Solana以及我们对于全局状态的探索

Solana以及我们对于全局状态的探索

这篇博文最初于Unbounded Capital的网站发布,我们经Jack Laskey许可后转载。

Solana已经成为了加密货币领域中炙手可热的名字。

在撰写这篇文章之时(21年9月15日),Solana在CoinMarketCap上排名第七,其价格今年以来一路上涨近100倍,其市值超过450亿美元,Solana是加密货币投资方面最大的成功之一,也是越来越多地被人们使用的区块链之一。

2021年9月14日,该网络突然停止,这一过程持续了10多个小时。据报道,在使用率激增之后,网络节点无法同步,这触发了一系列问题,需要对其进行协调升级和重新启动。

Solana将自己标榜为对以太坊的巨大改进,因为它具有更高的吞吐量和更低的费用——这可能是Unbounded Capital的读者们所熟悉的推介语。在这个世界上,人们有着很强的动机去夸大自己的数字,无论是以直接的方式,还是借助虚假的使用量(相当于虚假交易的区块链交易)来达成这一点。很难确定Solana的真实使用量是多少。但人们普遍认为,Solana在交易量上已经超越了所有其他区块链,其费用比典型的以太坊交易低10,000倍左右。

从表面上看,Solana似乎是一个真正的以太坊杀手——一个被快速采用、其币价在快速升值的网络,同时Solana的效率高达数千倍,它提供了与以太坊相同的功能。现在,这种说法已经遭到了质疑。对于Unbounded Capital来说,我们从来就没有对此有过怀疑。

Solana注定要失败,就像以太坊注定要失败一样。这两种网络都有相同的基本缺陷——他们的目标。

是进入全局状态,还是不进入全局状态呢?

虽然Solana在可扩容性方面成功地超过了以太坊,但他们追求的目标与以太坊以及几乎所有其他区块链相同,该目标本身很快就会达到规模上限。这个目标正是提供全局状态——DeFi的一个重要组成部分,这是以太坊和Solana的主要使用方式的来源。

计算机科学家会对我在此背景下对于 “全局状态”的解释吹毛求疵,但在区块链的背景之下,全局状态的典型含义是交易能够访问任何账户或智能合约的信息。这对于DeFi来说是至关重要的。DeFi是基于这样的想法而构建的,智能合约可以按照先后顺序,随着区块链生态系统内的事情的发生而自动执行。这种透明度和交互性是其卖点。

像BSV这样的比特币系统的实现方式是区块链没有这种全局状态的例子。比特币与以太坊等区块链的透明度相同,但它没有相同的交互时间。在比特币系统中,所有交易都是相互独立的。其中不存在与DeFi中所使用的类似的功能,即让不同的交易可以相互查看以触发新的行为。在这种意义上,以太坊就像一台全球性的计算机,而比特币实际上只是一个公共账本。比特币系统可以被用来计算东西,但与以太坊和Solana这样的全局状态系统相比,它在现代意义上的“计算性”较低。比特币交易就像账本上的条目——它们要么是真的,要么是假的。以太坊交易更像是计算机程序,它通过从以太坊的其他部分获取信息从而得以运行。

全局状态存在的问题

全局状态存在的问题是系统很快达到扩容上限。去中心化使得这一问题变得更加严峻,但即使是一个由VISA这样中心化的平台在全局状态系统中也会遇到扩容上限(VISA使用了需要许可的全局状态系统,不同于以太坊和Solana的无需许可)

我曾在一年前撰写的一篇文章“只有现金系统才能扩容”中写过为什么会出现这种情况,但我将在这里进行简短地阐释。在比特币系统之中,处理一笔交易是一个有着两个阶段的过程。一笔新的交易会通过解锁旧的交易,然后将比特币代币发送到新交易中指定的新位置来花费旧的交易。第一步是确保旧的交易没有被消耗。这在计算层面上是很容易的。第二步是确保新交易满足旧交易的要求。这有点类似于确保钥匙符合锁的要求。

重要的思路是,解锁旧交易所需的所有信息都包含在新交易中。总而言之,这使得处理一笔比特币交易的计算效率非常高。

这种交易独立性最重要的方面是,它能够并行处理——利用在多台计算机之间划分计算任务的能力——这与亚马逊/AWS等公司管理大量计算工作量的方式相同。比特币系统的无限可扩容性来自于这种并行化的能力,正在由BSV以最佳的方式实现。

