竞选比特币

竞选比特币

在美国,主要政治职位的选举周期为两年和四年,这些职位往往是证明与重点大学、兄弟会、律师事务所和金融机构有利益关系的产物。参议员和国会议员往往在退休后从事游说工作——进一步利用他们在体制内积累的权益证明(proof of stake)。总统们退休后会过着演讲和写作的生活,讲述他们在权益证明的网络中心的时光,因为那些拥有最大权益的人,是那些为了增加现有制度中的利害关系和权力而做出下放权力决定的人。所以,一旦有人建立了利害关系,他们就更容易积累更多的利害关系,这就形成了一个几乎不可能被打破的寡头体系,因为社会底层的上升阶梯变得越来越高,以至于通往主权的唯一路径只能是被现有的统治阶级授予入口——或者摧毁这个体系。

听起来很熟悉?

人们可能会认为这是对于被称为“以太坊2.0”或EOS或Tron网络的虚构软件所采用的PoS或DPoS系统的讨论——从某种程度上来说确实如此,但实际上这些权益证明系统已经存在了数千年。

利用积累的权益来进一步增加自己的权益,是种姓制度、王国、封建主义和现代银行/国家资本主义的基石。当一个实体积累了权益,并且其他所有的实体必须按照自己所拥有权益的比例服从命令时,体制就会变得懒惰、权利化,越来越腐败,并且更容易被那些没有其他手段来表达自己对真理的投票权的人所暴力取代。

而在这样的体制中,我们很难去责备暴力革命者,因为博弈论并不重视个人,不重视他们的竞争能力,也不重视任何奖励创造价值的动机。这些过时的、残缺的治理体系只重视权益,所以到了一定程度之后,那些无法积累权益的人除了被体系淘汰,然后试图重新开始之外,几乎别无选择。

这就是为什么每一位美国总统(除了马丁·范·布伦以外)都是英国国王约翰的后裔,众所周知,他动用自己的利害关系将权利授予某些男爵,以解决税收之争,这件事引入了被称为《大宪章》的文件。但《大宪章》在国王的主权、他的国家以及他的权益方面只是一个注释,这就是为什么800年后,世界上最强大的国家几乎都是由携带着约翰基因的领导人统治的原因。

这就是权益证明、旧世界和冷漠的等级制度的力量。唯一能够调解这种矛盾的方式是越来越有争议性的选举,老百姓每隔几年才有一次与利益相关者进行交涉的时机,却被告知,一张选票就是对抗数千年积累的权益的有力工具。

比特币解决了这个问题

如果你曾经需要信任拜占庭将军问题中的将军或选举出最佳区块候选人,那么对于这个任务来说,权益证明模型显然不是最好的。这就是为什么比特币系统里面那种每十分钟就会进行一次的选举,奖励最勤奋的执法者,并引入了一种只表彰诚实行为者而非其他任何事物的系统。

如果美国大选是一种像比特币那样的工作量证明模型,候选人必须表明,他们首先愿意放弃其他一切机会,并表示他们热爱实施国法,而这个法律将尽可能以最有效的方式为最多的人创造最大的价值。如果候选人变得懒惰,他们将在等级制度中被下一个相信保持诚实高于其他所有优先事项的候选人所取代。为了奖励候选人的工作,他们可以从系统中获得奖励,并从所有受益者那里获得少许费用,这样的话竞争就可以再次开始了。同时,从前的制度中心(领导人和国王)的影响力会随着他们对社会的贡献而相对平衡地下降。

简而言之,工作量证明消除了革命的必要性,因为微小的选举和微小的革命一直在链上发生。糟糕的想法会被拒绝,优质的想法会被永远保留!

不可避免的是,随着文化逐渐转向理解工作量证明治理的价值,该等级制度可能会缩小,因为越来越多的普通人可以合作形成更直接、更有竞争力的自治体,并通过该体系寻求更大的权力,这种体系创造的机会在权益证明体系中是不可能全部存在的。建立在这种工作量证明之上的制度的公平性将有利于每一代最有价值的贡献者,而不是有利于昨天最有价值的贡献者的后代。从理论上讲,我们可以用所有微小的事务来代替许多层级分明的官僚机构,而不是每四年进行一次有争议的选举,这些微小的事务可以被装进巨大的数据块中,在日常的工作量证明网络中,每十分钟就可以在微小的选举中被挖掘出来。

一个更合理的国王

总有一天,直接民主会被看作是诚实的节点在建立区块而已。正如中本聪所说:“他们用CPU算力进行投票,通过努力扩展有效的区块来表达对有效区块的接受,通过拒绝工作来拒绝无效的区块。任何需要的规则和激励机制都可以通过这种共识机制来执行。”这是比特币白皮书的结尾,它解释说,随着世界上越来越多的人以链结算,国家选举也将由哪个区块包含最广泛的工作验证来决定,但要明白这一点,人们需要一点想象力以及理解中本聪对于比特币的愿景。

