需信任的,比如许多区块链网络都有隐含的可信第三方代理作为受托人,因为他们这些人做出的关键决定会影响网络上的每一个互动。

如果区块链网络有一个掌舵的船长,这个网络的变更必须经过一个实体、一个可以被视为把关人的负责实体,而负责的实体可以被视为守门人,那么在这个等式中就会有一个可信的第三方。而这些值得信赖的第三方也是要为他们所做的决定而负责的。

如果节点运营商为了达成共识所遵循的规则发生了变化,或者更确切地说,节点运营商认为他们正在努力达成共识的协议发生了变化,他们的工作量证明将被发送到一个不同于他们在第一天提交工作量证明的系统。那么,网络在最真实的意义上来说可能不是无需信任的。

不幸的是,如今很多区块链爱好者都不再关心去中心化、分布式以及商业模式的存在时长。现在,市场中存在着一个问题:个人和企业认为,投资或创造一种短期赚钱的货币或代币,比创造一种具有长久未来的业务更有价值。

但至少,了解去中心化和分布式之间的区别,以及了解是什么使一个系统变成去中心化和分布式的,或许会让世界更进一步了解是什么造就了比特币。

202024日的“创世”协议升级是比特币历史上的一大里程碑,将见证BSV最大程度地回归到中本聪原先设想的协议。请访问“创世”硬分叉页面以了解更多信息。

要直接在您的收件箱接获CoinGeek.com最新消息,CoinGeek会议特别优惠以及其他内部信息,请加入我们的邮件列表

[id^="_form"]
[id^="_form"]
[id$="_submit"]
[id$="_submit"]
[^;]
[^;]
[?&]
[?&]
[^&#]
[^&#]
[(d+)]
[(d+)]
[elem.name]
[elem.name]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-']
[+_a-z0-9-']
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z]
[a-z]
[el.name]
[el.name]
[id^="_form"]
[id^="_form"]
[id$="_submit"]
[id$="_submit"]
[^;]
[^;]
[?&]
[?&]
[^&#]
[^&#]
[(d+)]
[(d+)]
[elem.name]
[elem.name]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-']
[+_a-z0-9-']
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z]
[a-z]
[el.name]
[el.name]

Bitcoin Talk: Decentralized vs Distributed

Decentralized vs Distributed

Many people believe that the words “decentralized” and “distributed” are synonyms—but they’re not regardless of what the Bitcoin talk to date has lead you to believe. To be decentralized means to not be controlled by a single entity; to be distributed means to be spread-out.

Although the Bitcoin white paper does not use the words “decentralized,” it refers to the idea of decentralization when it says, “Commerce on the Internet has come to rely almost exclusively on financial institutions serving as trusted third parties to process electronic payments…What is needed is an electronic payment system based on cryptographic proof instead of trust.”

A trustless system, or a system where trust is established via mathematics rather than through an established entity, is a decentralized system; a system where there is no single entity in charge, facilitating what can and can’t happen. And a trustless system can—and does—exist in Bitcoin, but for it to be successful, the network participants need to be operating on the same playing field and playing by the same set of locked rules—this is where the distributed network comes into play.

The Bitcoin whitepaper uses the word distributed two times, both are in reference to a “peer-to-peer distributed timestamp server to generate computational proof of the chronological order of transactions.”

But for the peer-to-peer distributed network of nodes to legitimately create the timestamps mentioned above, everyone must be playing by the same set of rules, especially if there is no central authority. The network validators need an unchanging set of rules because they need to know that the system they are continually working to validate will not transform into a new system that they are not configured to validate or unaware that they are validating—and this is why the protocol must be set in stone.

Why miners and creators need an unchanging protocol

Miners (nodes) are an interconnected network of rule enforcers, and they should be able to reach consensus without discrepancies. When it comes to following the longest chain and accepting it as valid, miners have mechanisms in place to enforce what is true and what is false. But when it comes to playing by the same rules in a decentralized environment, there are no programmed rules that enforce the continuity of the ruleset—and that is why miners on the various airdrops of Bitcoin have lost their way. 

Over the years, software developers began creating and enforcing new rules on both the BTC and BCH networks. Inadvertently—or maybe purposefully—this changed the playing field and broke the set of rules that miners were playing by. Although the miners do the same work they have always done to validate transactions, broadcast them to other nodes, and reaching consensus, they end up doing those actions for a chain that has changed from the chain they were originally doing those same actions for, maybe even to a point where the chain is not the chain they signed up for. The unilaterally contract that Satoshi offered the miners was broken by the BTC airdrop in August 2017 and then again in November 2018 by BCH.

