《比特币理论》:关于工作量证明与网络的白皮书

《比特币理论》:关于工作量证明与网络的白皮书

比特币系统达到全球化的规模时,它的经济会发生什么变化?工作量证明是能源的高效还是低效利用方式?为什么Adam Back是比特币白皮书中唯一被引用名字的人?比特币创造者Craig S. Wright博士和Fabriik的Ryan X. Charles在最新一期的“《比特币理论》——白皮书”中回答了所有这些问题以及更多的问题。

是的……关于Adam Back

由于谈话的大部分内容,都涉及比特币用于处理交易的工作量证明系统,因此本集中的许多话题是在先前讨论过的话题基础上进行了延伸——尤其是在上周的节目中讨论过的话题,如果你还没有观看它的话可以回顾一下。

“……我们将需要一个类似于Adam Back的HashCash的工作量证明系统,而不是报纸或Usenet(译者注:某种信息分发网络)上的帖子。”

Charles问,为什么白皮书中特别提到了Adam Back的工作,而这个领域历史中的其他人物都没有被提及。答案其实很简单——Back(他目前是BTC Core的支持者Blockstream的负责人,同时也是Wright博士和比特币BSV的激烈抨击者)是这些年来Wright联系之前的研究人员时,唯一一个做出回应的人,尽管Back有点怀疑像比特币这样的事物是否真的行得通。

Adam Back在1997年提出了Hashcash,并在2002年发表了一篇关于它的论文。尽管名称如此,但它并不是一种加密货币,而是一种打击互联网上垃圾流量的方式。Wright博士解释说,它在比特币中的实施与原来的完全不同。他说,Hashcash要求每个用户生成自己的工作量证明。Wright博士将比特币描述为一个系统,在这个系统中,通过将这些工作交给“矿工”(处理器),由处理器来处理工作,而用户则“购买”这些工作。

工作量证明常常因“效率低下”和 “浪费能源”而受到批评,因为大多数用于寻找区块的耗能的处理器并没有产生任何东西(同时只有其中一个能找到区块并获得手续费/区块奖励)。

但等等——这都是非常主观的。如果只有一台机器处理了所有的区块,比特币系统就无法正常运行,所以那些其他机器实际上是有所贡献的。而且正如Charles所指出的那样,处理/挖矿也展示着“严肃性证明”(上周讨论过的一个话题)。处理商对其运行所做出的投资代表了他们的可信度和对正确(合法)执行任务的投入。

作为工作量证明的孔雀尾巴

在追求一个目标上花费的时间和精力是“浪费”还是“有价值”也是主观的,这取决于您对该目标的重视程度。我们可能有数十亿个例子可以引用,但Wright博士更喜欢关于孔雀尾巴的例子:它的尾巴在运动和生存意义上是低效的,实际上对它本身不利——但它也很漂亮,有助于吸引配偶(从而使该物种得以延续),并向其他人“证明 ”这只鸟是如此的阳刚,尽管有这种障碍,它仍然可以生存。

“如果孔雀的尾巴较小,它们的效率会更高。但它们就不是孔雀了,而是火鸡。”

这就引发了一场讨论,一旦比特币在未来大规模发展,处理商将如何协调和分配它们的能源使用情况。随着交易数量的增加,处理商发现自己要做的事情远不止是通过哈希算法来查找区块,这实际上改变了比特币的经济(在处理商和能源供应商方面,而不是比特币的激励机制本身)。

这也(可能不可避免地)导致了与POW的主要“竞争对手”权益证明(或POS)的比较。Wright博士说,与POW不同的是,POS并不表明谁在网络中进行了投资,因此降低了网络对其善意的信任。如果现有的强者行为不当,也很难将其赶走,而且POS减少了新的竞争者进入挖矿行业的机会。这是一个非入门者难以理解的话题,事实上,即使对大多数资深的比特币玩家来说,也需要像Wright博士这样的人来解释才能明白。

对话还涉及经济学中的人类行为和伦理学,以及这方面的事情是如何经常被忽视的——为了证明这一点,Wright博士再次推翻了George Akerlof的经典 “柠檬市场 ”理论。

请观看最新一集,了解更多关于这一切的内容,为什么BTC Core团队的开发者类似于Orwell《动物农场》中的猪,以及在未来的某个时刻,Blockstream和其他中本聪的反对者可能会有什么后果。《比特币理论》既有趣味性,又有教育意义,而且一如既往,保证您看完后会获得比以前更深刻的关于比特币及其领域的理解。

要观看《比特币理论》的前几集,请在此处订阅《比特币理论》YouTube频道

202024日的“创世”协议升级是比特币历史上的一大里程碑,将见证BSV最大程度地回归到中本聪原先设想的协议。请访问“创世”硬分叉页面以了解更多信息。

要直接在您的收件箱接获CoinGeek.com最新消息,CoinGeek会议特别优惠以及其他内部信息,请加入我们的邮件列表

[id^="_form"]
[id^="_form"]
[id$="_submit"]
[id$="_submit"]
[^;]
[^;]
[?&]
[?&]
[^&#]
[^&#]
[(d+)]
[(d+)]
[elem.name]
[elem.name]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-']
[+_a-z0-9-']
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z]
[a-z]
[el.name]
[el.name]
[id^="_form"]
[id^="_form"]
[id$="_submit"]
[id$="_submit"]
[^;]
[^;]
[?&]
[?&]
[^&#]
[^&#]
[(d+)]
[(d+)]
[elem.name]
[elem.name]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-']
[+_a-z0-9-']
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z]
[a-z]
[el.name]
[el.name]

Theory of Bitcoin: The White Paper on proof of work and the network

Theory of Bitcoin: The White Paper on proof of work and the network

What happens to Bitcoin‘s economics when it hits global scale? Is proof of work an efficient or inefficient use of energy? Why is Adam Back the only individual quoted by name in the Bitcoin White Paper? Bitcoin creator Dr. Craig S. Wright and Fabriik’s Ryan X. Charles answer all those questions and a lot more in this latest episode of “Theory of Bitcoin – The White Paper.”

