2020年度CoinGeek大会直播探讨了风险投资在比特币未来中的作用

对于风险投资在比特币生态系统中的作用,比特币世界仍存分歧。比特币初创公司是应该寻求风险投资家来资助他们的想法,还是应该使用比特币区块链来将他们的产品货币化?在第3天的CoinGeek大会直播中,在比特币初创公司上收益最多的投资者同台讨论了风险投资对比特币未来的作用。

在比特币协会创始主席Jimmy Nguyen的主持下,本场小组讨论聚集了Ayre集团私募股权部门的总经理Paul Rajchgod、Unbounded Capital的执行合伙人Zach Resnick、Two Hop Ventures的普通合伙人Jan Smit以及Entanglement 研究机构的风险投资资深人士兼联合创始人Bradley Rotter。

Rotter是比特币SV(BSV)生态系统的新成员,他已经被Zach Resnick和Unbounded Capital的团队引入了BSV提供的充满机遇的世界之中。自2013年以来,他一直在投资数字货币,Rotter将BSV描述为他所见过的“最令人兴奋的数字货币协议”。

投资者分享了他们在投资项目之前会考虑的一些事情。Ayre集团是比特币投资者中最多产的公司之一,它投资的重点已经从早期初创公司转移到成长型公司。Rajchgod表示,这些公司中的大多数都是从其他区块链转移到BSV的,它们“为BSV生态系统带来了巨大的交易量并创造了价值。”

coingeek-live-2020-tackles-role-of-venture-investments-in-bitcoins-future

对于Unbounded Capital和Two Hop Ventures来说,其投资重点仍然放在早期公司上。这两家风投公司特别关注那些创建基础设施的公司,这些公司能够使其他公司在比特币SV上创建业务。这些公司包括HandCash,Planaria,Run,Centi和Centbee。

Rajchgod透露,Ayre集团也对那些“希望将BSV的能力作为其支柱/渠道的一部分”的公司很感兴趣。这类公司包括Transmira、Kompany和Centi,它们一直依赖BSV来解决问题,并提供针对BSV生态系统以外的产品。

Rajchgod表示:“一旦他们成功,他们便会将大众带入比特币领域。”

他以GeoSpock为例,该公司在CoinGeek大会直播的第3天宣布,它们已从nChain领导的一轮投资中筹得540万美元。这家数据分析与一体化初创公司还吸引了Sony Ventures支持的Global Brain和世界上最大的电信公司之一NTT Docomo的投资。Rajchgod表示,这些投资表明,提供由BSV支持的解决方案的初创企业可以触达比特币生态之外的世界了。

coingeek-live-2020-tackles-role-of-venture-investments-in-bitcoins-future

该小组还讨论了比特币圈子中经常争论的话题——初创公司是应该寻求风险投资还是应该完全避免风险投资。尽管他们一致认为,比特币让初创公司更容易将其服务货币化并且创收,但他们得出结论:风险投资对于初创公司为其产品提供资金仍然非常重要,尤其是在早期阶段。

Unbounded的Resnick指出,BSV的风险投资领域前景光明。他的公司一直在与其他风险投资公司就BSV领域中的机遇进行探讨,他相信在不久的将来,这些风投公司将大量涌入BSV生态系统,以争取成为比特币革命的一部分。

Nguyen最后以一个提醒做了总结,对于初创公司的创始人来说,在风险投资方面是没有万全方法的。

“生活之所以伟大,是因为它充满了各种各样的方法和理念,这也是比特币取得全面胜利的原因。”

