HandCash让“我们其他人”更容易使用比特币

HandCash 是比特币SV生态系统领先的钱包提供商,以其使比特币尽可能对用户友好的开创性方法而闻名。其他数字货币应用程序开发人员已经受到了HandCash设计的启发。

CoinGeek的迈克尔·韦尔曼(Michael Wehrmann)采访了来自HandCash的亚历克斯·阿古特(Alex Agut)、拉斐尔·希门尼斯(Rafa Jiménez)和伊万·姆利纳里奇Ivan Mlinarić),讨论了比特币应用程序设计、钱包间竞争、比特币计算等。

你好亚历克斯拉斐尔和伊万!请向我们的读者介绍HandCash是什么,以及你们每个人在HandCash团队中扮演角色

 亚历克斯·阿古特:我是HandCash的联合创始人之一兼首席执行官,我的角色主要是产品设计和业务方面:筹集资金、营销和文书工作。

拉斐尔·希门尼斯:我是HandCash的(另一个)联合创始人兼首席技术官。我负责技术决策,实现公司的愿景、为我们的开发团队提供资源,以及创造和实施我们的团队文化。当然,我也做了一堆编码!

伊万·姆利纳里奇:我是高级软件工程师。大约一年前加入。我负责我们的云基础设施架构和领域知识/逻辑。

HandCash的网站口号是我们其他人的比特币。这是什么意思

 亚历克斯·阿古特:过去10年来,尽管其他人一直在努力取悦加密货币人群,但我们觉得我们在这个生态系统中的位置是让这项技术对世界其他地区而言更容易获得和有价值。

HandCash 以其惊人的简单用户界面而闻名。几个月前,我们已经看到一家知名的BCH钱包提供商——资金比您多——或多或少地复制了您的整个UIHandCash有什么方法可以保护其UI免受公然复制吗?

亚历克斯·阿古特:没有。事实上,我们认为这是一个强烈的积极信号,表明世界各地的公司都在关注我们公司在可用性、设计和思维方面的领导能力。我们不断创新,我们正在开发的东西比任何其它东西都要先进几年——下次其他人需要几年时间才能赶上来——但他们会尽力而为。您会明白我的意思。

如果资金雄厚的BCH钱包提供商确实关注您的创作,它会告诉我们什么?您是否为数字货币应用程序设置了新的标准?

拉斐尔·希门尼斯:创新意味着提供可被接受的新产品。它验证了我们的团队正在从事的工作。实际上,我们正在研究数字货币的下一次迭代。我们已经看到过信用卡,然后我们有了PayPal,下一代产品是带有Cloud Money的HandCash,可以使金钱更易连通和可访问。因此,新技术需要新的标准。

伊万·姆利纳里奇:我们希望专注一些我们认为重要但在数字货币世界中未能妥善解决的问题。如果以后有人来复制我们,这通常意味着我们做对了。

亚历克斯,您在推特上说,复制设计与实际创建设计永远不会相同,因为除了表面上的设计决策之外,还有更多的内容需要设计。请详细说明这一点。

 亚历克斯·阿古特:我相信设计是关于事情如运作,而不是它们的外观。如果你盲目地复制按钮和屏幕的位置,而不知道这些决策背后的“原因”,那么你将永远无法理解产品的本质。UI只是你的意图和目的的最高体现。背后有一个过程。

HandCash到底是怎么赚钱的?打算怎样赚更多的钱?

 亚历克斯·阿古特:老实说,我们目前唯一的收入来源是我们的商品化,这要归功于与Zeroconfs.com的独家协议,但我们将很快通过Connect、一些整洁的法币匝道系统和其他东西,以更有意义的方式开始赚钱。同时,我们意识到,由于这个行业刚刚起步,因此在现阶段是否获利不能一蹴而就,而且还需要大量创新,才能使我们可以自信地向普通人推销。

