比特币世界中的真正价值、炒作与疯狂:Jon Gordon采访Kurt Wuckert Jr.

比特币世界中的真正价值、炒作与疯狂:Jon Gordon采访Kurt Wuckert Jr.

真正的价值胜过炒作,竞争胜于公平,工作胜过运气——这些是畅销书作者Jon Gordon在最新一期Positive University节目中所涉及的一些要点。Gordon作为一名数字资产世界的局外人,邀请了CoinGeek的比特币历史学家Kurt Wuckert Jr.参加节目,以解释比特币及其过去十年的情况。

Jon Gordon是一位作家,也是一名励志演说家,他的《能量巴士》(The Energy Bus)、《木匠》(The Carpenter)和《积极领导的力量》(The Power Of Positive Leadership)等书籍已售出数百万册。他曾多次出现在主要的网络电视节目中,并为财富500强公司和专业运动队提供过领导力方面的咨询。

请您点击此处以在苹果播客上收听本集全部内容。

比特币简介……和价格方面的事情

Kurt解释说他是从多年前开始接触比特币的,当时有人用比特币向他支付印刷工作的薪资。这使得这位前网络安全工作者对比特币的工作原理以及它的价值产生了好奇心,然后Kurt更深入地参与其中,包括挖矿操作、应用程序开发,以及作为CryptoTradersPro的联合创始人和基础分析师进行投资或咨询。

Kurt说:“归根结底,我只是那些经历过(有关比特币的)一切的人之一。”而市场目前正在经历的 “加密货币血腥崩盘”只是自然周期的一部分,这种“重置”吸引了人们的注意力,并可能鼓励他们在某个阶段加入进来。

最近,BTC与其他一些数字资产的价格在飙升,区块链领域之外的投资者的兴趣也随之激增——在以前的牛市中也发生过类似的情况。到现在,几乎每个人都听说过“比特币”,但是,对于那些在过去十年中每天都阅读和撰写区块链新闻的人而言,他们发现大多数人对它仍然了解甚少,这件事可能会令人惊讶。

Kurt将近期大部分的热情(以及随后的崩溃)归因于公众人物的声明,如Elon MuskMichael Saylor的声明,表明了许多投机者只是跟随着他的情绪。他认为,富人购买大量BTC,然后突然公开看涨,这是“非常奇怪的”。

当Gordon说到“比特币”时,他显然想到了BTC,所以听众们可能会期待Kurt如何谈论BTC的技术限制、发展/投资问题,当然BSV实际上才是真正的比特币。(Gordon后来确实透露,他对BSV很熟悉,并被要求采访Kurt,以了解它具体是什么)。

Kurt通过向Gordon介绍泰达币(Tether)——这种稳定币可能由美元和其他数字资产支持,也可能不由(很可能不被)美元和其他数字资产支持,但它支持了BTC的大量市值和交易活动。他解释说,Tether公司多年来一直“回避审计”并发布“粗略的财务报表”,这对于一项占据交易所数字资产交易总量90%以上的资产来说是一个重大问题。

虽然泰达币给BTC市场的那些了解其历史的人带来了不安,但大多数人仍然视而不见。BTC市场已经被人为地抬高到了6万美元,所以从理论上讲,它没有理由不在未来的某个阶段继续上涨到10万美元。

他提到BTC和数字资产价格投机主要是“支持了多层承诺与炒作的承诺与炒作”(套娃),他对于Saylor的MicroStrategy目前是不是某种加密货币共同基金进行了思考,因为其CEO似乎更喜欢谈论比特币。

接下来是关于BSV的部分

然而,他作出了警告,说“BTC实际上并没有做很多事情”,当人们意识到BTC作为一种货币形式的重大局限性时,BTC流行的“关于去中心化、关于在你的口袋里有一个瑞士银行的这些模因”听起来就显得空洞无物。

Kurt说,BTC故意削弱的交易吞吐量“是故意使其对于商业应用来说没有用处”,他随口提到他赞成一种叫BSV的东西。BSV的监管链验证和数据处理能力使它更适合大规模商业使用。

“这就是我长期看好的东西。”Kurt说道,他同时指出,BTC仍然是价格投机者最需要的资产。但是,如果没有基于经济增长的现实效用,数字资产就没有任何真正的潜在价值。

数据是一种商品,Kurt说他更喜欢“分布式数据库/账本”,而不是“区块链”这个词。最后,“还有什么能比世界的总体经济数据更有价值呢?”