对于提供全局状态的区块链,并行化是不可能实现的。问题在于交易的相互依赖性。处理一笔交易所需的所有信息都不在交易本身之中。人们必须根据全局状态来看待该交易。如果一个智能合约打算从你那里发送以太币给我,它需要检查你是否有以太币。根据交易的顺序,结果可能完全不同。这一要求最终要求对交易进行串行处理——每个网络运营商以相同的顺序一个接一个地处理它们。人们可以对其进行优化,但同样的问题总是会浮出水面。

这意味着像BSV这样的系统与像Solana这样的系统的可扩容性之间的差异,至少将会是如何协调好许多计算机来完成计算任务的一个要素。每天都有数以千计的计算机以这种方式进行协调,随着BSV提供了额外的经济激励来改善这种做法,人们会期望看到这一差距继续扩大。

这意味着什么

提供一个全局状态系统本身并没有错。我预测这种情况将继续存在。然而,像这样系统缺乏可扩容性将会严重限制适用于这些区块链的用例。在Unbounded Capital,我们做出了预测,支付、面向消费者的应用程序、游戏、企业级应用等最终将利用超可扩容的UTXO区块链,如BSV。全局状态系统将被用于利基的DeFi交易,这些交易者愿意支付高额费用以获得这种共享状态能力。

对于Solana来说,一个艰难的选择可能会浮出水面——放弃让他们在CoinMarketCap上排名第七的关于低交易费用的营销,并且看到费用开始迅速上升,或者看到网络继续因需求超过供应而中断。他们仍然可能是以太坊杀手,但在我看来,这不会有多少价值。

202024日的“创世”协议升级是比特币历史上的一大里程碑,将见证BSV最大程度地回归到中本聪原先设想的协议。请访问“创世”硬分叉页面以了解更多信息。

要直接在您的收件箱接获CoinGeek.com最新消息,CoinGeek会议特别优惠以及其他内部信息,请加入我们的邮件列表

[id^="_form"]
[id^="_form"]
[id$="_submit"]
[id$="_submit"]
[^;]
[^;]
[?&]
[?&]
[^&#]
[^&#]
[(d+)]
[(d+)]
[elem.name]
[elem.name]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-']
[+_a-z0-9-']
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z]
[a-z]
[el.name]
[el.name]
[id^="_form"]
[id^="_form"]
[id$="_submit"]
[id$="_submit"]
[^;]
[^;]
[?&]
[?&]
[^&#]
[^&#]
[(d+)]
[(d+)]
[elem.name]
[elem.name]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-']
[+_a-z0-9-']
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z]
[a-z]
[el.name]
[el.name]

Solana and the quest for global state

Solana and the quest for global state

This post originally appeared on the Unbounded Capital website, and we republished with permission from Jack Laskey.

Solana has become the hot name in crypto.

Up near 100x YTD all the way to #7 on CoinMarketCap at over a $45B market cap at the time of this writing (9/15/21), Solana is one of crypto’s biggest investing successes, and increasingly one of its most used blockchains.

On September 14th, 2021, the network came to a screeching halt for over 10 hours. After a reported surge in usage, the network nodes could not synchronize which triggered a series of issues requiring a coordinated upgrade and restart.

Solana markets itself as a massive improvement over Ethereum because of its higher throughput and lower fees—a pitch which is probably familiar to Unbounded Capital readers. In a world where there is a high incentive to inflate one’s own numbers, either outright or through fake usage (the blockchain transaction equivalent of wash trading), it is hard to be sure what Solana’s real usage has been. But, it is widely accepted that Solana has eclipsed all other blockchains in transaction volume at fees around 10,000 times lower than a typical Ethereum transaction.

On the surface, Solana appeared to be a true Ethereum killer—a network with rapid adoption, price appreciation, while being thousands of times more efficient and offering the same functionality. Now, that narrative has been thrown into question. For Unbounded Capital, there was never a question.

Solana is doomed in the same way Ethereum is doomed. Both networks have the same fundamental flaw—their goal.

To global state, or not to global state?

Although Solana has managed to outpace Ethereum in scalability, they are pursuing the same goal as Ethereum and almost all other blockchains, a goal which inherently hits a scale ceiling quickly. This goal is providing global state – an essential component of DeFi, the major source of usage on both Ethereum and Solana. 

