Craig Wright

BSV和IPv6:巧克力、花生酱和费用低廉的大规模扩容

最新版本的互联网协议与最初始的比特币一样,它们都与扩容以及实现真正的点对点(P2P)交易的承诺有关。

在迪拜BSV全球区块链大会的第二天,比特币系统创造者Craig Wright博士登台发表了题为《用IPv6和BSV区块链创造更好的互联网》的主题演讲。Wright解释了新的IPv6协议将如何与比特币SV(BSV)一同运作,使机器能够与其他机器对话,以便使人们能够与其他人对话。如果这听起来很矛盾,请您听好以下内容。

Wright首先将比特币系统分解为其基本的构建模块。“它是一个账本。它记录事物的信息。它应该进行扩容。它应该是费用低廉的。”富人从来都不缺乏利用银行业务的机会;现在需要的是具有成本效益的解决方案,以帮助“那些没有被纳入全球经济的人”。要实现这一目标,就需要费用低廉的方法,使机器能够通过“可互操作的系统而不是一系列大公司拥有的围墙花园”与机器对话。

Craig Wright

人们设计IPv6的目的在于大幅提高唯一IP地址的数量,在旧的IPv4标准下,这些地址的上限已经被突破了。如果没有IPv6,物联网(IoT)设备等领域的进一步发展将是不可能实现的,这些设备的总数量在全球范围内已经超过100亿。简而言之,IPv6可以扩容,而IPv4则不能。

Wright指出,正如他在2008年的白皮书中所详述的那样,比特币“总是可以扩容的”。相比之下较为退化的BTC区块链的上限是每秒七笔交易,但BSV每秒可以处理数十万笔交易。BSV还有着每个区块2的129次方笔交易的理论上限,Wright说,这即使到他的“曾曾曾孙的曾曾曾孙”也够用。

换句话说,BSV和IPv6就像巧克力和花生酱一样密不可分。饿了吗?拿起勺子开始享用吧……(译者注:心动了吗?快来抓住这个组合带来的机会吧。)

省去了那些讨厌的中间商

Wright说,比特币的关键方面是“IP对IP”。Alice去找Bob,进行谈判,交换交易。两个同行达成协议,而不用担心某个硅谷巨头是否同意。

敏感信息可以在高度安全的情况下直接被交换,但增加数字中间人——电子邮件服务器、FTP服务器、网络服务器、云存储——会给我们的网络带来漏洞。“IPv6实现了直接连接。这意味着我们可以开始回到互联网的原始模式,而不是由一个位于美国的大型数据中心控制一切。点对点分布的重点在于人。”

这也意味着身份。不是把个人身份相关信息分享给世界,让每个人都能看到,而是拥有链接到IP地址的匿名,以此证明我们的身份。随着在运用IPv6的情况下可用地址数量的增加,“我们每个人都有一个可追踪的假名……隐私现在起作用了,因为我们有如此之多的信息,没有人可以追踪得了这么多信息。”

“我可以根据我的密钥来协商IP地址。我可以有一个于现在链接并创建子密钥的主密钥。我的IP地址与我的身份相联系,但同样您也不知道它们是什么。与我通信的人以及与我交换信息的人都是如此。这意味着我可以拥有一个密钥并与您交换这个密钥,我们两个人现在知道对方的IP地址。房间里的其他人永远无法弄清它们是什么。这就是所谓的隐私。”

BSV and IPv6

Wright补充说,执法机构仍然可以“瞄准”区块链上涉嫌不法行为的人。“如果您是一个罪犯,他们可能会采取严厉的手段追查下去,也就是‘执法人员和线人达成交易,线人提供给他们罪犯的线索,他们沿着区块链上的线索来进行证明。’情况就应该是这样的,而不应该是由国家安全局或GCHQ监视我们所做的一切。”

另一张精密的网

Wright表示,难怪BTC、以太坊和其他区块链在涉及P2P时彻底失败。“它们拥有一张网状的服务器网络。这是一种可怕的设计。您最终要做的事情是,我向网络发送一笔交易,然后我必须在网络上进行搜索,以找到我的交易。系统越大,其速度就越慢,难度越大。这听起来不是很有效率。”

至于简易支付验证(SPV)方面,Wright说“这应该是任何区块链工作方式的一个关键方面……如果我直接交给别人一笔交易,我不需要去寻找它。他们不需要去寻找它……这就是要进行点对点扩容的原因。”

在网络上注册该笔交易的简单举措为这笔资金提供了没有被双花的证明。“我拥有一个由加密哈希值建立索引的键值数据库……所以我可以非常迅速地查询一张‘以前被发现过的交易’的表格?人们片刻之间就可以查找到这些内容,速度快捷。我现在会有一个SPV Merkle证明,然后去进行‘验证’。不是因为矿工们说它没问题,而是因为我核验了它。也不是因为我核验了地球上的每一笔交易。我不关心你们其他人做什么。P2P意味着我的通信。我关心我的东西。如果您付钱给我,那么是的,我想核验它是否有效。但如果您给房间另一边的人付钱,我就不在乎了。”

