Cøbra出了什么事?

Craig Wright博士最近对名为Cøbra的网络人物提起法律诉讼,此事令后者在Bitcoin.org网站上发布比特币白皮书的权利受到了质疑。

今年1月,代表Wright博士的律师向“自称‘Cøbra’的人”发出了一份版权侵犯通知,这个人通过@CobraBitcoin在Twitter上进行运营,目前控制着Bitcoin.org。

这份法律声明表明,Wright决定在这份文件中执行他的版权。Wright自称是白皮书的作者中本聪这一化名背后的人,而白皮书则将比特币系统引向世界。

Wright宣称,采取这一行动的目的是迫使包括bitcoin.org在内的网站删除与Wright在白皮书中详述的愿景不同的文件,否则将面临法律后果。

(为了简单起见,再加上Cøbra经常使用另类右翼带有贬义的词“cuck”来诋毁他的对手,我们姑且假设账户背后的个人是男性。)

Cøbra在一篇博客文章中回应称,他不愿被“压制或恐吓”,同时公开呼吁公众捐款支持他的法律事务。(很可能只有一小部分随后的BTC捐赠送达到了Cøbra,因为与BTC协议相关的高额交易费用会消耗掉大量资金。)

Cøbra对BTC的支持使他继续在Bitcoin.org上发布白皮书的愿望变得更加奇怪,因为BTC目前与比特币创建文件中描述的技术缺乏相似之处。Cøbra还公开指责该白皮书“过时且不正确”,“可以说是对比特币系统最糟糕的介绍”。那么白皮书给人们带来了什么?

BTCha-ching!

Cøbra渴望与白皮书保持联系,可能是基于该文件在第一页上对Bitcoin.org的引用。这为控制比特币领域的个人提供了一定程度的权威并且此人会对比特币的所有相关事情产生影响,这是Cøbra一直渴望享受的一项福利。

Cøbra经常声称,Bitcoin.org每年帮助“数百万”比特币新手接受教育。尽管他偶尔谦虚地吹嘘自己的财富来自早期采用各种数字货币,但Bitcoin.org和Cøbra的Twitter反馈都积极地向这些新手群体募集捐款。这些钱表面上是用来维持Bitcoin.org的运营,尽管该网站的技术复杂程度(以及其对人的吸引力)几乎和1997年的GeoCities博客一样。

Cøbra似乎也在通过充当联盟营销者来货币化Bitcoin.org的声望。虽然该网站提供了一个“比特币交易所”(Bitcoin Exchanges)页面,但主页上方更显眼的“购买比特币”(Buy Bitcoin)按钮会引导买家前往Moonpay。Moonpay一直因处理数字货币交易收取高额费用而受到批评。

值得赞扬一下的是,Bitcoin.org本身警告称(页面底部用小字标出),Moonpay收取的费用“可能比其他一些比特币交易所要高”。但这回避了一个问题:为什么一个如此公开欢迎比特币新手的网站,希望看到这些最初的交易如此不公平地向中间人倾斜?(一些愤世嫉俗的美国人怀疑这是为了让他们适应于在未来被闪电网络挖坑。)

无关紧要的schmirrelevant

BTC不可避免地与高费用联系在一起,这与Wright所青睐的比特币SV协议的低费用、大容量、大区块模型形成了鲜明对比。这就是为什么像Cøbra这样的BTC支持者会定期对BSV的技术给予适度的赞扬(虽然最初,这主要是因为Cøbra对BCH协议更反感,希望BSV来扰乱BCH推翻BTC的工作)。

Cøbra从来没有对Wright表达过类似的赞扬;事实上,Cøbra曾多次发表声明,将Wright等同于“诈骗者和江湖骗子”,同时强烈反对Wright自称是中本聪,并敦促其他人也这样做。在Wright对Cøbra采取法律行动之后,这些人身攻击的规模和攻击性都在升级,这也是可以理解的。

作为这些攻击的一部分,Cøbra对BSV支持者发起了“享受贫穷”的攻击,因为他们的代币在后者的价值泡沫激增期间未能跟上BTC的步伐。BSV的支持者指出BSV的真正价值在于它的技术,特别是它几近无限的扩容能力。

