发布比特币:《比特币理论》着眼于中本聪如何解释在2008年发生的一切

中本聪在比特币(现指BSV)发行之前就解释了比特币如何扩容。在另一条时间线上,比特币可能原本是微软的一个项目。Visa每秒处理的交易量并不像人们所说的那么多。这些是您将在最新一集的《比特币理论》中听到的一些有趣的事实,本集请到了比特币的创造者Craig S. Wright博士和Fabriik的Ryan X. Charles。

继上周对第一个比特币网站的解释之后,本集将探讨中本聪在2008年10月发布白皮书时的帖子,以及他对此的回应。

中本聪在密码学邮件列表上发布的原始比特币白皮书是比特币有史以来最著名“公告”。然而Wright博士表示自己还在其他渠道发布了这些信息,包括一个P2P邮件列表和各种Usenet群组(尽管他指出,他没有在“密码朋克”或“加密无政府主义”类型的列表上发布它)。

Wright博士解释了比特币和以太坊之间的一些关键区别,他说ETH是“最新生成”的,而且开放团队可能会更改管理以太坊的规则。另一方面,在软件推出时,比特币的所有代币都被“发行”了。Wright指出,比特币的“发行”和“发行人”这两个词在他的帖子的最初回复中被误用,他经常将其更正为“分发”。

“所有的代币从第一天起就存在了。(比特币)发行时是没有价值的”。他说,在人们开始使用比特币之前,比特币基本没有用处。

第一次回应

Charles还梳理了读者最初的回应和中本聪的回复——这现在是比特币的传言中众所周知的一部分,但除了Hal Finney之外,大多数人都对此持怀疑态度。其他回复者包括了Ray Dillinger、Peter Gutmann、zooko、John Levine和James R. Donald。

众所周知,Wright博士与其中几个人的关系有些紧张(他描述了自己曾经购买过一台二手电子显微镜,以证明在关于即使在多次重写之后,数据是否仍然可以从硬盘中恢复的问题上,Gutmann是错误的)。

但Charles特别挑出的是Donald的回复,这排在这份列表的首位。该帖子也变得很有名,因为这事有史以来对比特币的第一次公开回应,它表明了比特币在大规模扩容时会产生问题。中本聪通过描述简易支付验证(SPV)进行了答复;即通过在区块上建立区块来形成共识。只有区块头需要被存储(每天约12KB)。

大型服务器集群最终将处理“挖矿”过程,而其他用户只需要使用SPV。这是比特币的核心原则之一,并且Wright博士在第一个比特币区块出现的两个多月前就对此进行了描述,这表明在此后的几年里,人们在所谓的“扩容辩论”上浪费了不知道多少时间。

这也证明了如今的BTC,在实现“扩容”和“去中心化”的能力不足的情况下,与中本聪最初的愿景几乎毫无关系。仔细分析这些最初的对话,BTC(以及大多数其他山寨币项目)似乎更多反映了James Donald的愿景。

Wright博士在这里透露的一个有趣的事实是,他实际上并不知道“James Donald”的真实身份——或者至少是参与此次特定对话的那个身份。它很可能是一个化名。

Charles指出,多年来,BTC生态中的许多人都极力避免实施,甚至谈论SPV。尽管它从一开始就是中本聪著作的核心部分。

有时,Wright博士听起来厌倦了重温过去的一切,同时他也承认有必要不断向新的听众解释这些内容。不过再听一遍还是会很有意思,而且一如既往,其中会有相当一部分观点您以前没听过。所以这一集《比特币理论》和其他所有的节目一样,对于任何一个认真对待比特币的人来说,都是必看的。

