首席执行官杰瑞·陈(Jerry Chan):TAAL如何看待比特币持久战

对于比特币而言,“2020年是具有跨时代意义的一年”。TAAL新任首席执行官杰瑞·陈(Jerry Chan)表示。在接受CoinGeek采访时,他表示在比特币减半期间比较比特币价格和算力一种短期思维。然而,比特币是一场持久战,只有BSV在这场游戏中表现得当。BSV在交易中广泛使用,并且有稳定的价格,为其网络在未来取得成功奠定了基础——战争结束的那一天,BSV会因为其实用性而具备巨大价值。

“如果你对此没有清醒的认识,那么久无法在竞争中获胜” 

比特币SV(BSV)和BCH已经经历了每四年一次的区块奖励“减半”事件。BTC将于2020年5月10日左右发生。目前,BSV和BCH奖励已经减半,由之前的12.5枚比特币变为了6.25枚比特币,因此现在处理BTC上的交易利润更高。BTC(在撰文时)占据了98.5%的算力份额,而BCH仅有0.8%,BSV为0.7%。(声明:BSV拥有56.7%的实际交易量。)

陈先生把矛头指向那些继续支持利润较低的网络的“忠诚”交易处理商。他表示,这些交易处理商并非具有政治倾向,只是通过合理的竞技激励来获取长期盈利,而不是仅仅在乎眼前的蝇头小利。

“从长远来看,我们认为我们才是做出经济上理性决策的人。从短期来看,我们可以通过开采BTC赚更多的钱,然后用美元存入银行来创收。但从长期来看,矿工们希望能够持有BSV,因为他们看好在交易中可以使用BSV这种长远价值。”

因为BTC行业并不关注实际用途或实用程序。事实上,我们已经看到的一些市场分析根本不提及BTC的用途,只查看价格趋势和运营成本。不论是下个月,还是在长远的未来,BTC如何保证其交易处理商继续赚钱?

“过去10年多的采矿机制将在一个月内改变,”陈先生说。“如果你对此视而不见,你就会被淘汰……这是机制改变前的最后机会。”

比特币BSV的模型基于效用、可扩容性和微交易(金额低于1分)以及处理理论上无上限数量交易的能力。尽管交易额很小,但这些交易产生费用。相比之下,BTC除了不断上涨币价和每笔交易的费用之外,没有实现长期盈利的模型。每个BTC交易区块的数据限制为1至4MB,之前曾有人试图扩容,均遭到了阻止。

接受BTC的残酷现实 

陈先生表示,根据他读过的文章,BTC的支持者已经接受这样的事实,即BTC的价格不会立即翻倍来弥补其奖励减半。然而,有些支持者现在则通过暗示“能力弱”或“效率低”的处理商从网络中退出而获得补偿,这样“能力强”的处理商留下来,将会取得更大的收益。

因此,按照这种理论,留在网络中的处理商将会以更少的算力获得更多的BTC,还需要出售少量比特币来支付运营成本。有关该理论的详细说明,请参见此处

“如果处理商不出售比特币,他们可以长期持有。但这不合逻辑。”陈先生说。根据支持者的理论,所有人只要持有BTC都可以拉升币价,提高价值。这就好像把BTC比作永动机,或者要让一艘无帆之船航行。

陈先生估计,在BTC奖励减半之后,离开网络的“弱者”至少要达到90%,才能保证留在网络中的“强者”继续在BTC上盈利。陈先生表示这种情况不太可能发生,这意味着在奖励补贴仅为6.25个比特币的条件下,处理商更难从BTC获得收益了。

BTC经济是一场投机泡沫——人们需要知道。可能发生大规模的调整。” 

从2020年年中开始,只有可提供收入来源的网络才具有盈利性。与此同时,BSV的实际交易份额开始显得更为重要。

许多项目定期向BSV网络发送大量数据(例如EHR数据公司或WeatherSV),这些项目都会产生收益。这是一个更好的商业模式,比起依靠一个神奇的假设,币价上涨……这些商业模型更有意义。