HandCashMoney Button最近发布了有关实施钱包点对点合作的新闻稿,使比特币SV用户感到惊讶。请向我们的读者介绍这一实施情况及其影响。

 拉斐尔·希门尼斯:这真是一个好消息!使用比特币网络已成为钱包和服务相互沟通的标准方式。对于许多经常使用钱包的用户来说,这种方法成本很高,因为我们需要持续监控网络中的每笔交易,以找出与用户相关的交易。我们宣布的是基于Paymail的不同通信渠道,因此不同的钱包提供商可以直接相互通信(P2P),而不必完全使用比特币网络。比特币网络应该只为矿工保留。这正是比特币原始设计的一部分。

伊万·姆利纳里奇:IP2IP交易是中本聪原始比特币客户端的一部分。但是,在他离开后,功能被删除了,因为它从来没有完全实现。昨天我们在开玩笑说,我们现在正在实现他们的愿景,因为在bitcointalk上有一个旧线程,核心开发人员决定将其从代码库中删除。他们是唯一愿意完成它的人。他被否决了。如果你后来知道他在小区块中的角色,每个人都需要运行完整的节点辩论,这是一个相当有趣的阅读。

我们的主要动机是尽快采用P2P,因为这主要是一个可扩容的解决方案。我们无法承受一个单一的企业采用BSV,并以BSV网络上的大量流量使我们感到惊讶的事实。当一个大实体产生大量流量时,它实际上可以杀死在比特币上运行的大多数应用程序。中本聪已经制定了解决可扩容性问题的方法。我们选择扩展Paymail,因为Paymail已经解决了中本聪实施中缺少的内容,我们实际上只需要添加他确实实施的部分。Money Button在这里为我们做了出色的工作,我们非常感谢。

我觉得这种合作很有趣,因为我认为HandCashMoney Button可以争夺相同的用户。比特币是否会激励企业以非比特币世界以外的新方式开展合作?

亚历克斯·阿古特:就个人而言,我们不认为Money Button是我们的竞争对手,所以事情变得很容易。我们现在可能正在接触相同的受众,但随着时间的流逝和受众的增加(馅饼的增长),差异会更加明显。我甚至认为它们可以是两个伟大的免费产品和生态系统,让我们拭目以待。

鉴于我们之间的友谊,我们已经讨论了许多次关于我们共同需要从非P2P迁移到P2P类型的网络(应阅读白皮书的标题)。因此,我们两个团队都决定联手,因为我们都有一个非常相似的目标,这对我们双方都是双赢的。在与其他服务打交道时,由于在比特币中没有P2P,我们将蒙受更多的损失,而Money Button是迄今为止我们最大的交易“桥梁”(从HandCash到HandCash之外),因此尽快涵盖P2P下的大部分交易非常有意义。当我们将启动Connect作为HandCash生态系统的一部分时,这一点尤其重要。

帮助我们了解钱包提供商如何在比特币 SV 生态系统中真正竞争。钱包提供商是否有动机让用户轻松切换到其他服务,或者是否有动机“锁定用户?纵观推特、谷歌、亚马逊等,他们基本上在某种程度上都锁定了用户,否则他们的商业模式将不起作用。用户一般可能甚至不希望有几个钱包提供商或交换服务,但有一个完全满足他们需求的钱包提供商。你怎么看

亚历克斯·阿古特:这有很多方面。虽然比特币爱好者(或“粉丝”)为密钥的互操作性和移动自由而欢呼,但从业务和发展方面来看,情况却大不相同。创建和扩展网络效果的动机很大,而拥有与其他功能不兼容的自定义钱包基础架构也具有巨大优势:新功能的灵活性、安全性的提高、减少错误的方式、大幅减少了支持票证……因此这不是试图“锁定”的问题,我们不能。

你可以随时使用Paymail发送比特币或将现金兑现到您的银行。我们不能,也不会把任何人扣为人质。但是,当您可以将钱转出去并从该服务中获得所有交易的CSV时,将您的私钥等导出到另一个钱包基础设施并导致两家公司的UTXO同步问题,使你的双倍花费更容易实现?这是否有意义?我们认为这只是古老怪异的做事方式,但不一定能创造出最好的产品。我们对比特币不是教条式的,我们只是用它作为一个创造人们喜爱和发现有价值的伟大产品的工具。

