数字资产交易所的危境

介绍

根据彭博社的一则报道,美国商品期货交易委员会(CFTC)正在对币安(Binance Holdings Ltd.)进行调查 ,因币安允许美国居民使用了某些服务。此前,CFTC以违反多项监管规定为由对BitMEX采取了行动,Coinbase Global Inc.最近披露了CFTC进行的一项广泛调查。

对于那些认为数字资产在政府监管之外运作的人来说,美国扩大对数字资产参与者的攻势应当是一个明确的信号,即现存的监管结构同样适用于数字资产生态系统。

为此,本文将探讨关于危及当今数字资产交易所的法律主题的制定。令人惊讶的是, 在CFTC当前调查的范围之外,该领域中的一些重要的交易所的名字,如币安、Kraken以及Coinbase,都面临着多个法律风险类别。不出意料的是,这一群体中的更小的团体,币安和Kraken(连同ShapeShift一起)富有争议性地参与了一场针对BSV的下架运动(BSV是一种公认的数字资产,而不是证券)这是因为交易所及相关人员不赞同个人定位以及特定个体的立场,而这些交易所仍继续上线XRP,XRP是一项由美国证券交易委员(SEC)会认定的数字资产,它是一种证券,还有ETH,它是一项由我先前概述为符合证券的特征的数字资产。

SEC所述,“联邦证券法基于一个简单且直截了当的概念:每个人都应当被公平对待,每个人都可以获取有关投资的某些特定事实。”

因此,币安、Kraken和ShapeShift的行为有争议地违反了此原则以及美国证券法,如下文所述。

我将在下文做出概述, 如果数字资产交易所希望继续为美国市场服务而不是被关闭,那么对于他们来说,明智的做法是更加仔细地去审查:

  • 他们所上市或退市的代币;
  • 他们向用户提供的程序,例如在以太坊2.0网络中质押ETH;以及
  • 例如建立内部合规制度以确保对反洗钱(AML)法规的遵守。

交易所在上线证券代币方面的法律责任

在过去的几年里,SEC对数家代币发行机构提起了民事诉讼,指控它们违反了美国证券法。在最近两起涉及与初始代币发行无关的代币的案件中,法院裁定SEC胜诉(参见S.E.C.诉Kik Interactive,Inc.案以及S.E.C.诉Telegram Group)。

但是,这些诉讼案件并没有提出这样一个问题,即在美国证券法规定的范畴内,交易所是否会面临上市及促进数字资产交易方面的责任,以及会在多大程度上面临责任。

然而,最近SEC提起了诉讼,改变了这一状况。在SEC诉Ripple Labs案中,SEC提起了一桩诉讼,指控Ripple Labs(XRP数字代币的发行机构)违反了证券法。SEC称,Ripple从2013年至今持续提供这种代币的行为构成了一系列未经注册的证券交易。长期以来,XRP已经在各种主要的数字资产交易所上线,包括币安、Coinbase、Kraken、ShapeShift、Bitfinex以及OKCoin。在这一诉讼被提起之后,尽管一些交易所已经宣布打算对美国客户暂停XRP的交易,但是其他交易所仍然忽略了SEC提起的诉讼,继续让XRP上线。

这些事态发展引发了一个问题,即那些交易所是否已经将XRP上线,且为XRP的交易提供了便利——不管它们后来是否已将XRP退市——不管它们是否已经根据美国证券法承担了相应的责任。该诉讼还引发了这样一个问题,即在SEC对Ripple提起诉讼之后,这些没有选择让它们退市的交易所是否面临着更大的风险暴露基差。

如果法院赞同XRP的持续分销有资格(被认定为)一系列的证券交易,那么美国证券法的几项条款可能会增大那些促进了XRP的购买、销售和交易的交易所的风险敞口。这些条款包括:

