Mobile apps

货币就是语言,说一门外语是很难的

本文最初被发表在高泽明的网站上,经由作者同意后,我们重新发表了这篇文章。请您点击此处阅读全文内容。

比特币就应该被当作现金来使用。这是中本聪对比特币所设想的初衷,也是比特币SV(BSV)的持续设计与努力。

事实上,比特币的使用应该比纸币更常见、更频繁、更广泛。

然而,出于一个实际的原因,它应该被花费在台前上,而应该被花费在幕后,几乎不被常规用户看到的地方。

请您考虑以下几种支付方式:

  1. 商品以法定货币来定价。买方从卖方那里购买物品。
  2. 买方(付款人)与卖方(收款人)都有一个支持BSV的钱包,该钱包支持以法定货币的形式(而不是BSV)持有以及显示余额和价格的选项。
  3. 买家用钱包支付物品的价格。
  4. 在进行支付时,付款人的钱包自动地且在无形之中将一部分金额的法定货币转换为BSV,并且将BSV发送到收款人的钱包之中,其中BSV有选择地、也将自动地且在无形之中被转换成收款人的法币。

所有这些付款方式都可以在后台即刻发生。在执行这一功能时,比特币(BSV)甚至不需要是可见的,它在实际定价中会被更少地使用,这可以通过任何合适的法定货币来实现。用户看到的所有内容都是以法币的形式呈现的(假设这是由用户选择的方式)。

在上述场景中,由于BSV支持即时结算,即使BSV在更长的时间内发生波动,这些波动也是无关紧要的。BSV的即时结算能力是一种全球性的结算媒介,也是一种流动性媒介。

这就是Ripple希望XRP所成为的样子,但他们甚至没有一个真正意义上的区块链。

但是为什么呢?

为什么您想或需要在支付过程中隐藏BSV呢 ?

因为货币就是语言,说一门外语是很难的

被设计得非常符合逻辑的语言Esperanto(它被称为“世界语”)之所以从未被超越,是有原因的。

也就是说,在比特币采用的早期阶段,从战略上和实践上都有必要让人们能够继续使用本国货币,同时让比特币作为一个隐藏的“翻译器”在幕后工作,以解决由不同的本国货币与外国货币造成的问题。

不管您的理论与技术论据是什么,人们只会使用他们所熟悉的货币(目前只能是一种本国货币),因为这是他们所说的语言。

这个世界上很少有人能真正精通两种语言,而说到货币这门语言时,精通之人就更少了。

但一门新语言很难被人熟练使用还有一个更根本的原因,那就是:反向人际网效应

当一个人说话时,不仅这个人必须拥有说这种语言的能力,而且他的听众也必须说同一种语言。学习一门新语言已经够难的了,但对于一门刚刚被发明出的新语言来说,要找到和您说同一门语言的人更是难上加难。

这种基本的负面人际网效应使交流的机会呈指数减少。这就是为什么设计得非常符合逻辑的“世界语”Esperanto从来没有流行起来。

比特币社区一直缺乏这种理解,部分原因是BTC社区倾向于理想主义而不是务实。

所以让我们实际一点吧。让人们说他们当地的语言,而让BSV成为人们听不到的翻译器。

不要追求“被人看见的面子”,而要寻求服务(实用性)。

当人们有了一个建立在BSV链上的钱包,它能在BSV与当地货币之间自动转换,这一切都是在幕后进行的,用户感觉他在花费/接收当地货币,但实际上一切都是在链上发生的(在比特币区块链的所有优势之下悄然进行)。

另一种解释

上述基于BSV的支付的“默默无闻”的设计本质上只是将BSV作为一种结算媒介,而不是完备的支付媒介

支付媒介”与“结算媒介”之间是有区别的。真正的比特币(BSV)被设计成至少是一种“结算媒介”。但如果它也能作为一种“支付媒介”来使用的话,这将是一个巨大的优势,但如果它不能,它也仍然是好的。

BSV确实具有的一个重要属性是它能够进行即时结算,通过这种能力,无论有没有法定货币环境,它都可以作为“结算媒介”。它在跨国界的多法定货币环境或跨平台的多代币环境中做得特别出色。

要做到这一点,它需要具有极大的可扩容性(BSV具有这点,但BTC没有 )。

从结算媒介到完备的支付媒介之路

上述基于BSV的“默默无闻”的支付设计只是一个保守的提议,因为这是对现有法币侵略性最小或破坏性最小的方法。这在战略上是必要的,但它可能只是过渡性的方案,因为BSV已经有了一个非常有效的结算媒介,有什么能阻止它最终成为一个完备的支付媒介?