拉斐尔·希门尼斯:我们同意瑞安·查尔斯和其他企业家在该领域的发展,而不是试图垄断生态系统。现在的可能性是无止境的,所以争夺同样的东西只是一个笑话。

我对互操作性有强烈的看法。尽管这是一个理想的功能,但价格非常昂贵:许多不同的公司必须就相同的运营方式达成共识。它阻碍了创新,因为即使您找到了更高效或更复杂的方法,也无法改变运营方式。

我们需要明智地管理互操作性/创新壁垒,尤其是在我们现在处于成长的阶段!这就是为什么我们与Money Button的合作具有很大的价值。

伊万·姆利纳里奇:比特币钱包最大的优势是,公司构建它可以节省大量的运营成本,并降低进入门槛,因为初创公司不需要建立一个非常昂贵的封闭式自定义分类账,然后花费大量资金来保护它(内部和外部)。这一部分从第一天开始就解决了,公司比不处于这一位置的公司享有竞争优势。但比特币本质上是一个公共分类账,因此一旦你触摸它,便进入了可互操作的世界。用户总是可以把钱发送到不同的钱包。但也有其他经济诱因。我们与其他钱包和POS提供商合作,因为直接交谈是我们有效扩展,同时利用足够的隐私和利用比特币提供的高级功能的唯一途径。

说您的钱包间P2P实现有助于比特币SV扩容,或者至少帮助比特币SV应用程序扩容,这是错误的吗?

拉斐尔·希门尼斯:是对的。用户和服务之间的P2P网络与矿工根本不相关。因此,这是帮助应用程序扩容的度量值,换句话说是扩容应用程序层的一种措施。

伊万·姆利纳里奇:没错。就是这样。

据我了解,此P2P实现是在服务之间进行的,不一定在客户和商家之间。是对的吗

拉斐尔·希门尼斯:很好的问题。此实现在服务之间提供某种交易通知。当一个服务“通知”其他服务有关交易时,此类交易已发送给矿工。在客户——商家的背景中,当交易从客户发送给商家时,矿工尚未看到,因为他们需要确保他们就交易的某些条件(如支付的确切金额或费用)达成一致。我们提供的实现背景不需要强制实施这些规则。这只是人们互相发送提示,或人们在不同的服务之间转移资金。

伊万·姆利纳里奇:是的,这只是服务/钱包/用户之间的简单推送交易协议。我们设计时想到的主要用例是微交易。但这并不意味着它不适用于较大的交易。它与涵盖商户付款的BIP270非常相似,但并非如此。这是一个单独的简化协议。

HandCash是否也将B2C交易将来用作更多 SPV

拉斐尔·希门尼斯:HandCash Cloud具有足够的灵活性,可以引入新组件作为SPV。因此,如果我们的基础架构需要使用SPV,这不会有问题。如今,这种方法对我们的堆栈几乎没有增加任何价值:我们的系统总是有互联网连接,与矿工的沟通是“免费的”。

伊万·姆利纳里奇:我们已经在努力实施矿商API,其中大部分内容涵盖了我们如何充分利用SPV。但主要挑战不是SPV部分,而是交易的交付方式。这就是为什么我们现在更多地关注P2P,而较少关注SPV的原因。但是,它们都携手解决可扩容性问题。

让我们来讨论一下比特币计算。Money Button瑞安·查尔斯说,比特币将成为有史以来最大的计算机(……使用世界上最大的计算机,您可以做的是:您实际上可以计算更大的数字。从理论上讲,这比特币计算机能否计算HandCash目前在后端有关的其他服务上所做的任何事情?

 伊万·姆利纳里奇:谁知道呢。目前,这听起来像科幻小说。我们正在使用稳定和经过测试的行业广泛采用的技术。我们使用比特币作为分类账,这也是稳定和测试良好的。在这个时候开始向“比特币计算机”转移更多的东西将是自杀和巨大的冒险,因为有许多的未知,我们将完全失去现在想要实现的目标和关注。

如果理论上可行那么现在比特币SV应用程序是否不够方便呢?交易处理(所谓的矿工)是否不够专业化,无法以其他方式计算您的后端?