  • 销售未经注册证券的责任——根据修订后的《美国1933年证券法》(“证券法”)第5条,若一个交易所(无论注册与否)上市未经注册的证券并允许其(相关)交易,则该交易所将会承担责任,该法案禁止通过州际贸易销售未经注册的证券。
  • 进行未经注册证券交易的责任——根据修订后的《美国1934年证券交易法》(“交易法”)第5条,禁止在美国国境内任何经营全部或是大部分业务的交易所上市任何证券——无论(他们上市的证券经)注册与否——(这一禁令的前提条件是)该交易所没有在SEC注册为国家证券交易所。
  • 未经注册的经纪人/经销商的责任——《交易法》的第15条a项规定,任何经纪人或经销商通过州际贸易的方式来促进证券交易的行为是非法的,除非此经纪人或经销商已在SEC注册。
  • 协助及教唆(他人违反禁令)的责任——《证券法》规定,若有证据表明交易所实质上明知故犯或不顾后果地协助未经注册证券的发行者,则该行为违反了《证券法》的第5条,各方将承担协助及教唆(他人违反禁令)的责任。

前三项条款为严格责任——即无需提供证据证明交易所明知故犯或不顾后果地违反了法律——交易所上市未经注册的证券或为其交易提供便利。相比之下,若SEC要确立这些交易所的协助及教唆(他人违反禁令)的责任,那么SEC将需要证明这些交易所是故意这么做的。因此,根据前三项条款,这些已经上线了XRP的交易所将担责,不论它们是否知道或明白XRP方面的交易会被作为证券交易。同样,无论它们是否在SEC提起诉讼后选择退市(XRP),它们都可能要担责,因为没有要求规定在事情曝光之前,它们必须被公开告知这些交易的非法性质。然而,那些SEC提起诉讼之后继续让XRP上线的交易所可能会面临更高的处罚,因为它们的行为可能会被视为无视证券法的鲁莽行为,这将使这些交易所面临的单笔交易罚款大幅提高。

根据美国证券法,每一个上线了XRP的交易所——无论它们之后是否选择使XRP退市——它们都将面临着严峻的风险敞口。此外,那些面对着SEC(发布的)长达71页的诉状(该诉状详细阐述了Ripple的发行如何违反了美国证券法),却仍然拒绝让Ripple退市的交易所可能会面临更大的潜在风险敞口。

此外,风险敞口不仅限于(交易所)所作出的上线XRP的决定,还牵涉到那些交易所平台上所上线的所有类似代币。正如我在先前的文章中所谈论过的,如果我们认可Hinman难题,并且假设ETH不再被归类为证券(我认为这是有争议的),那么我们就有充分的理由得出结论,以太坊2.0将其变回了证券。如果说(针对)Ripple的起诉清楚地表明了什么,那就是SEC不会允许交易所为违反美国证券法的行为提供便利。因此,如果数字交易所希望在不被关闭的情况下继续服务于美国市场,那么它们最好明智地在SEC注册,或对其上线的代币进行更仔细的审查,以确保其上线的代币不会牵涉到美国证券法。

依据豪威测试的以太坊2.0数字资产交换质押程序

最近,以太坊的创建者宣布了新一代以太坊网络的推出,即以太坊2.0。此网络将与现存的以太坊网络(又称“以太坊主网”)同时运行。为了推出以太坊2.0,创建者要求设置一定的用户门槛,即每名用户至少质押32枚ETH至以太坊2.0网络,并且用户还要在网络上起到验证器的作用。作为交换,以太坊基金会承诺(会推出)针对活跃验证者的奖励计划。

在此公告刚刚发布之后,不止一家主要的数字资产交易平台向它们的用户提供了通过它们的交易平台质押ETH的机会。目前,我只知道一家交易所Kraken正在向美国用户提供质押程序,Coinbase也向美国居民提供了ETH质押候补名单。交易所向它们的用户提供了一个机会,即用户需要为验证器提供资金而质押的ETH可以少于32枚,(交易所)将这些用户的资产与其他用户的质押资产相结合,以便能够作为一个集体获得验证器的报酬。

这些进展引发了一个问题,即根据美国法律,这些程序是否相当于提供或出售证券。

这些程序有几个方面可能会导致SEC或法院得出结论,即整个过程构成了豪威测试中的投资合同,因此它们(有资格)被作为证券,必须进行注册。

关于豪威测试的第一个要素,法院很可能发现,通过这些程序将ETH质押至以太坊2.0网络的交易所用户已经通过这些平台进行了投资。

关于豪威测试的第二个要素,(人们所打造的)一个共同的企业,法院可能会发现,对于那些质押了少于32枚ETH的用户,这些平台参与了资金汇集,这将增强横向共同性,因为这些交易所只可以通过向以太坊2.0网络质押正好32枚ETH作为验证器进行参与。SEC也许能够合理地建立更严格的垂直共同性,使交易所在以太坊2.0网络上质押大量自身持有的ETH,从而激励它们去支持(该项)资产的价值。

