BSV作为一种数据标准

作为“BSV作为一种……”系列的第一篇,本文讨论了BSV作为一般数据存储、传输以及交易的数据标准。

我们经常谈论比特币是一种商品货币,但却很少真正地描述它到底是一种怎样的商品。商品有着各种各样的形式,如能源、食品、原材料等等。但商品的共同点是,它们具有实用性。这意味着它们被用于或消耗于生产目的。这一点很重要,因为如果BSV要成为其他东西而不是另一个庞氏骗局,那么区块链就必须被用于其他方面,而不只是价值储存。幸运的是,比特币系统的设计师Craig Wright在2014年的采访中从一开始就提出了比特币能够成为“一切”的观点。

试图成为一切是一项相当大的事业。有关实用性方面的问题,它具体可以被用来做些什么?为了回答这个问题,让我们记住比特币的两个组成部分:

             比特:数据

             币:货币

比特币是数据与货币的融合。或者说,它是一种将数据货币化的方式。当我在2019年的CoinGeek大会上第一次使用这个术语时,我的想法是列出由于数据与货币之间存在着不可或缺的联系进而可能会出现的用例。我们肯定会有一张与我们今天的互联网截然不同的互联网,其中数据和点击量经常在不知情的用户那里作为唯一的货币化形式被“耕种”(farm)出来。

对于这件事情的最佳思考方式是航运业的出现。很少有人真正理解,现代经济中有多少事情是由于简陋的航运集装箱的出现而实现的。在最近的这篇文章中它得到了最佳描述,航运集装箱可能是每个人每天都会看到几次的东西,但人们没有考虑它对于全球经济和整个现代社会的重要性。您对于它们的了解可以说是每辆标准卡车后面的拖车、火车上的货箱,以及堆放在巨型集装箱船上的无数“乐高积木”,它们将货物运送到全球各地。运输集装箱的标准化使其从船舶到卡车上的转移过程更加高效,因为我们不必处理不同硬件、卡车尺寸、铁路轨距等事物之间的不兼容问题。此外,标准化令航运集装箱能够统一堆放在集装箱船上,在全球范围内运输货物时,创造了巨大的规模经济效益。

那么,这与比特币又有什么关系呢?嗯,简而言之,我们有通过互联网发送数据的现有网络标准。这些标准包括用于网络的HTTP,用于数据包驱动的互联网的TCP/IP,以及用于文本数据的JSON。考虑到这些现有的标准,我们真的需要另一个标准吗?首先,互联网上一直明显缺少一个货币化层。事实上,HTTP的设计者甚至包括一些代码(现在很少使用)暗示了网络服务器与客户之间的原始支付协议。阻碍互联网采用这种货币化协议的部分原因在于没有办法保证客户与服务器之间的支付信息的安全。这是由于大多数支付系统依赖于一个可信任的支付中介来管理信息以及支付授权的本质。无论该中介是银行还是信用卡公司,支付需要由中介进行“授权”的这一事实意味着,这对于各方之间直接进行的支付是一个问题。我们必须信任对方,将我们的私人支付信息交给他们,以使他们能够代表我们授权支付,这很像信用卡在实际结账过程中的使用方式。这方面的问题是,与实体店不同的是,您可以盯着收银员,确保他们没有用您的信用卡做任何不恰当的事情,或是未经您的允许复印您的身份证,而对于互联网商户来说,这是不可能的。我们需要的是一种数字现金的形式,它可以促进点对点支付,而不需要任何一方信任对方的任何信息,也不需要支付中介被客户信任。

在这种情况下,缺少的正是比特币系统。比特币,正如其白皮书所述,首先是试图满足对于点对点形式的电子现金的需求。这是通过创建一个系统来实现的,通过这个系统,可以在没有静态支付中介的情况下授权支付,建立一张支付结算服务器网络,这些服务器相互竞争着验证交易并将其记录在区块链上,并赚取交易费,交易费由使用该网络创建交易的每个人支付。

作为一个令人高兴的结果,该用例也意味着这个公共不可篡改的账本也可以用来作为数字数据存在的永久证明记录。而事实证明,这就是作为数据标准所发挥的作用变得显而易见的地方。

我们可以用数据标准做些什么?

