Kleiman诉Wright案庭审第十一日回顾:Ira Kleiman是否删除了Dave Kleiman的比特币钱包?

Kleiman诉Wright案庭审第十一日回顾:Ira Kleiman是否删除了Dave Kleiman的比特币钱包?

佛罗里达州Kleiman诉Wright案的第十一天的庭审从第十天结束的部分继续,区块链专家Kevin Madura通过解释区块链上的交易、挖矿、博弈论、统计学、数学、私钥、多重签名等内容,向法庭介绍了比特币系统的运作方式。

然而,被告方努力通过Madura的证词来提出他们的论点。这是因为原告律师不断反对被告律师Zalman Kass提出的论点,而法官几乎支持了每一个反对意见;以至于这似乎导致Kass提前结束了对Madura的询问。

在交叉询问中,原告试图强调这样一个事实:被告方以按小时付费的方式聘用Madura从事与本案审理有关的工作。更重要的是,原告试图减少Madura他之前关于Dave Kleiman不会编程的声明的效力。原告提出的论点是,一个人不需要接受计算机科学方面的传统培训,也不需要参加计算机编程课程来学习如何编程。他们通过提出许多软件开发人员“自学成才”的统计数据,其中包括Madura本人在某种程度上也是这样的,来试图支持这一论点。

“Dave Kleiman有可能自学C++吗?”原告的律师Vel freedman这样问。

“是的。”Madura回答道。

Freedman试图暗示,即使Dave没有接受过传统的编程训练,他也可以自学成才,获得足够的C++方面的知识,为比特币系统的代码做出贡献。

在Kass的再次直接询问后,被告方律师Michael Fernandez请出了被告方的下一位证人——Nicholas Chambers。

Dave的比特币可能已经消失了

Nicholas Chambers是一名计算机工程师以及专门从事取证工作的计算机科学家。他的证词围绕Dave Kleiman的硬盘与U盘、重新格式化硬盘,以及识别和恢复数据的能力展开。

Chambers检查了Dave Kleiman的五个电脑硬盘和九个U盘,寻找任何可以表明硬盘内容受到影响的活动。

Chambers称,他发现前三个驱动器上曾经有被命名为“不要删除”的加密文件,他还在最后三个驱动器上发现了加密文件。

根据该计算机取证专家的说法,14个驱动器中的4个在Dave Kleiman去世后被重新格式化,14个设备中的13个已经被其他数据覆盖。也就是说,Chambers强调没有办法确定在Ira覆盖驱动器之前,驱动器里的内容是什么。

Chambers的证词暗示,如果硬盘上有任何与比特币相关的材料,那也早已不复存在,那是因为Ira Kleiman选择了覆盖这些硬盘的数据。

原告选择交叉询问Chambers,并试图着重说明,唯一说过Dave的硬盘上有任何有价值的东西(如大量BTC)的人是Wright博士。

Wright博士的前妻

接下来,法庭安排了对Wright博士的前妻Lynn Wright进行视频取证。被告方向Lynn提问,她是否曾听到Wright博士和Dave Kleiman之间互相谈论过比特币,她回答说“没有”,这表明Wright博士和Dave Kleiman在涉及比特币相关事宜时没有合作伙伴关系。

当原告交叉询问Lynn Wright时,他们问了Lynn几个关于W&K及其所拥有的资产的问题。根据以前在法庭上提出的证词和证据,Lynn Wright是W&K Info Defense Research, LLC的大股东;然而,当涉及到W&K内部的许多人们觉得大股东会知道的事项时,她给人的印象是一无所知。

当被问及她是否知道Wright博士近年来对W&K提起了法律诉讼时,Lynn Wright回答说,“不知道。”当她看到邮件通信的证据中有她的电子邮件地址时,她似乎也真的很惊讶。