让协商开始吧

BSV促进小额支付的能力体现为费用只需一美分的几分之一,这意味着个人用户可以交换信息——“密钥、IP地址、域名、电子邮件、WhatsApp地址等任何信息”,同时还可以选择设置一堵小额支付墙,供其他人访问。还可以通过识别出属于特定组成员的通证授予访问权限。“这就是去中心化的意义所在。去中心化不是DAO,也不是未经身份验证的团体或合作伙伴。而是人们自己选择协商方式,设定协商规则。”

Craig Wright

Wright设想这些协商适用于内容创作者,他们的权利“应该贯穿于您所创造的事物之中”。Wright提到他在2016年申请的一项NFT专利时,指出当时他是如何谈论“无聊的事情”的,比如艺术家控制“他们的知识产权如何被销售”的权利。例如,Wright认为音乐家应该有权设定音乐会门票转售的参数,这可能有助于破坏将门票价格推到极高的寄生性的黄牛模式。

Wright还认为,“签名软件”将使视觉艺术家能够控制他们的数字艺术作品(不是“无聊猿”这种,而是外面的“优秀数字艺术”作品)。“NFT在数字艺术中被实现的方式很糟糕。不仅是版权问题,艺术品的使用权也应该受到控制。您应该能够拥有那件艺术品,并限制和约束您自己或与您分享它的任何人的访问。如果您想发送给他人有效期限一个星期的副本,这件事情应该可以被实现。它应该使事物像实物一样可以受到控制。这就是我所设想的内容。给予所有者、使用者、创造者以控制权。”

最后,Wright说:“合约是人们之间的承诺。这是一个人们认为似乎并不重要的关键点。机器不可能签订合约。人与人之间可以签订合约。我们可以在人们设定条件让机器【同意】人们的要求。”

由此观看BSV全球区块链大会第一天的活动内容:

由此观看BSV全球区块链大会第二天的活动内容:

202024日的“创世”协议升级是比特币历史上的一大里程碑,将见证BSV最大程度地回归到中本聪原先设想的协议。请访问“创世”硬分叉页面以了解更多信息。

要直接在您的收件箱接获CoinGeek.com最新消息,CoinGeek会议特别优惠以及其他内部信息,请加入我们的邮件列表

[id^="_form"]
[id^="_form"]
[id$="_submit"]
[id$="_submit"]
[^;]
[^;]
[?&]
[?&]
[^&#]
[^&#]
[(d+)]
[(d+)]
[elem.name]
[elem.name]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-']
[+_a-z0-9-']
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z]
[a-z]
[el.name]
[el.name]
[id^="_form"]
[id^="_form"]
[id$="_submit"]
[id$="_submit"]
[^;]
[^;]
[?&]
[?&]
[^&#]
[^&#]
[(d+)]
[(d+)]
[elem.name]
[elem.name]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-']
[+_a-z0-9-']
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z]
[a-z]
[el.name]
[el.name]

BSV-and-IPv6-Chocolate,-peanut-butter-and-massive-scaling-on-the-cheap-min (1)

BSV and IPv6: Chocolate, peanut butter and massive scaling on the cheap

The newest version of the Internet Protocol is like the original Bitcoin, in that it’s all about scaling and delivering on the promise of truly peer-to-peer (P2P) transactions.

Day 2 of the BSV Global Blockchain Convention in Dubai saw Bitcoin creator Dr. Craig Wright take the stage for a keynote address titled A Better Internet with IPv6 and BSV Blockchain. Wright explained how the new IPv6 protocol will work with Bitcoin SV (BSV) to enable machines to talk to other machines so that people can talk to other people. If that sounds contradictory, buckle up.

Wright began by breaking Bitcoin down to its basic building blocks. “It’s a ledger. It records things. It should scale. It should be cheap.” The rich have never lacked access to banking options; what’s needed are cost-effective solutions to help “people who aren’t included in the global economy.” Achieving this will require cheap methods of allowing machines to talk to machines through “interoperable systems, not a series of walled gardens owned by large corporations.”

Craig Wright

IPv6 is intended to dramatically boost the number of unique IP addresses, the upper limits of which were breached under the older IPv4 standard. Without IPv6, further growth in areas such as Internet of Things (IoT) devices—the total number of which is already pushing 10 billion worldwide—would be impossible. In short, IPv6 scales whereas IPv4 doesn’t.

Wright notes that Bitcoin, as detailed in his 2008 white paper, “always scaled.” While the bastardized BTC blockchain is capped at a maximum of seven transactions per second, BSV can handle hundreds of thousands of transactions a second. BSV also boasts a theoretical limit of 2129 transactions per block, a level that Wright says even his “great-great-great-grandchildren’s great-great-great-grandchildren” won’t live to see exhausted.

In other words, BSV and IPv6 go together like chocolate and peanut butter. Hungry yet? Grab a spoon and let’s dig in…

Cutting out those pesky middlemen

Wright says Bitcoin’s key aspect was “IP to IP.” Alice goes to Bob, conducts a negotiation, exchanges a transaction. Two peers coming to an agreement and not worrying about whether some Silicon Valley giant says it’s okay.