Computer scientists will nitpick my explanation of “global state” in this context, but in a blockchain context, what is typically meant by global state is the ability for transactions to access the information about any account or smart contract. This is critical for DeFi. DeFi is built on the idea that smart contracts can follow one another and execute automatically as things happen within the blockchain ecosystem. This transparency and interactivity is the selling point.

Bitcoin implementations like BSV are examples of blockchains which do not have this type of global state. Bitcoin shares the transparency of blockchains like Ethereum, but it does not have the same times of interactions. In Bitcoin, all transactions are independent from one another. There is no functionality like what is used in DeFi where different transactions can look inside of one another to trigger new actions. In this sense, Ethereum is like a global computer, where Bitcoin is really just a public ledger. Bitcoin can be used to compute things, but it is less “computery” in the modern sense than global state systems like Ethereum and Solana. Bitcoin transactions are like entries in a ledger – they are either true or false. Ethereum transactions are more like computer programs which access information from the rest of Ethereum to run.

The problem with global state

The problem with providing global state is that systems which do hit a scale ceiling quickly. Decentralization makes the problems more severe, but even a system operated by a central party like VISA runs into scale ceilings with the global state system (VISA uses a permissioned global state system unlike Ethereum and Solana which are permissionless).

I’ve written about why this is in a year-old article, “Only Cash Scales,” but I will give a shortened explanation here. In Bitcoin, processing a transaction is a two-step process. A new transaction spends an old transaction by unlocking the old transaction and then sending the Bitcoin tokens to new places specified within the new transaction. Step one is to make sure that the old transaction has not already been spent. This is computationally easy. Step two is to make sure the new transaction satisfies the requirements of the old transaction. This is sort of like making sure the key fits into a lock.

The important insight is that all of the information needed to unlock the old transaction is contained within the new transaction. All in all, this makes processing a Bitcoin transaction very computationally efficient.

The most important aspect of this transaction independence is that it allows for parallel processing – the ability to divide up a computational task among multiple computers—the same way companies like Amazon/AWS manage massive amounts of computational workload. The unbounded scalability of Bitcoin being best implemented by BSV comes from this ability for parallelization. 

For blockchains offering global state, parallelization is not possible. The problem is the interdependence of transactions. All of the information needed to process a transaction is not within the transaction itself. One has to reference that transaction against the global state. If a smart contract wants to send ether from you to me, it needs to check that you have the ether. Depending on the ordering of transactions, the results could be totally different. This requirement ultimately demands serial processing of transactions—processing them one after another in the same order by every network operator. Optimizations can be made, but the same problem will always rear its ugly head.

This means that the difference between the scalability of a system like BSV vs a system like Solana will be at least a factor of however many computers can be coordinated to do a computational task. Thousands of computers are coordinated in this way every day, and as BSV presents additional financial incentive to improve at doing this, one would expect the margin to continue to widen.

What this means

There is nothing inherently wrong with offering a global state system. I would predict that this will continue to exist. However, the lack of scalability for systems like this will severely limit which use cases are appropriate for these blockchains. At Unbounded Capital, we predict that payments, consumer facing applications, games, enterprise applications, and more will ultimately make use of ultra-scalable, UTXO blockchains like BSV. Global state systems will be used for niche DeFi transactions which are willing to pay high fees to access this shared state capability.

For Solana, a difficult choice is likely presenting itself – abandon the low-fee marketing that got them to #7 on CoinMarketCap and see fees begin to rise quickly, or see continued network outages as demand exceeds supply. They still may be the Ethereum-killer, but in my opinion, that won’t be worth much.

New to Bitcoin? Check out CoinGeek’s Bitcoin for Beginners section, the ultimate resource guide to learn more about Bitcoin—as originally envisioned by Satoshi Nakamoto—and blockchain.

[id^="_form"]
[id^="_form"]
[id$="_submit"]
[id$="_submit"]
[^;]
[^;]
[?&]
[?&]
[^&#]
[^&#]
[(d+)]
[(d+)]
[elem.name]
[elem.name]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-']
[+_a-z0-9-']
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z]
[a-z]
[el.name]
[el.name]
[id^="_form"]
[id^="_form"]
[id$="_submit"]
[id$="_submit"]
[^;]
[^;]
[?&]
[?&]
[^&#]
[^&#]
[(d+)]
[(d+)]
[elem.name]
[elem.name]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-']
[+_a-z0-9-']
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z]
[a-z]
[el.name]
[el.name]