2022

为什么对比特币进行思考在这个混乱的世界里仍然重要

虽然现在表面上看起来和谐,但有迹象表明,我们周围的世界正在分崩离析。我们曾经深信不疑的维持秩序和理智的系统,并不像我们所认为的那样稳固。很难辨别我们在新闻或官方报道中看到的内容是否真实。在这样一个不稳定的社会政治环境下,人们还值得整天关注比特币吗?我有时会问这个问题。

可能是我过于悲观了,又或许是花了太多时间在网上浏览负面信息吧。但是,人们很难不注意到越来越多的关于食品和能源短缺、公共卫生危机、通货膨胀和经济崩溃、审查制度和极权主义威胁、甚至重大战争的新闻流。在过去的两年里,其中一些问题已经侵入了我们的日常生活之中,所以即使我们暂时把屏幕关掉,它们也不会因此就消失。

我承认,有时候监测比特币的发展感觉就像是用来逃避“现实世界”问题的无聊消遣。SPV标准、交流活动和知识产权案件都是该行业的重大事件。但是,如果我们不再关注它们,它们还会那么重要吗?也许我们更应该学习如何种植自己的食物或是净化水质、发展当地的安全网络、保护家人的健康或者学习如何在山上筑造一座地堡。

换句话说:也许我们对管道的问题过于关心了,却没有充分想到房子本身会倒塌?

另一方面来讲,也许它根本就没有分崩离析。我们正在经历一段艰难的时期,但总的来说,人们是值得信赖的,我们对文明的冲动也更加根深蒂固。渴望秩序的本能胜过了对混乱的追求,一切都会在几年之内恢复正常。外界必然会有一些势力,他们的任务是放大焦虑并使我们感到不安全;对他们的行为过于担心只会助长他们的气焰。但过不了几年,我们就会觉得这没什么好大惊小怪的,并且会重新建立一个更诚实透明的货币体系以及构建一张更好的互联网,为公众提供优质服务

剧透警告:我确实认为关注比特币仍然很重要,否则我也不会做这份工作。但更进一步讲,比特币(以及一般的区块链)中的一些问题可能并不值得过多关注。我更倾向于那些把个人数据的掌握权交还给人们自己的用例和新想法。

区块链遭到破坏而失败的任务

不过,很遗憾我们还是得问这些问题。比特币本应是一项可以帮助我们驾驭未来末日浪潮的令人兴奋的新技术。通货膨胀和国家货币崩溃带来的威胁本应推动比特币的普及,而不是阻碍它的发展。

但在2021-2022年,人们并不急于追捧数字资产。实际上恰恰相反——一嗅到不祥的气息,价格投机者们就纷纷离场。随着比特币的价格暴跌至 2017 年的炒作周期价格之下,其解放经济、成为世界新货币的誓言听起来的确是有些荒谬。

我们走到这一步的原因在于,我们放任比特币的要义遭到破坏。谈到小额支付交易,发展中国家的人们正在制造商品并用商品一次换取一美元,但随着人们的注意力被高达1000倍的收益以及购买花哨的比特币吸引,这种现象逐渐消失。尽管BTC被大肆炒作,但只有一小部分人曾从中获益;原本应通过比特币获得解放的普罗大众却被推到了一边。我们现在所拥有的日常使用BTC的“最好”例子是萨尔瓦多。就像其本身一样,BTC通常是由技术机会主义、失败的修补措施以及会引起津巴布韦人侧目的价格波动所构成的混乱产物。破坏性渗透到区块链领域,就像它渗透到我们曾经信任的其他机构一样。

“用户”们正在放弃区块链和数字资产,因为这些东西不能让他们迅速而可靠地致富。高阶用户会吹嘘他们是如何走上巅峰的,并对那些陷入困境的不那么精明的人说教,说他们本该更聪明点。除了BSV,鲜少有关于其效用(尽管有DeFi计划)的讨论,也很少有人谈论为什么普通人甚至需要更值得信赖的数据网络,其中包括货币和非货币网络。

相较于价格投机和新的NFT系列收藏品,这并不是一个多么令人兴奋的话题。但那些价格投机者只是付之一炬,然后就这么离开了,谈论着他们曾度过的疯狂夜晚。说实话:如果明天BSV代币的市场价格突然飙升至1万美元,99%的相关话题都会回到收益和狂欢派对上来,就算是在不稳定的2022年也会是如此。BSV可能比其他区块链更可靠、更有使用价值,但也无法避免它们所存在的问题。

