BTC is Not Bitcoin

BTC不是比特币,其中缘由很简单

“BTC不是比特币。即使我说我不喜欢比特币,他们还是会质疑我尽管说了不喜欢比特币却仍在使用它是不是一种挑衅之类的事情。我喜欢比特币,只是不喜欢BTC。”BSV的许多追随者都面临着类似的情况,开发者兼企业家Ryan X. Charles在他最新的短片中详细描述了这些情况。

Charles从2011年开始就涉足比特币领域,在创建Yours.org、Money Button和最近的Coasian之前,他为Reddit工作。甚至在BSV作为一个独立于BTC存在的实体之前,他就描述了BTC故意限制“小区块”的教条是如何摧毁基于比特币系统处理大量小额支付交易能力的商业模式的。

Charles说:“BTC使用‘比特币’这个名字,但这是它与比特币唯一的共同点。”

BTC与比特币最大的区别是2017年隔离见证(又名“SegWit”)的增加。它从比特币交易中获取数字签名,并将其放入一个单独的数据结构中。此举表面上是为了使BTC区块上能够进行更多交易,但迄今为止,它在解决BTC拥堵和费用高昂的问题上收效甚微。

2008年的比特币白皮书将“数字化的币”描述为有着数字签名的哈希链。如果你去掉了签名的数据,它就不再是一枚币了——至少不是像比特币中所描述的那样。

BTC不能与其他区块链网络竞争

BTC有限的交易区块大小(上限为1-4MB)意味着该网络理论上的最大交易量为每秒10-14笔,但实际上更接近于每秒4笔。这也是整个网络中的最大值,而不仅仅是针对一个用户的,信不信由你。

如果所有的交易都是在链上的(比如BSV),那么BTC仅仅作为全球经济的替代性支付网络这件事就是不可行的。BTC的缺点不仅仅是对普通用户而言——它的“模式”意味着越来越多的交易在争夺1-4MB的空间,这使得交易费用越来越高。

这也让矿工和处理器处于劣势:BTC与其他所有区块链网络竞争,这意味着如果它的使用成本高得令人难以承受,用户和矿工都会随着实际采用量(而不是投机)的增长而简单地切换到其他网络。在过去的五年里,也有大量的证据表明这种情况确实在发生。许多企业尝试接受BTC是出于好奇,或是因为它方便小额、快速的支付,结果发现它不再像其承诺的那样有效。

BTC对此的“解决方案”是将小型交易转移到链下网络,只将BTC区块链作为一个“结算层”。比特币从未以这种方式面向公众宣传过,这个方案会使得BTC更像现有的信用卡和银行系统——效率低下、不安全、使用成本高。

BTC从根本上破坏了经济

还有一个不为人知的隐患。如果BTC的价格突然大幅下跌(考虑到其波动性,这种情况很有可能发生),区块链可能会完全停止。由于价格下跌破坏了他们的盈利能力,矿工将离开这个网络。挖矿难度水平(根据矿工数量每两周调整一次)将保持在难以置信的高水平,这使那些留在BTC上的人无法确认下一个区块。这种现象被称为“连锁死亡”,Charles称之为“大规模经济安全漏洞”。

BSV的区块大小是无限的。如果在BSV上发生类似的事件,对用户来说,交易实际上会变得更便宜。在BSV上,在区块空间方面上没有竞争,尽管在2021年的大部分时间里,BSV所处理的数据量要比BTC要大,但它每笔交易的费用仍然不到1美分。

“他们(BTC)从根本上改变并破坏了经济。”Charles说。根据白皮书指出,SegWit毫无意义地“打破了比特币的定义”。只有价格上涨,它才能成功,而价格上涨只是由于投机市场上人为拉高币价。

Charles说,这个泡沫将会破裂。很难准确预测何时它会破裂,但BTC基于不存在的经济基本面而不断上涨的价格意味着,它依赖于新投资者向早期持有者支付收益。

换句话说,BTC已经变成了一个庞氏骗局,而这些骗局最终总会失败。

早在2017年分叉之前,Charles就一直反对区块大小进行限制。他的Yours.org业务使人们能够通过小额交易支付阅读新闻文章,类似于Medium的付费版本。BTC破坏了这种商业模式,同时也破坏了其他无数商业模式。许多这样的企业,以及他们的创始人,后来都转向了BSV。

202024日的“创世”协议升级是比特币历史上的一大里程碑,将见证BSV最大程度地回归到中本聪原先设想的协议。请访问“创世”硬分叉页面以了解更多信息。

要直接在您的收件箱接获CoinGeek.com最新消息,CoinGeek会议特别优惠以及其他内部信息,请加入我们的邮件列表

[id^="_form"]
[id^="_form"]
[id$="_submit"]
[id$="_submit"]
[^;]
[^;]
[?&]
[?&]
[^&#]
[^&#]
[(d+)]
[(d+)]
[elem.name]
[elem.name]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-']
[+_a-z0-9-']
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z]
[a-z]
[el.name]
[el.name]
[id^="_form"]
[id^="_form"]
[id$="_submit"]
[id$="_submit"]
[^;]
[^;]
[?&]
[?&]
[^&#]
[^&#]
[(d+)]
[(d+)]
[elem.name]
[elem.name]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-']
[+_a-z0-9-']
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z]
[a-z]
[el.name]
[el.name]

‘BTC is not Bitcoin’ and the reasons for this are pretty simple

‘BTC is not Bitcoin’ and the reasons for this are pretty simple

“BTC is not Bitcoin. They question if I’m trolling or something by saying I’m using Bitcoin even though I’m saying that I don’t like Bitcoin. I like Bitcoin, I just don’t like BTC.” Many followers of BSV face similar situations, and developer and entrepreneur Ryan X. Charles spells out the details in his latest short video.

