Frog cartoon on a funeral frame and coffin

数字艺术NFT的时代已经结束了

静态图像与JPEG NFT已经岌岌可危了。消费者已经厌倦了购买只能看到、收集的NFT或者他们希望以更高的价格出售的NFT。

我们已经过了静态图像与.gif NFT的投机高峰期。在这篇文章中,我将着眼于我们看到的在BSV上的NFT市场中的一些最新事件,这些事件突出了数字艺术收藏品NFT市场的一些愚蠢之处。

Frog Cartel的失败:接踵而来的失败之首

Frog Cartel是于2022年1月11日发生在RareCandy上进行的一波NFT投放。然而,Frog Cartel的推出与之前在RareCandy上发生的两波NFT投放有着很大的不同。之前两波投放的NFT立即使它们在二级市场上获得了更高的价格,然而Frog Cartel的NFT却立即跌破了0.36BSV的铸币价格。这些青蛙还没有恢复到其最初的铸币价格,截止此文发稿时,它的NFT的最低售价为0.28BSV。

更雪上加霜的是,1月25日,一枚青蛙NFT的售价仅为0.06BSV(折约5美元),这比它的铸币价格还低了83%。

为什么会发生这种情况呢?

我们看到Frog Cartel NFT表现不佳的原因之一是其项目创造者无意中贬低了该项目的价值。一个项目总收藏品的规模不应超过市场上买家数量的数倍。

创作者需要考虑的问题有如下几点:

  1. BSV上的NFT市场有多大?
  2. 这个项目有多少潜在的买家?
  3. 一位潜在买家愿意在这个项目上花费的BSV的平均数量为多少?

您可以通过以下两点来粗略估计一下度规:1. 根据该平台上过去发行的数据,计算一个NFT平台上的唯一持有者的平均数量,您便可以粗略估计出该平台上的唯一持有者数量。2. 您可以通过该项目在社交媒体上的关注度进行估计。

现在让我们把此方法应用到Frog Cartel的发行上。为了得到度量:1. 在RareCandy上,市场上NFT买家的平均数量为445位唯一买家。Astro Ape项目有296位唯一持有者,Oni Society有457位唯一持有者,而Frog Cartel有581位唯一持有者。

296+457+581再除以3等于444.66

为了得到度量:2. 截止此文发稿的时候,Frog Cartel的Twitter账户有1996名粉丝,所以我们假设Frog Cartel项目的潜在买家总数为1996。

为了得到度量:3. 每位潜在买家所拥有的平均BSV数量是未知的,但我们保守估计一下,假设每位潜在买家至少有足够的BSV来购买一枚青蛙NFT,并且只愿意购买一枚青蛙NFT。

在我们的分析中,我们需要的最后一部分信息是Frog Cartel收藏品的总数量,也就是3690枚青蛙NFT。

也就是说,每一位潜在买家需要购买2枚青蛙NFT才使其售罄。

3690除以1996 = 1.84

但让我们看看实际发生了什么吧。根据RareCandy的数据,共有581位唯一青蛙持有者,如果我们假设每个人都有相同数量的青蛙,那么每个人平均购买的青蛙NFT数量便是6枚。

当一个新的NFT项目发布时,其收藏品的总数是市场上买家总数量的几倍,这意味着市场参与者将需要购买多枚NFT,这样此收藏品才能卖空,或者项目将不会在几分钟内销售一空。这在NFT世界中被视为一种不祥之兆,因为这表明它并没有多少追随者,或者表明社区正在每况愈下,因此,这个项目也就没有多少价值。

从经济的角度来看,Frog Cartel推出的总供应量远远超过了其NFT的实际需求,因此,它的价格一直在下降,直到消费者对它们有需求为止。

正因为如此,买家正在以亏损的方式出售他们的NFT,以试图尽可能多地收回资金,因为他们认为,与其在前途未卜且希望渺茫的情况下持有NFT,亏本卖出会更有价值。换句话说,买家认为,在亏本的情况下出售NFT要比持有NFT并且等待未来价格变化更有价值。

尽管Frog Cartel只是BSV上NFT市场唯一且首次表现如此的例子。我认为,这表明消费者对基于BSV上的NFT的看法正在改变,一些NFT的创造者忽视了基于BSV的NFT的实际规模与市场需求。

我还认为Frog Cartel的发行只是接踵而来的NFT失败的首例罢了。

如何将NFT起死回生

我认为数字艺术NFT的时代已经结束了——特别是如果创作者继续忽视消费者的需求的话。我认为下一个迭代版本的NFT将是具有实用性的NFT,无论这意味着它们可以在游戏中被使用,还是会给予它们的主人特权或特殊的活动访问权——我相信那些将是经久不衰的NFT,并且消费者会认为值得拥有它们。