Sensitive information can be directly exchanged with a high degree of security but adding digital middlemen—email servers, FTP servers, web servers, cloud storage—creates vulnerabilities in our networks. “IPv6 enables direct connectivity. It means rather than having a large data center sitting in the U.S. controlling everything, we can start going back to the original model of the internet. Peer distribution. It means people.”

It also means identity. Not shared to the world so everyone can see but having pseudonyms that link to IP addresses and prove our identity. With the expanded number of addresses available under IPv6, “each of us has a pseudonym that’s traceable … privacy now works because we have so much information that no one can track it.”

“I can negotiate IP addresses based on my keys. I could have a master key that now links and creates sub-keys. My IP addresses are linked to my identity but equally you have no idea what they are. Someone that I’m communicating with, someone who exchanges information with me, does. That means I can have a key and exchange it with you and the two of us now know each other’s IP addresses. No one else in the room can ever figure them out. That’s called privacy.”

BSV and IPv6

Wright added the caveat that law enforcement agencies can still “target people” suspected of wrongdoing on the blockchain. “If you are a criminal, they can follow back the hard way, which is ‘that guy, they get a deal with, and he gives them that guy, and they prove along the chain.’ And that’s how it should be. It shouldn’t be the NSA or GCHQ watching everything we do.”

Another fine mesh

Wright says it’s no wonder that BTC, Ethereum and other blockchains fail utterly when it comes to P2P. “They have a mesh-like server network. It’s a horrible design. What you end up doing is, I send a transaction to the network, and then I have to search the network to find my transaction. The larger the system gets, the slower it gets, the harder it is. Doesn’t sound too efficient.”

Enter simplified payment verification (SPV), which Wright says “should be a critical aspect of how any blockchain works … If I hand someone else a transaction, directly, I don’t need to go searching for it. They don’t need to go searching for it … That’s why peer-to-peer scales.”

The simple act of registering that transaction on the network offers proof that the value hasn’t been double-spent. “I have a key-value database that is indexed by cryptographic hashes … So I can look up very quickly a table of ‘has this been seen before’? Instant. Fast. I now have an SPV Merkle proof and go ‘validate.’ Not because the miners say it’s okay but because I checked it. And not because I checked every transaction on earth. I don’t care what the rest of you do. P2P means my communication. I care about mine. If you’re paying me, then yes, I want to check that it’s valid. But if you’re paying someone on the other side of the room, I couldn’t care less.”

Let the negotiations commence

BSV’s capacity for facilitating micropayments for fractions of a cent means individuals can exchange information—“keys, IP addresses, domain names, emails, WhatsApp addresses, anything”—while having the option of imposing a micro-paywall for others to access. Access could also be granted via tokens that identify members of a specific group. “This is what decentralization is about. It’s not DAOs, not unauthenticated groups or partnerships. It’s people choosing how they will negotiate, setting the rules of negotiation.”

Craig Wright

Wright envisions these negotiations applying to content creators, whose rights “should follow through with the items you create.” Referencing an NFT patent he filed in 2016, he noted how at the time he’d talked about “boring things” like the rights of artists to control “how their intellectual property is on-sold.” For instance, Wright believes musicians should have the right to set the parameters for how concert tickets are resold, which could help undermine the parasitic scalper model that has pushed ticket prices into the stratosphere.

Wright also believes “signing software” would allow visual artists to control their digital artwork (not the “boring apes” variety, the “good digital art” out there). “NFTs, the way they’re implemented in digital art, suck. What should happen is not only the rights but the access to the artwork should be controlled. You should be able to own that piece of artwork and restrict and limit access to yourself or anyone you share it with. If you want to give a copy for a week, that should happen. It should make things like a physical item. That’s what I envision. Control to the owner, the user, the creator.”

In the end, Wright says “contracts are promises between people. This is a key that people think doesn’t seem to matter. Machines can’t contract. People do. We can have machines agree [on] what people want after people set conditions.”

Watch BSV Global Blockchain Convention Day 1 here:

Watch BSV Global Blockchain Convention Day 2 here:

New to Bitcoin? Check out CoinGeek’s Bitcoin for Beginners section, the ultimate resource guide to learn more about Bitcoin—as originally envisioned by Satoshi Nakamoto—and blockchain.

[id^="_form"]
[id^="_form"]
[id$="_submit"]
[id$="_submit"]
[^;]
[^;]
[?&]
[?&]
[^&#]
[^&#]
[(d+)]
[(d+)]
[elem.name]
[elem.name]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-']
[+_a-z0-9-']
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z]
[a-z]
[el.name]
[el.name]
[id^="_form"]
[id^="_form"]
[id$="_submit"]
[id$="_submit"]
[^;]
[^;]
[?&]
[?&]
[^&#]
[^&#]
[(d+)]
[(d+)]
[elem.name]
[elem.name]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-']
[+_a-z0-9-']
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z]
[a-z]
[el.name]
[el.name]