“区块链可以重塑互联网”:陈明杰(Jeff)的新BSV浏览器,并计划重新设计域名系统

2003年,陈明杰(Jeff Chen)全凭自己构建了自己的网络浏览器Maxthon。凭借其可定制的界面,快速、安全且无广告的网络浏览器吸引了投资者的目光,陈明杰将其转变成具有盈利的业务。如今,它每个月为140个国家的1亿用户提供服务。

现在,陈明杰发现到比特币SV的能力,并在BSV区块链上构建其最新版本的浏览器,并创建了一个革命性的互联网域名系统,将所有信息都存储在链中。

在本周的CoinGeek对话中,陈明杰与查尔斯·米勒(Charles Miller)交谈时,解释了比特币SV吸引他的原因。“BTC没有办法做到,因为它无法扩容。我观察和学习BSV大约有6个月的时间;我理解它的技术和潜力。我开始考虑如何将浏览器与区块链整合,并以一个非常用户友好的方式呈现。”陈明杰希望创建一个“透明且可追溯”的全球公共数据存储服务。反过来,浏览器可以成为其他开发人员在区块链上创建更具创新性产品的平台。

陈明杰在使用区块链时看到的主要优势之一是,资金可以完全嵌入在线活动中。那么,新浏览器上的微支付将如何运作呢?“我们将整合传统钱包。人们不必记住私钥或公钥,所有这些可怕的名称。您只需像平常一样使用,就好象您使用账号和密码登录Facebook或推特一样。您可以充值一些钱[使用法币或加密货币]来获得积分…使用所有区块链功能。”陈明杰有意让那些不使用加密货币的人也“从区块链获益,我们想揽入他们”。通过提供对Twetch等BSV应用程序的支付访问,陈明杰希望“简化人们进入区块链世界的门槛”。

2005年,在争取到首个投资后,Maxthon成为“世界首个将云服务集成到其中的浏览器”。这使得书签能够保存到云中,并与各种系统共享,现在世界上最大型的浏览器上普遍可以使用这些系统。Maxthon达到700万到800万用户后,它引起了企业和投资者的兴趣,因此获得了与谷歌和雅虎的合同,让陈明杰扩大他的开发者团队。这就是Maxthon的故事:从个人项目到在香港、北京和旧金山设有基地的企业。

除了取代区块链上的当前mx5浏览器(以及该软件的后续版本),陈明杰正在开发一个新的域名系统,他认为这是一个是时候更新的领域。“域名系统设计于二十世纪八十和九十年代。…这是一个非常集中的系统,由13个路由服务器控制,大部分在美国,有些在欧洲。”陈明杰指出,使用此DNS(域名系统)服务器链,域解析功能的不足。无论个人的上网速度如何,如果路由服务器存在任何问题,每个人的网站访问速度都会减慢。通过使用区块链将系统去中心化,每个节点将能够存储所有信息,有效地重新设计区块链上的域名系统,使其更快速、更安全。“这就是BSV的设计,这就是为什么我们想要创建大块块的原因”陈明杰说道。

认识到比特币SV上存在的扩容能力,以及它解决当前互联网问题的能力,“我认为克雷格[怀特]博士的愿景——在未来将只有一个链,我真的相信会是这样。这是互联网的规则。”

陈明杰是一个真正的创新者。今天,主场内容是使用区块链来改善互联网用户体验和域名系统。现在就观看。

本周的CoinGeek对话播客听查尔斯·米勒对陈明杰完整采访:

 

此处观看视频。

此处阅读文稿。

您也可以在此处查看:

– 观看CoinGeek对话 YouTube播放列表

– 在iTunes上订阅

– 在Spotify收听

– 访问CoinGeek对话网站

– 使用您的播客搜索“CoinGeek对话”

202024日的“创世”协议升级是比特币历史上的一大里程碑,将见证BSV最大程度地回归到中本聪原先设想的协议。请访问“创世”硬分叉页面以了解更多信息。

要直接在您的收件箱接获CoinGeek.com最新消息,CoinGeek会议特别优惠以及其他内部信息,请加入我们的邮件列表

‘Blockchain can reinvent the internet’: Jeff Chen’s new BSV browser and plan to redesign the domain name system

In 2003, Jeff Chen single-handedly built his own web browser, Maxthon. With its customizable interface, the fast, secure and ad-free web browser drew the attention of investors and Jeff turned it into a profitable business. Today it serves 100 million monthly users in 140 countries.