关于第三个要素,一个合理的利润预期,有几个因素可以支撑这样的发现,即通过这些交易所质押ETH的用户有对于利润的预期。这些交易所通常每年为其客户提供5-20%的奖励。因此,通过这些交易所向以太坊2.0网络质押ETH的用户将通过他们的验证器报酬合理地预期利润。

最后,SEC以及法院很可能会发现第四个要素同样也被满足。该要素对通过这些平台质押ETH的用户进行询问,问他们是否基于其他人对于创业或管理的努力而对利润有合理预期。在评估这一要素时,法院可能会考虑交易所在这些质押程序中所扮演的角色。如果要在以太坊2.0网络上运行验证器节点,这需要硬件和财力来支撑节点运行成本。

这些交易所已经提供了这些资源,以用户的身份将自己作为验证器发布在网络上,以及在某些情况下,如果用户闲置、从事恶意行为或在他们将ETH质押于以太坊2.0网络时验证失败,那么他们将承担在链上被罚款以及(资产)被没收的风险,(因为)在这些情况下,交易所对此类处罚负有责任。因此,法院可能会合理地发现,获得以太坊2.0验证器可得的验证器报酬的机会在很大程度上取决于这些交易所在以下方面所作出的努力,以(i)提供运行节点所需的资源和硬件,并(ii)确保验证器不会闲置、验证失败或从事可能导致质押于新网络上的ETH被没收的恶意行为。

虽然这个问题是完全新颖的,但就这些程序允许美国用户参与的程度而言,上述事实将合理地支持SEC与联邦法院的结论,即这些程序构成了豪威测试中的投资合同。

同样,鉴于美国对数字资产生态系统不断扩大的攻势,很明显,这些交易所不会因为助长违反美国证券法的行为获得批准。

《2020年反洗钱法》与数字资产

颁布于2021年的《国防授权法案》的内容包括《2020年反洗钱法》(AMLA)。AMLA对于美国的反洗钱法来说,是自《1970年银行保密法》(BSA)颁布以来的最具重要性的改变。BSA旨在预防并侦查出洗钱及恐怖主义融资(等犯罪活动)。此外,AMLA力求在此基础之上使BSA现代化、建立统一的报告制度、将基于风险的方法编入反洗钱(AML)的法规中,并且与本文最为相关的是,反洗钱法将被应用于数字资产业务当中。

此外,《2020年反洗钱法》(AMLA)加大了对于违反BSA的刑事与民事处罚,大大扩展了司法部(DOJ)可获得的传票权限,并允许DOJ向任何涉嫌因违反BSA、美国刑法或民事没收法规而处于调查中的外国银行提供传票,并为检举人举报违规行为建立了额外的激励机制,即在处罚金额超过100万美元的情况下,将激励金额大幅提升至政府所收取的总金额的30%。

综上所述,对于为美国市场服务的交易所来说,明智的做法是采取更为显著的合规制度,以确保它们没有违反反洗钱法。 根据Chainalysis所撰写的《2021年加密犯罪报告》,交易所是非法资金的主要目的地,并且在Chainalysis研究涉及的三年里,接受非法资金最多的两项服务没有发生变化。尽管在2021年的报告中没有点名指出,但在Chainalysis所撰写的《2020年加密犯罪报告》中,收到非法BTC最多的交易所是币安。这对监管机构来说应该是一个危险信号,因为币安是最大的运营中的交易所,并且币安可能受到本节强调的反洗钱规定的约束。

结论

为了使数字资产空间蓬勃发展,需要有合规的交易所保护投资者、促进资本的获取以及支持公平有序且高效的市场。

关于作者

Johnny Jaswal是Jaswal Institute的总经理兼总法律顾问,负责提供监管、法律、政府关系、战略及相关投资银行的咨询服务。他在监管事务、兼并、收购、资产剥离和融资活动这些方面有着丰富的咨询经验。

