种树的最佳时机

种树的最佳时机

中国有句谚语:“种一棵树最好的时间是二十年前,其次是现在。”这句话正是对我在比特币协会工作感受的最好描述。

实际上,开始让人们理解比特币真正潜力的最佳时机是在2009到2010年。如果把这段时间编成故事,可能情节是这样的:

“从前有座光秃秃的小山,有一天,一个名叫中本聪的人带来了一颗橡木种子并把它种下,但是由于土壤贫瘠干燥,种子没能发芽。然而,这片草丛覆盖的小山丘,如此迫切需要一个有树枝可以提供阴凉的橡树,供人们攀爬和探索,杂草和垃圾太过茂密,真理的橡子深埋土地,无法发芽,错失生长的季节只能一直休眠。

10年后,伟大的重置发生了。闪电击中,大火把山丘烧尽。杂草仍然沿着山坡蔓延到周边地区,但最初种植的种子留在了原地。下雨了,于是种了这么久的种子,终于感受到泥土里阳光的温暖。

最后,橡树发芽了,这棵很久以前就种下的大树终于可以长出它所需要的叶子来吸收阳光。”

比特币协会就像这棵树的存在。作为一个目标明确的组织,比特币协会旨在提高全球对比特币的认识,并通过提供所需的资源,向人们提供所需的信息,去吸收将比特币实际应用于我们日常生活领域所需的知识,从而促进比特币的通用性。

无论是使用分类账本作为数据存储库来获取天气和空气质量的测量数据,还是使用网络作为社交媒体平台的基础。我可以满怀信心地说,当今世界没有一个产品、服务或行业不会被用更快、更便宜、更高效的系统改变、提升或取代,这些系统使用比特币网络和账本作为构建的平台。

这个过程的关键在于无条件无区别地向所有人传播知识。比特币是一个开放的系统,设计是稳如磐石的。对于协议或系统,没有什么可保密或隐瞒的,因此需要创建尽可能深入的知识库。

其中第一步就是比特币SV知识库,这个综合了90页高度详细内容的平台,涵盖了比特币许多最重要方面的信息。该网站是(可能永远不会)完全全面的,但它会不断被完善,添加和改进。就像挂在我们的树上的一个绳梯,让新加入的人们快速爬上最低的树枝。从这个有利的角度来说,可以看到通往更高、不太稳定的下一个高度,而如何到达更高目标是我们正在进行的工作。

比特币协会已经开始与教育机构协商,希望开发课程,淘汰目前对“区块链”与中本聪真理有偏差的内容。使用分类账本并不复杂,冗长的描述并没有帮助。即使还需要不断完善,知识库中的内容已经足够用于制作课程材料,足够作为学习比特币的一个平台。这是应用程序可以使用并依赖的基本元素,而无需构建在由于不可扩容导致高成本而必须重建的网络层。通过这种方式,我们希望实现比创造课程或编辑材料更深远的东西。通过这些努力,激发更多的想法、行动和利用比特币作为所有权层来避开陈旧和破碎的模型。我希望对许多人来说,在这棵树上探索将是人们第一次看到杂草以上的地平线,认识到世界是多么广阔。

点击此处阅读比特币协会年度报告完整内容

202024日的“创世”协议升级是比特币历史上的一大里程碑,将见证BSV最大程度地回归到中本聪原先设想的协议。请访问“创世”硬分叉页面以了解更多信息。

要直接在您的收件箱接获CoinGeek.com最新消息,CoinGeek会议特别优惠以及其他内部信息,请加入我们的邮件列表

[id^="_form"]
[id^="_form"]
[id$="_submit"]
[id$="_submit"]
[^;]
[^;]
[?&]
[?&]
[^&#]
[^&#]
[(d+)]
[(d+)]
[elem.name]
[elem.name]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-']
[+_a-z0-9-']
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z]
[a-z]
[el.name]
[el.name]
[id^="_form"]
[id^="_form"]
[id$="_submit"]
[id$="_submit"]
[^;]
[^;]
[?&]
[?&]
[^&#]
[^&#]
[(d+)]
[(d+)]
[elem.name]
[elem.name]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-']
[+_a-z0-9-']
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z]
[a-z]
[el.name]
[el.name]

The best time to plant a tree

There’s a popular Chinese proverb that says: “The best time to plant a tree was 20 years ago. The second-best time is now.” It is in the context of this proverb that I feel my work at the Bitcoin Association is best captured…

In reality, the best time to start teaching people about the real potential of Bitcoin would have been in 2009/2010. Were it framed as a story, it might have gone something like this…

“There was a hill that was bare and one day a man named Satoshi took an acorn and put it in the ground, but the soil was dry and the seed failed to germinate. Instead, the grassy knoll that so desperately needed a shady oak with branches to climb and explore exploded with weeds and rubbish, the acorn of truth buried too deep to sprout, lay dormant as the seasons turned.

10 years later, a great reset took place. Lightning struck and a fire torched the hill bare. The weeds still spread down the slopes and into the surrounding area, but where the seed was originally planted only bare earth remained. Rain came, and finally the seed planted so long ago felt the warmth of sunlight in the soil above.

At last, germination, and the giant tree whose seed was placed in the earth so long ago could finally sprout the leaves it needed to catch the light of the sun.”

The Bitcoin Association exists as this tree. An organisation with a purity of purpose, created to advance global awareness of Bitcoin and to advocate for its use wherever it is needed by providing the resources needed to give people the information they need to build the knowledge required to practically apply Bitcoin to areas of our daily lives.

Be it through using the ledger as a data repository to capture measurements of weather and air quality, or using the network as the basis of a social media platform. I say with confidence that there isn’t a product, service or industry in the world today that won’t be changed, transformed or replaced by faster, cheaper and more efficient systems that use the Bitcoin network and ledger as a platform to build.

Key to this process is the dissemination of knowledge to any and all comers without limitation. Bitcoin is an open system and the design is set in stone. There is nothing to keep secret or withhold about the protocol or the system, so creating the most in-depth knowledge base possible is needed.

The first piece of this is the Bitcoin SV wiki, which exists today as a set of almost 90 highly detailed pages containing information covering many of the most important aspects of Bitcoin. The site is (and may never be) fully comprehensive, however it is constantly being refined, added to and improved. It hangs from our tree, a rope ladder giving all comers quick access to the lowest branches. From this vantage point, routes to the higher, less stable perches can be seen, and extending the way to reach them is the next stage of our work is in progress.

The Bitcoin Association is already in discussion with educational institutions to create courses that eschew the current ‘blockchain’ based narratives for something much closer to Satoshi’s truth. Using the ledger is not complicated, and buzz words don’t help. Even as it grows, the knowledge in the wiki is already being used to generate course material that teaches Bitcoin as a platform. Something that applications can use and depend on as a foundational element rather than a layer that must be recreated due to the cost of unscalable ideas. In this way we hope to achieve something more profound than the creation of a course or the generation of some material. From these efforts will spring the genesis of ideas, ways of doing and of being that eschew old and broken models by using Bitcoin as an ownership layer. I hope that for many, climbing this tree will be the first time people see over the weeds to the horizon and realise how vast the world truly is.

Read the full Bitcoin Association Annual Report here.

New to Bitcoin? Check out CoinGeek’s Bitcoin for Beginners section, the ultimate resource guide to learn more about Bitcoin—as originally envisioned by Satoshi Nakamoto—and blockchain.