嗯,我们目前有一些标准可以在互联网上的主机之间来回发送数据,但这些数据是转瞬即逝的。我们只是为传输数据的带宽付费。有了比特币和数据存储标准的发展,我们不仅可以利用数据传输的标准方法,我们还可以开始开发与数据存储的位置和方法无关的应用程序。我这样说是什么意思呢?今天,我们有很多发送数据的标准方法,但是有多少种方法来存储数据呢?当我说存储时,我不是指它在文件系统上的物理存储方式,如FAT、HPFS、NTFS、ext3、ext4等等。我指的是如何从网络的角度在互联网上存储数据,但仍然保持并尊重数据的所有权与使用权,更重要的是,数据如何在公共网络上货币化。通过使用BSV区块链的数据标准,人们能够以去中心化的方式提供存储服务,这意味着人们结束对于云存储的依赖以及对数据服务提供商的依赖(例如Dropbox、Amazon S3、iCloud、Google Drive或OneDrive)。请您想象一下,这样的标准将使得数据被公开存储,而且还是可移植的,具有保证所有者愿意买单的弹性,其方式能够让任何人充当服务器,并通过单边合约为其服务付费。这将会是传统云存储的去中心化竞争者。由于数据存在于公众可访问的网络中,这也为数据销售开辟了一个潜在的新市场,过程中不需要依靠传统软件反盗版与版权侵权技术。

比特币交易是数据的“开启支付的封装器”

随着比特币交易被用作数据“信封”,数据以可证明的格式被放在链上且接受公开验证,人们可以在链上记录和验证数据,这样任何第三方都可以审计所有权信息及数据有效性。记录在链上的数据作为公共记录可能包含额外的不可篡改的元数据,例如,谁记录了它、谁是所有者,并且任何关于这种说法的争议都可以在链上供任何人仔细检查。最终,数据窃贼以及剽窃者将被揭发,随着时间的推移,数据权利可以使用公共区块链作为所有权或许可权的证明来行使。在链上‘证明’数据的费用将与创建记录数据的比特币交易的费用相同。那些希望实际存储数据副本以从持续提供数据服务的需求中获利的人,也可以利用区块链来证明(通过使用数据的数字指纹)他们确实拥有一份数据副本。最后,由于BSV区块链内置货币代币,这种数据检索服务通过智能合约交易将数据发布回区块链从而得到付款,该智能合约交易会向任何能够进行哈希运算得到数字指纹的实际数据的人支付费用。这能够实现一个去中心化的数据市场,同时推广互联网上最有效的数据存储手段,因为对于单个文件,只需要按照市场愿意为其检索担保支付的金额进行存储,从而避免重复行为。

就像货物集装箱的标准化尺寸后来影响了卡车和船舶的设计,以便更高效地进行运输一样,将可证明的数据放在区块链上的标准最终将创造新的网络存储与计算模式。随着大多数数据被记录在链上,在区块链上运行的公共的算法将会更加强大,并且可以被租用,能够利用拥有其可以付费的数据(想想物联网设备),以完成计算工作。这也将带来计算弹性的大幅增加,因为计算可以被外包给区块链,最终将开始转向边缘计算。对于计算任务的支付可以被放在智能合约中,以确保无论计算资源或数据实际在哪里,都会有人能够完成计算。

这只是BSV区块链变革我们对于互联网的看法与认识的开始。

202024日的“创世”协议升级是比特币历史上的一大里程碑,将见证BSV最大程度地回归到中本聪原先设想的协议。请访问“创世”硬分叉页面以了解更多信息。

要直接在您的收件箱接获CoinGeek.com最新消息,CoinGeek会议特别优惠以及其他内部信息,请加入我们的邮件列表

[10]
[10]
[id^="_form"]
[id^="_form"]
[id$="_submit"]
[id$="_submit"]
[^;]
[^;]
['on' + event]
['on' + event]
[?&]
[?&]
[^&#]
[^&#]
[(d+)]
[(d+)]
[i]
[i]
[results[1]]
[results[1]]
[elem.name]
[elem.name]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-']
[+_a-z0-9-']
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z]
[a-z]
[el.name]
[el.name]
[10]
[10]
[id^="_form"]
[id^="_form"]
[id$="_submit"]
[id$="_submit"]
[^;]
[^;]
['on' + event]
['on' + event]
[?&]
[?&]
[^&#]
[^&#]
[(d+)]
[(d+)]
[i]
[i]
[results[1]]
[results[1]]
[elem.name]
[elem.name]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-']
[+_a-z0-9-']
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z]
[a-z]
[el.name]
[el.name]

BSV as a data standard

First in the “BSV as a…” series, this article addresses BSV as a data standard for general data storage, transfer, and trade.