对于在数字世界中创造与交易的非传统商品,使用基于BSV的单位(如Duro)来定价已经可以实现了。在这种情况下,BSV将成为一种完备的支付媒介。一个新的商业世界正在兴起,旧世界也正在改变。

问答

:由于当地货币和比特币的波动性,当您买一块面包时,您永远不会知道买它实际上要花多少。

:就面包的实际费用而言,上述的提议与现在的提议之间没有什么不同。如果您以1美元(举个当地货币的例子)的价格购买一条面包,这就是您所知道的进行支付的价格,您不需要了解更多内容了。

当地货币可能非常不稳定,以至于人们甚至不能通过它来了解真正的费用(尽管人们知道费用的货币单位数额是什么),这是完全不同的一种情况。在任何时候,很少有国家经历过那种情形。

对于身处这种情况的人,我们应该给用户一个选择,让他们有意识地选择比特币(BSV)作为明面支付方式,这样定价与支付都是以BSV形式的,而不需要对法定货币进行转换。

然而,与其考虑极端情况,更重要的是解决一个更基本的实际问题。

我想说的底线是,让大众采用一种全新的货币,就像突然要求一个人开始说一种完全不同的语言那样困难。这可不是轻而易举就能做到的。

请您想象一下人们会在表面上迅速采用一种加密货币,实际上是比特币核心(BTC)有害的反政府意识形态持续影响的结果,BTC希望人们立即开始使用BTC来衡量所有的价值。他们以推广这一理念为荣,因为他们认为这一理念具有深刻的革命性。这是骄傲,是这个群体的标志。

:如果我用“被翻译的”比特币买了10美元的东西,下周可能是5美元,再下一周是20美元。而我的实际工资会从2000美元变成1000美元,然后是4000美元。这不是很有帮助!

:在上述提议中,常规用户在交易时只能将法定货币“翻译”为比特币。常规用户购买比特币并不是为了在一定时间内持有它们。只有有意识的投资者才会这么做。

假设您是一个对投资比特币不感兴趣的法定货币用户。您在钱包里放了100美元。您的美元不会在您存入的时候变成比特币。它们以美元(您的原始货币)的形式存储在您的钱包之中。接下来,您花费10美元买东西。这10美元会根据当前的市场价格自动转换成等量的比特币,转换后的比特币会通过比特币网络(高效的BSV)传输到收款人的钱包中。如果收款人也是法定货币用户(即对比特币本身不感兴趣),那他收到的比特币将被自动地转换为他更喜欢的当地货币,它不必与付款人所使用的货币相同。

所有这些都发生在后台中,用户不需要做任何事情,甚至不需要看到后台发生了什么。

通过这种设计,用户的货币的价值完全不受比特币价格波动的影响,因为交易可以在几秒钟内完成。这样,常规用户甚至不会意识到他们在使用比特币。但整个系统的内部工作不是传统的银行系统,而是比特币网络。

一个可见的选项

该系统可以为那些愿意投资并且持有比特币的人提供选择。

可能只有不到1%的用户对持有比特币感兴趣。大多数人可能对比特币的故事并不感兴趣,更不用说持有它了,他们只是想利用这个工具的便利性与效率。

不过没关系。大多数用户在不知情的情况下都为比特币网络做出了贡献,并从中受益。

一项资产(比如BSV)的成功并不取决于它的投资者,而是它的用户。这是很重要的。大多数用户,即使对比特币与比特币技术不感兴趣,他们对比特币的成功也比看起来的那样更为重要。事实上,较之比特币的投资者与狂热者,他们更重要。

只关注币的投资者是错误的。这并不是说投资者不重要,我们只是要承认生活中的一个秘密:您并不总是通过直接促进自己的利益而使自己受益。当您服务于他人的利益时,您将长期使自己受益。

通过阅读这本新的电子书《投资区块链:更好的数据,创造更美好的世界》您可以了解到更多关于比特币投资的信息。

202024日的“创世”协议升级是比特币历史上的一大里程碑,将见证BSV最大程度地回归到中本聪原先设想的协议。请访问“创世”硬分叉页面以了解更多信息。

要直接在您的收件箱接获CoinGeek.com最新消息,CoinGeek会议特别优惠以及其他内部信息,请加入我们的邮件列表

[id^="_form"]
[id^="_form"]
[id$="_submit"]
[id$="_submit"]
[^;]
[^;]
[?&]
[?&]
[^&#]
[^&#]
[(d+)]
[(d+)]
[elem.name]
[elem.name]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-']
[+_a-z0-9-']
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z]
[a-z]
[el.name]
[el.name]
[id^="_form"]
[id^="_form"]
[id$="_submit"]
[id$="_submit"]
[^;]
[^;]
[?&]
[?&]
[^&#]
[^&#]
[(d+)]
[(d+)]
[elem.name]
[elem.name]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-']
[+_a-z0-9-']
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z]
[a-z]
[el.name]
[el.name]

Mobile apps

Currency is language, and speaking a foreign language is hard

This post originally appeared on the ZeMing M. Gao’s website, and we republished with permission from the author. Read the full piece here.

