Unbounded Capital的书点破了区块链行业的”错误假设”

我们上周提到了Unbounded Capital的新电子书,该书解释了这家投资公司决定只专注在比特币SV(BSV)行业。这不仅需要为投资者提供理据,同时还作出了详尽的陈述为什么其他人都错了。那么,数字资产行业的“几个有缺陷的基本假设”可能会让这大部分的人以灾难告终吗?让我们来一探究竟。

他人都是错的,理由在此

Unbounded在这本书的开始就说明了,它对数字资产行业采取的是一种逆向操作(就目前来看)。在任何行业,特别是在投资上,采取不同观点需要勇气和一定程度的风险接受。某些资产可以为投资者带来利润,而想法可以建立有利可图的事业,无论它们是否值得。跟随群众可以通过自我实现的预言带来属于自己的回报,这本书认为,“硅谷的智慧是,最好的技术不代表一定会赢。”

在这种情况下,有必要发表一份详尽的文章解释您的立场,因为相反的观点往往无法在大众媒体上获得足够的曝光率。询问大多数行外人关于区块链,他们会说他们听说过一些关于比特币,可能还有以太坊。而向业内人士和行外人透露您支持比特币,但不是他们所知道的比特币,是一个挑战。这就是比特币核心(BTC)仍然拥有市场的原因。

当然,数字资产领域的其他风投公司已经寻求更多主流熟悉的品牌的高调区块链。Unbounded提到投资者如a16z、Pantera Capital、Bitbull Capital、Blockchain Capital、Digital Currency Group和Multicoin Capital。促使这本书的产生是一篇关于此名单中的其中一家公司。

作为一位报道“区块链行业”已有七年的人,我明白层出不穷的新项目使人感到困惑和厌烦。下一个最伟大的项目在上一个最伟大的项目站稳脚步前就已出现,每一个声称能解决之前的(甚至是没人知道存在的)问题。

循环推理

Unbounded Capital指出,数字资产行业普遍认同的一套“错误”假设,以及这些假设如何产生“循环推理链”,使大多数区块链项目无法扩容,在经济上和法律上都不可行。

那么,这些假设是什么?它们是:比特币不能扩容,而且效率低;唯有“去中心化”才能使比特币变得有价值,因为它提供了“审查阻力”和“去信任”;比特币存在于法律范围之外。后两个因素回溯到第一点,它的挑战意味着比特币无法扩容到任何有用的程度。

那些已经在BSV行业工作的人,可以因为这些假设仍然构成“主流”观点而吃惊。这些假设大部分不都已经证明是错误的吗?如果它们都意味着比特币无法扩容,那么投入时间和金钱有什么意义呢?

这本书主要着眼于比特币(以及BTC和BSV之间的比较)。然而,相同的假设适用于大多数其他区块链项目,包括以太坊、柚子币(EOS)、Tezos和其他数千种货币。许多人在不了解基本面的情况下投资(并可能从中获利)这些货币,但这只会产生投机泡沫,而不是真实和长期价值。

BSV拥有基于比特币原有的工作量证明处理基础的经济激励。它提供了无限的扩容和数据容量,并且它采取实际立场,即比特币必须参与现有的金融和监管结构以获得接受。这意味着驳斥“代码就是法律”的旧密码朋克观念(又一个多人重复的咒语,却不愿花心思去分析或质疑其含义)。

具有讽刺意味的是,许多吹嘘区块链资产“代码就是法律”、“去中心化”和“去信任”本质的人,同时也在高度集中、不太值得信赖的交易所进行资金交易,而计算机和人类法律在这些地方都无法有效制止腐败或追回损失的资金。但是,即使改进这些服务也不会使这些区块链更有用,只会提升可交易性。

股权证明和去中心化

Unbounded也瞄准了选择股权证明(PoS)处理模式的区块链项目,该处理模式部分灵感来自于工作量证明 (PoW) 不健全的概念。误解和歇斯底里的氛围在主流媒体间使形势更为严峻。

工作证明消耗大量能量。哈希块需要能量。这是比特币维护或交易处理中边际成本的主要来源。加密货币领域中的许多人认为这是浪费。然而,在加密共识中,许多人认为是浪费实际上是一个极其重要的信号功能算力的进行相当于向系统发出投资信号。

PoW/PoS辩论是以太坊协议不稳定的主要原因之一,该协议已明确计划将其整个网络在某个阶段将迁移到PoS模型。Unbounded解释 PoS包含的一些反向经济激励和后果,以及为什么它无法解决信任和安全问题。

这本书还着眼于“去中心化”,它已经成为区块链教条的核心。特别是BTC,由于它坚持其目标而受到阻碍,Unbounded称在现状条件下,这一点甚至是不现实的。去中心化理应提供的“法律外”地位和“审查阻力”,即使是真的,也使得BTC无法大规模吸引用户和投资者。那么,它的价值是什么?似乎没有。

BSV 案例

那么,为什么要投资BSV呢?它本身就是一个反向(对其他)区块链项目,必须克服主流金融/技术和数字资产行业的集体否定,才能证明自己?