Lynn Wright的取证视频结束后,她说有一个时间点,Craig让她研究澳大利亚税务局(ATO)如何对比特币征税。

使Wright博士看起来人性化

接下来播放了Wright博士的叔叔Don Lynam的视频证词。Lynam在澳大利亚皇家空军服兵役30年,在IT、管理、技术和工程方面具有丰富经验。Lynam的证词的几个关键点在于,Wright博士非常聪明,但他并不以“人际交往能力”著称。Lynam谈了很多关于Craig的成长经历、职业历史和写论文的诀窍——这些证词使Wright博士显得人性化,但它也是证明比特币是Wright博士的想法的强有力的证据,Wright博士与Lynam分享了许多与比特币有关的2008年之前的早期文件。

Lynam谈到了Wright博士为Lasseters创建的一个代币系统,并解释了这个代币系统是如何成为比特币系统的前身的。Lynam还谈到Craig是如何告诉他运行一个BTC节点的事情的,并且Craig在2007年或2008年中期给他看了一份非常早期的不完善版本的比特币白皮书

最终,考虑到Wright博士在比特币即将被实现的那些年里与Lynam分享的内容,Lynam表示,他没有理由不相信Wright博士是比特币白皮书的唯一作者。

原告选择了对Lynam进行交叉询问,但没有从他口中套出任何实质性的东西,原告试图辩称,促使Lynam说关于Wright博士的好话的原因是Wright博士是他的侄子,对此,Lynam的回答是:

“我同意做这个【取证】,是因为我相信Craig以及我对那段时间情况的了解……我能够绝对诚实地回答所有的问题。”

Dave Kleiman临终前的日子

被告方还传唤了Stewart MacIntyre博士出庭作证。MacIntyre是一位专攻传染病的执业医师,他曾在许多退伍军人医院工作过,他查看了Dave Kleiman的医疗记录——据他报告,这些记录大约有10,000至11,000页。

根据在法庭上提出的证据,Dave Kleiman最后一次住院期间在医院里度过了两年五个月零两天。虽然他的证词陈述才刚刚开始,但MacIntyre一直在指出,Dave Kleiman在医院的大部分时间里都是作为住院病人存在的,而且Dave被认为是重病患者,由于机动车事故导致他腿部以下瘫痪,需要大量护理。医生还指出,Dave Kleiman似乎永远无法真正离开医院超过一天,因为他需要医院能够为他提供的资源。这可能意味着Dave无法以任何形式帮助Wright博士,因为他不能够长时间在没有专业的医疗护理的情况下生活。

结论

今天是法庭上的多事之秋,我们在证人席上以及视频取证中看到了许多不同的面孔。被告方的证人为被告方提供了证据,特别是Don Lynam,他有一个非常有力的证据,既让Wright博士看起来人性化了,又提供了一个让人觉得非常真实的比特币系统推出时间线,这与Wright博士为使比特币得以起步所采取的行动相一致。

原告能够成功阻止被告方从Kevin Madura那里榨取价值,尽管他们在此案之外没有取得任何进展。

周四的庭审将以MacIntyre博士出庭作证继续进行。

CoinGeek的Kurt Wuckert Jr.将会在每天的回顾报道中出镜,该回顾报道将于美国东部时间下午6:30在我们的YouTube频道进行现场直播。

请于此处观看Kleiman诉Wright案庭审特别报道第十一天:

请您于Kleiman诉Wright案的YouTube播放列表中查看所有的CoinGeek特别报道。

202024日的“创世”协议升级是比特币历史上的一大里程碑,将见证BSV最大程度地回归到中本聪原先设想的协议。请访问“创世”硬分叉页面以了解更多信息。

要直接在您的收件箱接获CoinGeek.com最新消息,CoinGeek会议特别优惠以及其他内部信息,请加入我们的邮件列表

[id^="_form"]
[id^="_form"]
[id$="_submit"]
[id$="_submit"]
[^;]
[^;]
[?&]
[?&]
[^&#]
[^&#]
[(d+)]
[(d+)]
[elem.name]
[elem.name]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-']
[+_a-z0-9-']
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z]
[a-z]
[el.name]
[el.name]
[id^="_form"]
[id^="_form"]
[id$="_submit"]
[id$="_submit"]
[^;]
[^;]
[?&]
[?&]
[^&#]
[^&#]
[(d+)]
[(d+)]
[elem.name]
[elem.name]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-']
[+_a-z0-9-']
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z]
[a-z]
[el.name]
[el.name]

Kleiman v Wright Day 11 recap: Did Ira Kleiman delete Dave Kleiman’s Bitcoin wallets?