有趣的是,就在两年前,Cøbra在twitter上写道:“谁在乎价格?技术很有趣,价格无关紧要”,这是对一个质疑他是否支持一种价值上刚刚暴跌的新币的回答。将这二者的关联起来看,这似乎就是在双标。

有人呼吁scambulance

Cøbra长期以来一直在呼吁人们要具有感知“骗局”的能力,他将BSV归为一类。这些指控偶尔会反过来打击Cøbra自己,最明显的是在他将加密硬件供应商Halong Mining妖魔化6个月之后。在数十条推文和Medium的一篇文章中,Cøbra指责该公司“从数千名客户那里骗取了价值数百万美元的比特币”。

2018年4月13日,Cøbra在推特上表示,在确认Halong Mining确实“按照承诺交付了功能硬件”后,他“对Halong Mining的看法是完全错误的”。Cøbra表示对自己长期以来对Halong名誉所进行的攻击感到“非常抱歉”,并承诺吃一大块乌鸦肉。

但除了短暂的自我鞭笞之外,他似乎没有受到严重的打击,这或许可以解释为什么他很快又把他的“骗局”标签应用到各种各样的个人、实体和产品上。显然,缺乏切实的影响只会让他更大胆,但他继续逃避自己行为后果的能力不会永远持续下去。

您愿意支付多少钱?

1月份,Cøbra收到的法律通知还包括Wright对Bitcoin.org域名所有权的要求,以及他“在适当时候执行此类权利的坚定意愿”。Cøbra公开驳斥了Wright声称曾经拥有Bitcoin.org的说法,但Cøbra获得Bitcoin.org控制权的情况至少可以说是模糊不清的。

公众并不知道Cøbra是从谁那里获得该域名的,尽管该网站曾在不同时期由芬兰开发者Martti‘Sirius’Malmi和Bitcointalk.org管理员Michael‘Theymos’Marquardt控制。有人认为Cøbra和Marquardt是同一个人,但双方都否认了这一说法。

我们也不知道Cøbra可能为夺取Bitcoin.org的控制权提供了哪些考量:金融的或其他方面的内容。但Cøbra偶尔会吹嘘自己拒绝了可以“以数百万美元出售的机会”,因此,如果他厌倦了这个游戏,那么这笔交易似乎给他留下了一个有利可图的退出策略。

您知道我是一条蛇…

不管是谁潜伏于Cøbra的“庇护”之下,他的公开言论都强烈表明,如果没有他控制诸如Bitcoin.org这样的著名平台,比特币社区的境况就会好得多。例如,考虑到Cøbra对前Silk Road的市场运营商Ross Ulbricht毫不掩饰的赞扬,他认为Ross Ulbricht是一个 “真正的思想领袖”。

现在,我们认识到,许多读者持有自由主义观点,因此他们可能将Silk Road视为失败的反毒品战争的一个可取的替代方案。但不可否认的是,比特币早期与一个不仅兜售大麻和蘑菇,还与贩卖芬太尼和海洛因的网站联系在一起,更不用说用于任何可疑计划的假护照了,这可能令主流采用该技术的进程受到阻碍,甚至推迟数年。

即使您支持Silk Road,但Cøbra坚信比特币是“对政府,特别是美国政府的宣战”,同时他认为“这个世界上的所有政府都需要被彻底摧毁” 您的这种支持是否会延伸至Cøbra的这些信念呢?

难道我们就那么天真地认为,如果某些政府受到足够多的挑衅,那么将来他们就不会结束这个比特币实验吗?我们就真的认为向愤怒的牛挥舞红旗是一种最佳的长期增长策略吗?

这对您来说还不够疯狂吗?Cøbra声称,2001年9月11日“美国政府攻击了自己的公民。他们用炸弹炸毁了双子塔。从来就没有任何飞机,这都是布什和他的亲信伪造的,以此来证明他以营利为目的的战争的合理性。”那这样如何呢?

