Wladimir van der Laan决定退出担任BTC Core的职务并要求该项目进一步去中心化

BTC Core首席开发者Wladimir van der Laan已经决定退出担任在该项目中的职务,他的理由是觉得有必要对项目的更多方面进行“去中心化”。在过去的几天里,van der Laan曾因其迅速回应Craig并且删除BitcoinCore.org上的比特币白皮书链接而遭到了他人的批评。

比特币创造者Craig Wright博士的法律团队在过去一周内向各方发出了许多信件,要求他们删除他在2008年撰写的原始比特币白皮书的副本。Van der Laan对该要求的遵从被其他开发者和互联网上的“键盘侠”律师大军在他们的回复中形容为从“不幸”到“懦弱”和“投降”。

在一篇题为《日益扩大的阴霾》的博客文章中,Van der Laan指出,虽然他一直是Core协议代码的主要贡献者,但他并不是过去一年中最活跃的开发者。然而,他在GitHub上的git merge数量仍然高居第二,所以他能起到非常重要的作用。虽然他将退任领导岗位,但他会担任更多的“幕后角色”,这并不意味着他要完全退出这个项目。

他写道:“社交媒体上的这些回应让我意识到,人们对我的期望是很奇怪的。”他补充说道,他的角色“压力特别大”,周围充满着“令人匪夷所思的社交媒体争论”,他认为这些争论不应该以个体的形式来应该定义他。

自2011年以来,Van der Laan一直在为比特币(现指BSV)和BTC Core代码做出贡献。用于签署BTC Core版本的GPG密钥带有他个人的名字,他还建议将其重新命名或拆分成几部分。这样一来,他还建议不再从GitHub/网站上发布协议,同时呼吁其他人发挥更积极的作用,这将使BTC进一步去中心化。

关于去中心化

Van der Laan说:“有一点是明确的:现在这是一个严肃的项目,我们需要开始认真考虑去中心化。”

Van der Laan关于去中心化的一些评论呼应了Wright博士本人提出的几个观点:将协议的控制权集中在少数开发者手中的方式会形成一个中心化的系统。尽管他们说要通过小交易区块和非挖矿“节点”来保持BTC的“去中心化”,但值得注意的是,只有少数人有权力改变BTC的基本规则。

Wright博士在这里指的是对协议规则的控制权,而不是编写软件的人数或处理交易的节点数量。比特币BSV在2020年2月恢复了比特币的原始协议后,交易规则已“一成不变”,从而保证了稳定性和安全性(即10年前创建的交易从现在开始在100年后仍然有效)。

Craig不让人们获取白皮书?完全不是如此

Wright博士的法律声明引起的大部分愤怒和蔑视情绪都集中在白皮书本身,这错误地让某些人认为Wright博士的意图是不让人们了解比特币的原始愿景。

Core开发者Greg Maxwell在Reddit上的愤怒回应囊括了这种情绪。“这对白皮书的可用性会产生什么影响?有任何提高其可用性的效果吗,”他写道。

Wright博士的反对者所声称的出乎意料的结果——现在会有越来越多的人阅读该白皮书——是完全可以预期的。更多的人应该阅读白皮书(并观看分析白皮书的“比特币理论”系列节目)。如果这样做,他们就会明白BTC是如何破坏了最初的愿景,以及为什么今天比特币的愿景仅以比特币BSV的形式存在。

Maxwell还痛斥Wright博士坚持收回他的知识产权的控制权,他说:“Wright可以向海洋宣战,但海洋只会在他周围流动。”

这里明确指出,Van der Laan将Maxwell的话形容为“很棒的回应”。

然而海洋是没有意识的,也不是由行为会受到影响的人类个体组成的。BTC生态系统反映的正是这个事实,正是开发者在2017年改变了比特币协议的处理方式,并且对于这种行径,法律可以介入其中,若这些人有任何不当行为,法律就可以进行补救。

Wright博士最近的行动不是为了不让人们获取信息。这些是为了确立他对比特币原始资料的作者身份的一种手段,从而确定他代表比特币发言的合法性。这可能会产生深远的影响。他还承诺,关于白皮书的争论只是一个开始,并表示他将采取进一步的法律行动来决定比特币的未来。

敬请观看Craig Wright博士向Ryan X. Charles讲述Bitcoin.org的背景,以及他们使用Way Back Machine来证明中本聪的PGP密钥在2011年发生了变化。

202024日的“创世”协议升级是比特币历史上的一大里程碑,将见证BSV最大程度地回归到中本聪原先设想的协议。请访问“创世”硬分叉页面以了解更多信息。

要直接在您的收件箱接获CoinGeek.com最新消息,CoinGeek会议特别优惠以及其他内部信息,请加入我们的邮件列表

[10]
[10]
[id^="_form"]
[id^="_form"]
[id$="_submit"]
[id$="_submit"]
[^;]
[^;]
['on' + event]
['on' + event]
[?&]
[?&]
[^&#]
[^&#]
[(d+)]
[(d+)]
[i]
[i]
[results[1]]
[results[1]]
[elem.name]
[elem.name]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-']
[+_a-z0-9-']
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z]
[a-z]
[el.name]
[el.name]
[10]
[10]
[id^="_form"]
[id^="_form"]
[id$="_submit"]
[id$="_submit"]
[^;]
[^;]
['on' + event]
['on' + event]
[?&]
[?&]
[^&#]
[^&#]
[(d+)]
[(d+)]
[i]
[i]
[results[1]]
[results[1]]
[elem.name]
[elem.name]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-']
[+_a-z0-9-']
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z]
[a-z]
[el.name]
[el.name]

