很意外中本聪回来拿回属于他的东西吗?你不应该对此惊讶

Craig Wright博士最近决定强制执行他对比特币白皮书的版权声明,这可能会使Bitcoin.orgBitcoincore.orgBitcoin.com感到意外,但他们本不应如此。如果清醒地审视一下自从Wright博士自称中本聪以来发生的一切,您就会发现比特币的故事一直在朝着这个方向发展——而这仅仅是个开始。

2015年被曝光以来,Wright博士从未改变过白皮书以及其中描述的他对比特币的所有权。他是白皮书和比特币的创造者:因此,作品的版权归他所有。他的行为反映了这一点:2019年,他对白皮书和原始比特币源代码都申请了版权注册。Wright博士在2020年初写的一篇长篇博文中,深入分析了他对比特币的所有权,以及原始协议的许多所谓的“分叉”版本在多大程度上侵犯了这种所有权,它们仍然冒用比特币的名称。

他最近还告诉CoinGeek:“BTC不想让自己过时,并且制造了一种新的加密货币或比特币的替代品。他们想做的是利用比特币光环的同时改变我创造的所有原始信息。所以,实际上,他们所做的事情就是在欺骗世界说它们是比特币。”

“2010年,我非常明确地表示,我有理由认为比特币永远不可能被分叉,当时比特币是一成不变的。我说这不仅仅是希望比特币不分叉,我说这是比特币系统的必要条件。这是已经改写的有关比特币历史和故事的一部分。”

所以,最近发给一些公司和个人的信件应该不会让任何人感到意外。事实上,从侵权行为的规模来看——所有的劣质仿制品目前都因盗用比特币的名称而受到大肆宣传——这一事件的最新发展才应该是令人惊讶的,只是在某种程度上,你们可能会认为这种情况应该会出现得更早。

这应该是版权法的直接应用。创作者拥有版权。对于那些侵犯了Wright博士版权声明的人来说,唯一可以让他们远程使用它的手段就是断言Wright博士实际上不是中本聪,也就是说,断言他不是版权所有者。而且,经常有人声称——尤其是那些最近收到Wright来信的人——Wright博士证明自己身份的方法很简单,只需使用与中本聪的公钥(保存在原来的Bitcoin.org网站上)相关的私钥就可以。

但我们怎么知道出现在Bitcoin.org上的密钥就是原始密钥呢?中本聪离开了这个项目,这个项目后来由其他人继续进行。显然,从那时起,他就不能再控制Bitcoin.org网站了,所以我们应该谨慎对待我们现有的网站版本,包括存储在互联网档案网站上的版本。一旦我们仔细查看这些档案,就会发现,他们声称Wright博士实际上不是比特币和白皮书的创造者的唯一理由是,他们现在可以考虑用这种说法来为自己辩护,因为这种说法是他们为自己设立的。

Bitcoin.org网站发生了很多变化,其中之一就是出现在网站存档版本上的所谓的中本聪公钥——Wright博士的诋毁者坚持认为,这是一个人可以表明自己身份的唯一方式。在Bitcoin.org的所有网页中,最重要的一页——包含着被广泛认为是中本聪公钥的那一页——是2011年之前唯一没有存档的网页。浏览2009年存档的网页时,你可以点击指向中本聪公钥的链接,但这样做会明显地把你带到一个在2011年之前并不存在的网站。这是故意为之的,并且只能由相关网站的控制者来完成——这里指的就是那些在中本聪退出之后继承比特币项目的人。

当您想到似乎自2011年出现的Bitcoin.org(恰好也是中本聪公钥最早出现的时间点)明显背离了中本聪时代出现的网站时,这件事就疑点重重。事实上,2011年版本的网站不仅看起来不同,而且可能服务于一个完全不同的项目。突然间,比特币软件变成了“社区驱动”和“开源”的——显然,没有权威机构来进行指导。

那么,2009年中本聪活跃时出现的中本聪公钥的原始页面在哪里呢?无人得知,而且Bitcoin.org中包含的矛盾,应该会使你非常谨慎地提防任何声称自己毫无疑问知道中本聪公钥的人。Bitcoin.org的管理者可能知道,也可能不知道——但他们肯定知道,即使是在存档的Bitcoin.org页面上出现的公钥也不是真的——因此,他们知道真正的中本聪永远无法应对他们提出的挑战。