Johnny代表着全球区块链及数字资产公司,并且他负责着领先的国际咨询服务。除了就数字资产立法向政府和监管机构提供建议之外,Johnny还制定/执行了多项业务的全球并购,融资,监管及税收策略。

在Johnny创立他的咨询公司之前,Johnny是TMX Group的公司发展及战略团队的高级管理层成员,该公司拥有包括多伦多证券交易所在内的金融与技术资产的投资组合。Johnny 也是道明证券(TD Securities)的一名投资银行家,道明证券是在加拿大排名处于第一梯队的投资银行。他还是加拿大两家顶级律师事务所Blake, Cassels & Graydon LLP和Goodmans LLP的商业律师,同时他也是多个领域的工程师。

Johnny 拥有一个舒立克商学院(Schulich School of Business)的工商管理硕士学位、一个奥斯古德霍尔法学院(Osgoode Hall Law School)的法律博士学位以及一个瑞尔森大学(Ryerson University)电机工程专业的工程学士学位,并且他已获准加入安大略律师协会。

本文仅供参考之用,并且不构成、也不打算构成法律意见。任何人或个体都不能依靠这篇文章,从Johnny Jaswal/Jaswal Institute那里获得法律或其他建议。这篇文章只就到撰写日期为止的情况发表看法。未来的事实变化或发展,以及未来的法庭案件或监管指导,都可能会影响到文章中提出的分析或结论。Johnny Jaswal/Jaswal Institute 没有任何义务更新文章,以反映未来事件或事实的变化,或出于其他任何原因更新文章。

202024日的“创世”协议升级是比特币历史上的一大里程碑,将见证BSV最大程度地回归到中本聪原先设想的协议。请访问“创世”硬分叉页面以了解更多信息。

要直接在您的收件箱接获CoinGeek.com最新消息,CoinGeek会议特别优惠以及其他内部信息,请加入我们的邮件列表

[10]
[10]
[id^="_form"]
[id^="_form"]
[id$="_submit"]
[id$="_submit"]
[^;]
[^;]
['on' + event]
['on' + event]
[?&]
[?&]
[^&#]
[^&#]
[(d+)]
[(d+)]
[i]
[i]
[results[1]]
[results[1]]
[elem.name]
[elem.name]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-']
[+_a-z0-9-']
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z]
[a-z]
[el.name]
[el.name]
[10]
[10]
[id^="_form"]
[id^="_form"]
[id$="_submit"]
[id$="_submit"]
[^;]
[^;]
['on' + event]
['on' + event]
[?&]
[?&]
[^&#]
[^&#]
[(d+)]
[(d+)]
[i]
[i]
[results[1]]
[results[1]]
[elem.name]
[elem.name]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-']
[+_a-z0-9-']
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z]
[a-z]
[el.name]
[el.name]

The endangered state of digital asset exchanges

The endangered state of digital asset exchanges

Introduction

According to a Bloomberg report, the Commodity Futures Trading Commission (CFTC) is investigating Binance Holdings Ltd. for permitting U.S. residents to access certain services. This follows the CFTC’s action against BitMEX for violating multiple regulations and Coinbase Global Inc.’s recent disclosure of an extensive CFTC investigation.

To those that believe that digital assets operate outside of government oversight, the U.S.’s expanding offensive on digital asset players should be a clear signal that existing regulatory structures apply to the digital asset ecosystem.

To that end, this article will discuss developing legal themes that endanger current digital asset exchanges. Surprisingly, beyond the current CFTC probes, some of the major names in the space, Binance, Kraken and Coinbase, make appearances across several legal risk categories. Not surprisingly, a further subset of this group, Binance and Kraken (along with ShapeShift), was arguably involved in a delisting campaign against BSV, an established digital asset that is not a security, because the exchanges and related persons did not agree with the personal position and stance of a specific individual, while these exchanges continued to list XRP, a digital asset alleged by the SEC to be a security, and ETH, a digital asset I have previously outlined as fitting the characteristics of a security.

As stated by the SEC, “Federal securities laws are based on a simple and straightforward concept: everyone should be treated fairly and have access to certain facts about investments.”

