Jerry Chan: 专注于为比特币系统构建新的应用案例, 那么您就能够解决任何问题

Jerry Chan: 专注于为比特币系统构建新的应用案例, 那么您就能够解决任何问题

TAAL分布式信息技术有限公司的首席执行官Jerry Chan表示,比特币系统的全球化透明的公共账本“可能会像互联网一样无处不在”,并且是“历史上从未出现过的事物”。在2020年亚洲区块链在线峰会上,Chan表示,如果人们专注于为比特币系统创建新的应用案例,而不是专注于协议,那么比特币系统就可以解决世界上更多的问题。

在7月15日至19日线上举办的峰会中,Chan与CoinDesk的研究总监诺埃尔·艾奇逊(Noelle Acheson)进行了“炉边对话”。会议的主题是“新冠疫情之后,区块链如何重建经济”,不过由于Chan是唯一的嘉宾,他有机会来概括地谈论比特币系统的开放式账本和可伸缩性所赋予它的无限潜力。无论是重建受损的经济,还是简单地建立一个更好的经济,比特币系统都提供了实现该目标的基础设施。

Chan将比特币协议与互联网本身的协议进行了比较,同时指出,在线收发信息的具体要求其实非常简单(规则不会经常变化)。他说,当前没有公司专注于构建、重建或试图改进基本的互联网协议。相反,在协议上搭建真实的业务要重要得多。

Chan详细介绍了他作为华尔街技术专家所拥有的超过11年的专业经验,是如何帮助他理解比特币系统在规模化时,实际上可以达成的目标。在2011年阅读了有关之前尝试创建虚拟货币的报道后,他起初对这项技术持怀疑态度,但在涉足了比特币早期的代币化概念——染色币(Colored Coins)之后,他开始欣赏这项技术。

早期发生的“扩容之争”最终导致了2017年的硬分叉,这对比特币系统的发展和应用产生了巨大的影响。Chan说:“一切有趣的项目都停了下来,比特币系统自行崩盘了。”作为一名技术专家,他认为,当该领域的其他人开始谈论的不是比特币能做什么,而是它不能做什么的时候,这是一种很奇怪的现象。

“这不现实,我不相信这种看法。”Chan补充道。

人们对区块链的认知误区

艾奇逊问道,“人们对数字资产有什么误解?”Chan回答,问题在于人们认为这项技术仅适用于一个场景。比特币系统被设计为一个通用层,是一个像互联网一样的基础的、不变的协议,人们在此基础之上建立什么事物,取决于他们自己。

另一个问题是人们误解了比特币系统是如何保持安全性的。单纯通过技术并不能保持系统的安全性,例如:密码学、签名技术和数学——比特币网络的安全性反而是由经济激励措施保护的,而人们往往不会研究这些。

Chan指出,区块链应该是公开透明的,而不是私有的。“这样你会拥有更多诚实的参与者……而且宏观效应有助于防止垄断。”这才是避免权力集中化的真正方法,没有一个政府会试图接管这个网络,因为没有人能这样做。毕竟,政府之间是相互竞争的。

Chan补充道,TAAL宣传自己支持利用公共区块链的业务和用例。该公司的商业模式只有在每天达到或超过10亿笔交易的情况下,才会奏效——但是,这种作为专业交易处理者的角色,还是比BTC上仍在使用的传统“挖矿”的模式更具可行性,在这种传统模式下,每个矿工都致力于攫取尽可能多的货币来限制供应量,然后希望价格以某种方式上涨。

“任何有金融背景的人都会明白这是不可行的。” 这是一种基于市场操纵的模型,除了投机之外,BTC不会为资产或区块链寻找新的使用案例。

比特币可以帮助后疫情(post-COVID)世界……还有其他的一切

至于区块链能为新冠疫情后的经济复苏做些什么,Chan指出,TAAL的一些客户是制药公司,以EHR Data为例,他说,他们最初的想法是追踪美国的阿片类药物处方,以此来对抗阿片类药物危机(这仍然是项目的焦点),现在这个想法可以扩展到追踪医疗保健品的各个方面。

Chan说,控制当前的流行病及其影响“实际上是区块链的一个完美用例,因为你不知道谁是可信任的一方。”政府、医院、卫生官员等都在为你提供信息,但却没有一个能使大家达成共识的数据库。

比特币系统促进了公共区块链上原始(加密)数据的使用,这可以用来追踪比如测试过程、检查结果、实验室、修改记录、验尸报告和尸检等信息。

“如果我们拥有透明的信息,那么到2020年2月,我们就会有显著的优势。因为(比特币系统)没有管理者,这让信息更加值得信赖。”

也就是说,比特币能够解决任何涉及海量数据的问题。医疗保健只是其中之一,实际上,比特币系统只是用来搭建所有解决方案或业务的基础设施。一旦人们的关注点从对协议和技术的争论转移到搭建新的业务上,就能够发挥比特币的潜力。

202024日的“创世”协议升级是比特币历史上的一大里程碑,将见证BSV最大程度地回归到中本聪原先设想的协议。请访问“创世”硬分叉页面以了解更多信息。

要直接在您的收件箱接获CoinGeek.com最新消息,CoinGeek会议特别优惠以及其他内部信息,请加入我们的邮件列表

[id^="_form"]
[id^="_form"]
[id$="_submit"]
[id$="_submit"]
[^;]
[^;]
[?&]
[?&]
[^&#]
[^&#]
[(d+)]
[(d+)]
[elem.name]
[elem.name]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-']
[+_a-z0-9-']
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z]
[a-z]
[el.name]
[el.name]
[id^="_form"]
[id^="_form"]
[id$="_submit"]
[id$="_submit"]
[^;]
[^;]
[?&]
[?&]
[^&#]
[^&#]
[(d+)]
[(d+)]
[elem.name]
[elem.name]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-']
[+_a-z0-9-']
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z]
[a-z]
[el.name]
[el.name]

Jerry Chan: Focus on building new use cases for Bitcoin and you can solve any problem

Bitcoin’s global, transparent public ledger “could be as ubiquitous as the internet” and is something “which has never been seen before in history,” according to Jerry Chan, CEO of TAAL Distributed Information Technologies Inc. Speaking at the online Asia Blockchain Summit 2020, Chan said Bitcoin could solve more of the world’s problems if people focus on creating new use cases for it, rather than focusing on the protocol.