Gordon还问到了关于数字资产的一些“基础”问题,工作量证明和权益证明的区别,两者的优缺点,以及“币”到底来自哪里的问题。Kurt称之为“更像是一个有意思的哲学问题”。他对于工作量证明与权益证明的类比相当有趣且有用,这有助于解释为什么只有具有竞争力的工作量证明才能够真正地提供在网络上保护数据的激励措施。

他还回答了关于其他知名数字资产的问题,他说狗狗币(Dogecoin)是区块链世界中一些参与者(所表现出)的 “荒谬与不成熟”的(一面)一个很好例子。两人讨论到了许多“投资”该领域的人是幸运的投机者,而不是建设者——这作为一种赚钱模式是完全不可持续的。

Kurt说,这更多的是关于谁能解决问题,谁能扩容,谁能真正地颠覆,谁能承担全球业务并提高数据完整性。他列出了BSV的一些潜在用途,指出虽然它在2021年作为一种可交易资产表现不佳,但它是在寻求价值而不是炒作。它的大部分潜力甚至还没有被挖掘出来。

Kurt说:当您在决定将要深入研究哪些区块链平台时,请您“看看激励措施,看看谁在参与。”一项资产是在创造价值呢,还是仅仅是在吸收价值呢?

有趣的是,在解释BSV的好处时,有人其实仅仅只是解释了比特币最初存在时的那些好处。即使是爱好者,在真正地理解比特币的意义之前,也会陷入“抵制审查制度”、“非中央银行货币”和“美元崩溃”的模因之中。许多人仍然迷失在这些模因的世界之中,但那些从中脱离出来的人们现在正在探索它更深层次的一些可能性。

202024日的“创世”协议升级是比特币历史上的一大里程碑,将见证BSV最大程度地回归到中本聪原先设想的协议。请访问“创世”硬分叉页面以了解更多信息。

要直接在您的收件箱接获CoinGeek.com最新消息,CoinGeek会议特别优惠以及其他内部信息,请加入我们的邮件列表

[id^="_form"]
[id^="_form"]
[id$="_submit"]
[id$="_submit"]
[^;]
[^;]
[?&]
[?&]
[^&#]
[^&#]
[(d+)]
[(d+)]
[elem.name]
[elem.name]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-']
[+_a-z0-9-']
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z]
[a-z]
[el.name]
[el.name]
[id^="_form"]
[id^="_form"]
[id$="_submit"]
[id$="_submit"]
[^;]
[^;]
[?&]
[?&]
[^&#]
[^&#]
[(d+)]
[(d+)]
[elem.name]
[elem.name]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-']
[+_a-z0-9-']
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z]
[a-z]
[el.name]
[el.name]

Real value, hype and insanity in the Bitcoin world: Jon Gordon interviews Kurt Wuckert Jr.

Real value over hype, competition over equity, and work versus luck—these are some of the main points covered in best-selling business author Jon Gordon’s latest “Positive University” episode. An outsider to the digital asset world, Gordon invited CoinGeek’s Bitcoin Historian Kurt Wuckert Jr. to the show to explain Bitcoin and what the past decade has been all about.

Jon Gordon is a writer and motivational speaker who has sold millions of copies of books such as “The Energy Bus,” “The Carpenter,” and “The Power of Positive Leadership.” He has appeared numerous times on major network television and consulted on leadership matters with Fortune 500 companies and professional sports teams.

You can listen to the full episode on Apple Podcasts here.

Introduction to Bitcoin… and the price thing

Kurt explains his introduction to Bitcoin many years ago, when someone paid him in the currency for a printing job. This led the former cybersecurity worker to curiosity about how it works, why it has value, and then onto a deeper involvement that included a mining operation, app development, and investing/consulting as the co-founder and fundamental analyst of CryptoTradersPro.

“Ultimately, I’m just one of those guys who’s lived everything (about Bitcoin),” Kurt says. And the “bloody crypto crash” the market is currently enduring is simply part of the natural cycle, a “reset” that captures people’s attention and might encourage them to join in… at some stage.

The recent price surge in BTC and other digital assets has seen a parallel surge in interest from outside the blockchain sphere—as has happened during previous bull runs. By now, almost everyone has heard of “Bitcoin” but, for those who’ve read and written the blockchain news every day for the past decade, it can be surprising to discover that most people still understand very little about it.

Kurt attributes most of the recent enthusiasm (and subsequent crash) to public figure pronouncements like Elon Musk‘s and Michael Saylor‘s, suggesting many speculators are simply following his mood. He finds it “very curious” that wealthy people buy large amounts of BTC and suddenly become publicly bullish about its price.