伊万·姆利纳里奇:取决于应用程序。总是有实验的空间。但是,我们看不到任何我们可以实际利用的基础设施。我们也不想成为从零开始构建它的人。

HANDCASH LABS SL.一家西班牙公司,对吧?您能告诉我们GDPR制定的欧洲数据保护法对 HandCash有何影响?

亚历克斯·阿古特:是的,我们公司总部设在西班牙。当然,我们与伦敦的一家律师事务所贝克·麦肯思(Baker McKenzie)合作。这是全球顶级律师事务所之一,他们制定了我们的隐私政策并评估我们的团队,以便我们遵守最新的规定。如果我们需要更新我们的政策和做法以遵守法律要求,他们将定期进行审查。

HandCash允许用户注册手机号码。是出于KYC的原因吗?是否也在某种程度上提高用户的安全性?

 亚历克斯·阿古特:这样做有很多原因。首先,是的。我们在处理金钱时非常慎重,我们需要并且想知道我们每个用户背后的真实身份。其次,它使我们拥有我们的行业第一个用于非托管钱包的2FA系统。第三,它将在未来提供一些很酷的功能,但是,现在……这是一种不错的、安全的方式,进行无钥匙操作的好方法。比人们期望的要快。

我知道不能评论服务的用户数量,但至少让我有根据的猜测。RelayX您的竞争对手之一似乎有大约3000用户,但RelayX推出的时间HandCash晚。Money Button发布了150家积极使用该软件的企业,到目前为止,Money Button刷卡次数超过130万次。我最好的猜测是HandCash肯定是大约60007000用户。我完全猜错了吗?

 亚历克斯·阿古特:我们不会透露数字,但您完全猜错了。远不止于这一点。我们可以自信地说,几乎每个比特币SV用户都是HandCash用户。除了注册之外,我们还关注当前实际活跃用户,而我们对这个数字非常满意,尤其是当Connect在今年春天推出时。

2019CoinGeek多伦多会议上,Mempool林哲明指出钱包提供商难以接触到中国用户。您对此有什么想法,打算如何扩大用户群

亚历克斯·阿古特:我们当时对中国市场不感兴趣。我们的应用程序在那里是非法的,所以…..除非中国共产党改变不允许加密货币应用程序存在的想法,否则我们不会试图通过在中国分发APK或TestFlight Beta测试版来惹麻烦和规避他们的法律——代码不是法律。我们热爱中国人民,热爱这一技术,但这是我们无法控制的。如果情况发生变化,我们很乐意帮助中国人民通过HandCash访问比特币。

在最近的比特币SV频道进行的视频群聊中,您提到了HandCash如何依赖于比特币SV生态系统的增长。除了比特币SV生态系统之外,HandCash如何吸引用户?您是否可以为不想使用比特币的人提供非比特币相关服务?

亚历克斯·阿古特:在某种程度上会。我们认为,我们是这个小生态系统中对他人命运最不依赖的公司之一——我们喜欢以自己的方式做事,并且尽可能少地依赖他人。我们将通过生产有吸引力的产品来吸引普通人,而感知将是关键。我们有几个戏法,有些人会称他们为营销特技,在某种程度上是。但是我们认为它将对我们起作用,并邀请其他人加入我们的行动。当比特币是最好的货币时,我们为什么要提供法定或加密服务?人们只是还不知道。这也是有原因的,我们也有办法改变这种看法。等着瞧吧!

除了提供服务的钱包外,HandCash还有更多功能。2020年初的CoinGeek伦敦大会上,您推出了HandCash Connect请向读者介绍什么是HandCash Connect

拉斐尔·希门尼斯:肯定不只是钱包!我们设想了一个连接的应用程序和游戏组成的生态系统,人们可以在此花钱和赚钱来做自己喜欢的事情。HandCash Connect是一个比特币SDK。在比特币上构建应用程序的最快、灵活的方法。它是很神奇的,因为它允许初创公司创建新的业务模式使用比特币的顶级功能,而不必处理所有需要几个月学习的术语。他们还可以利用我们每天为成千上万用户提供服务的相同基础架构。他们只是专注于做好他们擅长的事情:创造出惊人的产品。我们照顾其余的部分。

听起来很值得憧憬!非常感谢你们宝贵的时间!