Accordingly, the actions of Binance, Kraken and ShapeShift debatably violated this principle and U.S. securities laws as discussed below.

As I will outline below, insofar as digital asset exchanges wish to continue serving the U.S. market without being shut down, they would be wise to undertake much more careful vetting of:

  • the tokens they list or delist;
  • the programs they provide to users, for example staking ETH to the Ethereum 2.0 network; and
  • internal compliance regimes to ensure compliance with AML regulations, for example.

Exchange liability for listing securities tokens

Over the past several years, the SEC has brought civil lawsuits against several token issuers alleging violations of U.S. securities laws. Courts have ruled in favour of the SEC in two recent cases involving tokens not associated with initial coin offerings (See S.E.C. v. Kik Interactive, Inc. and S.E.C. v. Telegram Group).

However, these lawsuits did not present the question of whether and to what extent exchanges may face liability for listing and facilitating digital asset transactions that fall within U.S. securities law.

Recently, however, the SEC has filed a lawsuit that changes that. In SEC v. Ripple Labs, the SEC filed a complaint alleging securities law violations against Ripple Labs, the issuer of the XRP digital token. The SEC alleges that Ripple’s continuous offering of this token from 2013 through the present constitutes a series of unregistered securities transactions. XRP has long been listed by various major digital asset exchanges, including Binance, Coinbase, Kraken, ShapeShift, Bitfinex and OKCoin. In the wake of the filing of this complaint, though some exchanges have announced their intention to suspend trading in XRP for U.S. customers, others continue listing XRP despite the SEC’s filed complaint.

These developments raise the question of whether those exchanges that have listed and facilitated trades in XRP—whether or not they have since delisted—have exposed themselves to liability under U.S. securities law. This lawsuit also raises the question of whether the exchanges that have chosen not to delist in the wake of the SEC’s complaint against Ripple face heightened exposure risks.

If the court should agree that the continuous distribution of XRP qualifies as a series of securities transactions, several provisions of U.S. securities law could give rise to exposure for exchanges that have facilitated purchases, sales and exchanges in XRP. These provisions include:

  • Selling Unregistered Securities Liability – An exchange (whether registered or not) that lists and allows trades in unregistered securities could be liable under Section 5 of the Securities Act of 1933 (“Securities Act”), as amended, which prohibits selling an unregistered security by use of interstate commerce.
  • Unregistered Securities Exchange Liability – Section 5 of the Securities Exchange Act of 1934 (“Exchange Act”), as amended, prohibits any exchange that does business in whole or substantial part in the United States from listing any security—registered or not—if that exchange is not registered as a national securities exchange with the SEC.
  • Unregistered Broker/Dealer Liability – Section 15(a) of the Exchange Act makes it unlawful for any broker or dealer to facilitate securities transactions by way of interstate commerce unless the broker or dealer is registered with the SEC.
  • Aiding and Abetting Liability – The Securities Act exposes parties to aiding and abetting liability where there is proof that the exchange acted knowingly or recklessly in substantially assisting the issuer of unregistered securities to violate Section 5 of the Securities Act.

The first three provisions are strict liability—requiring no proof that an exchange knowingly or recklessly violated the law in listing or facilitating transactions in the unregistered securities. In contrast, for the SEC to establish aiding and abetting liability, it would need to prove that the exchanges acted with scienter. Thus, the exchanges that have listed XRP could be found liable under the first three provisions regardless of whether they knew or understood that transactions in XRP might qualify as securities transactions. They may likewise be liable whether or not they opted to delist in the wake of the SEC’s complaint, since there is no requirement that they must have been put on public notice of the unlawful nature of the transactions before exposure may attach. However, those exchanges that have continued listing XRP in the wake of the SEC’s complaint face potentially heightened penalties, as their conduct would likely establish reckless disregard under the securities law, a showing that would expose these exchanges to drastically higher per-transaction fines.

Each of the exchanges that has listed XRP—whether or not they have since chosen to delist XRP—faces serious exposure under U.S. securities law. Furthermore, those exchanges that have refused to delist XRP in the face of the SEC’s 71-page complaint detailing how Ripple’s distributions fall afoul of U.S. securities law face even greater potential exposure.

