比特币脚本是图灵完备的:sCrypt的“生命游戏”就是证明

比特币脚本是图灵完备的:sCrypt的“生命游戏”就是证明

智能合约平台sCrypt已经将代码发布到了《康威生命游戏》的比特币脚本版本中,以此证明该语言是图灵完备的,并且能够保持状态。它质疑了比特币批评者和“智能合约”区块链平台追随者的有争议的观点,该观点认为比特币脚本无法运行复杂计算。

《康威生命游戏》(或简称为“生命”)是一个著名的细胞自动机,它展示了图灵完备性。它是由英国数学家John Horton Conway于1970年设计的,玩法是用户输入一个初始状态,然后观察细胞集如何进化(或死亡)。一旦初始状态被设定,“玩家”就不需要进一步的输入了。

sCrypt在一篇博客文章中描述了该系统的工作方式,并公布运行该系统的比特币脚本代码。它证明了比特币脚本无需在链上运行全部的计算,就能够跨交易区块维持状态的能力。

为什么“图灵完备”很重要?

sCrypt之前已发布过研究材料和代码,证明比特币脚本是“图灵完备”的,因此可以执行构建合约所需的任何计算任务。

有一个问题是,像比特币这样,通过广播和处理每10分钟发生一次的区块交易来工作的系统,是否能够维持一种状态,以便对耗时超过10分钟的任务的数据进行处理。

sCrypt和比特币创造者Craig S.Wright博士长期以来一直认为,通过将一组交易的输出输入到其他后续的交易中,状态可以在多个比特币区块中被保存。新的交易将需要验证旧的输出,否则函数将无法运行。

Wright博士说:“ sCrypt有了一个新玩具,但是,它证明了我关于比特币是图灵完备的说法。”

对于那些希望听到有关比特币和图灵完备性的更长讨论的人来说,“比特币理论”有一整集对此进行了专门的讨论。

Ayre Group和CoinGeek创始人Calvin Ayre经常就比特币的这一特定话题发表观点,他对sCrypt的新证明表示欢迎,并表示这证明Wright博士对比特币的理解比其他任何人都要深刻得多——这种理解只能来自比特币的发明者本人。

“我们需要在屋顶上喊出这句话,因为这是一个从天而降的’标记’……无可辩驳的数学证明,Craig是正确的,因为只有发明比特币的人才能做到。”

Ayre说“Craig是正确的”是什么意思?我们需要回顾一下比特币、区块链及其一些最著名的人的历史。

Wright与Szabo的对话,2015年

图灵完备性的争论已经持续了五年多。2015年11月,Craig S. Wright博士与密码学家Nick Szabo之间进行了一次著名的交流,这是Wright博士最早以比特币发言人的身份公开露面的一次,之后不久,他于2015年12月作为比特币的创造者中本聪“出场”。

Szabo当时对Wright的建议感到困惑和不屑一顾,该建议着眼于可以在基于区块链的平台上执行循环的方式。Wright博士说,Forth(比特币脚本所基于的语言)中的控制循环可以处理独立于Forth代码的循环功能。

Szabo认为,如果循环无法在原始代码中被执行,那么它就不是图灵完备的。Wright反驳说,编写此类代码的唯一方法是在“机器”本身上——他表示,试图像Ethereum一样这样做,将使系统无法正常运行且无法扩容。

Szabo回答说:“这对于您撰写论文将是一个很好的主题,因为这肯定是您所拥有的另类观点。”

尽管在当今的计算机科学和一般性辩论中这种争论仍然很激烈,Wright博士后来确实发表了此类论文()。

深奥的概念,但重要的是要理解

Szabo说得没错,这个话题很深奥,至少是因为它涉及外人可能难以理解的计算机科学概念。然而,这已经成为一种单行论点,它否定了比特币,转而支持Ethereum这样的区块链,Ethereum专门设计成(至少在理论上)可以在链上执行任何类型的计算。

问题是,Ethereum长期以来一直难以扩容到执行这些任务所需的水平。尝试解决这些问题的方案已经使得Ethereum陷入了困境,诸如过激的协议和经济激励转变(例如从工作量证明转向权益证明)的提议。

另一方面,比特币可以处理任何规模内的任何合约,其协议设计为“一成不变”的,以防止破坏处理器的激励机制,从而保证其网络的安全,并确保今天(和过去10年)广播的任何交易在很远的将来仍然是有效的。