亚历克斯·阿古特:感谢您对HandCash的兴趣!您真的做了很多准备!

拉斐尔·希门尼斯:感谢您对我们的项目感兴趣!

伊万·姆利纳里奇:很荣幸!

202024日的“创世”协议升级是比特币历史上的一大里程碑,将见证BSV最大程度地回归到中本聪原先设想的协议。请访问“创世”硬分叉页面以了解更多信息。

要直接在您的收件箱接获CoinGeek.com最新消息,CoinGeek会议特别优惠以及其他内部信息,请加入我们的邮件列表

HandCash make Bitcoin more accessible ‘for the rest of us’

HandCash is a leading wallet provider for the Bitcoin SV ecosystem that is best known for its pioneering approaches to make Bitcoin as user friendly as possible. Other digital currency app developers have already been more than inspired by HandCash’s design.

CoinGeek’s Michael Wehrmann caught up with Alex Agut, Rafa Jiménez and Ivan Mlinarić from HandCash to talk about Bitcoin app design, inter-wallet competition, Bitcoin computation and more.

Hello Alex, Rafa and Ivan! Kindly introduce our readers to what HandCash is and what role each of you fulfill in the HandCash team.

Alex Agut: I’m one of the co-founders and CEO at HandCash, and my roles are mostly product design and dealing with the business side: raising money, marketing and paperwork.

Rafa Jiménez: I’m the (other) co-founder and CTO at HandCash. I’m responsible for the technological decisions to fulfill the vision of our company, provide the resources to our development team as well as create and implement our team culture. Also I do a bunch of coding, of course!

Ivan Mlinarić: I’m the senior software engineer. Joined almost a year ago. I am responsible for our cloud infrastructure and domain knowledge/logic. 

HandCash’s website slogan is “Bitcoin for the rest of us.” What does it mean?

Alex Agut: While others have been trying to please the cryptocurrency crowd for the last 10 years, we feel our place in this ecosystem is to make this technology more accessible and valuable for the rest of the world.

HandCash is best known for its astonishingly simple user interface. Some months ago, we have seen a well-known BCH wallet provider—with way more funding than you have—more or less copying your entire UI. Is there any way for HandCash to protect its UI against blatant copying?

Alex Agut: No. In fact, we think it’s a strong positive signal that companies all over the world are looking at our company for leadership in terms of usability, design and mindset. We keep innovating and we have things in development which are years ahead of anything out there—next time it’ll take a few years for others to catch up—but they will try. You’ll see what I mean.

What does it tell us if a well-funded BCH wallet provider actually pays attention to your creations? Are you setting new standards for digital currency apps in general?

Rafa Jiménez: Innovation means providing new products that are accepted. It sort of validates the work our team is doing. We are actually working on the next iteration of digital currency. We have seen credit cards, then we had PayPal and the next generation is HandCash with Cloud Money to make money more connected and accessible. So new technology requires new standards.

Ivan Mlinarić: We like to focus on a handful of things we see as important but not properly addressed in the world of digital currencies. If others later copy us that usually means we were right about it.

Alex, you have tweeted that copying a design is never the same as actually creating it, as there is more to design than just design decisions on the surface. Kindly elaborate on that.

Alex Agut: I believe that design is about how things work, not how they look. If you are blindly copying the placement of buttons and screens, without knowing the “why” behind those decisions, you’ll never understand the essence of your product. The UI is just the culmination of your intent, your purpose. There’s a process behind it.

How is HandCash actually making money? And how do you plan on making even more money?

Alex Agut: To be honest, our only source of income at the moment is our merchandising, thanks to an exclusivity agreement with Zeroconfs.com, but we will start monetizing in a more meaningful way very soon through Connect, some neat fiat ramp systems and other stuff. At the same time we realize monetizing or not at this stage won’t move the needle one bit as this industry is barely starting and there are still a lot of innovations needed to get to a point where we can market this confidently to normal people.