Bitcoin should be spent as cash. That is the original intent of Satoshi Nakamoto for Bitcoin, and also the continued design and effort by Bitcoin SV (BSV).

In fact, Bitcoin should be spent much more commonly, frequently and ubiquitously than paper cash.

However, for a practical reason, it should not be spent on the surface, but rather be spent behind the scene, almost invisible to regular users.

Consider the following mode of payment:

  1. An item is priced in a fiat currency. A buyer buys the item from a seller.
  2. The buyer (payer) and the seller (payee) each have a BSV-supported wallet, which supports an option of holding and displaying balances and prices in a fiat currency of choice, instead of BSV.
  3. Buyer makes a payment using the wallet for the price of the item.
  4. In making the payment, the payer’s wallet automatically and invisibly converts an amount of fiat equivalent to the price to BSV, and sends the BSV to the payee’s wallet, where the BSV is, optionally, converted to payee’s fiat, also automatically and invisibly.

All this can happen instantly in the back-end. In performing this function, Bitcoin (BSV) does not even have to be visible, much less used in actual pricing, which can be done by any suitable fiat currency. The users see everything in fiat only (assuming that is the mode elected by the user).

In the above scenario, because BSV enables instant settlement, volatility is irrelevant even if BSV is volatile in a larger time-frame. The instant settlement ability of BSV serves as a global settlement medium, as well as a liquidity medium.

This is what Ripple wishes its XRP to be, but they don’t even have a true blockchain.

But why?

Why do you want or need to hide BSV in the payment process?

It is because currency is language, and speaking a foreign language is hard.

There is a reason why the very logically designed language Esperanto (claimed as the “world language”) never caught up.

That is, in the early stage of the Bitcoin adoption, it is strategically and practically necessary to allow people to still use their local currency, while have Bitcoin working behind the scene as a hidden “translator” to solve the problems that are caused by the different local and foreign currencies.

It doesn’t matter what theoretical and technological arguments you make, people will only spend in a currency which they are familiar with (at the present time, that can only be a local currency), because that’s the language they speak.

Few people in this world are truly bilingual, and when it comes to money as a language, much fewer still.

But there’s an even more fundamental reason why it is extremely hard for a new language to be spoken: the reverse network effect.

When one speaks, not only must the person have the ability to speak the language, but his audience must also speak the same language. Learning a new language is hard enough already, but with a new language that is just invented, it is much harder to find someone to speak the same language.

This basic negative network effect reduces the opportunity chance exponentially. That is exactly why the very logically designed “world language” Esperanto never caught up.

The Bitcoin community has always lacked this understanding, partially because of the BTC community’s inclination of being idealistic instead of practical.

So let’s be practical. Allow people to speak their local languages, and let BSV be the unheard translator.

Don’t seek “face,” seek service (utility).

With a wallet that is built on the BSV chain, but automatically converts, all behind the scene, between BSV and a local currency, the user feels like he’s spending/receiving local money, but in fact everything is happening on the chain (with all the Bitcoin blockchain advantages).

Another explanation

The above “faceless” design for BSV-based payment is essentially using the BSV as a settlement medium only, not a full payment medium.

There is a difference between a “payment medium” and “settlement medium.” The real Bitcoin (BSV) is designed to be at least a “settlement medium.” If it can also serve as a “payment medium,” it would be a huge plus, but if not, it is still fine.

One important property that BSV does have is its ability to have instant settlement, by which it may serve as a “settlement medium” with or without a fiat environment. It works especially well in a cross-border multiple fiat environment or a cross-platform multi-token environment.

To do that requires it to be vastly scalable (which BSV is, but BTC isn’t).

A road from a settlement medium to a full payment medium

The above “faceless” design for BSV-based payment is just a conservative proposal, as the least invasive or least disruptive approach to the existing fiats. It is strategically necessary, but it may only need to be transitional, because with an extremely efficient settlement medium, what will prevent it from eventually becoming a full payment medium?

