布兰登·李:为比特币建立知识库

布兰登·李(Brendan Lee)正在收集围绕比特币 SV(BSV)的集体智慧,并使其可供开发人员所用(无论是新手还是资深开发人员)。“我想把我对比特币的认识,尽可能与更多的人分享,”他说。

BSV迄今出现还不到一年,因为它是从比特币现金分叉出来,所以对于要学习和传授的部分是令人惊讶的。但最近在巴厘岛进行的CambrianSV成长营中,比特币协会的新培训和发展经理布兰登为参加研讨会的30多名开发人员举办了一系列深受好评的研讨会,展示了他学习的成果。

他还接下了第二份新工作,出任管理咨询公司Faié的技术主管,与那些第一次对比特币潜力感兴趣的公司合作。对于全新加入者,布兰登坦诚很多时候需要克服一些偏见。“很难向人们解释”清楚比特币中的“内战”。但是,“只要您开始谈论一个诚实的货币系统,它是透明的,当中进行的交易是即时且十分便宜…人们听了后,他们会‘哇,我想了解更多’”。

其中一个利用比特币的咨询项目例子是,该系统开发允许最终消费者自动向艺术家支付专利费,通过利用比特币从单个交易向多方付款的能力:“粉丝直接付给艺术家”。

布兰登为比特币协会工作时,他指出,今天正在建设的东西仍然需要能够与互联网上现有的应用程序的“功能比对”。“但是,一旦我们做到它们实现了功能比对,并开始执行除了现有功能之外的功能,我们将看到人们开始认真倾听”,因为他们了解到,“如果您在比特币使用这个应用程序,您可以快速地赚钱”。

布兰登承认,比特币SV知识体有待确认。在为巴厘岛成长营进行准备时,他一直在“搜索互联网”,并与nChain的研究人员交谈,以确保“我的想法和对事物的理解是正确的”。这项工作的结果将是一系列的教育资源,比特币协会将其发布“让比特币新手可以前来,并学习这些概念,其中很大部分是极为重要的解说,如果你正在寻找建立一个在比特币之上的应用程序”。

但布兰登无意主张自己是所讲解事情的最终权威:“我在这过程中尝试厘清问题,在整理这些课程的过程中,我学到了很多。我真正希望的是,在某个时候,有人和我说‘嘿,我在想你说的话同时想到了有一个更好的方法。’对我来说,这代表我达到了我的目的,那就是激发创意。”

在本周的CoinGeek对话播客中,布兰登·了解更多:

您也可以在YouTube上观看播客视频。

请订阅CoinGeek对话这是播客的第二季的第四集。如果您刚加入欢迎从第一季开始聆听30集。

以下是查找它们的方式:

• 搜索“CoinGeek对话”,无论您在哪里得到您的播客

• 在iTunes上订阅

• 在Spotify聆听

• 访问CoinGeek对话网站

• 观看CoinGeek对话 YouTube播放列表

202024日的“创世”协议升级是比特币历史上的一大里程碑,将见证BSV最大程度地回归到中本聪原先设想的协议。请访问“创世”硬分叉页面以了解更多信息。

要直接在您的收件箱接获CoinGeek.com最新消息,CoinGeek会议特别优惠以及其他内部信息,请加入我们的邮件列表

[10]
[10]
[id^="_form"]
[id^="_form"]
[id$="_submit"]
[id$="_submit"]
[^;]
[^;]
['on' + event]
['on' + event]
[?&]
[?&]
[^&#]
[^&#]
[(d+)]
[(d+)]
[i]
[i]
[results[1]]
[results[1]]
[elem.name]
[elem.name]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-']
[+_a-z0-9-']
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z]
[a-z]
[el.name]
[el.name]
[10]
[10]
[id^="_form"]
[id^="_form"]
[id$="_submit"]
[id$="_submit"]
[^;]
[^;]
['on' + event]
['on' + event]
[?&]
[?&]
[^&#]
[^&#]
[(d+)]
[(d+)]
[i]
[i]
[results[1]]
[results[1]]
[elem.name]
[elem.name]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-']
[+_a-z0-9-']
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z]
[a-z]
[el.name]
[el.name]

Interviews

Charles Miller

Brendan Lee: Building the knowledge base for Bitcoin

Brendan Lee is gathering together the collective wisdom around Bitcoin SV (BSV) and making it digestible for developers – both for newbies and for the battle-hardened. “I wanted to take my knowledge of Bitcoin and get it out to as many people as possible,” he says.

BSV is still less than a year old, since its fork from Bitcoin Cash, so it’s surprising how much there is to learn and to impart. But at the CambrianSV Bootcamp in Bali recently, Brendan, the new Training and Development Manager for the Bitcoin Association, demonstrated the fruits of his studies in a series of well-received seminars for the 30 or so developers who were attending.

He’s also taken on a second new job, as Head of Technology for Faiā, a management consultancy that works with companies who may be taking an interest in the potential of Bitcoin for the first time. For complete newcomers, Brendan admits there are often some prejudices to overcome. The “civil war” in Bitcoin is “very hard to explain to people”. But “as soon as you start talking about an honest money system, that’s transparent, where transactions are instant and extremely cheap …people actually hear that and they go ‘wow, I want to learn more’.”

One example of a consultancy project that makes use of Bitcoin is the development of a system to allow the automatic payment of royalties to an artist by an end consumer – making use of Bitcoin’s ability to pay out to multiple parties from a single transaction: “the fan pays the artist directly”.

In his work for the Bitcoin Association, Brendan says that what’s being built today still needs to achieve “feature parity” with existing applications on the Internet. “But once we get to the point that they do achieve feature parity, and start executing features that are in addition to what’s already available, we will see a moment where people start sitting up and listening” because they’ll have learnt that “if you use this application on Bitcoin, you can earn money really quickly”.

Brendan admits that there isn’t yet a defined body of knowledge around Bitcoin SV. In preparing his sessions for the Bali Bootcamp, he’s been “scouring the Internet” and talking to researchers at nChain to make sure that “my ideas and understanding of things is correct”. The result of the work will be a series of educational resources that the Bitcoin Association will release “so that people who are new to Bitcoin can come in and learn about these concepts – a lot of which are extremely important to understand if you are looking to build an application that works on top of Bitcoin”.

But Brendan is making no claims to be the final authority on the matters he’s teaching: “I’m working this out as I go along, and I have learnt so much in the process of putting these lectures together. What I’m really hoping for is that at some point someone comes to me and says ‘hey, I was thinking about what you said but here’s an even better way to do it’. That to me says that I’ve hit the right notes, I’ve got the creative juices flowing.”

Hear more from Brendan Lee in this week’s CoinGeek Conversation podcast:

You can also watch the podcast video on YouTube.

Please subscribe to CoinGeek Conversations – this is the fourth episode of the podcast’s second season. If you’re new to it, there are 30 episodes from season one to catch up on.

Here’s how to find them:

– Search for “CoinGeek Conversations” wherever you get your podcasts
– Subscribe on iTunes
– Listen on Spotify
– Visit the CoinGeek Conversations website
– Watch on the CoinGeek Conversations YouTube playlist

To receive the latest CoinGeek.com news, special discounts on CoinGeek Conferences and other inside information direct to your inbox, please sign up for our mailing list.

COMMENT

[data-clipboard-demo]
[data-clipboard-demo]
[data-clipboard-demo]
[data-clipboard-demo]
[data-clipboard-demo]
[data-clipboard-demo]
[data-clipboard-demo]
[data-clipboard-demo]
[data-clipboard-demo]
[data-clipboard-demo]
[data-clipboard-demo]
[data-clipboard-demo]