作为动态生态系统的BSV

作为动态生态系统的BSV

比特币SV的一个关键特征是它不需要管理员、核心开发人员或仁慈的独裁者就能适应并蓬勃发展,除了作为一个公共可追溯的不可删除的记录保存者这一基本任务之外,它对其他事情不做任何尝试。所有其他功能、需求和要求都可以在协议之外实现,而且应该通过个人或公司发展的企业资本主义自由市场服务过程来实现。

但首先……

比较BSV和旧BTC已经是徒劳的。它们不再具有可比性。其中之一仍然是一种“加密货币”,它吸引着反权威的反主流文化人群,其中夹杂着快速致富的计划,还添加了一些过时的激进经济理论以适应人们的喜欢。另一个是一个创新的技术平台,普通、平淡,但对于那些认识到它的力量和潜力的人来说,它有着无数的可能性。

各自的社区和叙述已经是无可比拟的了。当BTC聊天论坛的团队讨论货币主权和推翻现有的社会经济体制时,BSV的讨论总是关于新的商业模式和利用新的小额支付应用程序的方法。当BTC用户探讨如何避免政府控制时,BSV的讨论集中在对现有法律潜在的不合规行为的担忧,这可能会损害他们的业务或行业声誉。说他们现在像是在比较苹果和桔子是老生常谈,这更像是在比较苹果和iPhone。

但是,作为扩容的代价,BSV采用了原始比特币系统无限扩容的真言,这意味着对区块大小没有限制。最近,市场对此做出了响应,在BSV上进行了大量的交易并对其进行了广泛的使用,这导致过去平均大小约10MB的区块大小上升到135MB,而BTC仍然处于他们自我施加的1.1MB限制的世界里。那么,让区块链的能效提高135倍意味着什么?

对于节点运营商来说,这意味着在网络不断承受压力的同时,还要不断投资以保持其性能并且让用户满意。最近,人们开始担心,在链上存储原始数据将很快站不住脚,至少在经济舞台上没有一个新的参与者来承担日益增加的负担时是这样。

历史上,比特币交易的数据一直被存储在不可花费的输出上。它们被俗称为“OP_RETURN”产出。这是BSV上大多数数据协议放置数据的地方。但由于这些产出是不可花费的,矿工没有理由需要永久存储这些交易。除非你付钱给他们,但没有办法集体激励所有挖矿节点来存储你的数据,因为根本没有办法让你付钱给他们所有人。实际上,您只需要一个节点就可以存储它,为什么会有人愿意付钱给每个人来存储它呢?这没什么意义。(虽然值得一提的是,在疯狂的加密货币世界里有人想通过这样一个扭曲的镜头来看待社会,他们确实相信矿工在存储每个人的数据时得到了充分、公平、集体的补偿,这只是因为txn中支付了初始费用……我们往往会忽视这些异常的声音)。因此,在过去,人们曾多次假设,什么样的企业会承担将数据存储在链上、充当“数据库节点服务”的重任。事实上,我已经在里详细地写过了。来吧,再回想一下,我等你。

好的,时间到。它不再只是理论。区块已经变得如此之大,以至于许多社区一直依赖的免费索引服务(如ElectrumX)开始衰落。如果没有某种补偿,它们就无法继续运行整个节点。没关系。这是Seldon……—— 啊,是中本聪计划的一部分。

最近,Long Li在一篇Medium文章中介绍了URCHAIN.com,这是一个全新的BSV区块浏览器,他提到他不会存储很多OP_RETURN的输出格式,事实上,由于大小限制,保存在节点上的大部分内容会被删除。当我读到这篇文章时,我觉得这是一个转折点的信号,在这个转折点上,数据库节点业务将从理论成为现实。随着越来越多的区块浏览器不再使用存储所有数据的传统原生节点实现方式,可能意外启动商业模式的企业会在一夜之间产生需求,他们认为在链上存储数据永远是免费的(简言之,他们表现出对“公地悲剧”等简单经济概念的无知),因此需要纾困。数据库服务可以为纾困提供便利,但当然要付出代价。资本主义万岁!