HandCash and Money Button recently surprised Bitcoin SV users with a huge press release concerning the implementation of an inter-wallet peer-to-peer collaboration. Kindly introduce our readers to this implementation and the implications of that.

Rafa Jiménez: It was a great announcement! Using the Bitcoin network has become the standard way for the wallets and services to communicate to each other. This approach is highly expensive for services with many users that use their wallets frequently as we need to constantly monitor each transaction in the network to find out which one is relevant for our users.What we announced was a different communication channel based on Paymail, so the different wallet providers can communicate to each other directly (P2P) instead of using the Bitcoin network thoroughly. The Bitcoin network should be reserved just for the miners. This is just part of the original recipe of Bitcoin.

Ivan Mlinarić: IP2IP transactions are something that was part of original Satoshi’s bitcoin client. But after he left functionality was removed, because it was never fully implemented. Yesterday we were joking we are now fulfilling Theymos’ vision because there is an old thread on bitcointalk where core developers decided to remove it from the code base. And Theymos was the only one in favor to rather finish it. He was overruled. If you know his role later in the small block and everyone needs to run a full node debate it is a pretty fascinating read.

Our main motivation here is to go P2P as soon as possible as this is primarily a scalability solution. We cannot afford that one single enterprise adopts BSV and surprises us with lots of traffic on the BSV network. One big entity can literally kill the majority of the apps running now on Bitcoin when it generates lots of traffic. Recipe on how to solve the scalability issue was already set by Satoshi. We chose to extend paymail, because paymail already solved what was missing from Satoshi’s implementation and we actually just needed to add the part he did implement. Money Button did a fantastic job here for us, we are very thankful.      

I find this collaboration interesting, because I thought HandCash and Money Button compete for the same users. Is Bitcoin incentivizing businesses to collaborate in new ways other than in the non-Bitcoin world?

Alex Agut: Personally, we don’t consider Money Button our competition, so that makes things easy. We might be trying to reach the same audience right now, but as time passes and the audience gets bigger (the pie grows) the differences will be more noticeable. I even think they can be two great complimentary products and ecosystems, so we’ll see.

Given our friendship, we’ve discussed many times about our shared need of moving away from non-P2P to a P2P kind of network, as it should (just read the title of the whitepaper). So both of our teams decided to join forces as we both had a very similar goal, and it would be a win-win for both of us. We have more to lose by not having P2P in Bitcoin when dealing with other services, and Money Button is by far our biggest “bridge” of transactions (outside of HandCash to HandCash) so it made so much sense to cover most of our transactions under P2P as soon as possible. This will be particularly critical when we launch Connect as part of the HandCash ecosystem.

Help us understand how wallet providers actually compete in the Bitcoin SV ecosystem. Is there an incentive for wallet providers to let users switch to other services easily, or is there an incentive to “lock in” users? Looking at Twitter, Google, Amazon etc., they are essentially all “locking in” users in a way, because otherwise their business models would not work. Users might not even want to have several wallet providers or switch services in general though, but have one that meets their demands perfectly well. What are your thoughts?

Alex Agut: There are many sides to that. While Bitcoin enthusiasts (or “fans”) cheer for interoperability of keys and freedom of movement, both from the business and development side things look a lot differently. There’s a big incentive to create and grow your network effect, and also there are immense advantages of having a custom wallet infrastructure that’s not compatible with others: flexibility for new features, increased security, way less errors, drastically less support tickets… so it’s not a matter of trying to “lock down”, we can’t.

You can always send your Bitcoin away by using paymail, or cashing out to your bank. We can’t and we won’t hold anybody hostage. But does it make any sense to export your private key etc. to another wallet infrastructure and cause UTXO sync issues to both companies and make double spends easier to pull off, when you can just move your money away and get a csv with all your transactions from that service? We think that’s just the old, geeky way of doing things, but doesn’t necessarily create the best products. We are not dogmatic about Bitcoin, we are just using it as a tool to create great products that people love and find valuable.

