比特币上的网络游戏(iGaming)用例

拉斯维加斯和澳门传奇式的线下娱乐场正遭受着新冠病毒COVID-19疫情封锁带来的影响。由于他们的短期和长期内前景存在着极大不确定性,我们认为是时候再次探讨“网络游戏(iGaming)”这个话题了。比特币SV(BSV)是一个非常适合海量数据和证明游戏公平性的平台,它可以同时满足线下娱乐场和居家游戏的玩家需求。

根据比特币协会的数据,2018年网络游戏行业的估值为480亿美元。当时的预测显示,随着移动互联网设备在全球的不断普及,这个数字将越来越高。但是,如果有一股新力量可以将更多的真实世界应用程序迁移到网上,减少实体交互(无论这是不是件好事),这个方案将带动在线博彩更大的繁荣,新的选择由此而生。

网络游戏(iGaming)与信任问题

迄今阻碍网络游戏增长的一个因素是信任。尽管实体娱乐场存在种种缺陷,但在它们所在的大多数司法管辖区都受监管,必须遵循严格的游戏公平性规则。业主投入大量资金和精力建立设施,如果地方官员不满意他们的运营,这些场所可能会随时被要求停业整顿。业主的身份必须经过审核。而在网络游戏领域,情况并非总是如此,或者至少司法管辖区和规则并不总是明确。

区块链技术,无论是BSV还是其他技术,长期以来一直被认为是解决这个问题的最佳方案。公开验证和不可变的游戏记录与规则可以朝着建立声誉和赢得玩家信任迈出一大步。如果玩家可以看到游戏是否在公平运行,那么运营商是谁在哪里便不再那么重要(尽管仍然相关)。

不过,即使是区块链也存在问题。一些应用程序(如许多使用以太坊智能合约的应用程序)在链上运行其游戏逻辑,这意味着它们受到该平台性能问题的限制。其他方案仅使用区块链来记录玩家拥有的游戏资产,而游戏逻辑在链下运行。即使是后一种情况,如果区块链本身不能同时处理所有问题,应用程序也可能受到性能和扩容性问题的限制

这也是一个与行业相关的问题:视频游戏和电子竞技。像Kronoverse这样的公司在开发他们的旗舰产品《CryptoFights》时也遇到过类似问题。

输入比特币,为了同时处理所有内容而构建。即使游戏逻辑未在链上运行,它也具有记录(和验证)其操作以及所有玩家交互和资产所有权的交易能力。BSV的无限扩容能力非常适合网络游戏区块链应用程序,并保证基本协议在未来不会以影响经济和商业模式的方式更改。

同样,值得信赖的在线游戏是比特币最早的承诺之一,同时也是某段时期最成功的故事之一。但随着使用量的增长,BTC故意限制的交易能力使其大部分运营商倒闭。在开发人员寻求替代方案时,BTC上的游戏要么停滞不前,要么奄奄一息。

BitBoss具备行业经验和人才,为网络游戏成功保驾护航

BitBoss是目前在比特币BSV上开发网络游戏平台最有经验的公司之一。其首席执行官兼联合创始人、前律师马修·迪克森(Matt Dickson)在游戏业颇有建树。他创立的Poydras游戏金融公司一度拥有近3000台老虎机,最近才将其出售给拉斯维加斯游戏公司AGS。在与创业家兼企业软件开发人员首席技术官亚历克斯·肖尔(Alex Shore)的合作下,两人找到了BSV作为最适合他们新业务运营的平台。

BitBoss开发了一系列网络游戏产品,这些产品在BSV上运行,可在线上、线下使用,甚至可以将二者结合。产品中包括可将移动应用程序和娱乐场的实体博彩游戏设备之间联网的硬件设备“Bridge Link”、面向多种资产的Cabbage Wallet,以及一系列移动游戏应用程序。该公司还拥有许多正在申请专利的技术,且平台可供第三方开发人员使用。

迪克森说,借助BitBoss的技术,娱乐场运营商可以整合其业务其他方面的开展,如促销活动、餐厅、娱乐和奖励,而运营商或其用户甚至不会意识到他们正在使用比特币区块链。他说,其实娱乐场运营商过去曾尝试为此创建应用程序,但实施情况普遍不佳。

传统模式也忽略了那些不能或不会亲自去实体娱乐场的顾客,这个问题已经存在了几十年,而新冠肺炎COVID-19的疫情加剧了这个问题。娱乐场运营商很可能借由BSV的力量加大线上运营规模,追回娱乐场惨淡时期损失的数百万美元。娱乐场运营商过去对网络游戏世界了解不足,或者错误认为开发和链接其生态系统成本太高。他们现在有了兴趣探索在线方案措施。像BitBoss这样的公司和BSV上其他初露头角的初创公司,将很乐意为他们指明道路。