Kleiman v Wright Day 11 recap: Did Ira Kleiman delete Dave Kleiman’s Bitcoin wallets?

Day 11 of the Kleiman v Wright trial in Florida began where Day 10 left off, with blockchain expert Kevin Madura educating the court on how Bitcoin works by explaining transactions on the blockchain, mining, game theory, statistics, mathematics, private keys, multi-sig, and more.

However, the defense struggled to make their argument by way of Madura’s testimony. This is because the plaintiff’s lawyers continually objected to the arguments that defense Lawyer Zalman Kass was making and the judge sustained nearly every objection; so much so, that it seemed to cause Kass to end his examination of Madura earlier than expected. 

In their cross-examination, the plaintiffs attempted to highlight the fact that Madura has been retained by the defense at an hourly rate to do work related to this trial. More importantly, the plaintiffs tried to get Madura to undermine a statement he previously made about Dave Kleiman not being able to code. The plaintiffs made the argument that one does not need to be classically trained in computer science and that one does not need to take classes in computer programming to learn how to code. They tried to support this argument by bringing up statistics about how many software developers are “self-taught,” including Madura himself to a degree.

“Is it possible that Dave Kleiman could teach himself C++?” plaintiff’s lawyer Vel freedman asked.

“Yes,” Madura answered.

Freedman tried to imply that even though Dave was not classically trained to code, that he could have been self-taught, and gained the ability to know enough C++ to contribute to the Bitcoin code.

After a quick redirect from Kass, defense lawyer Michael Fernandez brought out the defense’s next witness—Nicholas Chambers.

Dave’s Bitcoin might be gone

Nicholas Chambers is a computer engineer and computer scientist that specializes in forensics. His testimony revolved around Dave Kleiman’s hard drives and thumb drives, reformatting drives, and the ability to identify and recover data. 

Chambers reviewed five of Dave Kleiman’s computer hard drives and nine of his thumb drives, looking for any activity that would indicate that the contents of the drives had been impacted.

Chambers said he found that there were once encrypted files on the first three drives that were named “Do Not Delete,” he also found encrypted files on the last three drives.

According to the computer forensics expert, four out of the 14 drives were reformatted after Dave Kleiman died and that 13 of the 14 devices had been overwritten. That being said, Chambers emphasized that there is no way to determine what the content of the drives was before Ira over-wrote the drives.

Chambers’ testimony implied that if there was any Bitcoin-related material on the hard drives, that it was long gone, and that’s because Ira Kleiman chose to overwrite the drives.

The plaintiffs chose to cross-examine Chambers and tried to highlight the idea that the only person who has said that there was anything of value—like a large amount of BTC—on Dave’s hard drives was Dr. Wright.

Dr. Wright’s ex-wife

Next on the court schedule was a video deposition of Dr. Wright’s ex-wife, Lynn Wright. The defense asked Lynn questions about whether she ever heard Dr. Wright and Dave Kleiman talk about Bitcoin to one another, to which she replied “no,” suggesting that there was no partnership between Dr. Wright and Dave Kleiman when it came to Bitcoin-related matters.

When the plaintiffs cross-examined Lynn Wright, they asked Lynn several questions about W&K and the assets it owned. According to previous testimony and evidence introduced in court, Lynn Wright is the majority shareholder in W&K Info Defense Research, LLC; however, she came across as clueless when it came to many of the matters within W&K that you would expect the majority shareholder to be aware of.

When asked if she knew that Dr. Wright filed legal claims against W&K in recent years, Lynn Wright responded, “No.” She also seemed genuinely surprised to see email correspondence evidence in which her email address was involved.

The Lynn Wright deposition video ended after she said there was a point in time when Craig asked her to research how the Australian Taxation Office (ATO) could tax Bitcoin.