陈先生说,无论在任何情况下,BSV对突然的币价飙升都不敢兴趣,尽管对持有者来说值得高兴。BSV更加在意真实的企业用户,而非短期价格投机者。

“如果BSV在一天内涨到一千美元,那么很明显它已经忘记了自己的初心。这只能表明它和BTC一样不稳定,这将伤害我们真正需要吸纳的企业用户。”

“如果这样,这些企业用户将面临巨大的商业风险。而他们确实BSV真正在意的用户,因为这些人会在BSV上进行真正的开发,并愿意在未来十年为使用BSV付费。”

数据和声誉

陈先生还提到商户API和矿工ID项目,作为BSV认真吸引企业用户的证据。

矿工ID允许交易处理商验证其处理的区块。相比交易处理商当前所提供的验证方式(自愿标记),该项目所提供的验证方式更为正式——方法是在每个区块上签名并验证他们对其数据执行的工作来帮助企业创建声誉。

陈先生表示,处理商不会(也不应该)对它们采取的任何不良行为进行合理的推诿。“它们处理过的内容及处理时间都应当被记录。”分析师将会从前所未有的维度比较处理数据,处理商可以根据他们对网络贡献程度、风险程度以及他们开销来评判。

媒体不实信息 

陈先生说,随着BTC面临的经济形势愈发明显,对BSV和使用BSV技术感兴趣的企业主们需要警惕蓄意的抹黑行为。我们已经在新闻和社交媒体上看到了很多这方面的信息。

“此时此刻,我们所生活的世界令人遗憾。匿名黑客和键盘侠对互联网世界影响巨大。除非你和他们狼狈为奸,否则就必须与不实信息抗争到底。”

他还指出,“但人们并不愚蠢。如果证据就在眼前,他们会发现真相。”随着越来越多的真正企业加入并使用它,BSV能够很容易证明其价值。

“我们只需要继续做我们的业务。如果有些人失去信心,或见风使舵,那没关系,可以就此分道扬镳。”

更多有关比特币进入交易处理新时代后,TAAL的愿景和战略

202024日的“创世”协议升级是比特币历史上的一大里程碑,将见证BSV最大程度地回归到中本聪原先设想的协议。请访问“创世”硬分叉页面以了解更多信息。

要直接在您的收件箱接获CoinGeek.com最新消息,CoinGeek会议特别优惠以及其他内部信息,请加入我们的邮件列表

How TAAL sees the Bitcoin long game: CEO Jerry Chan

“2020 is the crossover year” for Bitcoin, says new TAAL CEO Jerry Chan. In an interview with CoinGeek, he described how comparing coin prices versus hashing power around halving times is short-term thinking. But Bitcoin is a long-term game, and a game only BSV is playing properly. Its transactional use and a stable price that will see the network succeed in the future—at the end of the day, BSV is valuable because it is useful.

‘If you don’t wake up to this, you’re not going to be able to compete’

Bitcoin SV (BSV) and BCH have already undergone their four-yearly block subsidy “halving” events. BTC will have its turn around May 10th, 2020. With the BSV and BCH subsidies now 6.25 coins instead of the pre-halving 12.5 it is currently more profitable to process BTC transactions. BTC (at the time of writing) has a 98.5% share of the hashing power, while BCH has 0.8% and BSV 0.7%. (For the record, BSV has 56.7% of actual transactions.)

Chan took aim at those who criticize “loyalist” transaction processors who continue to support less profitable networks with hashing power. It’s not just politics—those processors, he said, have just as rational an economic incentive to make a long-term play for profits, than take what’s there in the short term.

“In the long run, our view is that we are the ones who are making the economically rational decision here. In the short run we could make more money mining BTC and banking it in U.S. dollars. But in the long run, hash owners are willing to hold BSV because they see the long-term value of BSV will be supported by transactional use.”

This is because the BTC industry is not paying any attention to actual usage or utility. Indeed, several market analyses we’ve seen don’t mention BTC usage at all, looking only at price trends and operating costs. Starting next month and moving into the future, how does BTC actually expect its transaction processors to keep making money?

“The mining regime that has been in place for more than the last 10 years is going to change in one month’s time,” Chan said. “And if you don’t wake up to this, you’re going to be buried… this is the last chance before the curtain falls.”