Yes… about Adam Back

Since a large part of the conversation concerns Bitcoin’s proof of work system for processing transactions, many of the topics in this episode expand on those covered previously—especially in last week’s episode, if you haven’t caught it yet.

“… we will need a proof of work system similar to Adam Back’s HashCash, rather than newspapers or Usenet posts.”

Charles asks why Adam Back’s work is mentioned so specifically in the white paper, since no other figure from the history of this field gets a mention. The answer is actually quite mundane—Back (who now heads BTC Core backers Blockstream and is a fierce critic of both Dr. Wright and Bitcoin BSV) was simply the only person who responded all those years ago when Wright contacted previous researchers, allbeit with some skepticism that something like Bitcoin could actually work.

Adam Back proposed Hashcash in 1997 and published a paper on it in 2002. Despite the name, it was not a cryptocurrency but a method to combat spam traffic on the Internet. Dr. Wright explains that its implementation in Bitcoin is quite different to the original. Hashcash, he says, required each user to generate their own proof of work. By putting that work in the hands of “miners” (processors), He describes Bitcoin instead as a system where processors do the work and users “purchase” it.

Proof of work often receives criticism for being “inefficient” and a “waste of energy,” since most of the energy processing machines use to find blocks doesn’t produce anything (only one of them finds the block and receives the fees/block coin base).

But wait—this is all very subjective. Bitcoin wouldn’t work if only one machine processed all the blocks, so those other machines are actually contributing something. And as Charles points out, processing/mining also signals “proof of seriousness” (a topic covered last week). A processor’s investment in their operation represents their trustworthiness and dedication to performing their task correctly (and legally).

Peacocks’ tails as proof of work

Whether time and energy spent pursuing an objective is “wasted” or well-spent is also subjective, depending on how much importance you place on that goal. There are probably billions of examples we could use, but Dr. Wright prefers the one about the peacock’s tail: it’s inefficient in the movement and survival sense, and actually a handicap to its owner—but it’s also pretty, helps to attract a mate (thus continuing the species) and “proves” to others that the bird is so virile he can survive despite such a hindrance.

“If peacocks had smaller tails they’d be more efficient. But they wouldn’t be peacocks, they’d be turkeys.”

This leads to a discussion of how processors might coordinate and allocate their energy usage in the future, once Bitcoin hits a massive scale. This actually alters Bitcoin’s economics (on the processor and energy supplier side, not Bitcoin’s incentives themselves) as transactions grow in number and processors find themselves doing much more than simply hashing to find blocks.

It also (perhaps inevitably) leads to comparisons with POW’s main “rival,” proof of stake (or POS). Unlike POW, Dr. Wright says, POS does not signal who has invested in the network, therefore reducing trust in their good intentions. It’s also harder to dislodge incumbent power players if they’re not acting properly, and provides less chance for new players to enter the processing industry. This is a topic that’s hard for the non-initiated to understand, and indeed it takes someone like Dr. Wright to explain it even to most veteran Bitcoiners.

The conversation also touches on human behavior and ethics in economics, and how this side of things tends to get ignored—to demonstrate, Dr. Wright once again dismantles George Akerlof’s classic “market for lemons” theory.

Watch the latest episode to hear more about all this, why BTC Core developers are similar to the pigs in Orwell’s “Animal Farm,” and what the consequences for Blockstream and other Satoshi Nakamoto claimants might be at some future point. “Theory of Bitcoin” is as entertaining as it is educational, and as always, you’re guaranteed to come away with a deeper understanding of Bitcoin and its universe than you had before.

To watch previous episodes of the Theory of Bitcoin, subscribe to the Theory of Bitcoin YouTube channel here.

New to Bitcoin? Check out CoinGeek’s Bitcoin for Beginners section, the ultimate resource guide to learn more about Bitcoin—as originally envisioned by Satoshi Nakamoto—and blockchain.

[id^="_form"]
[id^="_form"]
[id$="_submit"]
[id$="_submit"]
[^;]
[^;]
[?&]
[?&]
[^&#]
[^&#]
[(d+)]
[(d+)]
[elem.name]
[elem.name]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-']
[+_a-z0-9-']
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z]
[a-z]
[el.name]
[el.name]
[id^="_form"]
[id^="_form"]
[id$="_submit"]
[id$="_submit"]
[^;]
[^;]
[?&]
[?&]
[^&#]
[^&#]
[(d+)]
[(d+)]
[elem.name]
[elem.name]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-']
[+_a-z0-9-']
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z]
[a-z]
[el.name]
[el.name]