Wladimir van der Laan steps back from BTC Core role, asks for more decentralization

Wladimir van der Laan steps back from BTC Core role, asks for more decentralization

BTC Core lead developer Wladimir van der Laan has decided to step back from his role, citing the need to “decentralize” more aspects of the project. In the past few days, van der Laan had faced criticism from others for his swift response in removing links to the Bitcoin white paper on BitcoinCore.org.

Bitcoin creator Dr. Craig Wright’s legal team has sent numerous letters to various parties in the past week, demanding they remove copies of the original Bitcoin white paper he authored in 2008. Van der Laan’s compliance with the request was called everything from “unfortunate” to “cowardice” and “capitulation” from other developers and the internet’s army of armchair lawyers in their responses.

In a blog post titled “The widening gyre,” van der Laan noted that although he has been a major contributor to the Core protocol code, he has not been the most active developer in the past year. However he still has the second-highest number of git merges on GitHub, so his role has been significant. While he will be stepping back from his leadership role, his taking a more “background role” does not mean he’s leaving the project altogether.

“Responses on social media have made me realize that people have strange expectations of me,” he wrote, adding that his role is “particularly stressful” and surrounded by “bizarre social media spats” that shouldn’t define him as a person.

Van der Laan has contributed to the Bitcoin and BTC Core code since 2011. The GPG key used to sign BTC Core releases carries his personal name, and he also suggested renaming this or splitting it into pieces. This, along with moving away from GitHub/website distribution and calling for others to take more active roles, would further decentralize BTC.

About that decentralization

“One thing is clear: this is a serious project now, and we need to start taking decentralization seriously,” van der Laan said.

Some of Van der Laan’s comments about decentralization echo several made by Dr. Wright himself: that concentrating control over the protocol in the hands of a few developers creates a centralized system. For all its talk of keeping BTC “decentralized” with small transaction blocks and non-mining “nodes,” it’s notable that only a handful of people have the power to change the fundamental rules.

Dr. Wright is referring to control over the protocol rules here, rather than the number of people coding the software or the number of processing nodes. Bitcoin BSV, after restoring Bitcoin’s original protocol in February 2020, has its transaction rules “set in stone” to guarantee stability and security (i.e. that transactions created 10 years ago will still work 100 years from now).

Denying access to the white paper? Not at all

Much of the outrage and defiance surrounding Dr. Wright’s legal demands has focused on the white paper itself, erroneously assuming the intent is to deny access to Bitcoin’s original vision.

An angry response from Core developer Greg Maxwell on Reddit encapsulated this mood. “What effect would it have on the availability of the whitepaper? If anything it would make it more available,” he wrote.

What Dr. Wright’s detractors claim is an unexpected consequence—that more people will read the white paper now—is an entirely expected one. More people should read the white paper (and watch the “Theory of Bitcoin” series analyzing it). If they do so, they will come to understand how BTC corrupted the original vision, and why that vision exists today only as Bitcoin BSV.

Maxwell also bemoaned Dr. Wright’s persistence in reclaiming control over his intellectual property, saying “Wright can declare war against the ocean but the ocean will just flow around him.”

For the record, van der Laan described Maxwell’s words as an “awesome response”.

However the ocean is not sentient, nor made up of individual humans whose actions can be influenced. The BTC ecosystem is—it was this fact that saw developers alter the way its protocol handled back in 2017, and also allow the law to step in with redress if any of these individuals act improperly.

Dr. Wright’s recent actions are not about denying access to information. They are a means to establishing his authorship of Bitcoin’s original materials, and thus his legitimacy to speak on Bitcoin’s behalf. This could have far-reaching effects. He has also promised that the brouhaha over the white paper is just the beginning, saying further legal actions are on the way that will determine Bitcoin’s future.

Watch Dr. Craig Wright tell Ryan X. Charles the background of Bitcoin.org and as they use the Way Back Machine to prove the Satoshi PGP key changed in 2011:

New to Bitcoin? Check out CoinGeek’s Bitcoin for Beginners section, the ultimate resource guide to learn more about Bitcoin—as originally envisioned by Satoshi Nakamoto—and blockchain.

[id^="_form"]
[id^="_form"]
[id$="_submit"]
[id$="_submit"]
[^;]
[^;]
[?&]
[?&]
[^&#]
[^&#]
[(d+)]
[(d+)]
[elem.name]
[elem.name]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-']
[+_a-z0-9-']
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z]
[a-z]
[el.name]
[el.name]
[id^="_form"]
[id^="_form"]
[id$="_submit"]
[id$="_submit"]
[^;]
[^;]
[?&]
[?&]
[^&#]
[^&#]
[(d+)]
[(d+)]
[elem.name]
[elem.name]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-']
[+_a-z0-9-']
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z]
[a-z]
[el.name]
[el.name]