Solana再次陷入失败的境地?您最好还是坚持使用屡试不爽且行之有效的系统吧

Solana再次陷入失败的境地?您最好还是坚持使用屡试不爽且行之有效的系统吧

距离Solana发生网络瘫痪且需要进行“重启”的事件仅仅过去几个月的时间,它现在却遇到了更多技术性的问题。尽管Solana于9月份发生的持续了几乎快一天时间的宕机已经迫使节点运营商对网络进行了彻底地重启,但它仍然发生了网络拥堵的情况,这一情况导致用户流量速度出现了大幅度地减缓。

尽管Solana速度变慢的问题看起来似乎已经得到了解决,但密切关注Solana动向的人今天却注意到在网络上有大量成交失败的交易,这些交易失败的数量可能占前一天所有交易量的60%以上:

Solana数字资产的单价为165美元(截止到撰写这篇文章的时候),而且它的市值超过了510亿美元,这使它在目前最具价值的数字资产排行榜中名列第五。

随着Solana持续不断地获得诸如Sam Bankman-Fried等支持者的注意且它在发展壮大的路途中,这些问题已经引起了人们对该网络扩容可靠性/安全性方面能力的特别关注——而巨大的吞吐量和强大的扩容能力一直是Solana的两个最大卖点。

这不禁让人想起了几年前以太坊曾出现过的问题,当时ICO以及像CryptoKitties这样的被广泛使用的应用程序导致了大量交易拥堵情况的发生。以太坊根本没有真正地从这些问题中恢复过来,它只是承诺会在未来会进行重大协议的变更并且它将采取扩容的解决方案来解决这些问题……在未来的某个时刻。

网络的延误造成发布的延期

最新的网络问题已经导致了至少一个名字叫MeanFi的Solana项目整整被推迟了一周才正式上线,这样做的目的是避免通过网络向Solana发送更多流量:

Solana的用户社区非常感激MeanFi短暂推迟发布:

然而,根据报道显示,其他开发人员对Solana反复出现的故障情况而造成的信心下降问题感觉到十分不满,他们抱怨决策层和Solana Labs协议开发小组缺乏透明度,并且他们对持续不断出现的新问题表示失望透顶。诸如“重启”、“宕机”、“交易失败”和“硬重置”这样的词会产生极其负面的报道,这些报道都不是一群人想看到的,因为他们正准备向一个相对较新的、快速增长的区块链金融系统注入数百万美元的资金。

解决已经被解决的问题

Solana的主要生意(也是其大部分营销宣传的来源)是其巨大的交易吞吐量。Solana宣称每秒能处理50,000笔交易且区块时间仅为400毫秒,这使得它完美契合游戏和游戏资产、IoT应用程序、NFT交易以及低费用/快速支付方面的效率,而BSV的目标正是运行这类的应用。

Solana与BSV在技术层面上也有一些相似之处,比如它们都能利用并行化和水平扩容的方法,以及倾向于将其所有交易数据保存在链上。

Solana与BSV主要的区别在于BSV是真正能够运行起来的,并且BSV自2009年首次发布以来就有了与Solana相似的扩容能力。尽管BSV受到了对家的外部重组攻击,它却已经几乎完美地运行了多年,并且BSV自2020年早些时候的创世纪协议版本发布以来,已经有效地扩容了。它从来没有仅仅因自身协议而出现故障过,也绝对不需要重新启动。

Solana采用了一种新的共识机制,这种机制将权益证明(PoS)与被叫做“历史证明”的东西(PoH)相结合。历史证明(PoH)要求网络节点保持始终不断地同步,这个要求显然是Solana难以做到的。这个问题的解决方案已经涵盖了一个观察网络状态的新系统,这个系统需要改变Solana的架构,因为它从本质上来说是一个中心化的系统。

另一方面,BSV已经在稳固的工作量证明(PoW)基础上运行了12年。尽管有人声称PoW的能源效率十分低下,但区块链网络找不到另外一种安全性与其比肩的共识机制,这都要归因于远超出代码本身的内在经济激励机制。由于BSV具有无限的扩容能力,这也减少了人们对它能源使用的权衡的担忧——交易越多,它就变得越有用,这证明了它所需要的能源量是合理的。

MNP是加拿大五大咨询公司的其中之一,这家公司于上个月发布了一份题为《寻找更高效的比特币》的报告,这份报告认为由于BSV具有无限的交易处理能力,这个能力使得它是最高效的。该报告比较了来自BTC、BCH和BSV的模型和真实数据,由此得出结论:“只要BSV网络上的交易规模或数量超过了其他协议的限制,BSV就是这组中效率最高效的那个。”

每个人都在区块链中寻找着最新和最伟大的新事物,但通常最初的解决方案证明了最好和最稳定的模型。与其急于尝试有缺陷且必须在出现问题后立即重新构建体系结构的新系统,倒还不如坚持使用那些在很长一段时间内已经证明了其自身价值的系统。

