Ella Qiang:比特币将带动“新业务模式爆发”

比特币协会东南亚地区经理Ella Qiang表示,比特币是一个“面向真实世界经济”与“商业管道”的系统。在蒙特利尔MTL Connect线上会议金融科技专题讨论小组上发言时,Qiang认为比特币将在混乱时期带来一些全新的东西:融合数据与货币的互联网经济层。这带来了当前许多人翘首以盼的“新业务模式爆发”机会。

来自法国Avandis Consulting的Anino Emuwa担任小组会议主持人,她说道:“我们的世界将步入极为复杂的时期。”在提及新冠病毒蔓延及其滞后效应时,Emuwa表示我们所处的时代为金融科技公司带来了重大挑战,其中许多公司仍不能盈利。当前的经济危机在某种程度上“缩短了许多金融科技公司的跑道长度”。相比其他时期,他们现在必须要尽力在更短时间内开始盈利。

小组会议成员一致认为情况不妙——经济危机,尤其是更多商业纷纷走向线上的经济危机时期,为金融科技公司带来了机会。但这也影响着其当前运营,因为众多付费客户也在尽力保持盈利。

改变与机会一般总会受到人们欢迎,但如果突然而至,则可能过犹不及,而持续的公司运营取决于能够马上到来的收入。

越来越多的企业向我们走来

在这场全部由女性参与的小组讨论会上,Qiang的发言占了很长时间,她还是唯一一位来自非金融科技公司的小组讨论成员。其他人的发言主要围绕其市场所面临的直接挑战而展开,但Qiang却主要关注未来——由于比特币可以解决许多企业刚刚提出的问题,有必要甄别出哪些适用。

Qiang表示:“我们已看到越来越多的企业向我们走来”,以寻求解决方案。她在比特币协会(也是CambrianSV发者活动的组织者)的一部分工作是探索新业务模式,为好奇于比特币如何成为“其数字化转型解决方案一部分”的那些企业提供技术支持。

她列举了比特币为企业带来的各种好处:这是一个开放账本,为支付与数据均打上时间戳。其还带来更高的透明度与可审核性,针对已经发生的一切而为用户提供防篡改的记录。

比特币将释放流动性

令人耳目一新的是,尽管Emuwa询问过去几个月的交易量是否发生变化,但讨论中并未谈及比特币单价。Qiang认为重要的是要考虑基于区块链的数据与支付交易,而在其社交媒体以及内容创建平台上,比特币均看到活动量有所增加,人们正在探索能够更加赢利并以新方式令其内容变现的各种途径。

Qiang表示,互操作性(例如现有数据孤岛间的互操作性)是比特币可大放异彩的另一个领域,而在交易中融合价值与信息,以及代币化“数字双胞胎”,则能释放更多流动性,进而催生B2B、B2C以及交易的新业务模式。

Viola Llewellyn代表的是以非洲为主战场的Ovamba Solutions,其对银行迄今未能创新或与金融科技合作以满足客户需求而感到遗憾。但是,该地区也存在新机遇,例如即将获批的非洲自由贸易协定。她认为,非洲将会“越过新冠病毒所造成的鸿沟”。

在被问及融资时,Qiang与Llewellen都认为融资新模式也同样涌现了出来,并表示比特币BSV行业在2020年实际上已看到来自天使投资者与风险投资家的稳定兴趣流。比特币提供“数据与货币的实时分发”,并期待着为各种规模的企业提供答案 – 无论是Facebook与谷歌等现有科技巨头,还是全新的初创公司。

无论企业能否在2020年的斗争中存活下来,许多企业都将在接下来的几年内探索新模式与新构思。比特币无疑能够满足这些需求,该行业内的许多人员随时可提供帮助。

欢迎与Ella Qiang以及比特币协会中国区经理Lise Li一道参加于10月20日举办的亚太区BSV虚拟见面会。请点击此处报名

另请观看:Ella Qiang主持CoinGeek Live小组讨论“代币化世界中交易所与交易的未来”( The Future of Exchanges & Trading in a Tokenized World)。

