2021年Kleiman诉Wright案:Ira Kleiman、Craig Wright将于周四出庭作证

2021年Kleiman诉Wright案:Ira Kleiman、Craig Wright将于周四出庭作证

Kleiman诉Wright一案的各方今天再次向前迈出一大步,陪审团看到了庭审前与证词相关的视频证词,最重要的是,Ira Kleiman会出庭作证,法官有机会直接听取原告的证词。

审判进行的非常迅速,Craig Wright博士可能会在周四下午出庭作证。

周三的审判进展相对较快:陪审团审阅了两份审前证词。其中,第一个是Jamie Wilson在2019年受审前的视频证词——他作证说,在比特币系统开始流行的那段时间,Wright博士的财富状况发生了突变,而且很明显(“他显然有比特币这种货币”)。比特币协会创始主席Jimmy Nguyen的证词也被播放了,不过证词内容很少。

接下来,当然是Ira的证词。原告完成了他们对Ira的全部审查,Wright博士的律师Andres Rivero用了某天的最后一个小时左右的时间进行交叉询问。接下来可能还会有数个小时的交叉询问,今天的庭审打开了一些话题,它们在明天可能会被提及。

其中最主要的是,Ira出人意料地声称,他在某个时候发送了一封来自第三方的电子邮件,他说这表明Dave在感恩节晚餐之后告诉了另一个人他与比特币的关系,Ira此前曾表示,这是唯一一次出现这种情况。Wright博士的代理人Rivero立即对此提出异议:邮件显然从未在证据发现中出示过,辩方也从未见过,那么Ira指的是什么?Ira坚称这封电子邮件是在他作证后发送的,但一名大惊失色的原告律师似乎表示,Ira错误地引用了一封之前已经承认的电子邮件。

如果Ira的坚持是正确的,那么就有一个潜在的发现违规问题需要解决。如果这仅仅是一个错误,那么Ira对邮件发送时间的坚定态度可能会使人怀疑他提供的其他证词的可靠性。

这个问题最终仍未解决,但这可能不是我们最后一次听到它。明天庭审前,预计双方将当着Beth Bloom法官的面讨论此事。

按照目前的情况,Wright博士将在Ira的交叉询问结束后不久出庭作证。然而,还有许多视频证人尚未被原告传唤,而传唤这些证人的顺序,或者他们是否被传唤,将不会被提前告知。可以预见,这些可能会发生在Wright博士出庭作证之前。

虽然到目前为止陪审团还没有听到Wright博士的证词,但他一直在法庭上。Wright博士在周一听到关于Dave Kleiman的证词时显然很不高兴,我们也很自然地看到了Wright博士与各方当事人介绍证据和询问证人的通信片段。

这些信息描绘了一幅不完整的画面,当Ira周三出庭作证,证明他与Wright博士进行了沟通时,这一点将变得显而易见,这大致构成了Ira对Wright博士提出指控的基础。在一封电子邮件中,Wright博士告诉Ira,他已故的哥哥参与了编辑白皮书的过程。在其他邮件中,他解释了Dave编辑书面文本的能力对他有多有用。

例如,在2014年,Wright博士显然给Ira Kleiman发了电子邮件,赞扬Dave对Wright博士执行“他的想法”的能力的贡献:“Dave能够以他自己的方式自由编辑。”(即Dave很有能力,可以理解Wright博士要表达的意思。)

Wright博士在很多关于他已故朋友的交流中都是这样表述的:他对Dave大加赞扬,但对Dave到底是如何帮助他的细节却只字不提,只是说他的沟通技巧很有用。在Rivero的盘问下,Ira承认,他从未找到过Dave和Wright博士之间的任何揭示正式合作关系的电子邮件。

所有这些证词的最终结果是,当律师们试图让他说出他知道的他哥哥与Wright博士之间的关系时,Ira Kleiman说了一句令人失望的“我不知道”。

对于观众和陪审团来说,问题在于,这些电子邮件在Wright博士考虑到他可能有一天会因为他和Dave Kleiman的关系而被起诉之前就已经互通了。像“团队”和“搭档”这样的词可以有很多种含义,尤其是考虑到这是在Wright博士试图分享有关他与一名已故男子关系疏远的兄弟之间关系的正面细节的情况下写出的。这些交流中唯一提及的真正的细节是,正如Wright博士曾经说过的,Dave在serenity编辑文档的能力(Dave过去曾为Wright博士编辑过论文)。