Already, for non-conventional merchandises that are created and traded in the digital-verse, pricing using a BSV unit (such as Duro) can already work realistically. To the extent that such pricing happens, BSV becomes a full payment medium. A new world of merchandising is rising, and the old is also being transformed.

Q&A

Question: with local currency fluctuations and Bitcoin fluctuations, you would never know what a loaf of bread is actually costing you when you buy it.

Answer: In terms of knowing the actual cost of the bread, the above proposal is not different from what people have now. If you buy a loaf for $1 (an example of local currency), that is the price you know you are paying, and no more knowledge is necessary.

The possibility that the local currency might be so unstable that people can’t even use it to get a sense of real cost (in spite of knowing the currency unit number of the cost), that’s a whole different situation. At any given time, very few countries experience that kind of a situation.

For people who are in that situation, an option should be given for the users to deliberately choose Bitcoin (BSV) as the face payment, so that both the pricing and payment are in BSV, requiring no fiat conversion.

However, instead of contemplating extreme situations, it is more important to address a much more basic issue of practicality.

The bottom line of what I am trying to say is that, having the mass adopting a completely new currency is as hard as suddenly asking a people to start to speak an entirely different language. It is not going to happen easily.

Imagining that people will quickly adopt a cryptocurrency on its face is really a result of the persistent influence of the pernicious anti-government ideology of the Bitcoin Core (BTC), who would like people to start immediately to measure all value using BTC. They take pride in promoting the idea, because they think it is profoundly revolutionary. It is pride, a hallmark of that group.

Question: If I buy something for $10 in “translated” Bitcoin, the next week it could be $5, then the next week $20. My effective salary would go from $2,000 to $1,000 then $4,000. Not exactly helpful!

Answer: In the above proposal, regular users only “translate” a fiat currency to bitcoin at the moment of transaction. The regular users do not buy bitcoin to keep them for any definite time. Only conscious investors do that.

Say you are a fiat user not interesting in investing in Bitcoin. You put $100 in your wallet. Your dollars do not become Bitcoin at the time of your deposit. They stay as dollars (your original currency) in your wallet. Next, you pay $10 to buy something. The $10 automatically converts to the equal amount of bitcoin based on the market price at the moment, and the converted Bitcoin is transmitted over the Bitcoin network (BSV, to be efficient) to the wallet of the payee. If the payee is also a fiat user (i.e. not interested in bitcoin itself), the Bitcoin received is automatically converted to his preferred local currency, and it does not have to be the same as the payer’s currency.

All above happens behind the scene without requiring the users to do anything, not even seeing what’s happening in the backend.

With this design, the value of the users’ money is not affected by the fluctuation of the Bitcoin at all, because the transaction can be finished within just a few seconds. This way, regular users don’t even realize that they are using Bitcoin. But the entire inner-working of the system is not the traditional banking system, but the Bitcoin network.

An option to be visible

The system may have the option of investing in and holding bitcoin for those who want to do so.

There may be fewer than 1% of the users are actually interested in keeping Bitcoin. The majority may not be even interested in the story of bitcoin, much less holding it, but only want to take advantage of convenience and efficiency of the tool.

But that is all right. The majority users are contributing to, and being benefited by, the Bitcoin network without knowing it.

The success of an asset (say, BSV) does not depend on its investors, but on its users. This is important. The majority users, even if indifferent to Bitcoin and the technology, are more important to Bitcoin’s success than they appear to be. In fact, they are more important than the Bitcoin investors and enthusiasts.

It is a mistake to focus on the investors of the coin. This is not to say that the investors are not important, but just to acknowledge a secret in life: You don’t always benefit yourself by directly promoting your own interest. You benefit yourself in long-term when you serve the interest of others.

Learn more about Bitcoin investments with this new ebook, Investing in Blockchain: Better data for a better world.

New to Bitcoin? Check out CoinGeek’s Bitcoin for Beginners section, the ultimate resource guide to learn more about Bitcoin—as originally envisioned by Satoshi Nakamoto—and blockchain.

[id^="_form"]
[id^="_form"]
[id$="_submit"]
[id$="_submit"]
[^;]
[^;]
[?&]
[?&]
[^&#]
[^&#]
[(d+)]
[(d+)]
[elem.name]
[elem.name]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-']
[+_a-z0-9-']
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z]
[a-z]
[el.name]
[el.name]
[id^="_form"]
[id^="_form"]
[id$="_submit"]
[id$="_submit"]
[^;]
[^;]
[?&]
[?&]
[^&#]
[^&#]
[(d+)]
[(d+)]
[elem.name]
[elem.name]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-']
[+_a-z0-9-']
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z]
[a-z]
[el.name]
[el.name]