Wright博士显然意识到了这一点:他一直明确表示拒绝与那些目前(显然是非法的)自称是比特币的人同流合污。他拒绝接受通过出示私钥来“简单证明”自己身份的呼吁。与此同时,Wright博士一直提出要在法庭上证明自己的主张。那些接受了这个提议的人已经败诉了,他们明显不愿意重复自己的说法,即Wright博士不是比特币的创造者。

那些相信当前Bitcoin.org网站真实性的人,可能已经看出了这两种方式之间的矛盾——一方拒绝提供“简单的”证明,而另一方却愿意走上一条更加困难的证明之路。然而(忽略了诉讼是几个世纪以来可靠地解决争议的首选方法这一事实)一旦你意识到,那些最强烈地抗议Wright博士声称自己是比特币发明者这件事情的人,正是那些试图使用Bitcoin.org重写历史的人,Wright博士的立场就十分合理了。

Wright博士之所以开始执行版权声明,无疑在很大程度上是为了反击在自己缺席期间,他人为改写历史而努力做出的事情。比特币这个名字已经成为了某些项目的代名词,这些项目与白皮书中所表达的比特币愿景完全相反。无论你认为中本聪是谁,这都是事实。

一旦你考虑到这些不同的组织错误地将“比特币”名称据为己有所造成的损害——所有被卷入其中的天真投资者,所有被后续协议促成的的犯罪行为——就会发现唯一令人惊讶的事情是Wright博士在此之前并没有采取这样的行动。

Wright博士的下一步行动似乎是显而易见的:任何利用白皮书来掩盖原始协议的劣质仿制品的人,都应该预期会收到这样一封信件。那些拒绝服从版权声明的人将首先受到惩罚,因为他们多年来一直都在从中本聪的受版权保护的作品中非法获利。

敬请观看Craig Wright博士向Ryan X.Charles讲述Bitcoin.org的背景,以及他们使用Way Back Machine证明中本聪PGP密钥在2011年发生了变化:

202024日的“创世”协议升级是比特币历史上的一大里程碑,将见证BSV最大程度地回归到中本聪原先设想的协议。请访问“创世”硬分叉页面以了解更多信息。

要直接在您的收件箱接获CoinGeek.com最新消息,CoinGeek会议特别优惠以及其他内部信息,请加入我们的邮件列表

Surprised that Satoshi Nakamoto has returned for what is his? You shouldn’t be

Dr. Craig Wright’s recent decision to enforce his copyright claim to the Bitcoin White Paper may have come as a surprise to Bitcoin.org, Bitcoincore.org and Bitcoin.com, but it shouldn’t have. A sober look at everything that has taken place since Dr. Wright revealed himself as Satoshi Nakamoto shows that the Bitcoin story was always headed here—and that this is just the beginning.

Since being outed in 2015, Dr. Wright has never changed track as to the ownership of the White Paper and of the Bitcoin described within it. He is the creator of both: therefore, copyright in the works rests with him. His behavior reflects this: in 2019, he filed copyright registrations for both the White Paper and the original Bitcoin source code. A lengthy blog post written by Dr. Wright at the start of 2020 contains an in-depth analysis of his ownership over Bitcoin, and the extent to which that ownership has been violated by the many so-called ‘forks’ of the original protocol which still falsely use the Bitcoin name.

He also told CoinGeek recently: “BTC didn’t want to go out and make a new sort of cryptocurrency or alternative to Bitcoin. What they wanted to do was ride on the coattails of Bitcoin, yet change all of my original messaging. So, in effect, what they’re doing is fraudulently telling the world that they are Bitcoin.”

“I was incredibly clear in 2010 when I said I had reasons that Bitcoin could never be forked, when it was set in stone. I said it was not merely a desire that it not be forked, I said it was imperative for the system. That’s part of the rewriting of the history and narrative of Bitcoin that has taken place.”

So, the letters recently sent to a number of companies and individuals should be a surprise to no one. In fact, looking at the scale of the infringement—all of the poor imitations currently enjoying massive publicity because of their misappropriation of the Bitcoin name—this latest development should be surprising only to the extent that you might have thought this action would have taken place much sooner.

This should be a straightforward application of copyright law. The creator owns the copyright. The only move remotely available to those in violation of Dr. Wright’s copyright claim is to assert that he is not in fact Satoshi Nakamoto and thus, not the copyright holder. And lo, it is often claimed—especially by the kinds of people who recently received a letter from Wright—that Dr. Wright proving his identity is a simple matter of using the private keys associated with Satoshi Nakamoto’s public key (as preserved on the original Bitcoin.org website).

