如其亲友所说,Kleiman诉Wright案的第12天围绕关于Dave Kleiman的话题展开

如其亲友所说,Kleiman诉Wright案的第12天围绕关于Dave Kleiman的话题展开

Kleiman诉Wright案第12天的内容是关于Dave Kleiman的。周四出庭作证的是D. Stewart MacIntyre医生,他熟知Dave Kleiman的病史。接着是Dave Kleiman的密友Kimon Andreou,第三个证人Carter Conrad,他是Dave的朋友,也是他在Computer Forensics LLC的生意伙伴。当天最后一个证人是David Kuharcik,他是Dave Kleiman的朋友,从事会计工作。

总的来说,第12天让法庭进一步了解了Dave Kleiman的健康状况,并初步了解了Dave Kleiman的为人

1号证人

这一天是以对MacIntyre医生继续展开盘问开始的。这位医疗专家继续向法庭解释说,Dave Kleiman的健康状况很差,在医院住院期间每两个小时需要一次护理。

MacIntyre说,Dave Kleiman的医疗记录显示,他最终被批准了“非常规出院”,记录显示,在他要求出院的时候,他并没有真正做好出院的准备,因为他仍然需要很多治疗。

在对他的盘问中,原告的律师Andrew Brenner辩称,尽管Dave Kleiman的身体不能支持他的行动——至少在没有帮助的情况下不行——但他在智力和学术上都很有能力。最重要的是,Dave Kleiman从护士和医生那里收到的许多医疗报告中都有关于他“总是在电脑前”的评语,他向护士和医生报告,甚至放弃治疗,因为他有工作要做。

Brenner向法庭出示了一份证据——一份医疗报告:

“Dave Kleiman能够在医院的病床上处理业务……[Dave Kleiman]表示,他继续工作的能力帮助他解决了自己的健康问题。”

Brenner试图提出一个非常微妙的观点,即Dave可能在他的电脑上做了与比特币相关的工作,这是一个有力的论据。不幸的是,陪审团在一天的大部分时间里都对此漠不关心。

辩方没有改变立场,而是传唤了下一位证人,Kimon Andreou。

2号证人

Andreou是Dave Kleiman在西棕榈滩一家安保公司的同事。Andreou说,Kleiman经常向他寻求工作上的帮助,因为Kleiman不是程序员,而Andreou是。

Andreou说,在工作之外,他和Kleiman是朋友,他有时会和Dave Kleiman一起去餐馆吃饭,一起看枪支展览。当Dave Kleiman住院很长一段时间时,Andreou有时会在某一周内的每天都去医院看望他,只是为了和他聊天,或者给他送食物,或者和他一起吃晚饭。Andreou说,他和Dave Kleiman讨论了许多不同的话题,但比特币和比特币挖矿从来不是他们谈论的话题。

Brenner对Andreou进行了盘问,律师拿出了Andreou给Ira Kleiman的一封电子邮件,上面写道:“如果所有的文件都是真实的,那么再加上我们从与Dave的讨论中得到的轶事信息,所有迹象都表明Dave和Craig确实是比特币的幕后策划者……我相信Craig和Dave是比特币的共同创造者。”

Brenner试图强调Dave Kleiman曾与Kimon Andreou就比特币问题进行过对话,给Andreou施压让他说出他在给Ira的邮件中提到的“我们”是谁。然而,Andreou坚称,“我们”不是他和Dave,而是他认识的一个更大的群体,他们讨论了Dave与比特币的关系。

Brenner无法从Andreou那里得到任何信息,在他的盘问过程中,辩方选择不进行再次盘诘。第三名证人Carter Conrad随后被传上证人席。

3号证人

Conrad拥有几项计算机和安全认证。他在2000年代中期遇到了Dave Kleiman,与他合作创建了Computer Forensics LLC,他说他每天都和戴夫聊天。Conrad说,有时,他就像Dave的腿,帮助Dave做一些体力活——比如找回物品或举起电脑——Dave认为这些动作对他的身体状况来说很有挑战性。

在对Conrad的盘问中,辩护律师Jorge Mestre认为Dave Kleiman知道如何建立合法的商业伙伴关系,因为他和Conrad通过程序合法地建立了他们的Computer Forensics业务。

