比特币理论逐行解读比特币白皮书

比特币的创造者克雷格·史蒂文·怀特博士(Dr. Craig S. Wright)与Money Button创始人瑞安·查尔斯(Ryan X. Charles)以对话的形式展开了名为“ 比特币理论的深度培训系列,而没有采用常规的学习计划。不过,币迷们无需担心,这两人将会如其所愿地介绍“比特币白皮书”的主旨内容。

在这一特殊的培训系列中,查尔斯与怀特逐一剖析了2008年比特币白皮书,解读并澄清了其中的含义。特别引人注目的是,多年来人们对一些句子和要点存在误解——由于无法深入理解网络与经济激励机制而造成的有意或单纯误解,这让他们走上一些影响重大、代价高昂、甚至是破坏性的道路。

电子现金系统

2008年10月,中本聪Satoshi Nakamoto发布了名为《比特币:一种点对点的电子现金系统》的比特币白皮书。它具有许多鲜明的特点。首先,这本书只有9页内容,这对于技术性白皮书而言显得很简短。其次,“诚实”一词在书中出现的次数高达15次——而其中的相关性在多年来才逐渐清晰起来。第三,该白皮书从未提到区块链一词 ——但自此以后,该词逐渐成为了一个技术行业热词,并成为人们在他人工作中找到其自身意义的示例。

该培训系列的第一部分几乎未提及白皮书标题与摘要(仅暗示该系列内容的深度如何)。

首先谈到的是“现金”。怀特博士表示,比特币基本上是一种更佳形式的现金。这并非是为了取代我们目前所知/所用的货币或银行。我们目前可以使用电子现金,但其性质与所有权规则非常复杂。今天的电子现金类似于银行账户中的余额,是银行给你的借款。物理现金则是你可以拥有的名义价值,但最终是为了在交易中使用(比电子现金更多的属性)。

怀特博士表示,比特币无需任何“信托方式”。不需要由任何人替你“持有”货币,它可以是电子形式的,且最终属于你。它还拥有体现黄金价值的一些属性,但远不止于此。这里涉及到有关黄金储备审计、其操作难度以及人们为了与该系统博弈而掌握有利方法的有趣问题。

对等网络与节点

比特币白皮书摘要的开头处写道:

完全点对点的电子现金能够让在线支付无需经由金融机构而在交易双方之间直接完成。数字签名是该解决方案的一部分,但若为了防止重复支付而仍需要一个可信赖的第三方,则将丧失其主要优势。我们提议使用点对点网络解决重复支付问题。

在暗示比特币可以对抗银行时,许多币圈人士都会用“无需经由金融机构”这一特别的陈述。但怀特博士解释道,各银行确实(并将在很长时间内)满足了经济领域内许多实用目标。

两人的对话详细解读了“点对点”的定义。尽管大部分人将其视作各用户之间的直接消息传递,但怀特博士解释说不一定如此——或不一定令人满意。虽然比特币协议的早期迭代支持各IP地点间的交易,但事实证明,这不易处理,怀特博士指出,目前将其描述为“节点”间的通信更为合适。正如他此前详细阐述过一样,“节点”是指实际创建区块的比特币对等网络。

这些节点预计可能会变得非常大。查尔斯提到白皮书中说过“网络自身拥有最低限度的结构”,怀特博士解释了这句话的意思,与互联网一样,大型节点必须与其他大型节点相互连接,各用户经由这些中心,组成一个网络中的网络。但产生区块的节点是比特币网络上真正的“对等点”。这些节点拥有协议中的各种经济激励机制,以确保诚实行事和网络完整性,该主题已在“比特币理论”其他部分中进行过详细讨论。

两人针对人定法如何看待所有权与身份认证、尤其是签名的准则问题也展开了一些有趣讨论。怀特博士认为,无论是完整签名还是匿名签名,无身份认证的签名毫无价值。比特币“密钥”并非法律意义上的签名,它更多地是一个供你访问自身财产的代码。

人定法的主题通常遍布于这些讨论之中。比特币阵营的密码学无政府主义者们经常吹捧比特币能够超越人定法,但怀特博士认为这是不可能的,人类必须保持对机器与代码(它们没有属于自己的代理)的优先地位。

“可靠的第三方”可能会造成这样一种情况:如果其自身安全性遭到破坏,则将危及整个系统——通常可追溯至以往的发展史。尽管电子支付处理商、证书签名者(例如DigiNotar)以及大型公司(例如微软)都有可能(确实)出现这种事故,但比特币不会。

虽然“比特币白皮书”与“比特币理论”培训系列的其它内容不太一样,但也不可或缺。读者可能注意到其涵盖了许多类似的主题与角度,但总是有很多新内容。整个系列——查尔斯希望它最终成为一个正式的学习课程——是帮助人们了解比特币以及深入理解比特币所必要的背景知识。他们还将会认识到,理解比特币原理与弄清其技术结构同等重要。

如需观看“比特币理论”往期内容,请 点击此处,订阅比特币YouTube频道

202024日的“创世”协议升级是比特币历史上的一大里程碑,将见证BSV最大程度地回归到中本聪原先设想的协议。请访问“创世”硬分叉页面以了解更多信息。

要直接在您的收件箱接获CoinGeek.com最新消息,CoinGeek会议特别优惠以及其他内部信息,请加入我们的邮件列表

[10]
[10]
[id^="_form"]
[id^="_form"]
[id$="_submit"]
[id$="_submit"]
[^;]
[^;]
['on' + event]
['on' + event]
[?&]
[?&]
[^&#]
[^&#]
[(d+)]
[(d+)]
[i]
[i]
[results[1]]
[results[1]]
[elem.name]
[elem.name]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-']
[+_a-z0-9-']
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z]
[a-z]
[el.name]
[el.name]
[10]
[10]
[id^="_form"]
[id^="_form"]
[id$="_submit"]
[id$="_submit"]
[^;]
[^;]
['on' + event]
['on' + event]
[?&]
[?&]
[^&#]
[^&#]
[(d+)]
[(d+)]
[i]
[i]
[results[1]]
[results[1]]
[elem.name]
[elem.name]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-']
[+_a-z0-9-']
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z]
[a-z]
[el.name]
[el.name]