But how do we know that the key which appears on Bitcoin.org is the original key? Satoshi vanished from the project, which was then carried on by others. He obviously wasn’t in control of the Bitcoin.org website from that point, so versions of the website that we have available—including those stored in internet archive websites—should be treated carefully. Once these archives are approached carefully, it becomes obvious that the only reason that their claims that Dr. Wright is not in fact the creator of Bitcoin and the White Paper is a defense they can now consider making is because they set it up for themselves.

One of the many things to have been changed about the Bitcoin.org website is the so-called Satoshi Nakamoto public key which appears on the archived versions of the website—the very key which Dr. Wright’s detractors insist is the only way in which a person can make a claim to the identity. Out of all of the pages on Bitcoin.org, the most important—the one containing what is widely assumed to be the Satoshi Nakamoto key—is the only one for which no archive exists before 2011. Viewing the archived 2009 webpage allows you to click the link to what would have been the Satoshi Nakamoto public key—but doing so will conspicuously take you to a website which didn’t exist before 2011. This is intentional, and could only have been done by the people in control of the website in question—in this case, those who inherited the Bitcoin project after the disappearance of Satoshi Nakamoto and then beyond.

Suspicion is added to suspicion when you consider that the Bitcoin.org which appears to be from 2011, also coincidentally the earliest point at which the Satoshi public key is even available, is a marked departure from the website which appears in the Satoshi era: in fact, the 2011 version of the website not only looks different, but may as well be for an entirely different project. Suddenly, the Bitcoin software was ‘community driven’ and ‘open source’—apparently without authority directing the project.

So where is the original page for the Satoshi Nakamoto public key as it appeared when Satoshi was active back in 2009? No one knows, and the inconsistencies contained within Bitcoin.org should make you very cautious of anyone claiming to know, without a doubt, the public key belonging to Satoshi Nakamoto. The controllers of Bitcoin.org may or may not know—but they certainly know that the public key which appears on even the archived Bitcoin.org pages is not genuine—and therefore, they know that the real Satoshi Nakamoto could never fulfil their challenge.

Dr. Wright is obviously aware of this: he has been vocal in his refusal to dance to the tune being played by those who are currently (and apparently, illegally) claiming the Bitcoin name for themselves. He has refused to entertain calls to ‘simply prove’ his identity by producing the private keys. At the same time, Dr. Wright has consistently offered to prove his claim in court. Those who have taken up that offer have lost, and come out the other side with a conspicuous unwillingness to repeat their claim that Dr. Wright is not the creator of Bitcoin.

Those who have taken the veracity of the current Bitcoin.org websites as a given might have seen a contradiction between these two approaches—refusing to provide ‘easy’ proof on the one hand while being willing to go down a much more difficult path toward proof on the other. However (ignoring the fact that the litigation has been method of choice for reliably resolving disputes for centuries) once you realize that those most loudly protesting Dr. Wright’s claim to be the inventor of Bitcoin are those same people attempting to rewrite history using Bitcoin.org, Dr. Wright’s position makes perfect sense.

Dr. Wright’s decision to begin enforcing his claim is undoubtedly in large part due to a pushback against these efforts to rewrite history which have taken place in his absence. The Bitcoin name has become synonymous with projects which run entirely contrary to the vision for Bitcoin as expressed in the White Paper. This is true regardless of who you think Satoshi Nakamoto is.

Once you consider the damage being done by these disparate organizations wrongfully claiming the Bitcoin name for themselves—all the naïve investors sucked in, all of the crime that has been enabled by subsequent protocols – the only surprise is that Dr. Wright hasn’t taken this action before now.

The next steps seem obvious: anyone using the White Paper to give cover to poor imitations of the original protocol should expect to receive a letter like this. Those who refuse to comply will be first in line for a reckoning after spending years illegally profiting off the copyrighted work of Satoshi Nakamoto.

Watch Dr. Craig Wright tell Ryan X. Charles the background of Bitcoin.org and as they use the Way Back Machine to prove the Satoshi PGP key changed in 2011:

New to Bitcoin? Check out CoinGeek’s Bitcoin for Beginners section, the ultimate resource guide to learn more about Bitcoin—as originally envisioned by Satoshi Nakamoto—and blockchain.