对于希望运行大型复杂应用程序的企业,政府和开发人员而言,所有这些点都很重要。图灵完备性辩论可能是深奥难懂的,但同时这不能也不应该用来作为反对比特币的论点。因此,至少在基本层面上理解它,对于决策者很重要。

当山寨币和“竞争”区块链在技术上无法与BSV匹敌时,他们经常转而使用否定BSV技术的简单论据,或者以对Wright博士的人身攻击的形式进行“打人而不是打球”的行为。

在Twitter和其他社交媒体这样的短形式、短注意力跨度的平台上,这样的争论是很容易产生的。真正的争论发生在研究论文中,而大多数人并没有读过,或者没有接受过理解这些内容的训练。

通过在比特币脚本中发布《生命游戏》的代码,sCrypt展示了一个对于“比特币是否图灵完备”的简单但在技术上合理的反驳,并证明了Wright博士多年前就提出的一个观点。

毫无疑问,反对比特币BSV及其开发者的社交媒体风格的争论将继续下去,但重要的是有人能够证明无论这些争论出现在哪里,它们都是错误的。看起来Nick Szabo和其他人应该向Wright博士道歉,并且应该公开承认他其实是正确的。我们不会再屏息等待了。

202024日的“创世”协议升级是比特币历史上的一大里程碑,将见证BSV最大程度地回归到中本聪原先设想的协议。请访问“创世”硬分叉页面以了解更多信息。

要直接在您的收件箱接获CoinGeek.com最新消息,CoinGeek会议特别优惠以及其他内部信息,请加入我们的邮件列表

[id^="_form"]
[id^="_form"]
[id$="_submit"]
[id$="_submit"]
[^;]
[^;]
[?&]
[?&]
[^&#]
[^&#]
[(d+)]
[(d+)]
[elem.name]
[elem.name]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-']
[+_a-z0-9-']
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z]
[a-z]
[el.name]
[el.name]
[id^="_form"]
[id^="_form"]
[id$="_submit"]
[id$="_submit"]
[^;]
[^;]
[?&]
[?&]
[^&#]
[^&#]
[(d+)]
[(d+)]
[elem.name]
[elem.name]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-']
[+_a-z0-9-']
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z]
[a-z]
[el.name]
[el.name]

Bitcoin script is Turing Complete: sCrypt’s ‘Game of Life’ is Proof

Bitcoin script is Turing Complete: sCrypt’s ‘Game of Life’ is Proof

Contracts platform sCrypt has published code to a Bitcoin Script version of Conway’s Game of Life, as a demonstration that the language is Turing Complete, and capable of maintaining a state. It challenges the controversial view from Bitcoin detractors and followers of “smart contract” blockchain platforms that Bitcoin Script is not capable of running complex computations.

Conway’s Game of Life (or just “Life”) is a famous cellular automaton that demonstrates Turing completeness. Designed in 1970 by British mathematician John Horton Conway, it is “played” by the user inputting an initial state, then watching how the set of cells evolves (or dies). The “player” has no further input once the initial state is set.

sCrypt described how the system works in a blog post, and published its Bitcoin Script code to run it. It proves Bitcoin Script’s ability to maintain a state across transaction blocks, without needing to run the entire computation on-chain.

Why is ‘Turing Completeness’ important?

sCrypt has previously published research material and code proving that Bitcoin Script is “Turing Complete,” and thus performing any computational task required to build contracts.

One issue is whether a system like Bitcoin, which works by broadcasting and processing transactions in blocks that happen every 10 minutes, can maintain a “state”—which would be necessary for data from a task taking longer than 10 minutes to perform.

Both sCrypt and Bitcoin creator Dr. Craig S. Wright have long argued that state can be preserved across multiple Bitcoin blocks, by feeding the outputs from one set of transactions into other, later ones. The newer transactions would need to validate the older outputs, or the functions would not run.

“sCrypt have a new toy, but, it proves my claim that Bitcoin is Turing Complete to be right,” Dr. Wright said.

For those looking to hear a longer discussion on Bitcoin and Turing Completeness, there is an entire episode of “Theory of Bitcoin” devoted to it.

Ayre Group and CoinGeek founder Calvin Ayre, who has frequently argued Bitcoin’s case on this particular topic, welcomed sCrypt’s new proof and said it proves Dr. Wright has a far deeper understanding of Bitcoin than anyone else—an understanding that could only come from Bitcoin’s inventor himself.