任何时候都需要诚实和信任

所以没错,当这一切都在发生时,对比特币系统的关注以及诚实透明系统的建立依然很重要。这是因为我们任何时候都渴望一个更美好、更自由、更繁荣的世界。虽然不是所有人都用得到管道设备,但对更好的管道设备的需求一直在增长,因为它推动了文明进步(试试在大城市里过几周没有管道的生活,您就会明白我的意思)。

只要互联网还存在,有些人就会设法让它变得更糟,而另一些人则会使之变得更好。银行和金融网络也是如此。即使有时表面上觉得他们并没有获胜,那些向善的力量也必须始终存在。

人们确实需要更多的诚实和信任。目前,人们还无法就实现这一目标的确切方法达成一致,但需求是的的确确存在的,亟待满足。人们正在对制度与系统丧失信心,因此我们必须想出替代方案。我们应该要去展示比特币系统在现实世界中能带来的好处,但不要以粗暴或肤浅的方式去传达这些信息。如果我是一个营销专家,我会开一家咨询公司,但与此同时,我也会持续咨询那些经验更深厚的人。

这就是为什么,就算在混乱的2022年,我们仍然应该对比特币保持兴趣,并专注于实现比特币的初衷。当要求诚实和信任的呼声愈来愈大时,我们就需要去给予回应——但是,如果我们不再每天关注比特币,这就不可能实现。

另请观看:Latif Ladid在BSV全球区块链大会上的主旨演讲——基于IPv6的5G/6g、物联网和区块链

202024日的“创世”协议升级是比特币历史上的一大里程碑,将见证BSV最大程度地回归到中本聪原先设想的协议。请访问“创世”硬分叉页面以了解更多信息。

要直接在您的收件箱接获CoinGeek.com最新消息,CoinGeek会议特别优惠以及其他内部信息,请加入我们的邮件列表

[id^="_form"]
[id^="_form"]
[id$="_submit"]
[id$="_submit"]
[^;]
[^;]
[?&]
[?&]
[^&#]
[^&#]
[(d+)]
[(d+)]
[elem.name]
[elem.name]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-']
[+_a-z0-9-']
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z]
[a-z]
[el.name]
[el.name]
[id^="_form"]
[id^="_form"]
[id$="_submit"]
[id$="_submit"]
[^;]
[^;]
[?&]
[?&]
[^&#]
[^&#]
[(d+)]
[(d+)]
[elem.name]
[elem.name]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-']
[+_a-z0-9-']
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z]
[a-z]
[el.name]
[el.name]

2022

Why thinking about Bitcoin still matters in a messy world

Don’t look now, but there are signs the world is unraveling all around us. Systems we once trusted to maintain order and sanity aren’t as solid as we thought. It’s hard to be sure if anything we see on the news or in an official report is even true. In such an unstable socio-political environment, is it still worthwhile to think about Bitcoin all day? I find myself asking this sometimes.

Maybe I’m overly pessimistic or spend too much time “doomscrolling” on the internet. But it gets hard to ignore the growing news stream about food and energy shortages, public health crises, inflation and economic collapse, censorship and the threat of totalitarianism, or even major war. Some of these problems have intruded on our everyday lives over the past two years, so even turning off your screens for a while doesn’t make them go away.

I’ll admit, there are times when monitoring Bitcoin developments feel like a frivolous distraction from “real world” problems. SPV standards, exchange events, and intellectual property cases are all major stories in this industry. But would they still matter if we stopped reading about them? Maybe we’d be better off learning how to grow our own food or purify water, develop local security networks, defend our families’ health, or learn how to build a bunker in the mountains?

To put it another way: maybe we’re overthinking about the plumbing and not worrying enough that the house itself is falling apart? 

On the other hand, maybe it isn’t falling apart at all. We’re going through a rough patch, but in the entirety, people are trustworthy and our civilizational impulses are more deeply ingrained. Instincts that desire order are stronger than those seeking chaos, and everything will return to its normal state within a few years. There are definitely forces out there whose mission is to amplify anxiety and make us feel insecure; worrying about them too much only fuels their machine. But in a few years, we’ll wonder what all the fuss was about and get back to building a more honest monetary systems and a better internet that serves the public good.

