《CoinGeek圆桌会议》第3集:比特币独立日快乐!

coingeek-roundtable-episode-3-happy-bitcoin-independence-day4

快到比特币独立日两周年了!比特币现在几乎有12年的历史了,但是两年前,比特币最初愿景的信仰者们决定摆脱那些想要为了自己的目的而霸占比特币的人。在最新的CoinGeek圆桌会议上讨论这个问题的是当时处于那一时期的一群人,他们对所发生的事情有一些非常不同的看法。

比特币独立日是什么?嗯,就是2018年11月下旬的那一天,一群长期从事比特币的人决定,这已经足够了,比特币只有遵循它的原始愿景,并在它原始创造者的指导下才能成功。

那些居心叵测的人不仅希望霸占比特币以达到自己的目的,实际上他们也曾这样做。一次是在2017年,BTC的“核心”开发者曾坚定地宣布,他们将人为限制比特币系统后面的区块,从根本上改变比特币交易的方式,并驱逐任何不同意这点的人。从那次分叉中,BTC和BCH出现了。

然而,BCH始终是处于一个不稳定的联盟,一方面是现实主义者,他们明白比特币需要与现实世界友好相处,另一方面是那些仍然梦想着一个加密无政府主义“乌托邦”的人——这是一个法律无法触及的幻想世界,在那里,每个人都可以自由地与任何人进行匿名交易。唯一的问题是,在这种所谓的乌托邦生活一段时间后,你就会明白金融规则为什么会存在。

于是,又有了一次正式的分叉。这具体是怎么发生的,对某些人来说还是一个有争议的问题,你得看视频才能了解所有的原因。但对于现实主义者来说,它有一个美好的结局,他们现在正看着比特币SV生态系统日渐壮大。

至于BCH,现在又处于分叉状态,因为实现无政府主义的统一就像放养成千上万只特别暴躁的猫。富裕的无政府主义者通常希望保护自己的数十亿美元和他们的身份,而非富裕的信仰者则认为,争取无监管的金融会以某种方式使他们变得富裕。这通常会起到反作用。所有这些的结果就是,BCH社区花了大部分时间争论谁来为它的发展买单……没有一个解决方案是能够满足需求的。

圆桌会议

所以这就是我们在最新的CoinGeek圆桌会议上谈论的内容。会议上有主持人Kurt Wuckert,Jr.和TrueReviews首席执行官Connor Murray,BSV的支持者们——他们在2018年11月15日举行了在线聚会,以观看发生于556766区块的独立日,还有Centi创始人Bernhard Müller,他更多的是采取了“观望”的态度……还有我。由于没有完全理解发生了什么,我在半绝望的状态下又坚守了BCH几个月,直到最后做出选择,要么是完全离开比特币行业,要么与那些似乎有正确想法的人待在一起。

我们谈到了分叉的背景和原因,在曼谷举行的BCH矿工会议上——意识形态的分歧显然没有得到解决,以及分叉当天发生了什么。许多人,包括我自己在内,都在从外部观察,希望用哈希标记的分叉能宣布一个明确的结果——产生统一。现在看来这是一个荒谬的想法,但对我们许多人来说,这就是我们所知道的一切。如果我在2018年能看到这个比特币圆桌会议就好了。

总而言之,这是一场非常引人入胜的讨论,圈子里的神话被消除,人们的眼界被打开。虽然我们最后都在同一个地方,但我们走了不同的道路来到达那里,这些本身就是故事。

我们还摆脱了过去,谈论目前的情况,我们如何看待比特币现在的情况,为什么它看起来仍然是一个令人兴奋的前景。这里没有关于价格、投资或HODLing的讨论——因为这并不重要。我们都认为比特币拥有光明的未来,并且会步入正轨。我们都不后悔自己所做的决定。