Cøbra还将奥巴马等同于希特勒,并称John McCain的死亡“是一个值得庆祝的理由”。

您还不相信吗?Cøbra于2018年11月的推特上说,Wright“绝对是银行(也许是Rothschild家族?)的某类秘密代理人”,而且一定有“强大的手在拉动[Wright的]线(译者注:操纵他)”。那这种说法是怎么样的呢?

指责Rothschild家族“在幕后操纵”这一说法是种已有百年历史的反犹太主义的污蔑,对于那些不想直接表示自己不喜欢犹太人的人来说,这种污蔑通常是一种狗哨(意味“说者有意、听者也有心”的隐语)。幸运的是,当年早些时候,Cøbra消除了在这个问题上的任何回旋余地,当时他把以色列称为“一种特殊类型的邪恶”,并声称“这些猪的行为方式真的很讨厌”。

2018年,Cøbra公开倡导“暗杀市场”,声称它们“可能是Cypherpunk运动中最强大的想法之一”。Cøbra声称,“一个理想的无政府主义社会需要以一种功能性的方式来清除不受欢迎的人,而激励集体去消除他们这些人将可能是实施P2P‘法律’的一种方式。”

Cøbra对谁来定义‘邪恶’的问题没有定论,但在2019年,Cøbra跟进了这个话题,说 “市场决定 ”谁应该死,并补充说“即使是有政治抱负和领导倾向的人也可能被认为是对无政府主义秩序的威胁而被清除。”

正如上文所详述的那样,Cøbra从他对Bitcoin.org的控制中获得的利益是明确的。比特币社区从这一安排中获得了什么就不那么清楚了。如果这个社区真正寻求全球认可,无论是BTC充当“数字黄金”的愿望,还是将BSV作为小额交易数字支付和数据处理中心的这一更宏伟的计划,它都需要挑选比Cøbra更好的大使。

202024日的“创世”协议升级是比特币历史上的一大里程碑,将见证BSV最大程度地回归到中本聪原先设想的协议。请访问“创世”硬分叉页面以了解更多信息。

要直接在您的收件箱接获CoinGeek.com最新消息,CoinGeek会议特别优惠以及其他内部信息,请加入我们的邮件列表

What’s up with Cøbra?

What’s up with Cøbra?

The recent legal action filed by Dr. Craig Wright against the online persona known as Cøbra has called into question the latter’s right to host the Bitcoin white paper on the Bitcoin.org website.

In January, attorneys acting on behalf of Dr. Wright issued a copyright infringement notice to “the individual styling themselves as ‘Cøbra,’” who operates on Twitter via the @CobraBitcoin handle and currently controls Bitcoin.org.

The legal notice indicated that Wright, who claims to be the individual behind the Satoshi Nakamoto pseudonym credited with authoring the ‘white paper’ that introduced Bitcoin to the world, had decided to enforce his copyright in that document.

Wright’s stated aim in pursuing this action is to compel sites—including Bitcoin.org—that promote protocols that differ from the vision Wright detailed in the white paper to remove said document or face the legal consequences.  

(For simplicity’s sake and based on Cøbra’s frequent use of the alt-right pejorative term ‘cuck’ to denigrate his opponents, we’re going to go out on a limb and assume the individual behind the account is male.)

Cøbra responded with a blog post declaring his unwillingness to be “silenced or intimidated,” while issuing a public appeal for financial donations to support his legal cause. (It’s likely that only a fraction of the ensuing BTC donations ever made it to Cøbra, as the notoriously high transaction fees associated with the BTC protocol would have consumed a healthy chunk of these funds.)

Cøbra’s support for BTC makes his desire to continue to host the white paper on Bitcoin.org all the more curious, given BTC’s current lack of resemblance to the technology described in Bitcoin’s founding document. Cøbra has also publicly denigrated the white paper as “outdated and incorrect” and “arguably the worst introduction to Bitcoin.” So what gives?

BTCha-ching!

Cøbra’s eagerness to maintain ties to the white paper is probably based on the document’s reference to Bitcoin.org on its first page. This affords the individual controlling the domain a degree of authority and influence over all things Bitcoin, a perk that Cøbra has been only too eager to indulge.