We often talk about Bitcoin being a commodity money, but rarely do we actually describe what kind of commodity it really is. Commodities come in all sorts of forms, energy, foodstuffs, raw materials, etc. But the common thing among commodities is that they have utility. Meaning they are used or consumed for a productive purpose. This is important because if BSV is going to be something other than just another Ponzi scheme, then the blockchain must be used for something other than just a store of value. Fortunately, Craig Wright, the architect of Bitcoin set out from the beginning the ability for Bitcoin to be ‘everything’ in his 2014 interview.

Trying to be everything is quite an undertaking. For practical matters, what specifically could it be used for? To answer that question, let’s remember the 2 component parts of Bitcoin:

              BIT: Data

              COIN: Money

Bitcoin is an amalgamation between data and money. Or perhaps it is a way to monetize data. When I first used the term back at the 2019 CoinGeek Presentation the idea was to list out the possible use cases that emerge if there was an integral connection between data and money. We would certainly have a very different internet than the one we have today, where data and clicks are routinely ‘farmed’ from unwitting users as the only form of monetization.

One of the best ways of thinking of this is the advent of the shipping industry. Few really appreciate how much of the modern economy is made possible with the advent of the humble shipping container. Best described in this recent article, the shipping container is probably something that everyone sees several times a day, without paying any thought to its importance to the global economy and modern society as a whole. You know them as the trailer behind every standard truck, the cargo boxcars on trains, and the numerous “Lego bricks” stacked on giant container ships which deliver cargo around the globe. The standardization of the shipping container made the conversion from ships to trucks much more efficient as we didn’t have to deal with the incompatibles between different hardware, truck sizes, rail gauges and such. Additionally, the standardization allowed for shipping containers to be able to be uniformly stacked on container ships, creating huge gains in economies of scale when it comes to moving cargo around the world. 

So how does this relate to Bitcoin? Well, simply put, we have current networking standards of sending data across the internet. Standards such as HTTP for the web, TCP/IP for the packet driven internet, and JSON for textual data. Given these existing standards, do we really need another? Well for one, something that has always been notably missing from the internet is a monetization layer. In fact, the designers of HTTP even included some codes (rarely used today) that hint at a primitive payment protocol between webservers and clients. The problem which prevented the adoption of such a monetization protocol of the internet was in part due to the lack of a way of guaranteeing the security of payment information between the client and servers. This is due to the nature of most payment systems relying on a trusted payment intermediary to manage the information and payment authorization. Whether that intermediary is a bank or a credit card company, the fact that payments needed to be ‘authorized’ by the intermediary meant that this presented an issue for payments made between parties directly with each other. We had to trust the other party with our private payment information in order to enable them to authorize payments on our behalf, much like how credit cards are used in a physical checkout process. The problem with this is that unlike a physical location where you can keep an eye on the cashier to ensure that they weren’t doing anything unbecoming with your credit card, or making copies of your ID without your permission, and with internet merchants this is impossible. What we needed was a form of digital cash which could facilitate peer to peer payments without the need for either side having to trust the other with any information, or the need for a payment intermediary to be trusted with the same.

What was missing was Bitcoin. Bitcoin, as specified in its own Whitepaper, is first and foremost an attempt at serving the need for a peer to peer form of electronic cash. This is achieved by creating a system by which payments can be authorized without a static payment intermediary and instead a network of payment settlement servers which compete with each other to validate transactions and record them to the blockchain, and earn transaction fees which are paid by everyone using the network to create transactions.

As a happy consequence, this use case also meant that this public immutable ledger could also be used to act as a permanent proof of existence record for digital data as well. And as it turns out, this is where the role as a data standard becomes apparent. 

What could we do with a data standard?