在其结论中,Unbounded Capital需要解释BSV如何以及为什么与其他有所不同。毕竟,整个行业(包括BSV)可能正经历一种集体错觉,认为区块链是一种可取或必要的技术。

“比特币通常被认为是一种数字货币。虽然这是真的,但比特币也是一个革命性的数据库,这是不可分割的事实。”

摆脱上述假设将打开眼界。一旦摆脱了它们,比特币BSV提供的可能性变得更加明显。找到更好、更安全的数据处理方法可能不会给主流媒体提供性感的故事题材,但我们需要一些比当前互联网更好的工作方式。更高效、更具经济激励、更持久、具有内在交易能力的项目。它必须有能力扩展到全球规模,而不是引起政府或商业利益的担心,不管技术专家承诺什么,他们确实有权限制其使用。

BSV中,正在大量编规则的确切性质,并正在设置一种文化来维护这些规则。结果是,对BTCBCH和以坊不断改变景感到沮丧的企业家们,因为BSV定义明确不变的规则,以及其所承诺的规模和确定性,而选择加入BSV

Unbounded Capital对BSV开发活动水平的提高感到“非常兴奋”,特别是考虑到比特币在2020年初实现的稳定“创世”协议升级。简单地说,更多的开发活动意味着更多的用例、更多的用户,从而带来更多的创业投资机会。不管您是否相信克雷格·怀特博士(Dr. Craig Wright)发明了比特币,都没有关系。

该公司故意将此书的发行时间与BTC区块补贴减半的时间设定在同一时间。这个投资活动,其动机和价格变动(基于算力和情绪)对主流来说更明显,让每个人思考BTC是否可以长期生存,如果是的话,尝试解释其原因。Unbounded现在指出它不能,并且向行业人士提供了逃生口。

此处下载Unbounded Capital的《为什么Multicoin Capital和加密共识是错误的》一书。

202024日的“创世”协议升级是比特币历史上的一大里程碑,将见证BSV最大程度地回归到中本聪原先设想的协议。请访问“创世”硬分叉页面以了解更多信息。

要直接在您的收件箱接获CoinGeek.com最新消息,CoinGeek会议特别优惠以及其他内部信息,请加入我们的邮件列表

Unbounded Capital book busts blockchain industry’s ‘faulty assumptions’

We mentioned the new ebook from Unbounded Capital last week, which states the investment firm’s decision to focus solely on the Bitcoin SV (BSV) industry. This not only requires a justification for investors, but also a detailed explanation of why everyone else has got it wrong. So what are the digital asset industry’s “several faulty foundational assumptions” that will likely end in disaster for most of them? Let’s take a look at the book.

The rest of them are wrong, and here’s why

Unbounded states from the book’s outset that its take on the digital asset industry is a contrarian one (for now). In any industry and particularly in investments, it takes courage and a degree of risk acceptance to take an alternate view. Certain assets can make money for their investors, and ideas can build profitable careers, whether they’re worthy or not. Following the herd can bring its own rewards through self-fulfilling prophesies and the book acknowledges that “bit of Silicon Valley wisdom that the best technology doesn’t always win.”

In such circumstances it’s necessary to publish a lengthy document explaining your position, since contrarian views don’t get as much play in the mass media. Ask most non-industry people about blockchain and they’ll mention they’ve heard something about Bitcoin, and possibly Ethereum. Revealing to industry insiders and outsiders alike that you support Bitcoin, but not the one they’re thinking of, is a challenge. It’s the reason Bitcoin Core (BTC) still has a market cap at all.

Certainly, other VC firms in the digital asset space have sought the high-profile blockchains with more mainstream-familiar brand names. Unbounded mentions investors like a16z, Pantera Capital, Bitbull Capital, Blockchain Capital, Digital Currency Group and Multicoin Capital. It was an article about the last of that list that prompted this book.

As someone who’s reported on the “blockchain industry” for seven years I understand how the endless parade of new projects gets confusing and tiresome. The next greatest thing is out before the last greatest thing has gained any traction, each one purportedly solving the problems of those before it that no-one even knew existed.

Circular reasoning

Unbounded Capital states a set of “faulty” assumptions most in the digital asset industry seem to share, and how these assumptions have produced a “circular chain of reasoning” that render most blockchain projects unscalable, and both economically and legally infeasible.

So what are the assumptions? They are: Bitcoin can’t scale and is inefficient; “decentralization” is necessary to make Bitcoin valuable because it provides “censorship resistance” and “trustlessness”; and that Bitcoin exists outside the scope of the law. The latter two circle back to the first, its challenges meaning Bitcoin can’t scale to any useful extent.