Cøbra routinely claims that Bitcoin.org helps educate ‘millions’ of Bitcoin neophytes each year. Despite his occasional humble-brags of personal riches derived from early adoption of various digital currencies, both Bitcoin.org and Cøbra’s Twitter feed actively solicit donations from these hordes of noobs. This money is ostensibly directed toward maintaining Bitcoin.org’s operations, although the site is about as technically complex (and nearly as attractive) as a 1997 GeoCities blog.

Cøbra also appears to be monetizing Bitcoin.org’s prominence by serving as an affiliate marketer. While the site offers a ‘Bitcoin Exchanges’ page, the far more prominent ‘Buy Bitcoin’ button at the top of the home page steers buyers to Moonpay, an exchange that has been criticized for charging stiff fees to process digital currency transactions.

To its credit, Bitcoin.org itself warns (in small print at the bottom of the page) that Moonpay charges fees that “may be higher than some other Bitcoin exchanges.” But it begs the question: why does a site that so publicly celebrates the onboarding of Bitcoin virgins wish to see these initial transactions be so unfairly tilted towards middlemen? (The cynic in us suspects it’s conditioning them to getting gouged in the future by the Lightning Network.)

Irrelevant schmirrelevant

BTC’s inescapable association with high fees stands in stark contrast to the low-fee, high-volume, big-block model of the Bitcoin SV protocol that Wright favors. That’s why it’s so surprising that a BTC backer like Cøbra has periodically offered modest praise for BSV’s technology (although initially, this was mainly due to Cøbra’s even greater distaste for the BCH protocol and the hope that BSV would disrupt BCH’s efforts to dethrone BTC).

Cøbra has never voiced similar praise for Wright; indeed, Cøbra has issued numerous statements equating Wright with ‘frauds and charlatans,’ while vehemently rejecting Wright’s claims of being Satoshi and urging others to do likewise. Understandably, both the volume and aggressiveness of these personal attacks escalated following Wright’s legal action against Cøbra.

As part of these attacks, Cøbra has lobbed “have fun staying poor” jabs at BSV supporters for their token’s failure to keep pace with BTC during the latter token’s value bubble surge. BSV supporters have responded by pointing out that BSV’s true value lies in its technology, particularly its nearly limitless capacity to scale.

Interestingly, just two years ago, Cøbra tweeted “Who cares about price? Technology is interesting, price is irrelevant” in reply to someone who questioned his support for a new coin that had just plummeted in value. Relevancy, it seems, is a moving target. 

Somebody call a scambulance

Cøbra has a long history of calling out perceived ‘scams,’ a category into which he lumps BSV. These claims have occasionally come back to bite Cøbra, most notably following his six-month demonization of crypto hardware suppliers Halong Mining. In dozens of tweets and a Medium article, Cøbra accused the company of having “swindled millions of dollars’ worth of Bitcoin from thousands of customers.”

On April 13, 2018, Cøbra tweeted that he was “completely wrong about Halong Mining” after confirming that the company had indeed “delivered functional hardware as promised.” Cøbra claimed to be “extremely sorry” for his prolonged assault on Halong’s reputation and promised to eat an appropriately large portion of crow.

But apart from a brief period of self-flagellation, he appears to have escaped serious blowback, which may explain why he swiftly resumed applying his ‘scam’ tag to a wide variety of individuals, entities and products. Apparently, the lack of tangible repercussions only served to embolden him, but his ability to go on dodging the consequences of his actions won’t last forever.  

Now how much would you pay?

The legal notice Cøbra received in January also included Wright’s claim to ownership of the Bitcoin.org domain and his “firm intention to enforce such rights in due course.” Cøbra has publicly refuted Wright’s claims to having ever owned Bitcoin.org but the circumstances under which Cøbra gained control over Bitcoin.org are murky to say the least.

The public doesn’t know from whom Cøbra acquired the domain, although the site had at different times been under the control of Finnish developer Martti ‘Sirius’ Malmi and Bitcointalk.org administrator Michael ‘Theymos’ Marquardt. There have been suggestions that Cøbra and Marquardt are the same individual, claims that both parties have denied.