但我不认为数字艺术NFT会在一夜之间消失。我甚至认为,还存在着一些可以使JPEG与.Gif NFT起死回生的方法。

假设创造者所创造的收藏品数量较少,大致相当于市场上潜在买家的数量,并且以一个不会吓退BSV社区中很大一部分人的价格来提供NFT,于是该项目便有可能拥有一个强大并且热切期待着推出一款稀缺收藏品的社区。

由于收藏品的规模较小,很可能会有一些人真正想要参与到项目中,但出于某些原因(可能是因为时区差异或他们忘记了铸币这件事),导致了他们无法在铸币当天购买它们。无论如何,这群人将在二级市场上寻找这些NFT,这为其底价的上涨制造了完美的经济风暴。如果NFT的供应低于需求,那么这使得NFT在二级市场的价格将一路推高。

然而,我认为这种策略只能在短期内可行。当我们从宏观角度来看时,消费者几乎已经对静态图像与.gif NFT无动于衷了。拥有一个没有效用且不能在二级市场上进行转售的数字图像收藏品并不是消费者真正所求的。NFT的主要用例NFT的主要用例仍然是投机。如果这些NFT不适合用于投机市场,那么最终用户就会洞悉其特性,从而对这种NFT不会有任何需求。这和我们在这些青蛙NFT身上所看到的情况类似,这也就是它们的价格会一路下跌的原因。

另请观看:CoinGeek纽约大会演讲,将IP授权给NFT:连环画小说、漫画书以及品牌

202024日的“创世”协议升级是比特币历史上的一大里程碑,将见证BSV最大程度地回归到中本聪原先设想的协议。请访问“创世”硬分叉页面以了解更多信息。

要直接在您的收件箱接获CoinGeek.com最新消息,CoinGeek会议特别优惠以及其他内部信息,请加入我们的邮件列表

[id^="_form"]
[id^="_form"]
[id$="_submit"]
[id$="_submit"]
[^;]
[^;]
[?&]
[?&]
[^&#]
[^&#]
[(d+)]
[(d+)]
[elem.name]
[elem.name]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-']
[+_a-z0-9-']
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z]
[a-z]
[el.name]
[el.name]
[id^="_form"]
[id^="_form"]
[id$="_submit"]
[id$="_submit"]
[^;]
[^;]
[?&]
[?&]
[^&#]
[^&#]
[(d+)]
[(d+)]
[elem.name]
[elem.name]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-']
[+_a-z0-9-']
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z]
[a-z]
[el.name]
[el.name]

Frog cartoon on a funeral frame and coffin

It’s over for digital art NFTs

Static image and JPEG NFTs are on the decline. Consumers are tired of purchasing NFTs that can only be looked at, collected, or ones they hope to sell for a higher price.

We are past the peak of static image and .gif NFT speculation. In this article, I am going to take a look at some of the recent activity we have seen in the NFT market on BSV that highlights some of the follies in the digital art collectible NFT market.

The Frog Cartel flop: The first of many

Frog Cartel was an NFT drop that took place on the RareCandy on January 11, 2022. However, the Frog Cartel launch was much different from the previous two NFT drops on RareCandy. While the previous two drops immediately fetched higher prices in the secondary market, the Frog Cartel NFTs immediately dropped below their mint price of 0.36 BSV each. The frogs have still not recovered to their initial mint price, and as of press time, the floorthe lowest price the NFT is selling foris 0.28 BSV.

To add insult to injury, a Frog sold for .06 BSV ($5) on January 25, which is a whopping 83% lower than the mint price of the frog.

Why did this happen?

One of the reasons we saw the Frog Cartel NFTs underperform was because the project’s creators inadvertently devalued the project. The total collection size of a project should not be multiples higher than the number of buyers in the market.

Creators need to consider:

  1. How large the market for NFTs on BSV is?
  2. How many potential buyers the project has?
  3. What is the average amount of BSV that a potential buyer is willing to spend on the project?

You can get a rough estimate of metric no. 1 by taking the average number of unique owners on an NFT platform using data from past launches on the platform, and you can get a rough estimate of metric no. 2 from the project’s social media following.

Now let’s apply that methodology to the Frog Cartel launch. For metric no. 1, the average number of buyers in the market for NFTs on RareCandy is 445 unique buyers. The Astro Ape project has 296 unique owners, Oni Society has 457 unique owners, and Frog Cartel has 581 unique owners.