Theory of Bitcoin covers the Bitcoin whitepaper, line by line

Theory of Bitcoin,” the in-depth educational series featuring conversations between Bitcoin creator Dr. Craig S. Wright and Money Button founder Ryan X. Charles, is taking a sidestep from its regular programming. Fans need not worry though, as the “Bitcoin White Paper” track is quite similar to what they’d normally expect from the two.

In this special series, Charles and Wright dissect the 2008 Bitcoin white paper line by line, explaining and clarifying what it means. Of special interest are the phrases and points people have misconstrued over the years—deliberately or simply through a lack of deep understanding of networks and economic incentives—that have led them down some interesting, expensive, and even destructive paths.

The Electronic Cash System

The Bitcoin White Paper, titled “Bitcoin: a Peer-to-Peer Electronic Cash System,” was released under the name Satoshi Nakamoto in October 2008. It has a number of stand-out attributes. Firstly, it’s only nine pages long, which is quite short for a technical white paper. Secondly, it mentions “honest” 15 times—the relevance of which would only become clear years later. Thirdly, it does not ever mention the word “blockchain,” something that has become a tech industry buzzword since and is an example of how people often find their own meanings in others’ work.

This first episode barely gets past the white paper’s title and Abstract (an indication of just how in-depth the series is).

First, there’s “cash.” Bitcoin, Dr. Wright says, is basically a better form of cash. That doesn’t mean something designed to replace money as we know/use it today, or banks. We may use electronic cash today but its nature and rules of ownership are complicated. Today’s electronic cash, like a bank account balance, is a debt to you owned by the bank. Physical cash itself is a nominal thing you can hold, but using it in a transaction is final (more so than the electronic form).

There need not be any “fiduciaries” in Bitcoin, Dr. Wright says. No-one needs to “hold” your money for you, it can be electronic and also yours in the finalized sense. It also has some properties that make gold valuable, but is far superior. There’s a very interesting tangent about auditing gold reserves, how difficult it is, and the very-profitable ways people have learned to game that system as well.

Peers and Nodes

The opening Abstract of the Bitcoin white paper goes thus:

A purely peer-to-peer version of electronic cash would allow online payments to be sent directly from one party to another without going through a financial institution. Digital signatures provide part of the solution, but the main benefits are lost if a trusted third party is still required to prevent double-spending. We propose a solution to the double-spending problem using a peer-to-peer network.

“Without going through a financial institution” is one particular phrase used by many Bitcoiners to suggest Bitcoin is anti-bank. But as Dr. Wright explains, banks do (and will for a long time) serve many useful purposes in the economy.

Much of the conversation covers just what the definition of “peer-to-peer” is. Though most think of it as direct message-passing between individual users, Dr. Wright explains how this is not necessarily the case—or desirable. Though early iterations of the Bitcoin protocol allowed IP to IP transactions, this proved unwieldy and Wright explains how today it more properly describes communications between “nodes.” A node, as he has explained at length previously, describes a Bitcoin network peer that actually creates blocks.

These nodes may become large, and this was anticipated. Charles notes the white paper says “the network itself has minimal structure,” and Dr. Wright describes how, like the Internet, large nodes connect to other large nodes because that’s all they need, and individual users pass through those hubs, becoming a network of networks. But the block-producing nodes are the true “peers” on the Bitcoin network. These nodes have various economic incentives set in the protocol to act honestly and maintain the network’s integrity, a topic that has been discussed at length in other “Theory of Bitcoin” episodes.

There’s also some interesting discussion of how human law views principles of ownership and identity, particularly with regard to signatures. A signature is worthless without identity, Wright explains, whether full or pseudonymous. A Bitcoin “key” is not a signature in the legal sense; more of a code you use to access your property.

The theme of human law often pervades these discussions. The crypto-anarchist type of Bitcoiner often touts Bitcoin as something that can surpass human law, whereas Dr. Wright argues that this is impossible, and that humans must retain their primacy over machines and code (which have no agency of their own).

A “trusted third party” may be one where, if its security is compromised, compromises the whole system—often reaching into its distant history. This does not happen with Bitcoin, though it can (and does) happen with electronic payment processors, certificate signers (eg: DigiNotar) and large corporations (like Microsoft).

Though the “Bitcoin white paper” is a kind of tangent from the rest of the “Theory of Bitcoin” series, it’s very much an integral part of it. Viewers will notice many similar topics and angles covered, but there are always plenty of new ones. The entire series, which Charles hopes eventually to turn into a formal course of study, is essential background knowledge not only to knowing about Bitcoin, but understanding it. They’ll also come to learn that understanding the principles behind Bitcoin is just as important as knowing its technological structure.

To watch previous episodes of the Theory of Bitcoin, subscribe to the Theory of Bitcoin YouTube channel here.

New to Bitcoin? Check out CoinGeek’s Bitcoin for Beginners section, the ultimate resource guide to learn more about Bitcoin—as originally envisioned by Satoshi Nakamoto—and blockchain.