Charles has been involved with Bitcoin since 2011, working for Reddit before founding Yours.org, Money Button and more recently Coasian. Even before BSV existed as a separate entity to BTC, he described how BTC’s deliberately limited “small block” dogma was destroying business models based on Bitcoin’s ability to process tiny payment transactions at large volumes.

BTC uses the name “Bitcoin” but that’s the only thing it has in common with the idea of Bitcoin, Charles says.

The biggest change that diverged BTC from Bitcoin was the 2017 addition of segregated witness (aka “SegWit”). This takes the digital signatures from Bitcoin transactions and puts them in a separate data structure. The move was ostensibly to allow more transactions in a BTC block, but to date it has done little to solve BTC’s problems of congestion and high fees.

The 2008 Bitcoin white paper describes a “digital coin” as a hashed chain of digital signatures. If you remove the signature data, it’s not a coin anymore—at least, not as Bitcoin describes it.

BTC cannot compete against other blockchain networks

BTC’s limited transaction block sizes (capped at 1-4MB) mean the network has a theoretical maximum of about 10-14 transactions per second, though in reality it’s more like four. That’s the maximum for the entire network, too, not just one user—believe it or not.

BTC is simply unfeasible as an alternative payment network for the world’s economy, if all transactions are on-chain (like BSV). The disadvantages aren’t just there for ordinary users—BTC’s “model” means an ever-increasing number of transactions competing for 1-4MB of space, pushing fees ever-higher.

That puts miners and processors at a disadvantage too: BTC competes with every other blockchain network, meaning that if its usage costs are prohibitively high, users and miners alike will simply switch to other networks as real adoption (not speculation) grows. There is plenty of evidence of this actually happening over the past five years, too. Many business that tried accepting BTC out of curiosity or because it was convenient for small, fast payments found it no longer worked as promised.

BTC’s “solution” to this has been to move small transactions to off-chain networks, using the BTC blockchain as a “settlement layer” only. It was never sold to the public this way, and makes BTC more like existing credit cards and banking systems—that is, inefficient, insecure, and costly to use.

BTC’s fundamentally broken economics

There’s also a hidden danger that doesn’t get discussed much. If there’s a sudden and drastic price decline in BTC (and there’s every possibility this could happen, given its volatility) the blockchain could simply stop dead. Miners would leave the network as the price drop destroys their profitability. The mining difficulty level, which readjusts only once every two weeks according to the number of miners) would remain impossibly high, leaving those left on BTC unable to confirm the next block. This phenomenon is known as “chain death” and Charles calls it a “massive economic security vulnerability.”

BSV’s block sizes are unlimited. Should a similar event occur on BSV, transactions would actually get cheaper for users. There’s no competition for block space on BSV, and even though it has processed a larger amount of data than BTC for most of 2021, its fees per transaction remain at a fraction of a cent.

“They (BTC) fundamentally altered, and broke, the economics,” Charles says. SegWit “breaks the definition of Bitcoin” according to the white paper and makes no sense. It can only succeed as long as the price is going up, and the price only goes up due to artificial pumps on speculative markets.

The bubble will burst, Charles says. It’s hard to predict exactly when, but BTC’s ever-increasing price based on non-existent economic fundamentals means it relies on new investors to pay out earlier holders.

In other words, BTC has become a pyramid scheme, and these always fail eventually.

Charles has railed against block size limits since long before the 2017 fork. His Yours.org business allowed microtransaction payments to read news articles, similar to a paid version of Medium. BTC broke that business model, along with countless others at the time. Many of those businesses, and the people who founded them, have since moved to BSV.

New to Bitcoin? Check out CoinGeek’s Bitcoin for Beginners section, the ultimate resource guide to learn more about Bitcoin—as originally envisioned by Satoshi Nakamoto—and blockchain.

[id^="_form"]
[id^="_form"]
[id$="_submit"]
[id$="_submit"]
[^;]
[^;]
[?&]
[?&]
[^&#]
[^&#]
[(d+)]
[(d+)]
[elem.name]
[elem.name]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-']
[+_a-z0-9-']
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z]
[a-z]
[el.name]
[el.name]
[id^="_form"]
[id^="_form"]
[id$="_submit"]
[id$="_submit"]
[^;]
[^;]
[?&]
[?&]
[^&#]
[^&#]
[(d+)]
[(d+)]
[elem.name]
[elem.name]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-']
[+_a-z0-9-']
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z]
[a-z]
[el.name]
[el.name]