请在Streamanity上观看CoinGeek RoundTable第3集的完整内容。

202024日的“创世”协议升级是比特币历史上的一大里程碑,将见证BSV最大程度地回归到中本聪原先设想的协议。请访问“创世”硬分叉页面以了解更多信息。

要直接在您的收件箱接获CoinGeek.com最新消息,CoinGeek会议特别优惠以及其他内部信息,请加入我们的邮件列表

CoinGeek RoundTable Episode 3: Happy Bitcoin Independence Day!

coingeek-roundtable-episode-3-happy-bitcoin-independence-day4

It’s almost the second anniversary of Bitcoin Independence Day! Bitcoin is now (almost) 12 years old, but it was two years ago that the believers in its original vision decided to break free from those who wanted to hijack it for their own purposes. Here to discuss it on the latest CoinGeek RoundTable is a group of people who were there at the time—with some very different perspectives on what happened.

What’s Bitcoin Independence Day? Well, it was that day in late November 2018 when a group of long-time Bitcoiners decided that enough was enough, that Bitcoin could only succeed by following its original vision—with the guidance of its original creator.

Not only did those with alternative agendas wish to hijack Bitcoin for their own purposes, they actually had. Once was in 2017 when “Core” developers at BTC had declared firmly they would keep their Bitcoin offspring artificially limited, fundamentally change the way Bitcoin transactions worked, and push out anyone who disagreed. From that divorce emerged BTC and BCH.

BCH, however, was always an uneasy alliance between the realists who understood Bitcoin needed to play nice with the world as it exists, and those who still dreamed of a crypto-anarchist “utopia”—a fantasy world the law somehow couldn’t touch, where everyone was free to transact anonymously with anyone. Only trouble is, after living in that so-called utopia for a while, you learn the hard way why financial rules exist.

And so there was another formal separation. How exactly that happened is still a contentious issue for some; you’ll have to watch the video to hear all about why. But it had a happy ending for the realists, who are now watching the Bitcoin Satoshi Vision ecosystem growing by the day.

As for BCH, it’s now in the process of splintering again, because achieving anarchist unity is like herding thousands of particularly ornery cats. Wealthy anarchists are usually looking to protect their billions and their identities, while non-wealthy believers think striving for regulation-free finance will somehow make them wealthy. It usually does the opposite. As a result of all this, the BCH community spends most of its time arguing about who’s going to pay for its development… with no solution ever being adequate.

The RoundTable

So that’s what we talked about on the latest CoinGeek RoundTable. There’s host Kurt Wuckert, Jr. and TrueReviews CEO Connor Murray, BSV-ers from the first second who held online parties on 15 November 2018 to watch Independence Day happen at Block 556766. There’s Centi founder Bernhard Müller, who took more of a “wait and see” approach… and me. Not fully appreciating what was going on, I stuck it out with BCH for a couple months longer in a state of semi-despair, until finally choosing between leaving the Bitcoin industry altogether or siding with the people who seemed to have the right idea.

We talked about the background to and reasons for the split, the BCH miners’ meeting in Bangkok where it became clear the ideological differences weren’t getting solved, and what happened on the day of the split itself. Many, myself included, were looking in from the outside and hoped a fork fought with hashing machines would declare a clear outcome—producing unity. It seems like a ridiculous idea now, but for many of us, it was all we knew. If only I could’ve watched this Bitcoin RoundTable in 2018.

All in all it was a pretty compelling discussion, with myths dispelled and eyes opened. Even though we all ended up in the same place we took different roads to get there, and those are stories in themselves.

We also broke from the past to talk about the current situation, how we think Bitcoin is doing now and why it still seems like an exciting prospect. There’s no talk of price, investments or HODLing—because that is not what’s important. We all agreed Bitcoin has a bright future and is on the right track. None of us regrets the decisions we made.

Watch the full CoinGeek RoundTable Episode 3 on Streamanity.

New to Bitcoin? Check out CoinGeek’s Bitcoin for Beginners section, the ultimate resource guide to learn more about Bitcoin—as originally envisioned by Satoshi Nakamoto—and blockchain.