在此之前,美国人必须在现有体系中的两种利益代表之间选择他们的领导人。这次选举,同大多数其他选举一样,应该作为一个痛苦的例子,表明系统需要由诚实的节点来治理。

另请参见:Craig Wright博士的CoinGeek Live主题演讲《一个世界的区块链如何为计算与云系统的新未来提供动力》。

202024日的“创世”协议升级是比特币历史上的一大里程碑,将见证BSV最大程度地回归到中本聪原先设想的协议。请访问“创世”硬分叉页面以了解更多信息。

要直接在您的收件箱接获CoinGeek.com最新消息,CoinGeek会议特别优惠以及其他内部信息,请加入我们的邮件列表

[id^="_form"]
[id^="_form"]
[id$="_submit"]
[id$="_submit"]
[^;]
[^;]
[?&]
[?&]
[^&#]
[^&#]
[(d+)]
[(d+)]
[elem.name]
[elem.name]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-']
[+_a-z0-9-']
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z]
[a-z]
[el.name]
[el.name]
[id^="_form"]
[id^="_form"]
[id$="_submit"]
[id$="_submit"]
[^;]
[^;]
[?&]
[?&]
[^&#]
[^&#]
[(d+)]
[(d+)]
[elem.name]
[elem.name]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-']
[+_a-z0-9-']
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z]
[a-z]
[el.name]
[el.name]

Elect Bitcoin

In the U.S., elections occur on two and four year cycles for major political positions, and their positions tend to be the product of having proof of stake relationships to major universities, fraternities, law firms and financial institutions. Senators and Congressmen tend to work in lobbying after retirement—further leveraging their accumulated proof of stake in the system. Presidents retire to a life of speaking and writing about their time at the center of the proof of stake network, because those with the most stake are those who make decisions on the delegation of power in order to increase the amount of stake and power in the existing system. So, once someone has stake, it is easier for them to accumulate more stake, creating an oligarchy that is near impossible to break as the lower rungs of the ladder get so high that the only path to sovereignty is to be granted an entrance by the existing ruling class –or to burn the system down. 

Sound familiar? 

People may think this is a discussion of PoS or DPoS systems employed by the vaporware known as “Ethereum 2.0” or EOS or Tron networks—and, in some ways, it is, but truly these proof of stake systems have existed for thousands of years.

Leveraging accumulated stake to increase the stake of one’s stake is the cornerstone of the caste system, kingdoms, feudalism and modern bank/state-capitalism. When an entity accumulates stake, and all others must obey orders in proportion to the stake that one holds, systems become lazy, entitled, increasingly corrupt and more prone to be replaced violently by people who have no other means to express their own vote for the truth. 

And it is hard to blame violent revolutionaries in such systems because the game theory doesn’t value the individual, their capacity to compete or anything that rewards value-creating incentives. These old, broken governance systems only value the stake, so after a certain point, those who cannot accumulate have little choice to but to overflow the system and attempt to start fresh. 

This is why every U.S. President (except Martin Van Buren) has been a descendent of British King John who famously used his stake to grant rights to some barons over a tax feud; ushering in the document known as the Magna Carta. But the Magna Carta was a mere parenthetical in the sovereignty of the King, his state and his stake, and this is why, 800 years later, the most powerful nation in the world is ruled almost exclusively by leaders imprinted with his genetics. 

That’s the power of proof of stake, the old world and the detached hierarchies. The only intercessions are the increasingly contentious elections where the commoners have their moment to intercede on the stake-holders once every few years while being told that a single vote is a powerful tool against thousands of years of accumulated stake. 

Bitcoin. Fixes. This. 

If you ever needed to trust a Byzantine general or elect the best block candidate, the proof of stake model is clearly not the best system for the job. That’s why elections of the Bitcoin sort occur every ten minutes, reward the hardest working enforcer of the law and usher in a system that praises honest actors over anything else. 

If the U.S. Election was a proof of work model, like Bitcoin, the candidates would have had to show that above everything else they were willing to forgo all other opportunities and signal their love for the enforcement of the law of the land, and that law would be that which creates the most value for the most people in the most efficient way possible. If candidates became lazy, they would be replaced in the hierarchy by the next candidate who believed in giving an honest signal above all other priorities. To reward the candidate for his work, a reward from the system and small fees from all who benefited could be given, and competitions could start again. All the while, former centers of the system (leaders and kings) would move down in their influence in relative balance with their contributions to society. 

In short, proof of work eliminates the necessity for revolution because tiny elections and tiny revolutions are occurring all the time on chain. Bad ideas are rejected, and good ideas are saved forever!

Inevitably, as the culture would shift toward understanding the value of proof of work governance, hierarchies could shrink as increasingly common people could cooperate to form more direct and competitive entities for self-governance and the pursuit of greater power through the system—creating opportunities that could not have existed in a proof of stake system all. The equity of a system built on this proof of work would favor each generation’s most valuable contributors rather than favoring the sons of yesterday’s most valuable contributors. And instead of contentious elections that occur every four years, in theory, we could replace many layers of bureaucracy with all the tiny things that could be fit into gigantic blocks of data to be mined every ten minutes in tiny elections that occur amid the humdrum of life in a proof of work network. 

A more valid King

Someday, direct democracy will be seen as little more than honest nodes building blocks. As Satoshi said, “They vote with their CPU power, expressing their acceptance of valid blocks by working on extending them and rejecting invalid blocks by refusing to work on them. Any needed rules and incentives can be enforced with this consensus mechanism.” This is the closing edict of the Bitcoin white paper, explaining that as more and more of the world is settled on chain, national elections too will be decided by whichever blocks contain the most widely validated proof of work, but to see that requires a little bit of imagination and an understanding of Satoshi’s vision for Bitcoin. 

Until then, Americans have to choose their leader between two representations of stake in the existing system. This election, like most others, should serve as an excruciating example for the need to be governed by honest nodes.

See also: Dr. Craig Wright’s CoinGeek Live keynote presentation, How One World Blockchain Powers a New Future for Computing & Cloud Systems

New to Bitcoin? Check out CoinGeek’s Bitcoin for Beginners section, the ultimate resource guide to learn more about Bitcoin—as originally envisioned by Satoshi Nakamoto—and blockchain.