若想观看《比特币理论》的前几集,请在此处订阅《比特币理论》的YouTube频道

202024日的“创世”协议升级是比特币历史上的一大里程碑,将见证BSV最大程度地回归到中本聪原先设想的协议。请访问“创世”硬分叉页面以了解更多信息。

要直接在您的收件箱接获CoinGeek.com最新消息,CoinGeek会议特别优惠以及其他内部信息,请加入我们的邮件列表

Launching Bitcoin: ‘Theory of Bitcoin’ looks at how Satoshi explained everything in 2008

Satoshi explained how Bitcoin would scale even before it was launched. In an alternate timeline, Bitcoin could’ve been a Microsoft project. Visa doesn’t process as many transactions per second as people like to say. These are some of the interesting facts you’ll hear in the latest “Theory of Bitcoin” episode with Bitcoin creator Dr. Craig S. Wright and Fabriik’s Ryan X. Charles.

Following last week’s explanation of the first Bitcoin website, this episode looks at Satoshi Nakamoto‘s post releasing the white paper in October 2008, and the responses to it.

Satoshi’s publication of the original Bitcoin white paper on the Cryptography Mailing List is the best-known “announcement” of Bitcoin’s existence. However Dr. Wright says he also posted the information elsewhere, including a P2P mailing list and various Usenet groups (though he notes he didn’t post it on “cypherpunk” or “crypto-anarchist” type lists).

Dr. Wright explains some key differences between Bitcoin and Ethereum, saying ETH is “minted” and the rules governing this may be changed by the development team. Bitcoin, on the other hand, had all its coins “issued” when the software launched. Wright notes the words “issued” and “issuer” of bitcoins are misused in the initial responses to his post, and he often corrects this to “distributed.”

“All the coins existed on day one. (Bitcoin) was launched with no value.” Bitcoin, he says, was basically useless until people started taking it up.

The first responses

Charles also runs through the initial reader responses and Satoshi’s replies—it’s a well-known part of Bitcoin lore now, but most were skeptical, with the exception of Hal Finney. Other respondents included Ray Dillinger, Peter Gutmann, zooko, John Levine, and James R. Donald.

Dr. Wright’s relationship with several of these individuals is well-known to be fraught (he describes how he once purchased a second-hand electron microscope to prove Gutmann wrong on whether data was recoverable from hard drives even after multiple re-writings).

But it’s Donald’s reply, at the top of the list, which Charles singles out for attention. This post has also become famous since, in the very first public response to Bitcoin ever, it suggests Bitcoin would have problems working at scale. Satoshi replied by describing simplified payment verification (SPV); that consensus forms by building blocks on blocks. Only the block headers need to be stored (about 12KB a day).

Large server farms would eventually handle the “mining” process, while other users needed only SPV. That this is one of Bitcoin’s core principles, and described more than two months before the first Bitcoin block appeared, shows how much time has been wasted on the so-called “scaling debate” in the years since.

It also proves that BTC, as it exists today with crippled capacity to enable “scaling” and “decentralization,” has little or nothing to do with Satoshi’s original vision. Looking closer at these first conversations, it would appear BTC (and most other altcoin projects) reflects more of James Donald’s vision.

One interesting factoid Dr. Wright reveals here is that he doesn’t actually know the real identity of “James Donald”—or at least the one involved in this particular conversation. It is most likely a pseudonym.

Charles points out that many in BTC over the years have actively avoided implementing, or even talking about, SPV. This is despite it being a central part of Satoshi’s writings from the start.

At times Dr. Wright sounds weary of re-living all this past, while acknowledging that it’s necessary to keep explaining it to new audiences. It’s interesting to hear it all again though, and as always there are quite a few points you might not have heard before. That makes this episode of ‘Theory of Bitcoin,’ like all the others, required viewing for anyone serious about Bitcoin.

To watch previous episodes of the Theory of Bitcoin, subscribe to the Theory of Bitcoin YouTube channel here.

New to Bitcoin? Check out CoinGeek’s Bitcoin for Beginners section, the ultimate resource guide to learn more about Bitcoin—as originally envisioned by Satoshi Nakamoto—and blockchain.