The exposure risk, moreover, extends beyond the decision to list XRP to all similar tokens listed on their platforms. As I discussed in my previous article, if we accept the Hinman puzzle and assume ETH transitioned away from classification as a security, which I argue is debatable, there are compelling reasons to conclude that Ethereum 2.0 brings it back to its state as a security. If the Ripple complaint makes anything clear, it is that the SEC will not give exchanges a pass for facilitating violations of U.S. securities law. Thus, insofar as digital exchanges wish to continue serving the U.S. market without being shut down, they would be wise to register with the SEC or undertake much more careful vetting of the tokens they list to ensure that they are not listing tokens that implicate U.S. securities law.

Digital asset exchange Ethereum 2.0 staking programs under Howey

Ethereum’s creators recently announced the launch of a new Ethereum network, Ethereum 2.0. This network will run alongside the existing Ethereum network (also known as the “ethereum mainnet”). In order to launch, the creators required a certain threshold of users to stake 32 ETH each to the Ethereum 2.0 network and act as validators on the network. In exchange, the Ethereum Foundation promises a schedule of rewards to active validators.

In the wake of this announcement, more than one major digital asset exchange have offered to its customers the opportunity to stake ETH through their trading platforms. Presently, I am only aware of one exchange, Kraken, that is offering a staking program to U.S. users, with Coinbase offering an ETH staking waitlist to U.S. residents. Exchanges have offered their users the opportunity to stake less than the 32 ETH required to fund a validator and to pool those users’ assets with the staking assets of other users to be able to earn validator rewards as a collective.

These developments raise the question of whether these programs amounts to an offer or sale of a security under U.S. law.

There are several aspects of these programs that would likely cause the SEC or a court to conclude that the entire process constitutes an investment contract under the Howey test and thus qualifies as a security that must be registered.

As to the first element under Howey, a court would likely find that exchange users who stake ETH to the Ethereum 2.0 network through these programs have made an investment of money through the platforms.

As to the second element of Howey, a common enterprise, a court would likely find as to those users who stake less than 32 ETH, these platforms have engaged in pooling of funds that would give rise to horizontal commonality, because these exchanges can only participate as a validator by staking exactly 32 ETH to the Ethereum 2.0 network. The SEC might plausibly be able to establish a stricter version of vertical commonality to the extent that exchanges have staked a significant quantity of their own ETH holdings to the Ethereum 2.0 network, such that they would be incentivized to support the asset’s value.

As to the third element, a reasonable expectation of profits, there are several factors that would support a finding that the users who stake ETH through these exchanges have an expectation of profits. These exchanges generally offer their customers rewards between 5-20 percent per year. Accordingly, users who stake ETH to the Ethereum 2.0 network through these exchanges would reasonably expect profits through their validator rewards.

Finally, the SEC and courts are likely to find the fourth element likewise satisfied. This element asks whether the users who stake via these platforms bear a reasonable expectation of profits based upon the entrepreneurial or managerial efforts of others. In evaluating this element, a court would likely consider the role the exchanges play in these staking programs. To run a validator node on the Ethereum 2.0 network, one needs hardware and financial resources for node operation costs.

These exchanges have offered to provide these resources, post themselves as the validators on behalf of the users, and, under certain circumstances, bear the risk of on-chain penalty and forfeiture in the event that the user goes idle, engages in malicious conduct, or fails to validate while their ETH is staked to the Ethereum 2.0 network, where the exchange is at fault for such penalty. A court may thus reasonably find that the chance of obtaining the validator rewards available to Ethereum 2.0 validators depends heavily on the efforts of these exchanges to (i) provide the resources and hardware required to run the node and (ii) ensure that the validator does not go idle, fail to validate, or engage in malicious conduct that would result in forfeiture of the ETH staked to the new network.

While this question is entirely novel, to the extent that these programs allow U.S. users to participate, the facts above would reasonably support the SEC and federal courts concluding that these programs constitute investment contracts under Howey.

Again, given the U.S.’s expanding offensive on the digital asset ecosystem, it is clear the exchanges will not receive a pass for facilitating violations of U.S. securities laws.