Conrad作证说,Dave Kleiman从未提及比特币,比特币挖矿,或Wright博士和Dave Kleiman合作进行比特币相关活动。

Conrad还证实,Ira Kleiman曾一度起诉他和Computer Forensics LLC,寻找可能属于Dave Kleiman的比特币。

当交叉询问开始时,Vel Freedman问Conrad,Dave Kleiman是否能够远程控制电脑。这个论点似乎暗示,即使Dave Kleiman在一个地方,比如医院,他也可以在另一个地方的电脑上工作,例如在挖矿设备集群上工作。

Mestre进行了再次盘问,其中他问Conrad,如果有足够的资产,Dave Kleiman会不会是那种能从金融危机中脱身的人。Conrad回答说:“我一直在纠结,[Dave的财务状况很糟糕,他的健康状况也不好]我纠结于如果他有任何资产,但他也不会使用它们的观点。”

这似乎暗示着Conrad相信Dave Kleiman会利用他的资产——如果他有的话,包括比特币——来解除他的财务困境。

Mestre用这句话结束了他的再次盘问,4号证人大David Kuharcik通过Zoom出庭作证。

4号证人

Kuharcik是Dave Kleiman的朋友也是他的会计。然而,当辩护律师Amanda McGovern试图通过询问Kuharcik来提出她的论点时,McGovern被多次拒绝。原告律师多次提出反对意见,但均获支持。原告强调,Kuhacik和Dave Kleiman享有会计客户特权,由于Dave Kleiman和Kuharcik之间的大部分讨论都与业务有关,所以Kuharcik无法向法庭提供任何有关Dave Kleiman的有意义的信息。

在多次被原告拒绝后,McGovern请求法官Beth Bloom提供补充意见,两名法律顾问都聚集在Bloom的法官席上讨论此事。私谈一结束,法庭就休庭了。

结论汇总

今天的主题是Dave Kleiman,我们开始真正了解到Dave是一个怎样的人,他的同事如何看待他,如何尊重他,以及他的一些个人兴趣。据透露,即使是那些认为Dave是非常好的朋友的人也从未听过他谈论过比特币或比特币挖矿。他们也不知道Dave曾经有过商业合作伙伴或比特币相关的事情。

辩方充分论证了Dave Kleiman和Wright博士在比特币相关问题上从未有过合作关系,而这一观点得到了支持,因为没有任何证据表明事实并非如此。

当原告就Kimon Andreou发给Ira Kleiman的邮件向他施压时,他们几乎抓住了一些机会,但Andreou给人的印象是真诚而纯粹的,他保证自己从未就比特币相关事宜与Dave交谈过。

Kuharcik是否能挖掘出任何有关Dave Kleiman的信息,或者辩方是否会因为会计客户保密特权而继续被禁止发言,都将是有趣的看点。

第13天的庭审将于周五继续,David Kuharcik将出庭作证。

CoinGeek的Kurt Wuckert Jr.将会在每天的回顾报道中出镜,该回顾报道将于美国东部时间下午6:30在我们的YouTube频道进行现场直播。

请于此处观看Kleiman诉Wright案庭审特别报道第十一天的内容:

请您于Kleiman诉Wright案的YouTube播放列表中查看所有的CoinGeek特别报道。

202024日的“创世”协议升级是比特币历史上的一大里程碑,将见证BSV最大程度地回归到中本聪原先设想的协议。请访问“创世”硬分叉页面以了解更多信息。

要直接在您的收件箱接获CoinGeek.com最新消息,CoinGeek会议特别优惠以及其他内部信息,请加入我们的邮件列表

[id^="_form"]
[id^="_form"]
[id$="_submit"]
[id$="_submit"]
[^;]
[^;]
[?&]
[?&]
[^&#]
[^&#]
[(d+)]
[(d+)]
[elem.name]
[elem.name]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-']
[+_a-z0-9-']
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z]
[a-z]
[el.name]
[el.name]
[id^="_form"]
[id^="_form"]
[id$="_submit"]
[id$="_submit"]
[^;]
[^;]
[?&]
[?&]
[^&#]
[^&#]
[(d+)]
[(d+)]
[elem.name]
[elem.name]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-']
[+_a-z0-9-']
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z]
[a-z]
[el.name]
[el.name]