202024日的“创世”协议升级是比特币历史上的一大里程碑,将见证BSV最大程度地回归到中本聪原先设想的协议。请访问“创世”硬分叉页面以了解更多信息。

要直接在您的收件箱接获CoinGeek.com最新消息,CoinGeek会议特别优惠以及其他内部信息,请加入我们的邮件列表

iGaming use cases on Bitcoin

The legendary gambling centers of Las Vegas and Macau are suffering from lockdowns triggered by the COVID-19 pandemic. With their immediate and longer-term futures looking uncertain, it’s time to talk again about the “iGaming,” or online gaming industry. Bitcoin SV (BSV) is well primed as a platform for data-heavy and provably fair gaming that doesn’t care whether its players enter a casino or stay in their living rooms.

According to the Bitcoin Association, iGaming was valued at US$48 billion in 2018. Projections at the time indicated that figure would grow much bigger as mobile internet devices continued to proliferate around the world. But with a new drive to move more real-world applications online and less physical interaction—and whether that’s a good thing or not—there could be an even bigger boom for online gambling alternatives from here on.

iGaming and trust

One aspect of iGaming that has hampered its growth so far is trust. Physical casinos, for all their flaws, are regulated in most of the jurisdictions in which they’re located and must follow strict rules on game fairness. Their owners invest a lot of money and effort in building their premises, which can be closed down or disciplined if local officials are dissatisfied with their actions. The owners themselves must be identifiable. That isn’t always the case, or at least the jurisdictions and rules are not always clear, in the online gaming space.

Blockchain technology, whether BSV or otherwise, has long been touted as a solution to this problem. Publicly verifiable and immutable records of games and rules are a big step towards establishing reputations and winning players’ trust. If you can see whether a game is running fairly or not, the location or identity of its operators becomes less important (though still relevant).

Even with blockchain, though, there are issues. Some apps—such as many employing Ethereum smart contracts—run their gaming logic on-chain, meaning they’re limited by that platform’s performance issues. Others use the blockchain only for recording player-owned game assets, with the gameplay logic happening off-chain. Even in the latter case, apps may be limited by performance and scalability issues if the blockchain itself can’t handle everything at once.

This is also an issue in a separate-yet-related industry: video gaming and esports. Companies like Kronoverse ran into similar problems when developing their flagship product, CryptoFights.

Enter Bitcoin, built exactly for the purpose of handling everything at once. Even if the game logic isn’t running on-chain, it has the transactional capacity to record (and verify) its operations, as well as interactions and asset ownership records for all players. BSV’s unlimited scaling capacity is perfect for iGaming blockchain applications, with the added assurance the base protocol cannot be altered at some future date in a way that impacts economies and business models.

Again, trustworthy online gaming was one of Bitcoin’s earliest promises—and for a while, one of its biggest success stories. But BTC’s deliberately limited transaction capacity knocked most of its operators out of business as usage grew. Gaming development has been either stagnant or moribund on BTC as developers sought alternatives.

BitBoss has the industry experience and talent to make iGaming work

BitBoss is one of the more experienced companies developing iGaming platforms on Bitcoin BSV today. Its CEO and co-founder, former lawyer Matt Dickson, is well established in the gaming world. He founded Poydras Gaming Finance Corporation which once owned almost 3,000 slot machines, before selling it to Las Vegas gaming company AGS recently. Together with CTO Alex Shore, an entrepreneur and enterprise software developer, they settled on BSV as the most suitable platform for their new operation.

BitBoss has developed a suite of iGaming products that run on BSV and can be used online, in real life, and even to integrate the two. These include the “Bridge Link” hardware device that communicates between mobile apps and physical gaming devices in casinos, the multi-asset Cabbage Wallet, and a range of mobile gaming apps. The company also has a number of patents pending for its technology, and the platform is available for third party developers to build upon.

With BitBoss’ technology, Dickson said, casino operators can integrate other aspects of their business—such as promotions, restaurants, entertainment and incentives—without the operator or their users even needing to know they’re using the Bitcoin blockchain. Casino operators have attempted to create apps for this purpose in the past, he said, but implementation has been generally poor.

They’re also missing out on customers who can’t or won’t physically visit the casino premises, a problem that has existed for decades but has been exacerbated by the COVID-19 pandemic. It’s highly likely casino operators will ramp up efforts to go online and recover the millions they’ve lost as casinos lie darkened. Casino operators in the past have had a poor understanding of the iGaming world or considered it too expensive to develop and link with their ecosystems. They now have added incentives to explore online options. Companies like BitBoss and other budding entrepreneurs on BSV would be happy to show them the way.

New to Bitcoin? Check out CoinGeek’s Bitcoin for Beginners section, the ultimate resource guide to learn more about Bitcoin—as originally envisioned by Satoshi Nakamoto—and blockchain.