“We need to be shouting this from the rooftops as this is a ‘marker’ that fell from the sky … irrefutable mathematic proof that Craig was right as only someone who had invented Bitcoin could be.”

What does Ayre mean when he says “Craig was right”? We need to look back into the history of Bitcoin, blockchain, and some of its best-known identities.

Wright vs. Szabo, 2015

The Turing-completeness argument has been running for over five years now. It was highlighted in a now-famous exchange between Dr. Craig S. Wright and cryptographer Nick Szabo in November 2015—one of Dr. Wright’s earliest public appearances as a Bitcoin speaker, shortly before his December 2015 “outing” as Bitcoin creator Satoshi Nakamoto.

Szabo appeared bemused and dismissive of Wright’s suggestion at the time, which looked at the way loops could be performed on a blockchain-based platform. Dr. Wright said control loops in Forth (the language upon which Bitcoin Script is based) could handle a looping function separate to the Forth code.

Szabo argued that if the loop couldn’t be performed in the original code then it wasn’t Turing complete. Wright countered that the only way of writing such a code would be on the “machine” itself—suggesting that attempting to do so, as Ethereum has, would render the system dysfunctional and unscalable.

“This would be a good topic for you to write a paper on, because that’s uncertainly an unconventional view that you have,” Szabo replied.

Dr. Wright did indeed publish such papers later (here and here), although the argument still rages in both computer science and general debates today.

Esoteric concept but important to understand

Szabo was correct that the topic is esoteric, at least in that it concerns computer science concepts that outsiders might struggle to understand. However it has become a one-liner argument that dismisses Bitcoin in favor of blockchains like Ethereum, which were designed specifically (at least in theory) to perform any kind of computation on-chain.

The problem is that Ethereum has long struggled to scale to the levels it would require to perform those tasks. Attempted solutions to those problems have seen Ethereum stumble with propositions like drastic protocol and economic incentive shifts, such as moving from proof-of-work to proof-of-stake mining.

Bitcoin, on the other hand, can process any contract at any scale, and has protocol designed to be “set in stone,” unchanging to prevent disruption to the processors’ incentives that secure the network, and ensure that any transaction broadcast today (and in the past 10 years) will still be valid far into the future.

All these points are important to enterprise, governments, and developers looking to run large-scale and complex applications. The Turing completeness debate may be esoteric, but at the same time it can’t and shouldn’t be used as an argument against Bitcoin. So understanding it, at least on a basic level, is important for decision-makers.

Where altcoins and “competitor” blockchains have been unable to match BSV technically, they often substitute with simplistic arguments that dismiss BSV’s technology, or “play the man, not the ball” in the form of character assassinations on Dr. Wright.

Such arguments are easy to make on short-form, short-attention-span fora like Twitter and other social media. The real debate goes on in research papers, which most don’t read or don’t have the training to understand.

By publishing code to the Game of Life in Bitcoin Script, sCrypt has demonstrated a simple yet technically sound rebuttal to the “Is Bitcoin Turing Complete?” question, and proved a point Dr. Wright was making years before anyone else even considered it.

No doubt the social media-style arguments against Bitcoin BSV and its developers will continue, but it’s important to be able to prove they’re wrong, wherever they may appear. And it looks like Nick Szabo and others owe Dr. Wright an apology and should publicly acknowledge he was actually correct. We won’t hold our breath waiting.

 

New to Bitcoin? Check out CoinGeek’s Bitcoin for Beginners section, the ultimate resource guide to learn more about Bitcoin—as originally envisioned by Satoshi Nakamoto—and blockchain.

[id^="_form"]
[id^="_form"]
[id$="_submit"]
[id$="_submit"]
[^;]
[^;]
[?&]
[?&]
[^&#]
[^&#]
[(d+)]
[(d+)]
[elem.name]
[elem.name]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-']
[+_a-z0-9-']
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z]
[a-z]
[el.name]
[el.name]
[id^="_form"]
[id^="_form"]
[id$="_submit"]
[id$="_submit"]
[^;]
[^;]
[?&]
[?&]
[^&#]
[^&#]
[(d+)]
[(d+)]
[elem.name]
[elem.name]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-']
[+_a-z0-9-']
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z]
[a-z]
[el.name]
[el.name]