Kleiman v Wright Day 12 was all about Dave Kleiman, as told by his friends

Kleiman v Wright Day 12 was all about Dave Kleiman, as told by his friends

Day 12 of the Kleiman v Wright trial was all about Dave Kleiman. Taking the stand on Thursday was Dr. D. Stewart MacIntyre, who was well versed in Dave Kleiman’s medical history. He was followed by Kimon Andreou, one of Dave Kleiman’s very close friends, and then by third witness Carter Conrad, who was a friend of Dave’s as well as his business partner in Computer Forensics LLC. The last witness for the day, David Kuharcik, was Dave Kleiman’s friend and accountant.

In general, Day 12 gave the court a further look into Dave Kleiman’s health and a first look at who Dave Kleiman was as a person.

Witness #1

The day began with the continuation of Dr. MacIntyre’s examination. The medical specialist resumed his explanation to the court that Dave Kleiman was in such poor medical condition that he needed care every two hours while he was an in-patient at the hospital. 

MacIntyre says that Dave Kleiman’s medical records show that he was eventually issued an “irregular discharge from the hospital” and that the records show that he was not really ready to be discharged at the time he asked to be released because he was still requiring so many treatments.

In his cross-examination, plaintiff’s lawyer Andrew Brenner argued that although Dave Kleiman was not physically capable of doing much—at least not without assistance—Dave was very capable mentally and academically. On top of that, many of Dave Kleiman’s medical reports from his nurses and doctors included comments about Kleiman “always being on the computer,” with Dave reporting to nurses and doctors, and even waiving therapy sessions, because he had work to do. 

A piece of evidence that Brenner showed the court—a medical report—read:

“Dave Kleiman is able to conduct business from his hospital bed…[Dave Kleiman] indicated [that] his ability to continue working has helped him cope with his medical problems.”

Brenner attempted to make the very subtle point that Dave could have been doing Bitcoin-related work from his computer, and it was a solid argument—unfortunately, the jury looked half asleep for the majority of the day.

The defense chose not to redirect and instead called their next witness to the stand, Kimon Andreou.

Witness #2

Andreou was Dave Kleiman’s co-worker at a security company located in West Palm Beach. Andreou said Kleiman would often ask him for assistance at work because Kleiman was not a programmer/coder and Andreou was.

Outside of work, Andreou said he was friends with Kleiman, and that he would sometimes go to restaurants and gun shows with Dave Kleiman. When Dave Kleiman was hospitalized for significant periods of time, Andreou would sometimes visit him in the hospital every day of the week just to chat with him or to drop food off to him or eat dinner with him. Andreou said that he and Dave Kleiman talked about several different topics, but that Bitcoin and Bitcoin mining were never topics of conversation. 

Brenner cross-examined Andreou, and the lawyer brought up an email from Andreou to Ira Kleiman that read, “If all the docs are authentic, then with the addition of anecdotal info we have from discussions with Dave, all signs point to Dave and Craig indeed being behind Bitcoin… I’m convinced Craig and Dave are the co-creators of Bitcoin.”

Brenner attempted to highlight the idea that Dave Kleiman had a conversation with Kimon Andreou about Bitcoin, pressing Andreou to name the people he refers to as “we” in his email to Ira were. However, Andreou was adamant that the “we” was not him and Dave, but rather, a larger group of individuals that he knew had discussions about Dave in relation to Bitcoin.

Brenner was not able to get anything out of Andreou during his cross-examination and the defense chose not to redirect. The third witness—Carter Conrad—was then called to the stand

Witness #3

Conrad is an individual with several computer and security certifications. He met Dave Kleiman in the mid-2000s, partnered with Dave to create Computer Forensics LLC, and says he spoke to Dave daily. Conrad said that sometimes, he acted as Dave’s legs, helping Dave with some of the physical tasks—like retrieving objects or lifting computers—that Dave would have found challenging given his medical conditions.

In his examination of Conrad, defense lawyer Jorge Mestre made the argument that Dave Kleiman knew how to create a legitimate business partnership because he and Conrad went through the procedure to legitimately establish their Computer Forensics business.