Keep in mind, Bitcoin is supposed to be trustless as it is described in the white paper, and there are ways to reach consensus in a decentralized system. However, those methods do not rely on core groups of protocol developers making the decisions for everyone who participates on the network. However, in the case of the BTC network, the BTC Core Devs are behind the wheel and they make what would otherwise be a decentralized network, a network with a leader, and a trusted third party that can—and does—make changes.

The bigger problem with a changing set of rules becomes obvious when you are trying to build on a foundation that is forever shifting; this results in there being zero certainties in regard to your creation lasting into the future. This makes it practically impossible to build an enterprise business solution on a chain that is continually undergoing upgrades, whether they be soft forks or hard forks. The changes made to the protocol can invalidate any of your previous work done on the chain—which is why you don’t see any serious businesses building a solution on BTC, BCH, or ETH.

For a tool like a blockchain to experience growth, especially growth by way of new tools, resources, and enterprises building on top of it, then the blockchain needs to remain stable and unchanging. Take the internet for example, the internet is successful because it experienced an abundance of growth that came from individuals and corporations finding innovative ways to use it. That being said, individuals and corporations were able to do this because TCPIP (the internet protocol) has not been changed since 1981! This allowed individuals and enterprises to confidently build for the future knowing that their work would stand the test of time, or at the very least, remain standing as time goes on.

The only blockchain protocol that is unchanging, trustless, and has the most similarities to Bitcoin the way it was described in the whitepaper, is Bitcoin SV (BSV). On BSV, the rules are set in stone, and Bitcoin SV miners enforce that stable ruleset; thanks to the Genesis Protocol upgrade, you can build on the BSV blockchain with confidence, knowing that your apps, platforms, services, and solutions will remain standing as time goes on, just like those who build on TCPIP.

Bitcoin is supposed to be both decentralized and distributed

When we zoom out, we see that most blockchain networks are distributed; most have node operators located around the world. But zooming out also shows us that many blockchain networks are not decentralized, many aren’t trustless, and many have implicit trusted third parties acting as fiduciaries as they make critical decisions that affect every interaction on the network.

If a blockchain network has a captain to its ship, an entity that network changes have to go through, and an entity in charge that can be seen as a gatekeeper, then there is a trusted third party in the equation. And these trusted third parties also have liability to others for the decisions they make.

If the rules that node-operators follow to reach consensus change, or rather, the rules of the protocol that node-operators think they are working toward achieving consensus on change in a way that their proof-of-work is going toward a different system than the system they were giving their proof-of-work to on day one—then the network probably isn’t trustless in the truest sense of the word.

Unfortunately, many blockchain enthusiasts today no longer care about decentralization, distribution, and the longevity of a business model. Today, a market-problem exists where individuals and businesses believe there is more value in investing in or creating a short-term money-making coin or token than there is in creating a business with a long-lasting future. 

But at the very least, knowing the difference between decentralization and distribution, as well as knowing what makes a system decentralized and distributed, should bring the world one step closer to understanding what makes Bitcoin, Bitcoin.

New to Bitcoin? Check out CoinGeek’s Bitcoin for Beginners section, the ultimate resource guide to learn more about Bitcoin—as originally envisioned by Satoshi Nakamoto—and blockchain.

[10]
[10]
[id^="_form"]
[id^="_form"]
[id$="_submit"]
[id$="_submit"]
[^;]
[^;]
['on' + event]
['on' + event]
[?&]
[?&]
[^&#]
[^&#]
[(d+)]
[(d+)]
[i]
[i]
[results[1]]
[results[1]]
[elem.name]
[elem.name]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-']
[+_a-z0-9-']
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z]
[a-z]
[el.name]
[el.name]
[10]
[10]
[id^="_form"]
[id^="_form"]
[id$="_submit"]
[id$="_submit"]
[^;]
[^;]
['on' + event]
['on' + event]
[?&]
[?&]
[^&#]
[^&#]
[(d+)]
[(d+)]
[i]
[i]
[results[1]]
[results[1]]
[elem.name]
[elem.name]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-']
[+_a-z0-9-']
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z]
[a-z]
[el.name]
[el.name]