那么,如何运行数据库服务呢?它需要大量的硬件、开发资源、还是钱呢?不尽然。存储的成本取决于其可访问性。RAM或SSD存储很贵,但HDD却更便宜,磁带驱动器甚至更便宜。因此,设计一个系统,将BSV区块链的大部分历史数据分流到廉价的“冰川”存储系统是显而易见的。AWS甚至有以非常合理的价格提供离线或慢速存储的存储解决方案。但是如何通过将数据库API作为服务来盈利呢?最简单的办法就是运行现有的区块浏览器API,但要通过Codugh等API代理运行,它能够为API服务器的每个请求支付费用。通过这种方式,您可以通过运行在Amazon上的一个简单的EC2 API服务器支付txn数据库服务的费用,其中带有一些txn过滤服务。

但如果你真的想用“比特币”的方式来做,你可以编写一个库,将历史交易的任何请求作为一个哈希解迷赏金交易,这将嵌入一定量的比特币到这个哈希解谜的问题上以锁定脚本。哈希解谜只是您希望从数据库服务检索的txn的预映像的哈希匹配。无论谁在网络上监听这些数据库txn请求,都将会看到这个请求,从存储中检索txn,并发布一个新的txn,在嵌入请求的数据(txn)作为解锁脚本的同时支付自己的赏金。然后,接受者就会看到并抓住新的txn和历史的txn。无需商业合同。按次收费。这是一种小额支付的商业模式!

如果内置到一个简单的库中,任何应用程序都可以请求或服务(并为此获得报酬)检索历史txn数据。这是一个去中心化的自由市场解决方案,它解决了矿工无法在区块链上永久储存不可花费的输出的问题。解决方案很漂亮,因为它不是以中心化的形式规划出来的,它不是协议开发人员提供的功能,它只是系统参与者作为一个整体以资本主义的方式作出反应和动态调整,以满足新的需求。这一切都是因为利润激励推动了发展,而这才是比特币系统的真正创新之处。

不过有一个问题,客户如何在一大堆其他交易中识别数据库txn请求交易?这里似乎有一个建立txn模板标准的空间,通过它可以识别或指定交易类型或模板。这是我自己一直在研究的东西,我可能很快就会透露一些解决方案。或者也许BSV生态系统会在没有任何帮助的情况下发现一种方法。这是一个有机的、动态的、有生命的呼吸网络的本质。我们都尽自己的一份力,但生态系统不依赖于任何一个个体。

202024日的“创世”协议升级是比特币历史上的一大里程碑,将见证BSV最大程度地回归到中本聪原先设想的协议。请访问“创世”硬分叉页面以了解更多信息。

要直接在您的收件箱接获CoinGeek.com最新消息,CoinGeek会议特别优惠以及其他内部信息,请加入我们的邮件列表

[id^="_form"]
[id^="_form"]
[id$="_submit"]
[id$="_submit"]
[^;]
[^;]
[?&]
[?&]
[^&#]
[^&#]
[(d+)]
[(d+)]
[elem.name]
[elem.name]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-']
[+_a-z0-9-']
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z]
[a-z]
[el.name]
[el.name]
[id^="_form"]
[id^="_form"]
[id$="_submit"]
[id$="_submit"]
[^;]
[^;]
[?&]
[?&]
[^&#]
[^&#]
[(d+)]
[(d+)]
[elem.name]
[elem.name]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-']
[+_a-z0-9-']
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z]
[a-z]
[el.name]
[el.name]

BSV as a dynamic ecosystem

BSV as a dynamic ecosystem

One of the key features of Bitcoin SV which allows it to adapt and thrive without the need for administrators, core developers or benevolent dictators is the fact that it doesn’t try to do anything besides the basic task of being a public traceable indelible record keeper. All other features, needs, requirements, can be done outside of the protocol, and should be, through the process of entrepreneurial capitalistic free market services developed by individuals or corporates.

But first…

To compare BSV and the old BTC is already quite futile. They are no longer comparable. One is still a ‘cryptocurrency,’ appealing to the anti-establishment counter-culture crowd intermixed with a get-rich-quick scheme, with a dash of some old radical economic theory added for taste. The other is an innovative technology platform, vanilla, bland, but open to countless possibilities to those who recognize its power and potential. 

The respective communities and narratives are already incomparable. While BTC chat forums team with those speaking about monetary sovereignty, and overthrow of the existing social-economic regime, BSV discussions are always about new business models and ways to capitalize on new micropayment applications. While BTC users talk about avoiding government control, BSV discussions center around the concern of potential non-compliance actors to existing laws which may hamper their businesses or industry reputation. It’s cliché to say they are like comparing apples and oranges now, it’s more like apples and iPhones.

But, as a price for scalability, BSV has adopted the original Bitcoin mantra of unbounded scaling, which means, no limits on the block size, and recently, the market has responded with such a flood of transactions and uses on BSV that the average size which used to be around 10MB, has risen to 135MB, while BTC remains at their self-imposed restricted world of 1.1MB. So what does it mean to have a blockchain 135x more energy efficient?

For node operators, it means there is a constant strain on the network while constantly investing to maintain the performance and keep users happy. This has recently shined a light on the worry that storing raw data on-chain will soon not be tenable, not at least without a new actor appearing on the economic stage in order to shoulder the increasing burden.