Well, we currently have standards which can send data back and forth between hosts on the internet, but the data is ephemeral. We are only paying for the bandwidth of the transfer. With Bitcoin, and the development of a data STORAGE standard, we not only leverage the standard method of data TRANSPORT, but we can start to develop applications which are agnostic to the location and method in which data is stored. What do I mean by this? Today, we have plenty of standard ways to send data, but how many ways to store it? When I mean storage, I don’t mean the physical means by which it is stored physically on filesystems, such as FAT, HPFS, NTFS, ext3, ext4, etc. I mean how data can be stored from a network perspective, on the internet, yet still maintain and honor data ownership, usage rights, and moreover how data can be monetized on public networks. With a data standard using BSV blockchain, storage services can be provided for in a decentralized fashion, meaning the end of reliance on cloud storage and dependance on data service providers (such as Dropbox, Amazon S3, iCloud, Google Drive, or OneDrive). Imagine that such a standard would allow data to be stored publicly, yet portably, with whatever resiliency guarantees that the owner is willing to pay for, in a way which allows for anyone to act as a server, and be paid for their services through unilateral contracts. This would be the decentralized competitor to traditional cloud storage. And due to the nature of the fact that the data lives in publicly accessible networks, this also opens up a potential new market for data sales, without the need to rely on traditional software anti-piracy and copyright infringement techniques. 

Bitcoin transactions as a ‘payment enabled wrapper’ for data

With Bitcoin transactions being used as a data ‘envelope’ and data being put on chain in a provable format amenable for public attestation, data can be recorded and validated on chain, such that any third party could audit the ownership information and data for its validity. Data recorded on chain as a public record may contain extra immutable metadata, for instance, who recorded it, who the owner is, and any disputes of such claims could all be on chain for any to scrutinize. In the end, data thieves and plagiarists will be provably exposed, and over time data rights can be exercised using the public blockchain as proof of ownership or licensing rights. The cost of ‘attesting’ data on chain will be the same as the cost of the creation of the bitcoin transactions that recorded it. Those who wish to physically store copies of the data to profit from the demand for serving of the data on an ongoing basis can also leverage the blockchain to prove (through the use of a digital fingerprint of the data) that they actually have a copy of it. Finally, thanks to the built-in monetary token of BSV blockchain, such data retrieval services can be paid for publishing data back to the blockchain through smart contract transactions which pay anyone who can produce the actual data that can hash back to the digital fingerprint. This allows for a decentralized data market, while promoting the most efficient means of storing data on the internet, given that a single file need only be stored as much as the market is willing to pay for its retrieval guarantees, avoiding duplication.

Just like the standardized dimensions of cargo containers which later on influenced the design of trucks and ships in order to carry them more efficiently, the standard of putting attestable data on blockchain will eventually create a new model of network storage and computation. With most data being recorded on chain, public algorithms run on the blockchain will be more powerful and will be available for hire, being able to take advantage of having data that it could pay for (think IoT devices) in order to complete its computations. This will also lead to huge increases in computation resiliency as computations can be farmed out to the blockchain in what will eventually start the move to edge computing. Payment for computational tasks can be placed into smart contracts to ensure that somebody out there will be able to complete the computation regardless of where the computational resources or data may actually physically reside.

This is just the beginning of the BSV blockchain reforming what we think of and know of as the internet.

New to Bitcoin? Check out CoinGeek’s Bitcoin for Beginners section, the ultimate resource guide to learn more about Bitcoin—as originally envisioned by Satoshi Nakamoto—and blockchain.

[10]
[10]
[id^="_form"]
[id^="_form"]
[id$="_submit"]
[id$="_submit"]
[^;]
[^;]
['on' + event]
['on' + event]
[?&]
[?&]
[^&#]
[^&#]
[(d+)]
[(d+)]
[i]
[i]
[results[1]]
[results[1]]
[elem.name]
[elem.name]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-']
[+_a-z0-9-']
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z]
[a-z]
[el.name]
[el.name]
[10]
[10]
[id^="_form"]
[id^="_form"]
[id$="_submit"]
[id$="_submit"]
[^;]
[^;]
['on' + event]
['on' + event]
[?&]
[?&]
[^&#]
[^&#]
[(d+)]
[(d+)]
[i]
[i]
[results[1]]
[results[1]]
[elem.name]
[elem.name]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-']
[+_a-z0-9-']
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z]
[a-z]
[el.name]
[el.name]