Tim Draper在与CoinGeek的Kurt Wuckert Jr的聊天中了解到代币化

BTC投资者Tim Draper不相信任何自称是中本聪的人,可能是因为大多数与这一说法有关联的人会说Draper又支持错了人。

上个月,CoinGeek的首席比特币历史学家Kurt Wuckert Jr.参加了在迈阿密举行的BTC激光眼奇幻营(laser-eyed fantasy camp)。这次旅行的亮点显然是他通过Omniscape应用程序、NFT技术以及BSV区块链从当地餐馆兑换的免费玉米饼和披萨

然而,Wuckert还进行了一次即兴的街头采访,采访对象正是第三代风险投资家兼著名的HODLer(长期持有论者)Tim Draper,他通过美国政府拍卖从非法毒品市场Silk Road缴获代币这个契机,购买了他的第一批BTC藏品。

Wuckert首先问Draper是什么鼓励他进入BTC领域, Draper表示他一直对数字货币感兴趣,并从它们作为在线视频游戏中的可转移的虚拟商品的用途中获得了灵感。这使得Draper进入BTC领域,他说BTC提供了一个“全球性的、公开且透明的普遍机会”。

Wuckert认为Draper指的是代币化,并询问Draper是否知道比特币具有与生俱来的代币化能力,直到BTC Core团队为了确保其专有的第2层解决方案(如闪电网络)的成功而抹去了这一功能。Draper表示对这段历史一无所知,然后无意中开始了一场具有讽刺意味的演讲,称比特币成为了“伟大的价值储存手段”,从而证实了Wuckert所指出的代币化这一能力被抹去的事实。

Draper用阿根廷出了名的不稳定的经济来强调BTC可以提供的“对系统的信任”,但Wuckert指出,阿根廷的“一便士大小的经济”意味着普通阿根廷人负担不起在主要的BTC区块链上开通或关闭一个通道的费用,该通道将使得他们可以访问闪电网络。

Draper随后声称,对闪电网络友好的开放节点处理器(Draper是该处理器的早期投资者)缓解了这一问题,Wuckert就这一回答问道,如果这种“解决方案”不能重新获得Draper声称的BTC固有的对第三方的信任需求该怎么办。

有些荒谬的是,Draper认为,这种重新依赖受信任的第三方的情况实际上建立了对系统的信任。老实说,这就像Spinal Tap中的场景,导演Marty Dibergi一直在问为什么乐队不能把他们的扩音器的声音调得更大一点,对此,迷糊的Nigel只能考虑重复一遍“但是已经调到11了。”

Wuckert最后询问Draper是否认为BCH和BSV等大区块协议有任何价值。Draper表示,BCH“有点意思”,因为它“非常容易被转移”。但当Wuckert指出BCH每秒只能处理大约200笔交易(TPS),而BSV每秒可以处理5万笔交易时,Draper紧张地一笑,开始寻找托辞,喃喃自语说“是的,但我不相信任何自称是中本聪的人。”

Draper对BSV卓越技术的认可,加上他对比特币白皮书作者Craig Wright博士的明显蔑视,生动地说明了即使是第三代风投家也可能会被情绪左右他们的判断。但这并不是Draper第一次因自负而摔跟头,即使Draper拒绝承认。

Draper是前硅谷宠儿Theranos的早期投资者,该公司声称在血液检测技术方面取得了巨大进步。这些声明最终被揭露纯属虚构,这导致了公司倒闭,而前首席执行官Elizabeth Holmes受到了诈骗罪指控。然而,在欺诈被曝光后的很长一段时间,Draper称Holmes是被“胁迫屈服”,他仍将“支持她担任一家新公司的首席科学官”。

Draper不断为Holmes辩护,称她是“伟大的偶像”,这可能掩盖了他内心的痛苦,因为他被一个明显的行骗高手彻底地(且公开地)欺骗了。如果是这样,这就可以解释他为什么不愿意冒险并且承认Wright在比特币技术的创造中所起的作用。Draper声称,他非常尊重比特币技术。

话说回来,Draper最初对Theranos的投资仅为50万美元,而他最初以1900万美元购买的BTC现在的价值比2014年时要高得多。如果Wright是中本聪,BSV是对于白皮书中的愿景的真实体现,那么Draper成堆的BTC价值将相当于Holmes的一个无用的血箱。

Blockstream和Lightning Labs在重压下(和/或被“胁迫屈服”)崩溃后,听听Draper对Greg Maxwell和Adam Back的事后称赞会很有趣。Draper或许信任这个系统,但最终他对目前控制这个系统的个人的错误信任可能会证明他的失败。

202024日的“创世”协议升级是比特币历史上的一大里程碑,将见证BSV最大程度地回归到中本聪原先设想的协议。请访问“创世”硬分叉页面以了解更多信息。

要直接在您的收件箱接获CoinGeek.com最新消息,CoinGeek会议特别优惠以及其他内部信息,请加入我们的邮件列表

[10]
[10]
[id^="_form"]
[id^="_form"]
[id$="_submit"]
[id$="_submit"]
[^;]
[^;]
['on' + event]
['on' + event]
[?&]
[?&]
[^&#]
[^&#]
[(d+)]
[(d+)]
[i]
[i]
[results[1]]
[results[1]]
[elem.name]
[elem.name]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-']
[+_a-z0-9-']
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z]
[a-z]
[el.name]
[el.name]
[10]
[10]
[id^="_form"]
[id^="_form"]
[id$="_submit"]
[id$="_submit"]
[^;]
[^;]
['on' + event]
['on' + event]
[?&]
[?&]
[^&#]
[^&#]
[(d+)]
[(d+)]
[i]
[i]
[results[1]]
[results[1]]
[elem.name]
[elem.name]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-']
[+_a-z0-9-']
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z]
[a-z]
[el.name]
[el.name]

Tim Draper learns about tokenization in chat with CoinGeek’s Kurt Wuckert Jr

Tim Draper learns about tokenization in chat with CoinGeek’s Kurt Wuckert Jr

BTC investor Tim Draper doesn’t trust anyone who claims to be Satoshi Nakamoto, likely because the person most publicly associated with that claim would say Draper is backing the wrong horse … again.