202024日的“创世”协议升级是比特币历史上的一大里程碑,将见证BSV最大程度地回归到中本聪原先设想的协议。请访问“创世”硬分叉页面以了解更多信息。

要直接在您的收件箱接获CoinGeek.com最新消息,CoinGeek会议特别优惠以及其他内部信息,请加入我们的邮件列表

Ella Qiang: Bitcoin will bring ‘an explosion of new business models’

Bitcoin is a system “for the real world economy” and “the plumbing of business,” said Ella Qiang, regional manager for Southeast Asia at the Bitcoin Association. Speaking on a fintech panel at Montreal’s online MTL Connect conference, Qiang said Bitcoin is offering something completely new in confusing times: an economic layer for the Internet that fuses data and money. This presents an opportunity with “an explosion of new business models” that many are now seeking.

“The world is going through extraordinarily complex times,” said moderator Anino Emuwa of France’s Avandis Consulting. Referring to the COVID-19 pandemic and its numerous after-effects, Emuwa said our era presented a significant challenge for fintech companies, many of which are still not profitable. In a way, the economic crisis facing the world has “shortened the runway for many fintechs.” They must now seek to become profitable in an even shorter time than they would have otherwise.

Panel members agreed that things would be tough—an economic crisis, especially one that is seeing more commerce rush online, presents opportunities for fintechs. However it has also affected their current operations, as several of their paying clients are also struggling to stay profitable.

Change and opportunity are always welcome things, but not necessarily when it comes suddenly, and continuing company operations depend on income that’s coming in right now.

‘More and more enterprises are approaching us’

Given a large share of the speaking time on the all-female panel, Qiang was also the only member not representing a fintech company. While the others spoke mainly about immediate challenges they faced in their markets, Qiang focused mainly on the future—which is probably apt, given that Bitcoin is answering a lot of questions many businesses are just beginning to ask.

“We’ve seen more and more enterprises approach us” looking for solutions, Qiang said. Part of her work with the Bitcoin Association (and also as organizer of the CambrianSV developer events) is to explore new business models, providing technical support for those curious about how Bitcoin can be “a part of the solution to their digital transformation efforts.”

She listed Bitcoin’s various advantages to enterprise: it’s an open ledger, timestamped—for both payments and data. It also offers greater transparency and auditability, giving users a tamper-proof record of everything that’s happened.

Bitcoin is unlocking liquidity

Refreshingly, there was no talk of the Bitcoin unit price in the discussion, though Emuwa asked if transaction volumes had changed in the past months. Qiang said it was important to look at both data and payment transactions on the blockchain, and Bitcoin had seen increases of activity on its social media and content creation platforms, as people are exploring ways they can make a little more money and monetize their content in new ways.

Interoperability (e.g. between existing data silos) is another area where Bitcoin can shine, and combining value and information in transactions, and tokenized “digital twins,” would see this increase in liquidity being unlocked would see new business models in B2B, B2C, and trades, Qiang said.

Viola Llewellyn of Africa-focused Ovamba Solutions regretted that banks had so far not been able to innovate or partner with fintechs to serve their customers. However, there were also new opportunities in the region, such as a continent-wide free trade agreement that’s soon to be ratified. Africa could “leapfrog across the divide” COVID-19 has created, she said.

Asked about funding, Qiang agreed with Llewellen that new models for that were emerging too, and said the Bitcoin BSV industry had actually seen a steady stream of interest from angel investors and venture capitalists in 2020. Bitcoin offers “real-time distribution of data and money” and is looking to provide answers to businesses of all sizes—whether they’re existing tech giants like Facebook and Google, or brand-new startups.

Whether businesses survive the struggles of 2020 or not, many will be looking for new models and ideas in the coming years. Bitcoin definitely offers those, and there is an abundance of people in the industry ready to offer assistance.

Join Ella Qiang and Lise Li, Bitcoin Association’s Regional Manager for China, on October 20 for the BSV Virtual Meetup – APAC. Register here.

See also: Ella Qiang moderate the CoinGeek Live panel, The Future of Exchanges & Trading in a Tokenized World.

New to Bitcoin? Check out CoinGeek’s Bitcoin for Beginners section, the ultimate resource guide to learn more about Bitcoin—as originally envisioned by Satoshi Nakamoto—and blockchain.