Data has historically been stored on provably unspendable outputs of bitcoin transactions. These are colloquially called “OP_RETURN” outputs. This is where most data protocols on BSV will put their data. But because these outputs are unspendable, there is no reason that miners will need to store these transactions perpetually. Not unless you paid them to, but there would be no way for one to collectively incentivize ALL mining nodes to store your data, because there is simply no way for you to pay all of them for it. Indeed, you only need ONE node to store it, why would anyone want to pay EVERYONE to store it? That makes little sense. (Though it is worth mention that in the crazy crypto world there ARE those who view society through such a distorted lens, that they do believe that somehow the miners are fully, fairly, collectively compensated for storing everyone’s data simply because the txn paid the initial fee… we tend to ignore these outlier voices). So it has been hypothesized many times in the past about what kind of business would pick up the slack of storing data on chain, acting as an ‘archival node service.’ In fact, I already wrote at length about it here. Go on, refresh your memory on that, I’ll wait.

Well, the time has come. It is no longer just theory. Blocks have gotten so large that unpaid indexing services (such as ElectrumX) that much of the community have relied upon until this point are starting to falter. They can no longer justify maintaining running their full nodes without some sort of compensation. This is fine. This is part of the Seldon…—ahem, Satoshi plan. 

Recently in a Medium article by Long Li which introduced URCHAIN.com, a new block explorer for BSV, he mentioned how he would NOT store many OP_RETURN output formats, and in fact prune much of what is kept on their nodes, due to the size limitations. When I read that, I felt it was the signal of the turning point where theory becomes reality for the archive node business. As more block explorers wean themselves off the traditional naïve node implementations which store everything, there will be an overnight demand created by businesses that may have accidentally started business models where they assumed storing data on chain would be free forever (in short, they displayed ignorance of simple economic concepts such as Tragedy of the Commons) and will be in need of a bail out. Archive services can happily facilitate this bail out, for a price, of course. Vive Capitalism! 

So how could you run an archive service? Would it require massive amounts of hardware? Development resources? Money? Not really. Storage is cheap depending on its accessibility profile. RAM or SSD storage is expensive, but HDD are cheaper, and tape drives even cheaper than that. So working out a system that would shunt most of the historical data of the BSV blockchain to cheap ‘glacial’ storage is a no brainer. AWS even has storage solutions that offer offline or slow storage for very reasonable prices. But how to earn profit by running an archive API as a service? Well, the simplest thing would just be to run existing block explorer APIs, but over API proxies such as Codugh, which allow for per-request payment for API servers. That way you can be paid for your txn archive service via a simple EC2 API server running on Amazon, with some txn filtering.

But if you really want to do it the ‘bitcoin’ way, you could write a library that would form any request for a historical transaction as a hash puzzle bounty transaction, which would embed some amount of bitcoins into this hash puzzle locking script. The hash puzzle is simply a hash match for a pre-image of the txn that you wish to retrieve from an archive service. Whoever on the network is listening to these archival txn requests, would see this request, retrieve the txn from storage, and post a new txn that pays themselves the bounty while embedding the requested data (the txn) as the unlocking script. The recipient then just sees and grabs the new txn with the historical txn attached. No business contract required. Pay per use. Micropayment business model!

If built into a simple library, any application would be able to both request or serve (and get paid for) retrieving historical txn data. This is the decentralized—nay, free market solution to the issue of miners not storing forever unspendable outputs on the blockchain. And the solution is beautiful, because it isn’t centrally planned, it isn’t a feature put in by protocol developers, it is simply the system participants as a whole reacting and dynamically adapting in a capitalist fashion to meet a new demand. All because there is profit incentive driving the development, and that is indeed the true innovation of Bitcoin.

There is one question though, how would clients recognize a archival txn request transaction among a sea of other transactions? There seems to be room for a txn template standard by which transaction types or templates can be recognized or designated. This is something that I have been working on myself, and there are some solutions that I may soon reveal. Or perhaps the ecosystem will discover a method without any help. That is the nature of an organic dynamic living breathing network. We all do our part, but the ecosystem is dependent on no one individual.

New to Bitcoin? Check out CoinGeek’s Bitcoin for Beginners section, the ultimate resource guide to learn more about Bitcoin—as originally envisioned by Satoshi Nakamoto—and blockchain.

[id^="_form"]
[id^="_form"]
[id$="_submit"]
[id$="_submit"]
[^;]
[^;]
[?&]
[?&]
[^&#]
[^&#]
[(d+)]
[(d+)]
[elem.name]
[elem.name]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-']
[+_a-z0-9-']
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z]
[a-z]
[el.name]
[el.name]
[id^="_form"]
[id^="_form"]
[id$="_submit"]
[id$="_submit"]
[^;]
[^;]
[?&]
[?&]
[^&#]
[^&#]
[(d+)]
[(d+)]
[elem.name]
[elem.name]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-']
[+_a-z0-9-']
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z]
[a-z]
[el.name]
[el.name]