Rafa Jiménez: We agree with Ryan X. Charles and other entrepreneurs in the space on making the pie bigger instead of trying to monopolize the ecosystem. The possibilities right now are endless, so competing for the same thing would even be a joke.

I have a strong opinion on interoperability. Despite being a desirable feature, it’s very expensive: many different companies have to agree on the same way to operate. It hinders innovation as you can’t change the way to operate even if you find more efficient or more sophisticated ways.

We need to be smart about managing the interoperability/innovation barrier, especially in the growing period we are now! This is why our collaboration with Money Button has a lot of value.

Ivan Mlinarić: The big advantage for a Bitcoin powered wallet is it that company building it can save a lot of operational costs and enjoys the reduced barrier to entry because a startup does not need to build a very expensive closed custom ledger and then spend lots of money on securing it (internally and externally). This part is mostly solved from day one and companies can enjoy competitive advantage over those which are not in this position. But Bitcoin is inherently a public ledger, so the moment you touch it you are entering the interoperable world. Users can always send money to different wallets.But there are also other economic incentives. We cooperate with other wallets and POS providers because talking directly to each other is the only way we can efficiently scale while using sufficient privacy and utilize advanced features Bitcoin provides.

Is it wrong to say your inter-wallet P2P implementation helps Bitcoin SV to scale, or at least helps the Bitcoin SV apps to scale?

Rafa Jiménez: That’s right. The P2P network between users and services is not relevant for the miners at all. So this is a measure to help applications to scale, or in other words to scale the application layer.

Ivan Mlinarić: It’s not wrong at all. It’s exactly that.

As far as I understand, this P2P implementation is between services, not necessarily between customers and merchants. Is that correct? 

Rafa Jiménez: Great question. This implementation provides some kind of transaction notifications between services. At the time one service “notified” other services about a transaction, such a transaction was already sent to the miners.In the customer-merchant context, at the time the transaction is sent from the customer to the merchant it has not been seen by the miners yet, because they need to make sure they agree on certain criteria for the transaction like the exact amount to pay or the fees.The context for the implementation we provided doesn’t need to enforce these rules. It’s just people sending tips to each other or people transferring their funds between different services.

Ivan Mlinarić: Yes, this is just a simple push transaction protocol between services/wallets/users. Main use case we had in mind when we designed it was microtransactions. But that doesn’t mean it does not work well for larger transactions, too. It is very similar to BIP270 which covers merchant payments, but is not that. It’s a separate simplified protocol.  

Is HandCash working for B2C transactions to be “more SPV” in the future, too?

Rafa Jiménez: HandCash Cloud is flexible enough to introduce new components as SPV. So in case our infrastructure needs to use SPV, it won’t be a problem. Nowadays it’s an approach that adds very little or no value to our stack: our system always has internet connection and the communication with the miners is “free.”

Ivan Mlinarić: We are already working on implementing miners merchant API which mostly covers us to fully utilize SPV. But the main challenge is not the SPV part, but the way transactions are delivered. That is why we focus more on P2P now and less on SPV. But they both work hand in hand to solve scalability issues.  

Let us talk about Bitcoin computation in general. Money Button’s Ryan X. Charles stated that, “Bitcoin is going to be by far the largest computer ever (…) And what you can do with the biggest computer in the world is: you can actually compute bigger numbers.” Could this “Bitcoin computer” theoretically be able to compute anything that HandCash is right now doing on other services concerning the backend?

Ivan Mlinarić: Who knows. At the moment this sounds like sci-fi. We are using industry wide adopted technologies which are stable and well tested. We use Bitcoin as a ledger which is also stable and well tested. Starting to move more than that at this point in time to “Bitcoin computer” would be a suicide and tremendous risk as there are so many unknowns and we would completely lose focus on what we want to achieve now. 

In case it is theoretically possible, is it right now not convenient enough for Bitcoin SV apps to do so? Are transaction processors (so called “miners”) not yet specialized enough to compute your backend on-chain or in another way?

Ivan Mlinarić: Depends on the app. There is always a space for experimenting. But we do not see there is any infrastructure we could actually utilize. We also don’t want to be the one building it from scratch. 