Bitcoin BSV’s model is based on utility, scalability and microtransactions (sub cent payments), and the capacity to handle theoretically unlimited numbers of transactions. These transactions are all paying fees, however small. BTC, on the other hand, has no model for future profits other than a rising coin price and high fees per transaction. Data per BTC transaction block is limited to 1-4 MB and any attempt to increase this in the past has been shouted down.

Coming to terms with harsh BTC reality

Chan said it appeared from articles he’d read that BTC supporters had come to terms with the fact that the BTC price would not instantly double to make up for its subsidy halving. However some were now compensating by suggesting “weak” or “inefficient” processors would fall away from the network, leading to larger profits for the “strong” processors who remained.

Therefore, that theory goes, those remaining would receive more BTC for less hashing power, and would in turn need to sell fewer coins to pay operating costs. A more detailed description of this theory is available here.

“If they don’t sell it, they can HODL it,” Chan said. Everyone holding BTC would cause the price to go up, increasing the value of the coins—according to their theory. “This is not logical,” he added, likening it to perpetual motion machines or trying to move a sailboat with fans on the deck.

Chan estimated that the “weak” ones leaving the network would have to number 90% or more for the few “strong” remainers to continue making any profit on BTC after the halving. This scenario, Chan said, is unlikely—meaning it would be difficult for hash power owners to profit from BTC with the subsidy at 6.25 coins.

“The BTC economy is a speculative bubble—people need to listen. A massive correction will likely happen.”

 Only a network with income from a source other than basic block reward mining could be profitable from mid-2020 and into the future. Here’s where BSV’s 50%+ share of actual transactions starts to look more important.

Projects sending massive amounts of data to the BSV network on a regular basis—such as current examples EHR Data Inc. or WeatherSV—are the ones who will provide the profit. That’s a much better business model than relying on a magical assumption that coin value will rise… somehow.

In any case, Chan said, it’s not in Bitcoin BSV’s interests to have sudden price spikes, as exciting as that would be for those holding it. Short-term price speculators are of little value to BSV over real business users.

“If BSV jumped up to a thousand dollars in one day, then obviously it’s not going to stay there. It’d only be showing that it’s just as volatile as BTC, and that hurts the real businesses we need to bring on board.”

“That’s a huge business risk to them. And those are the real guys you care about. Because those are the guys doing real stuff on BSV and are willing to pay to use BSV for the next ten years.”

Data and reputation

Chan also mentioned the Merchant API and Miner ID projects as evidence BSV is serious about attracting businesses.

Miner ID allows transaction processors to verify which blocks they have processed. This is a more formalized version of the (voluntary) signals processors currently provide—paving the way for them to build corporate reputations by signing their name to every block and verifying the work they’ve performed on its data.

Processors would not (and should not) have plausible deniability for any bad action they’ve undertaken, Chan said. “It should be on the record what they processed, and when.” Analysts could compare processing data on a dimension they haven’t ever before, and processors could be judged by how much they’ve committed to the network, how much risk they’ve taken, and how much they’ve spent.

Media misinformation

As the economic situation facing BTC became more apparent, Chan said, business owners curious about BSV and those making BSV’s case would need to be wary of deliberate misinformation campaigns. We’ve already seen plenty of evidence for this in the news and on social media.

“That’s the unfortunate world we live in at the moment. We live in a world where anonymous hackers and information warriors own the internet. Unless you side with them, you’re always going to have to fight through misinformation.”

“But people aren’t stupid. They will see the truth if the evidence is around them,” he added, noting that BSV would prove its worth easily as an increasing number of real businesses come on board and used it.

“We just have to keep doing our business. If some lose faith, or fall off the bandwagon, that’s OK. You can jump off the ark.”

Learn more about TAAL’s vision and strategy as Bitcoin enters the Transaction Processing era here.

New to Bitcoin? Check out CoinGeek’s Bitcoin for Beginners section, the ultimate resource guide to learn more about Bitcoin—as originally envisioned by Satoshi Nakamoto—and blockchain.