Now Jeff has discovered the capabilities of Bitcoin SV and is building the latest version of his browser on the BSV blockchain, as well as creating a revolutionary internet domain-name system where all the information will be stored on the chain.  

Speaking to Charles Miller in this week’s CoinGeek Conversations, Jeff explained what drew him to Bitcoin SV. “With BTC, it’s not possible to do it because it cannot scale. I observed and learned BSV for around 6 months; I understand its technology and the potential. I started thinking about how to integrate the browser with blockchain and to present that in a very user-friendly way.” Jeff hopes to create a global public data storage service which is “transparent and traceable.” In turn, the browser can be a platform for other developers to create more innovative products on blockchain.

One of the key advantages Jeff sees in using the blockchain is that money can be fully embedded into online activities. So, how will micro-payments on the new browser work? “We’ll integrate traditional wallets. People don’t have to remember a private key or a public key, all those kinds of scary terms. You use it as normal, as you use Facebook or Twitter using an account and password to log in. And you can top up some money [using fiat currencies or cryptocurrencies] to get points …to consume all the blockchain features.” Jeff is keen to allow those who aren’t into cryptocurrency to also “get value from blockchain. We want to embrace them”. By providing payment access to BSV applications, such as Twetch, Jeff hopes to make it “very easy for people to enter this blockchain world”. 

In 2005, after securing its first investment, Maxthon was “the world’s first browser that had cloud service integrated into it.” This enabled bookmarks to be saved to the cloud and to be shared with various systems, which is now commonly available on the world’s biggest browsers. Once Maxthon hit 7 to 8 million users, it piqued the interest of businesses and investors resulting in contracts with Google and Yahoo allowing Jeff to grow his team of developers. That was the story of Maxthon: from personal project to a business with bases in Hong Kong, Beijing and later in San Francisco.  

Alongside replacing the current mx5 browser (as well as subsequent versions of the software) on blockchain, Jeff is developing a new system for domain names, which he sees as an area ripe for updating. “The domain system was designed in the nineteen eighties. …It’s a very centralised system controlled by thirteen route servers, mostly in the U.S., with some in Europe.” Jeff points to the inefficiencies in the domain resolving capabilities, using this chain of DNS (domain name system) servers. Regardless of an individual’s internet speed, if there’s any issue with the route server, everyone’s website access slows down. By using blockchain to de-centralise the system, each node would be capable of storing all of the information – effectively redesigning the domain name system on blockchain, making it faster and more secure. “That’s the design of BSV and that’s why we want to create big blocks” says Jeff.

Recognizing the scaling power that exists on Bitcoin SV and its ability to resolve the issues with the current internet “I think the vision of Dr. Craig [Wright], that in the future there will be only one chain, I actually believe it. It’s the rule of the internet.”

Jeff Chen is a true innovator. Today, the stage is set to use blockchain to improve the internet user experience and the domain name system. Watch this space.

Listen to Charles Miller’s interview with Jeff Chen in full, on this week’s CoinGeek Conversations podcast:

 

Watch the video here.

Read the transcript here.

You can also check it out here:

– Watch on the CoinGeek Conversations YouTube playlist  

– Subscribe on iTunes

– Listen on Spotify

– Visit the CoinGeek Conversations website

– Search for “CoinGeek Conversations” wherever you get your podcasts

New to Bitcoin? Check out CoinGeek’s Bitcoin for Beginners section, the ultimate resource guide to learn more about Bitcoin—as originally envisioned by Satoshi Nakamoto—and blockchain.