Anti-Money Laundering Act of 2020 and digital assets

The National Defense Authorization Act, enacted January 1, 2021, includes the Anti-Money Laundering Act of 2020 (AMLA). The AMLA is the most significant change to US anti-money laundering law since the Bank Secrecy Act of 1970 (BSA). The BSA seeks to prevent and detect money laundering and the financing of terrorism. Building upon this, the AMLA seeks to, among other things, modernize the BSA, establish a uniform reporting regime, codify a risk-based approach to anti-money laundering (AML) compliance, and most relevant for this article, apply AML laws to digital asset businesses.

In addition, the AMLA increases criminal and civil penalties for violations of the BSA, vastly expands the subpoena power available to the Department of Justice (DOJ) and allows the DOJ to serve subpoenas on any foreign bank in investigations related to violations of the BSA, U.S. criminal law, or civil forfeiture statutes and establishes additional incentives for whistleblowers to report violations by increasing incentives vastly to 30% of the total amount collected by the government where sanctions exceed $1 million.

Putting this together, exchanges serving the U.S. market would be wise to undertake much more significant compliance regimes to ensure that they are not violating AML laws. As per The 2021 Crypto Crime Report by Chainalysis, exchanges are the main destination of unlawful funds and, in the three years studied by Chainalysis, the top two services accepting unlawful funds have not changed. Though not mentioned by name in the 2021 report, in The 2020 State of Crypto Crime report by Chainalysis, the lead exchange receiving unlawful BTC was Binance. This should be a red flag for regulators given Binance is the largest operating exchange and is arguably subject to the AML regulations highlighted in this section.

Conclusion

For the digital asset space to flourish, compliant exchanges are required to protect investors, facilitate access to capital and support fair, orderly and efficient markets.

About the Author

Johnny Jaswal is the Managing Director and General Counsel of the Jaswal Institute, responsible for providing regulatory, legal, government relations, strategic and related investment banking advisory services. He has a wealth of experience advising on regulatory matters, mergers, acquisitions, divestitures and capital raising activities.

Johnny represents global blockchain and digital asset companies and is responsible for leading international advisory services. In addition to advising governments and regulatory authorities on digital asset legislation, Johnny has formed/executed the global M&A, capital raising, regulatory and tax strategies for multiple businesses.

Prior to founding his advisory firm, Johnny was a member of senior management on the corporate development and strategy team of TMX Group, which owns a portfolio of financial and technology assets including the Toronto Stock Exchange, an investment banker at TD Securities, which is among Canada’s top-ranked investment banks, a business lawyer at Blake, Cassels & Graydon LLP and Goodmans LLP, two of Canada’s top law firms, and an engineer in several sectors.

Johnny has a Master of Business Administration from the Schulich School of Business, a Juris Doctor from Osgoode Hall Law School, a Bachelor of Engineering: Electrical Engineering from Ryerson University and has been admitted to the Ontario Bar.

This article is for informational purposes only and does not, and is not intended to, constitute legal advice. No person or entity may rely on this article for legal or other advice from Johnny Jaswal/the Jaswal Institute. The article speaks solely as of the date written. Future factual changes or developments, and future court cases or regulatory guidance, could affect the analysis or conclusions presented in the article. Johnny Jaswal/the Jaswal Institute are not under any obligation to update the article to reflect future events or factual changes, or for any other reason.

New to Bitcoin? Check out CoinGeek’s Bitcoin for Beginners section, the ultimate resource guide to learn more about Bitcoin—as originally envisioned by Satoshi Nakamoto—and blockchain.

[id^="_form"]
[id^="_form"]
[id$="_submit"]
[id$="_submit"]
[^;]
[^;]
[?&]
[?&]
[^&#]
[^&#]
[(d+)]
[(d+)]
[elem.name]
[elem.name]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-']
[+_a-z0-9-']
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z]
[a-z]
[el.name]
[el.name]
[id^="_form"]
[id^="_form"]
[id$="_submit"]
[id$="_submit"]
[^;]
[^;]
[?&]
[?&]
[^&#]
[^&#]
[(d+)]
[(d+)]
[elem.name]
[elem.name]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-']
[+_a-z0-9-']
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z]
[a-z]
[el.name]
[el.name]