Gordon is clearly thinking of BTC when he says “Bitcoin,” so listeners will likely be anticipating how Kurt manages to broach the topic of BTC’s technical limitations, development/investment issues, and of course, that BSV is actually the real Bitcoin. (Gordon does later reveal that he’s familiar with BSV, and asked to interview Kurt to find out what it was).

Kurt does this by introducing Gordon to Tether—the stablecoin that may or may not be (and most likely isn’t) backed by dollars and other digital assets, but which backs a lot of BTC’s market cap and trading activity. Tether the company has “sidestepped audits” and issued “sketchy financial statements” over the years, he explains, which is a significant problem for an asset that accounts for over 90% of all digital asset trades on exchanges.

While Tether creates an unease around the BTC market for those who know of its history, most remain oblivious. The BTC market has been artificially pumped to US$60,000 so in theory there’s no reason it couldn’t go on to $100,000 at some future stage.

He refers to BTC and digital asset price speculation as mainly “promises and hype backing up multiple layers of promises and hype”, musing on whether Saylor’s MicroStrategy is some kind of crypto mutual fund these days, since its CEO seems far more interested in talking about Bitcoin.

Here comes the BSV part

However, he cautions that “BTC doesn’t actually do very much”, and that BTC’s popular “memes about decentralization, about having a Swiss bank in your pocket” ring hollow when people come to realize its significant limitations as a form of money.

BTC’s intentionally-crippled transaction throughput “very purposefully not useful for business applications” Kurt says, casually mentioning that he favors something called BSV. BSV’s chain-of-custody verification and data processing capacity make it far more appropriate for large-scale business use.

“That’s the kind of thing I’m bullish about long-term,” Kurt says, while noting that BTC remains the asset most in demand for price speculators. But without real-world utility based on a growing economy, there isn’t really any underlying value to digital assets.

Data is a commodity and Kurt says he prefers “distributed database/ledger” to the word “blockchain.” and in the end, “what could be more valuable than the aggregate economic data of the world?”

Gordon also asks about some of the “basics” of digital assets, the differences between proof-of-work and proof-of-stake, the benefits/disadvantages of each, and the issue of where the “coins” actually come from, which Kurt describes as “more of an interesting philosophical question.” His analogies for POW vs POS are quite interesting and useful, helping to explain how only competitive POW can really provide the incentives to secure data on a network.

He also answers questions about other well-known digital assets, saying Dogecoin is a great example of the “absurdism and immaturity” of some participants in the blockchain world. The two discuss how many of those “investing” in the space are fortunate speculators rather than builders—and how that is completely unsustainable as a money-making model.

It’s more about who can solve problems, who can scale, who can truly disrupt, who can take on global business and increase data integrity, Kurt says. He lists some of the potential uses for BSV, noting that while it has underperformed the market in 2021 as a tradeable asset, it’s looking for value over hype. Most of its potential hasn’t even been explored yet.

When deciding which blockchain platforms to delve deeper into, “look at the incentives, look at who’s involved,” he says. Does an asset create value, or simply absorb it?

It’s interesting to note that, in explaining the benefits of BSV, someone is really just explaining the benefits of Bitcoin as it originally existed. Even enthusiasts got caught up in the memes of “censorship resistance,” “non-central bank currencies” and “dollar collapse” before they really understood what Bitcoin was all about. Many are still lost in meme-world, but those who graduated are now exploring its deeper possibilities.

New to Bitcoin? Check out CoinGeek’s Bitcoin for Beginners section, the ultimate resource guide to learn more about Bitcoin—as originally envisioned by Satoshi Nakamoto—and blockchain.

[10]
[10]
[id^="_form"]
[id^="_form"]
[id$="_submit"]
[id$="_submit"]
[^;]
[^;]
['on' + event]
['on' + event]
[?&]
[?&]
[^&#]
[^&#]
[(d+)]
[(d+)]
[i]
[i]
[results[1]]
[results[1]]
[elem.name]
[elem.name]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-']
[+_a-z0-9-']
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z]
[a-z]
[el.name]
[el.name]
[10]
[10]
[id^="_form"]
[id^="_form"]
[id$="_submit"]
[id$="_submit"]
[^;]
[^;]
['on' + event]
['on' + event]
[?&]
[?&]
[^&#]
[^&#]
[(d+)]
[(d+)]
[i]
[i]
[results[1]]
[results[1]]
[elem.name]
[elem.name]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-']
[+_a-z0-9-']
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z]
[a-z]
[el.name]
[el.name]