Conrad testified that Dave Kleiman never mentioned Bitcoin, Bitcoin mining, or a partnership between Dr. Wright and Dave Kleiman in which they did Bitcoin-related activities.

Conrad also confirmed that Ira Kleiman had sued him and the Computer Forensics LLC at one point, in search of Bitcoin that could potentially belong to Dave Kleiman.

When the cross-examination began, Vel Freedman asked Conrad if Dave Kleiman was able to control computers from a remote location. This argument seemed to imply that even if Dave Kleiman was in one location, like the hospital, that he could do work on a computer located in a different location, like a mining farm.

Mestre did a redirect in which he asked Conrad if Dave Kleiman was the kind of guy that would alleviate himself from the financial troubles he was experiencing if he had the assets to do so. Conrad responded: “I struggle with that, [Dave was in a bad financial situation, his health was not good] I struggle with the idea that if he had any kind of assets that he would not use them.”

Which seemed to imply that Conrad believes Dave Kleiman would have used his assets—including Bitcoin if he had it—to eliminate his financial troubles.

Mestre ended his redirect on that note, and witness #4—David Kuharcik—took the stand virtually via Zoom.

Witness #4

Kuharcik was a friend of Dave Kleiman as well as his accountant. However, when defense lawyer Amanda McGovern attempted to make her arguments via questioning Kuharcik, McGovern was repeatedly shut down. The plaintiff’s lawyers repeatedly posed objections that were sustained. The plaintiffs stressed that Kuhacik and Dave Kleiman had accountant-client privilege, and since most of the discussions between Dave Kleiman and Kuharcik were business-related, Kuharcik was not able to give any meaningful information about Dave Kleiman to the court.

After repeatedly getting shut down by the plaintiffs, McGovern asked Judge Beth Bloom for a sidebar and both legal counsels gathered around Bloom’s bench to discuss the matter. Once the sidebar ended, the court was adjourned for the day.

General takeaway

Today was all about Dave Kleiman, and we really began to see what kind of person Dave was, how his peers thought of him and respected him, as well as some of his personal interests. It was revealed that even those who considered Dave a very good friend had never heard Dave talk about Bitcoin or Bitcoin mining. They were also unaware of Dave ever having a business partnership or Bitcoin-related matters.

The defense drove home the argument that Dave Kleiman and Dr. Wright never had a partnership when it came to Bitcoin-related matters, and this idea was supported by the fact that there’s zero evidence that says otherwise.

The plaintiffs were almost able to catch some wind in their sails when they pressed Kimon Andreou about the email he sent to Ira Kleiman, but Andreou—who came across as sincere and genuine—guaranteed that he never had a conversation with Dave about Bitcoin-related matters.

It will be interesting to see if Kuharcik will be able to unearth anything about Dave Kleiman, or if the defense will keep getting shut down due to accountant-client privilege. 

Day 13 of court will resume on Friday with David Kuharcik on the stand.

CoinGeek features Kurt Wuckert Jr. in recap coverage which will be livestreamed daily at 6:30 p.m. EST on our YouTube Channel.

Watch our Day 12 Special Report from the Kleiman v Wright trial here:

Check out all of the CoinGeek special reports on the Kleiman v Wright YouTube playlist.

New to Bitcoin? Check out CoinGeek’s Bitcoin for Beginners section, the ultimate resource guide to learn more about Bitcoin—as originally envisioned by Satoshi Nakamoto—and blockchain.

[id^="_form"]
[id^="_form"]
[id$="_submit"]
[id$="_submit"]
[^;]
[^;]
[?&]
[?&]
[^&#]
[^&#]
[(d+)]
[(d+)]
[elem.name]
[elem.name]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-']
[+_a-z0-9-']
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z]
[a-z]
[el.name]
[el.name]
[id^="_form"]
[id^="_form"]
[id$="_submit"]
[id$="_submit"]
[^;]
[^;]
[?&]
[?&]
[^&#]
[^&#]
[(d+)]
[(d+)]
[elem.name]
[elem.name]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-']
[+_a-z0-9-']
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z]
[a-z]
[el.name]
[el.name]