202024日的“创世”协议升级是比特币历史上的一大里程碑,将见证BSV最大程度地回归到中本聪原先设想的协议。请访问“创世”硬分叉页面以了解更多信息。

要直接在您的收件箱接获CoinGeek.com最新消息,CoinGeek会议特别优惠以及其他内部信息,请加入我们的邮件列表

[10]
[10]
[id^="_form"]
[id^="_form"]
[id$="_submit"]
[id$="_submit"]
[^;]
[^;]
['on' + event]
['on' + event]
[?&]
[?&]
[^&#]
[^&#]
[(d+)]
[(d+)]
[i]
[i]
[results[1]]
[results[1]]
[elem.name]
[elem.name]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-']
[+_a-z0-9-']
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z]
[a-z]
[el.name]
[el.name]
[10]
[10]
[id^="_form"]
[id^="_form"]
[id$="_submit"]
[id$="_submit"]
[^;]
[^;]
['on' + event]
['on' + event]
[?&]
[?&]
[^&#]
[^&#]
[(d+)]
[(d+)]
[i]
[i]
[results[1]]
[results[1]]
[elem.name]
[elem.name]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-']
[+_a-z0-9-']
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z]
[a-z]
[el.name]
[el.name]

CoinGeek Live 2020 tackles role of venture investments in Bitcoin’s future

The Bitcoin world is still divided on the role of venture investment in the ecosystem. Should Bitcoin startups look to venture capitalists to fund their ideas or use the Bitcoin blockchain to monetize their products? Some of the most prolific investors in Bitcoin startups shared the stage on Day 3 of CoinGeek Live to discuss the role of venture investment in Bitcoin’s future.

Moderated by Bitcoin Association Founding President Jimmy Nguyen, the panel brought together Paul Rajchgod, the managing director of private equity at Ayre Group; Zach Resnick, managing partner at Unbounded Capital; Jan Smit, the general partner at Two Hop Ventures; and Bradley Rotter, a VC veteran and co-founder of Entanglement Research Institute.

Rotter is new to the Bitcoin SV (BSV) ecosystem who has been introduced to the world of opportunities BSV offers by Zach Resnick and the team from Unbounded Capital. While he has been investing in digital currencies since 2013, Rotter described BSV as “the most exciting digital currency protocol” he has seen.

The investors shared some of the things they consider before investing in a project. For Ayre Group, which is one of the most prolific Bitcoin investors, the focus has been shifting from early stage startups to growth stage companies. Most of these companies defect to BSV from other blockchains “bringing a lot of transactions and value to the BSV ecosystem,” Rajchgod said.

coingeek-live-2020-tackles-role-of-venture-investments-in-bitcoins-future

For Unbounded Capital and Two Hop Ventures, the focus is still on early stage companies. The two VCs have a special focus on companies building infrastructure that allows other companies to build on Bitcoin SV. They include HandCash, Planaria, Run, Centi and Centbee.

Ayre Group has also been keen on companies that “are looking to use BSV’s capabilities as part of their backbone/plumbing,” Rajchgod revealed. These type of companies—including Transmira, Kompany and Centi—have been relying on BSV to solve challenges and offer products that target beyond the BSV ecosystem.

“When they are successful, they bring the masses to Bitcoin,” he said.

He cited GeoSpock, a company that announced on Day 3 of CoinGeek Live that it had raised $5.4 million in an investment round led by nChain. The data analysis and integration startup also attracted investment from Sony Ventures-backed Global Brain and NTT Docomo, one of the world’s largest telecom. Such investments prove that startups offering BSV-powered solutions can rise beyond the Bitcoin world, Rajchgod remarked.

coingeek-live-2020-tackles-role-of-venture-investments-in-bitcoins-future

The panel also talked about whether startups should look for venture funding or avoid it altogether, a topic that’s constantly debated in Bitcoin circles. While unanimously agreeing that Bitcoin has made it easier for startups to monetize their services and generate revenue, they concluded that venture funding is still important to allow startups to fund their products, especially in the early stages.

The future is bright for the venture funding sector in BSV, Unbounded’s Resnick pointed out. His firm has been engaging with other VCs about the opportunities in the BSV space and he believes that in the near future, these VCs will flood the BSV ecosystem seeking to be part of the Bitcoin revolution.

Nguyen concluded by reminding startup founders that there’s no one-size-fits-all approach when it comes to venture funding.

“Life is great because it’s full of diversity of approaches and ideas and that’s also what makes Bitcoin a total win.”

New to Bitcoin? Check out CoinGeek’s Bitcoin for Beginners section, the ultimate resource guide to learn more about Bitcoin—as originally envisioned by Satoshi Nakamoto—and blockchain.