另请观看:CoinGeek纽约大会小组讨论,区块链:在过去成就基础上的技术的未来

202024日的“创世”协议升级是比特币历史上的一大里程碑,将见证BSV最大程度地回归到中本聪原先设想的协议。请访问“创世”硬分叉页面以了解更多信息。

要直接在您的收件箱接获CoinGeek.com最新消息,CoinGeek会议特别优惠以及其他内部信息,请加入我们的邮件列表

[id^="_form"]
[id^="_form"]
[id$="_submit"]
[id$="_submit"]
[^;]
[^;]
[?&]
[?&]
[^&#]
[^&#]
[(d+)]
[(d+)]
[elem.name]
[elem.name]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-']
[+_a-z0-9-']
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z]
[a-z]
[el.name]
[el.name]
[id^="_form"]
[id^="_form"]
[id$="_submit"]
[id$="_submit"]
[^;]
[^;]
[?&]
[?&]
[^&#]
[^&#]
[(d+)]
[(d+)]
[elem.name]
[elem.name]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-']
[+_a-z0-9-']
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z]
[a-z]
[el.name]
[el.name]

Solana failing again? Better to stick with the tried and true

Solana failing again? Better to stick with the tried and true

Just a few months after its network faceplanted and required a “reboot,” Solana is having more technical troubles. Congestion last week caused traffic speeds to slow dramatically, while an almost day-long downtime in September forced node operators to completely restart the network.

Although last week’s slowdown appeared to be fixed, observers today noticed a large number of failed transactions on the network, possibly over 60% of all transactions in the preceding day:

The Solana digital asset has (at the time of writing) a unit price of U.S. $165 and a market cap of over $51 billion, making it the current fifth-most-valuable digital asset.

As Solana continues to gain attention from backers such as Sam Bankman-Fried and grow, the issues have raised serious concerns at the network’s ability to scale reliably/securely—and throughput and scaling are Solana’s two biggest selling points.

It echoes Ethereum‘s problems of a few years ago, when ICOs and popular apps like CryptoKitties caused massive transaction pileups. Ethereum has never quite recovered from these issues, promising major protocol changes and scaling solutions to fix the problem long-term… at some future point.

Delays causing delays

The latest network problems have caused at least one Solana project, MeanFi, to postpone its launch for another week to avoid sending yet more traffic over the network:

The Solana user community was grateful for this small reprieve:

However, reports indicate other developers are dissatisfied at the drop in confidence Solana’s repeated glitches have caused, complaining of a lack of transparency at the decision-making and at protocol developers’ group Solana Labs as well as expressing frustration that new problems keep appearing. Words like “reboot,” “downtime,” “transaction failure” and “hard restart” generate extremely bad press and aren’t the ones people want to see as they’re prepared to inject millions of dollars into a relatively new, fast-growing blockchain financial system.

Solving problems that have already been solved

Solana’s big deal, and the source of most of its marketing hype, is its massive transaction throughput. Claims of 50,000 transactions per second and 400 millisecond block times appear to make it perfect for efficiency in games and gaming assets, IoT applications, NFT trading, and cheap/fast payments—the same kinds of applications BSV is aimed at running.

It also shares some technical similarities with BSV in the way it leverages parallelization and horizontal scaling, and a preference for keeping all its transaction data on-chain.

The main difference is that BSV actually works, and has had a similar scaling ability since it first launched in 2009. External reorg attacks by opponents notwithstanding, BSV has performed almost flawlessly for many years and has scaled efficiently since launch of the Genesis protocol version in early 2020. It has never simply failed of its own accord, and definitely has never needed a reboot.

Solana utilizes a novel consensus mechanism that combines proof of stake (PoS) with something called “proof of history” (PoH). PoH requires network nodes to remain constantly in sync, something it’s obviously struggling to do. Solutions to the problem have included a new system to observe network state, which would require alterations to Solana’s architecture and would by nature be a centralized system.

BSV, on the other hand, has been running on a solid proof of work (PoW) base for 12 years. Despite claims that PoW is energy inefficient, no blockchain network has found another consensus mechanism that matches its security, thanks to built-in economic incentives that go far beyond the code itself. Since BSV has unbounded scaling capacity, this also reduces concerns about the energy-use tradeoff—the more transactions, the more useful it becomes, justifying the amount of energy required.

MNP is one of Canada’s Big 5 consulting firms and published a report titled “The search for a more efficient Bitcoin” last month, which found BSV to be the most efficient due to its unbounded transaction processing capacity. The report, which compared models and real-world data from BTC, BCH and BSV, concluded, “So long as the size or number of transactions on the BSV network exceeds the limitation of the other protocols, BSV is the most efficient in this group.”

Everyone’s always looking for the latest and greatest new thing in blockchain, but usually the original solution proves the best and most stable model. Rather than rushing to try new systems with faulty architecture that must be rebuilt on the fly after problems arise, it’s better to stick with systems that have proven themselves worthy over a long time.

Watch: CoinGeek New York panel, Blockchain: The Future of Technology Building on Achievements of the Past

New to Bitcoin? Check out CoinGeek’s Bitcoin for Beginners section, the ultimate resource guide to learn more about Bitcoin—as originally envisioned by Satoshi Nakamoto—and blockchain.

[id^="_form"]
[id^="_form"]
[id$="_submit"]
[id$="_submit"]
[^;]
[^;]
[?&]
[?&]
[^&#]
[^&#]
[(d+)]
[(d+)]
[elem.name]
[elem.name]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-']
[+_a-z0-9-']
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z]
[a-z]
[el.name]
[el.name]
[id^="_form"]
[id^="_form"]
[id$="_submit"]
[id$="_submit"]
[^;]
[^;]
[?&]
[?&]
[^&#]
[^&#]
[(d+)]
[(d+)]
[elem.name]
[elem.name]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-']
[+_a-z0-9-']
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z]
[a-z]
[el.name]
[el.name]