Those already working in the BSV sector of the industry could be taken aback at the reminder that these assumptions still form the “mainstream” view. Haven’t most of them already been proven wrong? And if they all mean Bitcoin can’t scale, what’s the point of investing time and money in them?

The book looks mainly at Bitcoin (and heavily on comparisons between BTC and BSV). However the same assumptions apply to most other blockchain projects including Ethererum, EOS, Tezos, and literally thousands of others. Many will invest in (and potentially profit from) these others without even being aware of the fundamentals—but this produces only speculative bubbles, not real and long-term value.

BSV has economic incentives based on Bitcoin’s original proof-of-work processing foundation. It provides for unlimited scaling and data capacity, and it takes the realistic stance that Bitcoin must engage existing financial and regulatory structures to gain acceptance. This means refuting the old cypherpunk notion that “code is law” (another mantra that many repeat without bothering to analyze or question its implications).

It’s also ironic that many touting the “code is law”, “decentralization” and “trustless” nature of blockchain assets also make their money trading them on highly-centralized, not-very-trustworthy exchanges where neither computer nor human laws have been much help in stopping corruption or recovering lost funds. But even improving those services won’t make those blockchains more useful, only more tradeable.

Proof of Stake and decentralization

Unbounded also takes aim at blockchain projects that opted for a Proof-of-Stake (PoS) processing model, inspired in part by the notion that Proof-of-Work (PoW) is unsound. Misunderstandings and environmental hysteria have both added fuel to this fire in the mainstream press.

Proof-of-Work uses a lot of energy. Hashing blocks takes energy. This is a major source of marginal cost in Bitcoin maintenance or transaction processing. Many people in crypto consider this to be wasteful. However, what is considered waste by many in the crypto consensus is actually an extremely important signalling function. Hashing is equivalent to sending a signal of investment in the system.

The PoW/PoS debate is one major cause of instability for the Ethereum protocol, which has a stated plan to shift its entire network to a PoS model… at some stage. Unbounded explains some of the perverse economic incentives and consequences PoS contains, and why it does little to address trust and security.

The book also looks at “decentralization,” which has become, er, central to blockchain dogma. BTC in particular has been stunted by its adherence to the goal, which Unbounded argues isn’t even realistic under status quo conditions. The “extra-legal” status and “censorship resistance” this decentralization supposedly offers—even if true—would make BTC unappealing to users and investors on a large scale. What then, is its value? None, it seems.

The case for BSV

So why invest in BSV then, itself a contrarian (to the others) blockchain project that must endure the combined negativity of mainstream finance/technology and the digital asset industry to make its case?

In its conclusion, Unbounded Capital needed to explain how and why BSV is different to all others. After all, the entire industry (including BSV) could be suffering from the collective delusion that blockchains are a desirable or necessary technology at all.

“Bitcoin is often thought of as a digital currency. While this is true, it is inseparable from the fact that Bitcoin is also a revolutionary database.”

Unshackling oneself from the above-mentioned assumptions will open eyes. And once they’re gone, the possibilities Bitcoin BSV offers become more apparent. Finding better, more secure ways to process data may not provide sexy story ideas to the mainstream media, but we need something that works better than the current internet. Something more efficient, economically-incentivized, more permanent, and with a built-in ability to transact. Oh, and it must scale to global proportions, and not raise the ire of governments or business interests who do indeed have the power to limit its use no matter what technologists may promise.

In BSV, great lengths are being made to codify the precise nature of the rules and a culture is being set to maintain these rules. The result is that entrepreneurs who grew frustrated with the shifting landscapes of BTC, BCH, and Ethereum have been flocking to BSV for both the additional scale and the certainty that comes with well-defined, unchanging rules

Unbounded Capital describes the increasing level of development activity on BSV as “extremely exciting”, especially given that Bitcoin’s stable “Genesis” protocol upgrade only went live in early 2020. Put simply, more development activity means more use-cases, more users, and thus more venture opportunity. Whether or not you believe Dr. Craig Wright invented Bitcoin or not is irrelevant.

The firm deliberately timed its book release to coincide with the BTC block subsidy halving. This investment event, with its motives and price moves (based on both hashrates and emotion) more obvious to the mainstream, gives everyone the opportunity to ponder whether BTC can survive long-term, and if so, attempt to explain why. Unbounded has now argued why it can’t—and shown the industry to the lifeboats.

Download Unbounded Capital’s book, “Why Multicoin Capital and the Crypto Consensus are Wrong” here.

New to Bitcoin? Check out CoinGeek’s Bitcoin for Beginners section, the ultimate resource guide to learn more about Bitcoin—as originally envisioned by Satoshi Nakamoto—and blockchain.