Chan was speaking to Noelle Acheson, director of research at CoinDesk, in a “fireside chat” at the summit, which took place online from July 15-19. The session title was “How Blockchain Can Rebuild the Economy after COVID-19,” but with Chan as the only guest, he had the floor to speak generally about how Bitcoin’s open ledger and scalability makes it almost limitless in potential. Whether rebuilding a damaged economy or simply building a better one, Bitcoin provides the infrastructure to do it.

He compared the Bitcoin protocol to that of the internet itself, pointing out that the specifications for sending and receiving information online are actually pretty simple—with rules that aren’t constantly changing. No company today focuses on building, rebuilding, or trying to improve the basic internet protocol, he said. It’s far more important to build real businesses on it instead.

Chan detailed how his professional experience as a Wall Street technologist for over 11 years helped him understand what Bitcoin could actually achieve at scale. Though initially skeptical in 2011 thanks to reading about previous attempts to create online currencies, he came to appreciate the technology after becoming involved with Colored Coins, an early Bitcoin tokenization concept.

The “scaling debate” that took place from the early days and eventually led to the hard fork split of 2017 had a dramatic impact on Bitcoin’s growth and adoption. “All interesting projects ground to a halt, and Bitcoin collapsed into itself,” Chan said. As a technical professional, he thought it was strange when others in the field started talking not about what Bitcoin could do, but what it couldn’t.

“That’s not possible, I didn’t believe that,” Chan added.

What people get wrong about blockchain

“What are people getting wrong about digital assets?” Acheson asked. Chan said the problem was that people think the technology only works for one thing. Bitcoin was designed to be a general layer, a base and unchanging protocol like the internet, and what people build on top of that is up to them.

Another problem was people misunderstanding how Bitcoin stays secure. It’s not done on the technology side, eg: encryption, signatures and math—security on the Bitcoin network is protected instead by economic incentives, which people often don’t examine.

The blockchain need to be public and transparent, not private, he said. “You’ll have more honest players that way … and macro effects will prevent monopolies from happening.” That’s the real way to avoid power centralizing; no one government will try to take over the network because none can. Governments compete with each other, after all.

TAAL promotes itself as supporting businesses and use cases that utilize the public blockchain, Chan added. The company’s business model works only if there are a billion transactions a day, or much more—but this role as a professional transaction processor was still more viable than the old-fashioned “mining” model still used on BTC, where every miner aims to grab as many coins as possible to restrict the supply, then hope the price goes up somehow.

“For anyone with a background in finance, that’s not viable.” It’s a model based on market manipulation and doesn’t bother to seek new use cases for the asset or blockchain, other than speculation.

Bitcoin can help the post-COVID world… and everything else too

As for the question of what blockchain can do to rebuild the post-COVID-19 economy, Chan noted that some of TAAL’s clients are pharmaceutical companies. Giving the example of EHR Data, he said their initial idea of tracking opioid prescriptions in the United States as a means to combat the opioid crisis (which remains the project’s primary focus) could be expanded to track any aspect of healthcare.

Managing the current pandemic and its effects is “actually a perfect use case for blockchain, because you don’t know who the trusted parties are,” Chan said. You have governments, hospitals, health officials, etc. all producing information but without a database everyone could agree on.

Bitcoin promotes the use of primitive (encrypted) data on a public blockchain, which could be used to track information like tests, results, labs, tampering, coroners’ reports and autopsies.

“If we’d had transparent information on this, we’d have had a significant advantage back in February 2020. Because (Bitcoin) has no administrator, that makes it more trustworthy.”

That said, Bitcoin is capable of solving any problem involving massive amounts of data. Healthcare is just one of them, and in reality Bitcoin is just the infrastructure on which any solution or business can be built. Once the focus shifts away from debates over protocols and technology, and instead towards building new businesses, then Bitcoin’s potential can be realized.

New to Bitcoin? Check out CoinGeek’s Bitcoin for Beginners section, the ultimate resource guide to learn more about Bitcoin—as originally envisioned by Satoshi Nakamoto—and blockchain.

[10]
[10]
[id^="_form"]
[id^="_form"]
[id$="_submit"]
[id$="_submit"]
[^;]
[^;]
['on' + event]
['on' + event]
[?&]
[?&]
[^&#]
[^&#]
[(d+)]
[(d+)]
[i]
[i]
[results[1]]
[results[1]]
[elem.name]
[elem.name]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-']
[+_a-z0-9-']
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z]
[a-z]
[el.name]
[el.name]
[10]
[10]
[id^="_form"]
[id^="_form"]
[id$="_submit"]
[id$="_submit"]
[^;]
[^;]
['on' + event]
['on' + event]
[?&]
[?&]
[^&#]
[^&#]
[(d+)]
[(d+)]
[i]
[i]
[results[1]]
[results[1]]
[elem.name]
[elem.name]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-']
[+_a-z0-9-']
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z]
[a-z]
[el.name]
[el.name]