Spoiler alert: I do think it still matters to focus on Bitcoin. I wouldn’t be doing this job if I didn’t. But more on that further down. Some issues in Bitcoin (and blockchain in general) probably deserve less attention than they get. I have a preference for use-cases and new ideas that hand power over personal data back to the people.

Blockchain’s corrupted mission

It’s a shame we even have to ask these questions, though. Bitcoin was supposed to be the exciting new tech that helped us ride some future apocalyptic wave. Threats of inflation and national monetary failure were meant to drive Bitcoin adoption, not hinder it. 

But there hasn’t been a rush to embrace digital assets in 2021-22. Quite the opposite, actually—at the first sniff of doom, price speculators headed for the door. BTC’s promises of freeing the economy and being the world’s new money does sound ridiculous as its price plummets below 2017’s hype cycle.

One of the reasons we arrived at this point is that we allowed Bitcoin’s message to become corrupted. Talk of micro-fee transactions, people in developing countries are making and exchanging goods for a dollar at a time dissipated as the focus shifted to 1000x gains and buying garish Bitcoin bling. For all the hype, only a tiny percentage of people ever benefited from this. The general public, the ones Bitcoin was meant to free, got pushed aside. The “best” example of daily use we have for BTC now is El Salvador. Like BTC itself, it’s generally a mess of techno-opportunism, bolt-on fixes that don’t work properly, and price volatility that would raise eyebrows in Zimbabwe. Corruption seeped into the blockchain world just as it worked its way into other institutions we once trusted.

“Users” are abandoning blockchain and digital assets because this stuff doesn’t make them rich quickly and reliably enough. Power users will brag about how they got out at the top, lecturing the less-savvy who got wrecked about how they should’ve been smarter. Outside of BSV, there’s little conversation about utility (DeFi schemes notwithstanding) or why more trustworthy data networks, monetary and non-monetary, are even needed for regular people.

That’s a less exciting topic than price speculation and new NFT collections. But the price speculators just burned down the house and walked away, talking about the wild night they had. And let’s be honest: if the market price for BSV coins suddenly leaped to $10K tomorrow, 99% of the conversation would shift back to gains and parties, even in unsteady 2022. BSV may be more reliable and useful than other blockchains, but it’s not immune to their problems.

There’s never a wrong time to want honesty and trust

So yes, it still matters to think about Bitcoin and building honest systems while all this is happening. That’s because there’s never really a wrong time to long for a better, freer, and more prosperous world. Plumbing equipment conventions aren’t for everyone, but the demand for better plumbing always grows because it advances civilization (try living without it for a few weeks in a big city and you’ll know what I mean). 

As long as the internet still exists, some will work to make it worse, and others to make it better. The same goes for banking and financial networks. Those forces for good must always be there, even when it doesn’t feel like they’re winning.

There’s a genuine demand out there for more honesty and trust. Right now no one can agree on the exact ways to achieve this, but the demand is there and waiting to be met. People are losing faith in institutions and systems, so we must present alternatives. Our message should be about demonstrating Bitcoin’s real-world benefits, just not in crass or superficial ways. If I were more of a marketing expert, I’d start a consultancy, but in the meantime, I’ll just keep asking the people who know better.

That’s why in messy 2022, it’s still right to stay interested in Bitcoin and maintain a focus on fulfilling Bitcoin’s original promise. When the voices demanding honesty and trust get loud enough, there will need to be a supply to answer them—and that won’t happen if we stop thinking about Bitcoin every day.

Watch: Latif Ladid’s Keynote Speech: IPv6-Based 5G/6g, IoT and Blockchain at the BSV Global Blockchain Convention

New to Bitcoin? Check out CoinGeek’s Bitcoin for Beginners section, the ultimate resource guide to learn more about Bitcoin—as originally envisioned by Satoshi Nakamoto—and blockchain.

[id^="_form"]
[id^="_form"]
[id$="_submit"]
[id$="_submit"]
[^;]
[^;]
[?&]
[?&]
[^&#]
[^&#]
[(d+)]
[(d+)]
[elem.name]
[elem.name]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-']
[+_a-z0-9-']
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z]
[a-z]
[el.name]
[el.name]
[id^="_form"]
[id^="_form"]
[id$="_submit"]
[id$="_submit"]
[^;]
[^;]
[?&]
[?&]
[^&#]
[^&#]
[(d+)]
[(d+)]
[elem.name]
[elem.name]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-']
[+_a-z0-9-']
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z]
[a-z]
[el.name]
[el.name]