Humanizing Dr. Wright

A video deposition of Dr. Wright’s uncle Don Lynam was played next. Lynam served 30 years in the Royal Australian Air Force and has a lot of experience when it comes to IT, management, technology, and engineering. A few key points of Lynam’s testimony were that Dr. Wright is very smart, but he is not known for his “people skills.” Lynam talked a lot about Craig’s upbringing, career history, and knack for writing papers—the testimony humanized Dr. Wright, but it also served as strong evidence that Bitcoin was Dr. Wright’s idea and that Dr. Wright shared many of his early pre-2008 documents related to Bitcoin with Lynam.

Lynam talked about a token system that Dr. Wright created for an online casino called Lasseters and explained how this token system is a precursor to Bitcoin. Lynam also talked about how Craig told him to run a BTC node, and that Craig showed him a very early and rough version of the Bitcoin white paper in 2007 or mid-2008.

Ultimately, given what Dr. Wright shared with Lynam during the years when Bitcoin was coming to fruition, Lynam said that he has no reason not to believe that Dr. Wright was the sole author of the Bitcoin white paper.

The plaintiffs chose to cross-examine Lynam, but did not extract anything of substance out of him, the plaintiffs tried to argue that Lynam was prompted to talk nicely about Dr. Wright because Dr. Wright is his nephew, to which Lynam responded with:

“I agreed to do it [the deposition] because I believe in Craig and my knowledge of that time… I can answer all of the questions with absolute honesty.”

Dave Kleiman’s dying days

The defense also called Dr. Stewart MacIntyre to the stand. MacIntyre is a practicing doctor that specializes in infectious diseases, he has worked at numerous VA hospitals and has reviewed Dave Kleiman’s medical records—which he reports are somewhere between 10,000 and 11,000 pages long.

According to evidence introduced in court, Dave Kleiman spent two years, five months and two days in the hospital during his last hospitalization. Although his testimony has only just begun, MacIntyre has been making the point that Dave Kleiman was in the hospital as an inpatient majority of the time and that Dave was deemed critically ill, requiring extensive care due to the motor vehicle accident that left him paralyzed from the legs down. The doctor also noted that it appeared Dave Kleiman could never really be away from the hospital for more than a day because he needed the resources that the hospital was able to provide him with. This could imply that Dave was not able to help Dr. Wright in any sort of significant capacity since he could not go for extended periods of time without professional medical care.

Conclusion

Today was an eventful day in court where we saw many different faces on the stand as well as on video deposition. Witnesses for the defense have put the wind in the defense’s sails—particularly Don Lynam who has a very strong case that both humanized Dr. Wright and provided a very sincere timeline of the Bitcoin launch that is consistent with the actions Dr. Wright took to get Bitcoin off the ground.

The plaintiffs were able to successfully thwart the defense from extracting value from Kevin Madura, although they didn’t gain ground outside of that instance.

Thursday’s court session will continue with Dr. MacIntyre on the stand.

CoinGeek features Kurt Wuckert Jr. in recap coverage which will be livestreamed daily at 6:30 p.m. EST on our YouTube Channel.

Watch our Day 11 Special Report from the Kleiman v Wright trial here:

Check out all of the CoinGeek special reports on the Kleiman v Wright YouTube playlist.

New to Bitcoin? Check out CoinGeek’s Bitcoin for Beginners section, the ultimate resource guide to learn more about Bitcoin—as originally envisioned by Satoshi Nakamoto—and blockchain.

[id^="_form"]
[id^="_form"]
[id$="_submit"]
[id$="_submit"]
[^;]
[^;]
[?&]
[?&]
[^&#]
[^&#]
[(d+)]
[(d+)]
[elem.name]
[elem.name]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-']
[+_a-z0-9-']
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z]
[a-z]
[el.name]
[el.name]
[id^="_form"]
[id^="_form"]
[id$="_submit"]
[id$="_submit"]
[^;]
[^;]
[?&]
[?&]
[^&#]
[^&#]
[(d+)]
[(d+)]
[elem.name]
[elem.name]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-']
[+_a-z0-9-']
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z]
[a-z]
[el.name]
[el.name]