Last month, CoinGeek’s Chief Bitcoin Historian Kurt Wuckert Jr. attended the BTC laser-eyed fantasy camp in Miami. The clear highlight of this trip was the free tacos and pizza slices he redeemed from local restaurants through the combination of the Omniscape app, NFT technology and the BSV blockchain.

However, Wuckert also grabbed an impromptu man-on-the-street interview with none other than Tim Draper, third-generation venture capitalist and noted HODLer, who purchased his first cache of BTC via the U.S. government’s auction of the tokens seized from illegal drug marketplace Silk Road. 

Wuckert began by asking what inspired Draper to get into BTC, leading Draper to claim that he was always interested in digital currencies and drew inspiration from their use as transferrable virtual goods in online video games. That led Draper to BTC, which he said offered a “universal opportunity that could be global, open and transparent.”

Wuckert suggested that Draper was referencing tokenization and asked if Draper knew that Bitcoin had an innate ability for tokenization until the BTC Core camp neutered this functionality in order to ensure success of their proprietary Layer 2 solutions, such as the Lightning Network. Draper expressed ignorance of this slice of history, then began an unintentionally ironic speech about Bitcoin becoming a “great store of value,” thereby confirming the very functional gelding Wuckert was referencing.

Draper used Argentina’s notoriously unstable economy to underscore the “trust in the system” that BTC can offer, but Wuckert noted that Argentina’s “penny-sized economy” means the average Argentinian can’t afford to pay the fees to open or close a channel on the main BTC blockchain that would allow them to access Lightning.

Draper then claimed that the Lightning-friendly Open Node processor (in which Draper was an early investor) alleviates this problem, leading Wuckert to ask if that ‘solution’ doesn’t reintroduce the need for trust in a third party that Draper claimed was inherent in BTC.

Somewhat nonsensically, Draper argued that this return to relying on a trusted third-party actually builds trust in the system. Honestly, it resembled that Spinal Tap scene where director Marty Dibergi keeps asking why the band simply doesn’t make their amps louder, to which a befuddled Nigel can only think to repeat ‘but these go to 11.’

Wuckert closed by asking if Draper saw any value in big-block protocols such as BCH and BSV. Draper said BCH is “kind of interesting,” due to it being “very easy to move around.” But when Wuckert pointed out that BCH is only capable of around 200 transactions per second (TPS) while BSV can handle 50k TPS on chain, Draper chuckled nervously and began looking for the exit, mumbling “yeah, but I don’t trust anyone who says they’re Satoshi.” 

Draper’s acknowledgement of BSV’s superior technology, coupled with his apparent disdain for Bitcoin white paper author Dr. Craig Wright, is a vivid illustration of how even third-generation VCs can let emotions cloud their judgment. But this wouldn’t be the first time that pride led to a Draper fall, even if Draper refuses to admit it.

Draper was an early investor in Theranos, the former Silicon Valley darling that claimed to have made dramatic advances in blood testing technology. These claims were ultimately exposed as pure fiction, resulting in the company’s collapse and federal fraud charges against former CEO Elizabeth Holmes. Yet long after the fraud was exposed, Draper claimed Holmes had been “bullied into submission” and he would still “back her as chief science officer” of a new firm. 

It’s possible that Draper’s ongoing defense of Holmes as “a great icon” may mask inner pain at having been so thoroughly (and publicly) duped by an apparent con artist. If so, it could explain his unwillingness to take a risk and acknowledge Wright’s role in the creation of the Bitcoin technology Draper professes to hold in such high esteem.

Then again, Draper’s original investment in Theranos was a mere $500,000, while his original $19 million BTC buy is now worth considerably more than it was in 2014. If Wright is Satoshi, and BSV is the true manifestation of the white paper’s vision, then Draper’s stacks of BTC will be worth about as much as one of Holmes’ boondoggle blood boxes.

It will be interesting to hear Draper’s post-mortem praises of Greg Maxwell and Adam Back after Blockstream and Lightning Labs collapse under their own weight (and/or be ‘bullied into submission’). Draper may trust the system, but his misplaced trust in the individuals currently controlling that system may ultimately prove his undoing.

New to Bitcoin? Check out CoinGeek’s Bitcoin for Beginners section, the ultimate resource guide to learn more about Bitcoin—as originally envisioned by Satoshi Nakamoto—and blockchain.

[id^="_form"]
[id^="_form"]
[id$="_submit"]
[id$="_submit"]
[^;]
[^;]
[?&]
[?&]
[^&#]
[^&#]
[(d+)]
[(d+)]
[elem.name]
[elem.name]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-']
[+_a-z0-9-']
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z]
[a-z]
[el.name]
[el.name]
[id^="_form"]
[id^="_form"]
[id$="_submit"]
[id$="_submit"]
[^;]
[^;]
[?&]
[?&]
[^&#]
[^&#]
[(d+)]
[(d+)]
[elem.name]
[elem.name]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-']
[+_a-z0-9-']
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z]
[a-z]
[el.name]
[el.name]