296+457+581 divided by 3 is equals to 444.66

For metric no. 2, the Frog Cartel Twitter account has 1,996 followers as of press time, so let’s assume that 1,996 is the total number of potential buyers for the Frog Cartel project. 

For metric no. 3, the average amount of BSV that each potential buyer has is unknown, but let’s play it safe and say that each potential buyer at least had enough BSV to buy one frog and was only willing to buy one frog.

And the final piece of information we will need in our analysis is the total size of the Frog Cartel collection, which is 3,690 frogs. 

That being said, each potential buyer would need to buy ~2 frogs for the collection to sell out.

3,690 divided by 1,996 = 1.84

But let’s look at what actually happened. According to RareCandy, there are 581 unique frog holders, and if we assume that everyone has an equal amount of frogs, then the average number of frogs each individual bought was 6. 

When a new NFT project is released, and the collection size is multiples higher than the total amount of buyers in the market, it means that market participants will need to purchase multiple NFTs for the collection to sell out or that the project will not sell out within minutes. This is seen as a negative in the NFT world because it shows that there is not a large following or community around the drop and, therefore, there wouldn’t be a lot of value in the project.

Economically, the total supply of the Frog Cartel launch was way too high for the actual demand for the NFTs, and as a result, prices are being driven down until they reach the point where consumers will have a demand for them.

Because this is the case, buyers are selling their NFTs for a loss in an attempt to recoup as much money as they can because they believe there is more value in selling for a loss than there will be from holding the NFT into its uncertain and unpromising-looking future. In other words, Buyers believe there is more value in selling their NFTs for a loss rather than holding onto an NFT and waiting to see what happens to the price in the future. 

Although the Frog Cartel is only one instanceand the first instanceof the market for NFTs on BSV behaving like this. I believe it indicates that consumer sentiment around NFTs on BSV is changing and that some NFT creators are disregarding the actual size and demand in the market for BSV-based NFTs. 

I also think that the Frog Cartel launch was the first of many NFT flops.

How to prolong the death of NFTs

I think it’s over for digital art NFTsespecially if creators continue to disregard consumer wants. I think the next iteration of NFTs will be NFTs that have utility, whether that means they can be used in-game or give their owner perks or special access to eventsI believe those will be the NFTs that have staying power and that consumers will find desirable.

But I don’t think digital art NFTs will disappear overnight. I even think there are ways to prolong the inevitable death of JPEG and .Gif NFTs.

Suppose creators opt for a smaller collection size, that’s roughly the same size as the number of potential buyers in the market, and offer the NFTs at a price that doesn’t price-out a significant portion of the BSV community, then the project has the potential to have a strong community that is eagerly anticipating the launch of a scarce collection.

Because the collection size is small, there will most likely be some individuals who really wanted in on the project but were not able to purchase them on the mint day for some reason, maybe because of a timezone difference or they forgot about the mint. Regardless, this group will hunt for the NFTs in the secondary market, which creates the perfect economic storm for the floor price to rise. If the supply of the NFTs is less than the demand, it will force the price of the NFTs upward in the secondary market.

However, I think that strategy will only be viable in the short term. When we zoom out and look at the macro vision, consumers are almost done with static image and .gif NFTs. Having a digital collection of images that don’t have utility and can’t be resold in the secondary market is not desirable. The primary use case of NFTs is still speculation. If the components aren’t in place to allow for a speculative market, then the end-users will catch on, and there won’t be any demand for the NFTs. Similar to what we are seeing with the frogs and hence why the price of them continues to fall.

Watch: CoinGeek New York panel, Licensing IP for NFTs: Graphic Novels, Comic Books & Brands

New to Bitcoin? Check out CoinGeek’s Bitcoin for Beginners section, the ultimate resource guide to learn more about Bitcoin—as originally envisioned by Satoshi Nakamoto—and blockchain.

[id^="_form"]
[id^="_form"]
[id$="_submit"]
[id$="_submit"]
[^;]
[^;]
[?&]
[?&]
[^&#]
[^&#]
[(d+)]
[(d+)]
[elem.name]
[elem.name]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-']
[+_a-z0-9-']
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z]
[a-z]
[el.name]
[el.name]
[id^="_form"]
[id^="_form"]
[id$="_submit"]
[id$="_submit"]
[^;]
[^;]
[?&]
[?&]
[^&#]
[^&#]
[(d+)]
[(d+)]
[elem.name]
[elem.name]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-']
[+_a-z0-9-']
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z]
[a-z]
[el.name]
[el.name]