Wright博士患有自闭症谱系障碍,这使得案件变得更加复杂。本案中提交的一份专家报告解释说,这对他的社会行为有着“深刻”的影响,包括过度信任他人的动机这一行为。

最终,陪审团被要求对Wright博士多年前的陈述进行审查——这些陈述不是发生在阴郁的法庭上,而是在他最好的朋友去世之后——通过复杂的社会混乱过滤出来的。似乎没有比和他本人谈话更好的解决办法了——本周在法庭上可能会有这个机会。

周四不会是Wright博士最后一次出庭。他的证词可能会很长,而且可以预见,Wright博士对证词的陈述可能会持续到下周。根据计划,他还将在辩方的案件主审期间再次作为证人出庭。

将由Kurt Wuckert Jr.作为CoinGeek的代表,对该案件进行每日回顾报道,该报道将于美国东部时间每天下午6:30在我们的YouTube频道进行直播。

请点击此处观看Kleiman诉Wright案第一天的特别报道:

请点击此处观看Kleiman诉Wright案第二天的特别报道:

请点击此处观看Kleiman诉Wright案第三天特别报道:

202024日的“创世”协议升级是比特币历史上的一大里程碑,将见证BSV最大程度地回归到中本聪原先设想的协议。请访问“创世”硬分叉页面以了解更多信息。

要直接在您的收件箱接获CoinGeek.com最新消息,CoinGeek会议特别优惠以及其他内部信息,请加入我们的邮件列表

[id^="_form"]
[id^="_form"]
[id$="_submit"]
[id$="_submit"]
[^;]
[^;]
[?&]
[?&]
[^&#]
[^&#]
[(d+)]
[(d+)]
[elem.name]
[elem.name]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-']
[+_a-z0-9-']
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z]
[a-z]
[el.name]
[el.name]
[id^="_form"]
[id^="_form"]
[id$="_submit"]
[id$="_submit"]
[^;]
[^;]
[?&]
[?&]
[^&#]
[^&#]
[(d+)]
[(d+)]
[elem.name]
[elem.name]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-']
[+_a-z0-9-']
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z]
[a-z]
[el.name]
[el.name]

Kleiman v Wright 2021 trial: Ira Kleiman, Craig Wright testimony expected Thursday

Kleiman v Wright 2021 trial: Ira Kleiman, Craig Wright testimony expected Thursday

Parties in the Kleiman v Wright trial powered ahead again today, as the jury were shown video testimony from pre-trial depositions and most importantly got the chance to hear from the plaintiff directly as Ira Kleiman took the stand.

The trial is moving so quickly that Dr. Craig Wright’s first testimony is likely to come Thursday afternoon.

Wednesday’s events moved relatively fast: two pre-trial depositions were shown to the jury. The first of these was Jamie Wilson’s video deposition from before trial, in 2019—he testified about a sudden and apparent change in Dr. Wright’s wealth around the time Bitcoin was taking off (“he clearly had Bitcoin money”). The deposition of Jimmy Nguyen, founding president of Bitcoin Association, was also played, although little was made of it.

Then, of course, came Ira’s deposition. The plaintiffs got through their entire examination of Ira, and attorney for Dr. Wright Andres Rivero took up the last hour or so of the day with his cross examination. There’s likely still hours of cross-examination to go, and a number of threads were opened today which are likely to be picked up tomorrow.

Chief among these is a surprise claim by Ira that he was at one point sent an email from a third party which he says shows that Dave told another person about his involvement Bitcoin, outside of the Thanksgiving dinner which Ira has previously said is the only time it had ever come up. Rivero, acting for Dr. Wright, took immediate issue with this: the email was apparently never produced in discovery and the defense has never seen it, so what is Ira referring to? Ira was adamant that the email was sent after his depositions, but a frantic plaintiff’s bench seemed to say that Ira is mistakenly referring an already admitted e-mail from before.

If Ira’s insistence was correct, then there’s a potential discovery violation to be ironed out. If it was a mere mistake, then Ira’s adamance as to the timing of the email may cast doubt on the reliability of the rest of his testimony.