We also don’t know what consideration—financial or otherwise—Cøbra may have provided for assuming control of Bitcoin.org. But Cøbra has occasionally boasted of rejecting “opportunities to sell out for millions of dollars,” so the transaction appears to have left him with a lucrative exit strategy should he tire of this game.

You knew I was a snake…

Regardless of who’s lurking under Cøbra’s scales, his public utterances strongly suggest that the Bitcoin community would be far better off without him in control of a prominent platform like Bitcoin.org. For instance, consider his unabashed praise of former Silk Road marketplace operator Ross Ulbricht as a ‘true thought leader.’

Now, we recognize that a lot of readers hold libertarian views and thus may have viewed Silk Road as a preferable alternative to the failed war on drugs. But it’s undeniable that Bitcoin’s early association with a site peddling not just reefer and mushrooms but fentanyl and heroin, not to mention fake passports used for any number of suspect schemes, probably set back mainstream adoption of the technology for years.  

Even if you supported Silk Road, does this support extend to Cøbra’s belief that Bitcoin is “a declaration of war against governments, in particular the U.S. government,” or that “all Governments in this world need to be destroyed completely and thoroughly”?

Are we that naïve to believe that certain governments, if sufficiently provoked, couldn’t end this Bitcoin experiment tomorrow? Do we really believe that waving red flags at angry bulls is an optimal long-term growth strategy? 

Not wild enough for you? How about Cøbra’s claim that it was “the US Government that attacked its own citizens” on September 11, 2001 “by blowing up the towers with bombs. There were never any planes, it was all faked by Bush and his cronies to justify his for-profit wars.”

Cøbra has also equated Obama with Hitler and called John McCain’s death “a cause of celebration.” 

Still not convinced? How about Cøbra’s November 2018 tweet that Wright “is definitely some sort of secret agent for the banks (maybe Rothschilds?)” and there had to be “powerful hands pulling [Wright’s] strings.”

Accusing the Rothschilds of ‘pulling strings’ is a centuries-old anti-Semitic slur that routinely serves as a dog whistle for individuals who don’t want to come right out and say they don’t like Jews. Fortunately, Cøbra eliminated any wiggle room on this subject earlier that year, when he referred to Israel as “a special type of evil” and claimed it was “really nasty the way these pigs behave.”

In 2018, Cøbra openly advocated for ‘assassination markets,’ claiming that they were “probably one of the most powerful ideas to come out of the Cypherpunk movement.” Cøbra claimed that “an ideal anarchist society needs a functional way to remove undesirables, and a collective incentive for their elimination could be one way of implementing P2P ‘law’.”

Cøbra left open the question of who got to define ‘evil,’ but in 2019, Cøbra followed up on this thread, saying the “market decides” who deserved to die, adding that “even someone with political aspirations and leadership tendencies might be deemed a threat to the anarchist order and removed.”

As detailed above, the benefits that Cøbra derives from his control over Bitcoin.org are clear. It’s far less clear what the Bitcoin community gains from this arrangement. If the community truly seeks global acceptance, be it BTC’s desire to act as ‘digital gold’ or BSV’s far more ambitious plan to serve as a microtransaction digital payment and data-handling powerhouse, it needs to pick better ambassadors than Cøbra.

New to Bitcoin? Check out CoinGeek’s Bitcoin for Beginners section, the ultimate resource guide to learn more about Bitcoin—as originally envisioned by Satoshi Nakamoto—and blockchain.

[id^="_form"]
[id^="_form"]
[id$="_submit"]
[id$="_submit"]
[^;]
[^;]
[?&]
[?&]
[^&#]
[^&#]
[(d+)]
[(d+)]
[elem.name]
[elem.name]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-']
[+_a-z0-9-']
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z]
[a-z]
[el.name]
[el.name]
[id^="_form"]
[id^="_form"]
[id$="_submit"]
[id$="_submit"]
[^;]
[^;]
[?&]
[?&]
[^&#]
[^&#]
[(d+)]
[(d+)]
[elem.name]
[elem.name]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-']
[+_a-z0-9-']
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z]
[a-z]
[el.name]
[el.name]