HANDCASH LABS SL. is a Spanish company, right? Can you tell us how European data protection laws set by the GDPR are affecting HandCash?

Alex Agut: Yes, our company is based in Spain. Sure, we work with a London-based law firm, Baker McKenzie. Is one of the top law firms in the world, and they crafted our privacy policy and assessed our team so we are compliant with the most recent rules. They will be periodically reviewing this in case we need to update our policies and practices to comply with whatever the law requires. 

HandCash lets users sign up with their cellphone number. Is that for KYC reasons? Does it also increase users’ safety in a way?

Alex Agut: There are many reasons for this. First, yes, we take very seriously that as we are dealing with money, we need to and want to know the real identity behind every single one of our users. Second, it allowed us to have our industry first 2FA system for a non-custodial wallet. Third, it will allow for some cool features in the future, but, right now… it’s a great way to go keyless in a nice, secure way. Sooner than people expect.

I know you cannot comment on how many users you serve, but allow me an educated guess at least. RelayX, one of your competitors, seems to have around 3000 users so far, but RelayX has launched way later than HandCash. Money Button published the number of 150 businesses actively using it and over 1.3 million button swipes so far. My best guess is that HandCash has to be around 6,000-7,000 users. Am I totally off?

Alex Agut: Won’t give numbers but you are totally off. Way more than that. We can confidently say that virtually every Bitcoin SV user is a HandCash user. More than sign ups, we focus on current, real active users—and let’s just say we are very happy about that number, especially when Connect is coming out this spring.

At the CoinGeek Toronto conference in 2019, Mempool’s Lin Zheming pointed out difficulties for wallet providers to reach Chinese users. What are your thoughts on that, and how do you plan to get an even broader user base?

Alex Agut: We are not interested in the Chinese market at the time. Our apps are illegal there so… unless the CCP changes its mind on allowing cryptocurrency apps over there, we won’t be trying to get in trouble with their government by distributing APKs or TestFlight betas in China to circumvent their laws – code is not law. We love the Chinese people and their enthusiasm for this technology, but this is out of our control. If the situation changes, we would love to help the Chinese people access Bitcoin through HandCash.

In a recent hangout with the Bitcoin SV Channel, you mentioned how HandCash is dependent on the Bitcoin SV ecosystem’s growth. How could HandCash reach users aside from the Bitcoin SV ecosystem? Is it possible for you to offer non-Bitcoin related services to people who do not want to use Bitcoin?

Alex Agut: To a degree. We think we are one of the least dependent companies in this small ecosystem on the fate of what others do—we like to do things our way and have as few dependencies with others as possible. We will reach regular people by making an appealing product—and perception will be key. We have a few tricks up on our sleeves, some will call them marketing stunts, and they are in a way. But we think it will work for us, and others are invited to join our movement. Why would we offer fiat or crypto services when Bitcoin is the best money out there? People just don’t know it yet. And there are reasons why this is that way, and there are ways on which we can change that perception. Wait and see!

There is more to HandCash than just the wallet providing service. At the CoinGeek London conference in early 2020, you introduced HandCash Connect. Kindly introduce our readers to what HandCash Connect is.

Rafa Jiménez: It goes beyond a wallet, for sure! We envision an ecosystem of connected apps and games where people can spend and earn money doing what they love. HandCash Connect is a Bitcoin SDK. The fastest and flexible way to build apps on Bitcoin. It’s amazing, because it allows startups to create new business models using the top features of Bitcoin without having to deal with all the jargon that takes months to learn. Also they can take advantage of the same infrastructure we use to serve thousands of users every day. They just focus on what they do the best: creating amazing products. We take care of the rest. 

Sounds promising! Thank you very much for your time!

Alex Agut: Thanks for your interest in HandCash! You really did your homework J

Rafa Jiménez: Thank you for your interest in our project!

Ivan Mlinarić: Was a pleasure! 

New to Bitcoin? Check out CoinGeek’s Bitcoin for Beginners section, the ultimate resource guide to learn more about Bitcoin—as originally envisioned by Satoshi Nakamoto—and blockchain.