The issue remained unresolved at the end of the day, but it is likely not the last we’ve heard of it. Parties are expected to appear in front of Judge Beth Bloom before trial tomorrow to discuss it.

As it stands, Dr. Wright will take the stand not long after the conclusion of Ira’s cross examination. However, there are a number of video witnesses who are yet to be called by the plaintiffs, and the order that these will be called, or if they’re called at all, won’t be known in advance. Foreseeably, these may come before Dr. Wright’s testimony.

Though the jury hasn’t heard from Dr. Wright to this point, he’s been a presence in the courtroom. Dr. Wright was visibly upset hearing testimony about Dave Kleiman on Monday, and we’ve naturally caught glimpses of communications from Dr. Wright to various people as the parties introduce evidence and examine witnesses.

These paint an incomplete picture, something that became obvious when Ira took the stand Wednesday to testify about his communications with Dr. Wright—which broadly form the basis of Ira’s case against him. One email has Dr. Wright telling Ira that his late brother was involved in the white paper. In others, he explains how useful Dave’s ability to edit written copy was to him.

For example, in 2014, Dr. Wright apparently emailed Ira Kleiman in an effort to praise Dave’s contributions to Dr. Wright’s ability to execute on ‘his idea’: “Dave could edit his way to hell and back.”

Much of Dr. Wright’s communications regarding his late friend are couched in these terms: heavy on praise for Dave, but light on details about exactly how Dave helped him other than to say his communication skills were useful. Under cross examination by Rivero, Ira admitted that that he has never found any emails between Dave and Dr. Wright that shed light on any formal partnership arrangement.

The net result of all of this testimony was a frustrating amount of ‘I don’t knows’ from Ira Kleiman when attorneys would try to pin him down on what he knows about the relationship between his brother and Dr. Wright.

The problem for spectators—and undoubtedly the jury—is that these emails were exchanged years before Dr. Wright could ever have contemplated that he might one day be in a lawsuit over his relationship with Dave Kleiman. Words like ‘team’ and ‘partner’ can mean a wide range of things, particularly given the apparent context of Dr. Wright trying to share the positive details of his relationship with a man’s late and estranged brother. The only real specifics referenced in these communications are Dave’s ability to edit documents for, as Dr. Wright once put, ‘serenity’ (Dave has edited papers for Dr. Wright in the past).

This is made even more complicated by the fact that Dr. Wright has autism spectrum disorder. An expert report filed in the case explains that this has a ‘profound’ impact on his social behavior, including a propensity to be too trusting of other’s motivations.

Ultimately, the jury is being asked to make a call on Dr. Wright’s statements years after they were made—and they were made not in the context of a somber courtroom but in the aftermath of his best friend’s death—and through the filter of a complex social disorder. It would seem that there’s no better way to cut through this than by talking to the man himself—and the courtroom might get the chance this week.

Thursday won’t be the last time we hear from Dr. Wright at trial. His testimony is likely to be lengthy and could foreseeably push into next week. He’s also scheduled to be called as a witness once more during the defense’s case-in-chief.

CoinGeek will feature Kurt Wuckert Jr. in daily recap coverage which will be livestreamed on a daily basis at 6:30 p.m. EST on our YouTube Channel.

Watch our Day 1 Special Report from the Kleiman v Wright trial here:

Watch our Day 2 Special Report from the Kleiman v Wright trial here:

Watch our Day 3 Special Report from the Kleiman v Wright trial here:

New to Bitcoin? Check out CoinGeek’s Bitcoin for Beginners section, the ultimate resource guide to learn more about Bitcoin—as originally envisioned by Satoshi Nakamoto—and blockchain.

[id^="_form"]
[id^="_form"]
[id$="_submit"]
[id$="_submit"]
[^;]
[^;]
[?&]
[?&]
[^&#]
[^&#]
[(d+)]
[(d+)]
[elem.name]
[elem.name]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-']
[+_a-z0-9-']
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z]
[a-z]
[el.name]
[el.name]
[id^="_form"]
[id^="_form"]
[id$="_submit"]
[id$="_submit"]
[^;]
[^;]
[?&]
[?&]
[^&#]
[^&#]
[(d+)]
[(d+)]
[elem.name]
[elem.name]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-']
[+_a-z0-9-']
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z]
[a-z]
[el.name]
[el.name]